Fuel scarcity returns to Lagos: Scarcity to persist, NNPC says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 September 2012

Fuel scarcity returns to Lagos: Scarcity to persist, NNPC says

Long queues have returned to filling stations in Lagos and the National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) hinted yesterday that it may take some time to disappear.

NNPC spokesman, Mr Fidel Pepple, said the scarcity is 'artificial', and was triggered by the destruction of the NNPC's pipeline at Arepo, Ogun State. He said bunkerers attacked the pipeline in Ibafo, Ogun State, to scoop fuel and also shot and killed three PPMC engineers and technicians deployed to repair the vandalized pipeline.

According to Pepple, the development has forced NNPC to bridge products by truck as against the pipeline and said the repairs of the vandalized pipeline may take a while as the corporation is not ready to risk the lives of more officials.

19 comments:

GREATLAKESINT said...

WE DONT NEED THIS NOW PLS SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE
FOR YOUR PMS, DIESEL, KEROSENE DELIVERY OF YOUR COMPANY. PLS CONTACT US AT GREATLAKES INTERNATIONAL ON 018407062 AND FOLLOW US ON TWITTER @GREATLAKESINT. LINDA PLS POST THIS.THANKS

GREATLAKESINT said...

FOR UR PMS. AGO, KEROSENE, IT SOLUTIONS,LOGISTICS. WE DEFINITLY CAN DO IT FOR YOUR COMPANY. JUST HOLLA 018407062

GREATLAKESINT said...

WHY CANT WE HAVE A GOOD SECURITY IN THIS NAIJA WITH ALL THE BILLION NAIRA APPROVAL ON SECURITY. SHA CONTACT US FOR YOUR COMPANIES PMS. VISIT US AT www.grealakes.com.ng. linda biko help the upcoming. post this my comment

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

Bull shit which pipe line they vandalize so an only dat pipe line they supply the entire Lagos state fuel crappy excuse let them come up wit a better lie

I am not surprised at all. If not NNPC! it will be NEPA or aviation or ASU or anyother. Sector. Naija don't we ever get tired?????? Somehow for my country sha! I just pray to God to intervene fast before it turns to something else***

Lindaaaaa fuel has been scarce since in abuja, yu dint report it so cos its now ur homebased city eh.

Warri Girl said...

Hmmmmm, is it just in lag, because I have been seeing queue also in warri.

This is an insiders job by those who r supposed to look after our fuel pipelines to maintain artificial scarcity for financial gains!Any wonder the three engineers who went to fix d broken pipelines were despatched to the site without adequate security.
The ppl who destroyed the fuel lines r agents of this game plan. To maintain artificial scarcity btw now and xmas. They r greedy and mean spirited members of our society with connections who want to reap d huge profits frm artificial fuel scarcity. A society that Thrives on corruption and deception will surely fail! Shame on those who r perpetrating this scam! Nigeria enough is enough! We have become d laughing stock of the world. South Korea with no known mineral resources is a key player in global affairs same as Singapore. Enogh nigeria!Can't take this anymore!!

The truth of the matter is that I am tired of this country, I want to go to Ghana, abi ki le ni mo ti wi.

No mind am o!we av bin avin fuel palaver here in abj,she no talk,na nw it reach lagos,she dey report!mtchewwwwwww

Fuel is scarce even in benin joor, the govt should find a solution to this now b4 it gets worse.

". . . the repairs of the vandalized pipeline may take a while as the corporation is not ready to risk the lives of more officials."

In simple English, this fuel scarcity will take a while to resolve! Nigerians, brace up for a tough time ahead!! Nigeria, we hail thee!!!

Francis said...

The government has almost succeeded in infecting its citizens with having to see these situations as normal since its being going on for a pretty long time.May God help us francisruff.blogspot.com

The propensity to cause harm to ourselves...that's the story of Nigeria. We are too dumb to realise that a burst pipeline wont affect the powers that be..but the suffering masses.

11.22am abi o...im tired fa.very very tired.

Chris said...

Here we go again....nights of sleeping @ petrol station.*rolling eyes* But for the wayward bfs and randy husbands, good alibi for philandering.

what did u expect? U would have informed her about ur city case so she would put it up.

Jeweh kelvin said...

I realy wonder if nigeria is ever gonna get past this fuel wahala. I also read latest news at
www.nigerianewshour.com

O boi! Why haven't u gone since! Ghana doxnt even want u! Lazy youth! Wt will u even add to dia society mtscheew