"My only regret is not winning African footballer of the year' Jay Jay Okocha | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 November 2014

"My only regret is not winning African footballer of the year' Jay Jay Okocha

When asked about any regret as a footballer, legendary footballer Austin 'Jay Jay' Okocha said;
"If I have any regret that would be not winning The African Footballer of the Year. But then, I don't think I was meant to because I gave my best, but at the end, it wasn't good enough. However, I had a fantastic playing career"
When asked why no other footballer has been able to fill the vacuum of the No.10 position he left behind, Okocha replied;
"I don't want to sound arrogant but the truth it that there is something special about me. Sometimes, you have special players in a squad, when you lose them, it will take like five to ten years to get another set of such players. Not that the people trying to fill the vacuum are not good, they are great in their own way, but they are not just special. With time, Nigeria will get the special one that will fill the vacuum I left" He told Encomium

60 comments:

I like this guy

national helm said...

sorry ooo...nobody's fault shaa
See Photos Of Car Sticker Causing Wild Outrage abroad

What do u mean by "they are not special"?4 ur mind abi? Ka nnukwa.

He was one of the best,unfortunately Issa Hayatou is the CAF president and Okocha had a Cameroonian Samuel Eto to contend with.

So trueeeeeeeeee. I hail u papilo.

Don't worry
You will win it in next life...ok

He didn't the African best player because CAF screwed him out of it. And as for his position, well our squad if filled with mercenaries and a very few passionate few, the talented ones are probably playing street soccer somewhere, while the mercenaries are making the teams!

We are all special in our own way. God made it so.

Okocha is special. In my own opinion, he's better than some players that won it in his time. Still my best nigeria footballer till date. @ keshi,..u won't win any trophy again until u start usin sunday mba who won the nations cup 4 u. *** CROWD * PULLER * PLEASER***#

Arrogance!Arrogance!!Arrogance!!!

you are great indeed, we still dey miss u die. the vacuum too much.

shut up!!and thank God that you had the opportuinity.Dont think that were not better players that were not bypassed for you to be selected

Gbam he has said it, Mikel chop that

Uche Emma said...

You are the best

Yes that's absolutely true I love jay jay very committed player its will be awhile to find a rare player like him.

Awwwwwwww

See as this guy just finish mikel abeg..... **GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA**

#king said...

Okocha u did it to yourself..U neva played for a big club..when others joined arsenal Barcelona man u and co u chose bolton...................................#KingOfKings #6ixGod

YOU DID WELL IN YOUR TIME, GOD BLESS YOU.

IF YOU LIVE AROUND THE LEKKI / AJAH AXIS AND YOU HAVE BEEN CALL TO BAR FOR NOT MORE THAN 1YEAR, A FAST GROWING LAW FIRM IS LOOKING FOR YOU, SEND YOUR CV TO admiralaw@gmail.com

Okocha was one great player.Mikel is too lazy to fill those shoes*apology to the blues*

#TheatreHasANewHome #LekkiWatersideTheatre

Gbam! Word.

Oh.. Now you know?
See south african women goes nu,de to protest for lack of water in their village. Pics and video

He can still go back and play football,then win african footballer of the year,then resgin again,simple as ABC,by then no regret whatsoever

Jay-Jay, no doubt you were special in your time. The one major flaw in your game however, was the frequent absence of an end product. All that show-boating of yours has no place in the modern game. This is why you hardly have any silverware to show for your silky football skills.

Swagg isimemen said...

Ok nice one jay jay

My brother you are not arrogant you are saying the truth. You are a special breed. Ronaldiho respects you.

chris bakwe said...

Jay Jay ur style of dribble is gone and no won like you,miss you day in day out

This guy has a great football style that we'll never forget

"So Super True"

Indeed Jay jay is special,i testify

Yeah, you were robbed...cheer up.

www.tradesold.com - Buy and Sell stuffs in naija

Ok.

Mma Efa said...

Don't worry about it hun....at lease you worn my heart. I so love you and your wife.#kisses#hugs#

that vaccum is still empty i must confess.

Digwe...

Shut d fuck up...papilo is kanu nwankwo

BRO,the shoe is too big for the present crops of players to wear.

Laf wan tia ma bele

Omalicha nwata di nma said...

Nigerian style things!
i don't wanna sound arrogant ==then goes on sounding arrogant.
Without wasting your time, == then goes on to talk for one more hour
Let me briefly summarize == then goes on to give a full lecture, not summary on said topic
We are a funny people

He speaks the truth madam.Sorry but maybe them never born you that time wey okocha bin dey reign.

Lolz... na I wan comment,I wan comment dey worry am

Laszlo said...

Gbam!!! You've said it all. The well talented ones are playing in the streets and that's just how it is

Hahaha must u comment
Papilo bawo?
Na kanu be papilo now abi?

To me I don't believe we can get someone like okocha in this generation. He's so special and skillful, Ronadino said he was his mentor, I always ask why did he quit football so early? I enjoy him always, he's so much talented we can compare him to those of Ronaldo and Mercy for real if he was given the opportunity. He's the greatest naija footballer I ever know. I miss you in the game bruh! I like him a lot even know we've never met before. :)

I blv u ma u as Wat u said is so triple super true. There will neva b a U knw mata Wat! Ur over special nd w all miss nd luv u!

Jay jay is unique true but not winning d award be like your village pep follow u oh!

Francis said...

I dont mean to sound tacky but jay jay has to be one of the greatest player Nigeria has ever produced. I dont believe in awards never have believed him them simply because it is humans like us that eventually have a say in who wins what award or the other. You didnt win that award simply because you were bigger than it 'special' If u weren't a black man I believe you should have won world footballer of the year at some point. God bless you

No one like jay jay

Jay Jay God bless u

You wr very special indeed, I can still remember ur fantastic free kicks.

Jay Jay,so good they named him twice."Otito oro bi isokuso".Special players don't come along everyday.He forgot to add that we should stop looking for another Okocha,another number 10 will suffice.

Jay Jay is the best No.10 Nigeria have ever had. the truth is that CAF played politics thats why Okocha was not given the award

Assurance Of Answered Prayer For Everyone - Matthew 7:8-11

Confusion: Pastor warns Ebola is God's Punishment for Obama dividing Jerusalem

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Jay Jay is D Best Number 10 Africa has ever Produce in D Last 30yrs

Hahahhahahaha, @anonymous; ichoro igbu mmadu!!!!

JJ the greatest African footballer of his time. truely he is special.
always gave a flavour to soccer when he is on the pitch

I love JJ!! But why Appraising urself? Not needed

He was once in ajax when he benched ronaldinho.

he's not just a Legend he's a hero infact he does not only deserver Africa's best #Okocha deserves World best if he is a white man, buh unfortunately he's from Africa where we never Celebrate our Heroes untill we loose them...... buh don't worry, ur story will forver remain in the Book

Douchebag! Buh dough its true buh still a douchebag!!!