Nigeria customs stops top Spanish designer from showcasing at Nigeria Fashion Week | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 November 2014

Nigeria customs stops top Spanish designer from showcasing at Nigeria Fashion Week

Top Spanish designer, Agatha Ruiz de la Prada, from the Prada family, who was billed to showcase her collection to close the show at the Nigeria Fashion Week which ended today at Oriental Hotel, Lagos, couldn't do because Nigeria customs seized her things.

When it was her turn, the organizer of the show, fashion promoter, Lexy Mojo Eyes‎, informed the expectant audience that the Spanish designer couldn't showcase because her clothes had been seized by officials of the Nigeria Customs Service. 
Agatha Ruiz de la Prada herself also came on stage to address the crowd and apologize for her inability to showcase at this year's edition of the show. 

50 comments:

dats not cool ...
LOL; See Hilarious Photos Of Musical Stars That Have Been Victims Of Photoshop Sorcery

Oh too bad! James 4:17. Hosea 10:12. BishopDammy#

Asori nwam.......

Linda let's tackle these custom thieves their own is now too much,you bloggers need to take their case up about what they do at our international airport, they are thieves and ripping people off

Atleast our Customs officers refused asking for bribe for once. Nice development.

tandullce said...

How has she be getting through customs before?

That is unacceptable.. Make this pple no turn naija to u.s oo
What the??checkout photos from denmark boobs touching festival!

She should also be deported at once. ..kudos to the nigeria custom service. These rednecks woukd do worse things than only seizing goods.

Taking bribe and seizing non-illegal items are both wrong.

Aigbe kester said...

Awwwww dat so bad..and she has nyc designers products oooO.

This is unfair
I wonder why...

#Sipping my Amstel Malta
Commenting thru Glo 4G LTE

Is obvious that they want to steal the cloth nothing else.... wickedness at its peak no doubt.....

AGB said...

Well,they had their reasons and they were doing their job. Oyibo people go even do worse for their country. Nice one

maybe they asked for bribe and they were not given....just saying.

Lol ehya
Maybe she was doing aroro and didnt settle well

That's too bad

Oh no, sorry my dear.

What's a Spanish designer showing her work in a show that should be showcasing nigerian designers only? Nigerians/sub-saharan africans and their inferiority complex. The Spanish will never give africans that kind of opportunity.

ANALYTICAL PERSPECTIVES said...

Why are you people abusing Nigerian Customs? For once, they did the right thing and some fools are abusing them.

Have you asked the reason her goods were Siezed.? If it's Nigerian designer going to Spain , the Spanish will do Worse! US recently denied Okagbare good chance of success in coming Season by keeping her from her husband with Visa denial .

you guys grow out of your inferiority complex. Ask first why Customs Siezed her goods.

Shut up u idiots insulting our customs without knowing the facts... Their govt. will do worse to a black....fools

Nigeria dvilll devil custom service ... they can't stop boko haram arms but they stop fashion show... shame
Nigeria dvilll devil custom service ... they can't stop boko haram arms but they stop fashion show... shame Nigeria dvilll devil custom service ... they can't stop boko haram arms but they stop fashion show... shame Nigeria dvilll devil custom service ... they can't stop boko haram arms but they stop fashion show... shame Nigeria dvilll devil custom service ... they can't stop boko haram arms but they stop fashion show... shame Nigeria dvilll devil custom service ... they can't stop boko haram arms but they stop fashion show... shame Nigeria dvilll devil custom service ... they can't stop boko haram arms but they stop fashion show... shame Nigeria dvilll devil custom service ... they can't stop boko haram arms but they stop fashion show... shame Nigeria dvilll devil custom service ... they can't stop boko haram arms but they stop fashion show... shame Nigeria dvilll devil custom service ... they can't stop boko haram arms but they stop fashion show... shame

Rather she refused to give them bribe ,that was why they seized her goods.

Lol very funny,u wicked o

This is not a matter of bribing. it is just pure ojukokoro. people have ever stop to think for a minute that how come every december the main store house where sized goods are kept do get burnt.

Kudos to Nigeria customs service! The days of non payment of import duties are over.

chuh said...

Awwww....thats too bad. These custom officers aint trying.
For latest Jamb news and updates click here

I'm sure they asked but she probably refused to pay that's why her stuffs were seized.

Shut up famzer how you take know?

"They want to steal the cloth"

I have no words for you.

Ikemefuna, your comments are racist . Racism should be condemned and not copied. Jokes should also not be made of racism

DEguebe said...

Lol, naija politics.... We never sell our own finish na Spanish laliga remain. Mchew

Wow...poor judgment! @ bonario

I am proud of our customs officials, I'd always thought we were still suffering from that colonial mentality

My dear anonymous, do not blame him. He is good only when it has to do with women and sex. He has never contributed positively to anything being discussed here. It's a pity!

All those people insulting nigeria u guys are just fools.... if it was done in spain now same idiotic will say if it nigeria they won't have such moral to do such a thing.. gosh! Some of u guys think from ur anus.... idiotic fools... stupid idiot... abeg jare... kudos to those custom officers whatever the case might have been, I seriously dont care.... linda how are u?

U won't change but u guys can never for once think positive of ur very own country.... tufiakwa!

Kilode

Now I know Bonario has never been to any Nigerian airport. Anyway, I trust there must be someone connected in that crowd that will get the customs officer who seized it fired. Meanwhile, why were the organisers not on hand to help her?

Too bad, very bad, those people can never change, Nigeria custom

kemi said...

Lol, i love your response.

Rotfl, I never knew Prada has a cloth line

Linda. Mojo Eyes. Fellow Nigerians. Always think before dropping false news and comments that incite unjustly. The said goods are in the custody of NAHCO, not the Customs Service. If Linda investigated, like i have done, she would have found out the truth. NAHCO was shut down earlier in the week due to operational and security reasons. The designer's clothes came in after the shut down. It has not even passed thru Customs processing yet, so how could Customs have 'SEIZED' the package? In any case, her goods are not contraband so Customs would not seize them. Always put things in proper perspective so that responders can be objective.

That's bad...i wonder what could be the problem

Bonario!!!! Quit showing your ignorance. Am sure u have never past thru an international airport with this your comment. Its not story that u must say something, keep quiet if u have no idea of wat is been discussed. Stay blessed. Cheers.

Lagos customs seized the cloths I sent to nigeria as a gift for my brothers birthday. They ask for $1000 or they distory the items. Criminal

Lmao @ designer products. You have really shown ur self.

Lolllll

Oga, what are u saying?

Come on guys..your attitude here shows the larger Nigerian problem: Ignorance and crass bandwagon jumping. We post comments based on hearsay and nobody bothers about the merits of a case. Nigeria Customs have not even seen the goods that you insult them for. How do you SEIZE what you haven't SEEN? Them be WITCH? The woman has her wares in NAHCO. NAHCO was shut down earlier because of operational and security issues. Her goods came into Nigeria after that shut down so there was NOBODY to process them. Customs have not been given the goods to process. Now that you have a very authentic information from somebody who cared to actually investigate, if you like, don't adjust your opinion and reasoning. Sheer ignorance never pays.