New Video: Rick Ross - Hold Me Back (Video shot in Nigeria) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 18 September 2012

New Video: Rick Ross - Hold Me Back (Video shot in Nigeria)

Watch the video and tell us what you think...

218 comments:

1 – 200 of 218   Newer›   Newest»

Good video.. but the portray was disappointing :(

KOLA said...

Cool vid nd u can download on ur mobile. www.tooxclusive.com

Totally Rubbish

lmaaoooooooooo @ that baby that was screaming at the beginning...he sounded like a Chinese martial art fighter ...

to be honest, he has put some osrt of interest back to 9ja.. many artist are scared of coming to 9ja and he shot a video there? big upsss!!

now all these 9ja artists that run to SA to shot, plz ehn be proud (i know conditions can be bad sometimes sha)

This is SO DISGUSTING, are we at war, why are we portrayed as barbaric. FAT RICK ROSS, go to hell.

OK said...

#bb confused smiley!

nonsense

OK said...

#bb confused smiley#

dis is rubbish

Lindiway av watched d video severally,I must confess no room for thought,as in there's nothing to think about it.~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA3310

impressed.. although the hoe this hoe that wasnt suited to this video version, but ohh well... impressed..

and that intro and end (football and trad music), excellent..

Thanks rickiiiii.. others would have shown totally derogatory images of 9ja..

rick rozzay yeh man dat nixs atleast naija gat ur back so u can hold don. Rossss huh

Trust, its nothing personal, you just watch the American version ::: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVO5WhIm4uI&feature=related

lolz this video is pure comedy... especially with the small boys mouth at 1:15

LMAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! See these agbero boys too forming swags.. Nice one Rick. Had a good laugh with this sha.

What More Can i Say...Its good im falling in love with someone that love Nigeria. God Bless MMG, God Bless Wale, God Bless YMCMB.

Bruv!!! THAT SLAP!!!

This Rick Ross video about Nigeria is so fucked up. Nigeria is much better than that.

P.s- i saw a clip from one of Battabox's video's...They should sue him..lol

This Rick Ross video about Nigeria is so fucked up. Nigeria is much better than that.

P.s- i saw a clip from one of Battabox's video's...They should sue him..lol

look at the dirty area the video was shoot. nawah o. i wonder what will be going through G.O.O.D Music acts mind. Rick ross is wicked for shooting his video in a place like this. Fat Fool

my prayer is that lightening will strike rick ross and hailstones will wipe out his entire family even to generations yet unborn.

This guy just came too ridicule Nigeria. Must he shoot his video in an environment like this. what happen to the beautiful part of Nigeria. Nasty Ass

Honestly shame dey catch mi....fr dis vid.....i hate it.....to mi its very embarassing to nigerians....mtschewww

I felt so sad watching this video!!! Everything wrong with/ in Nigeria was shown!!! Nigeria needs a revolution!!! Am so tired of the suffering pain and injustice...... Kudos to rick Ross for highlighting this and remaining us to act n do something about our country.

so we don turn to *pussy ass niggas* for nigeria. SMH

i cry for the person thet shot dis video plus all d ignorant on d street
is this how dumber naija is
i spit on d video

i sorry for the person plus all thats on d video nd i slit on it ttooooooo
all d beautiful place in naija u can shot why portrait naija like
some naija can be dumber sometime
Smh

This video is giving Nigeria a bad image. This rick ross is a big ass hole. Am sure investors will not come to Nigeria again after viewing videos like this. Foolish man. His grand mother is a pussy ass nigga. oloshi

Topless said...

I can't believe, I wasted my battery on this nonsense video...
Topless

"Watch the video and tell us what you think..."
is it what I am thinking? Lin Lin! you don get employees!! my cv still dey ground o.

Rick Ross is sometin else jor!

I really like the video. It showed the real Lagos, not like all the ostentatious stuff our Nigerian musicians put in videos like thats how we all live. Rick Ross just shot the truth. All of you people vexing should stop deceiving yourselves and face the truth.

Matter of fact.. Rick Ross must be extraordinarily stupid for this video. I pray no one invites him to Nigeria for any stupid show again. Imagine, after Nigerian citizens paid their hard earned (legit or illegit) cash to watch him perform, to show his appreciation he decided to ridicule us. Honestly, thunder must fire him for this. This is just nonsense. He is ridiculing us in our own land, while D'banj is doing houseboy for GOOD music. So Sad. Nigerian artist need to stand against this humiliation. Does D'banj have the guts to go the dark Brooklyn or Michigan, or even the hoodest downtown Baltimore to go shoot a video. Idiots.

u guys are all morons....it shows you all know nothing,the original version was also shot in a ghetto in america, so whats all the buzz about...rick ross grew up from the ghetto in miami and loves seeing the ghetto in every country he goes to...so u guys just shoosh.

Dis one wen fat like balloon...dirty he goat

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

People are vexing all over twitter over this video personally i don't see what the problem is if you watch the original video it is a hood conceopt and that is exactly what he is potraying in the naija version besides Rozay is not Naija's minister for tourism and culture! Y'all should be mad at all the local artists who shoot videos in South Africa they are the ones who should be promoting Naija not Rozay #theend

this video was done by an igbo guy... biafara ko biafara ni.. rubbish video..

wow..i cant belive this is nija..we still have a long way to go people...am ashamed to be call a Nigerian after watching this video

linda pls post this i knw its insulting but.................... thunder fire rick ross and d producers of the video left balls...that is if he had one sef...... WTF sooooooooooooo he cldnt say Nigeria slump he had to classify the whole country as slump.......... shizzzer i am taking this to twitter he is MAD.......imagine he started with biafra..1]nigeria knwn for war 2]miliants 3]we live in slumps 4] we av weeds 5] child negligence 6]hungry 7]naked sef etccccc fine its all true but we dont need a pussy ass nigga dat hammered from d street [drugs] to tell us dat or av d gut to show us to the world mcheeeewwww

God punish dis smelling fat otondo....gosh irritating tn....fuck u rick obesity

A while back when I read about Rick Ross' intent to shoot a music video in Nigeria, I was so positive that this 'abomination of a video' will be the outcome. My friend disagreed with me because he likes Rick Ross...well, here it is. Nonsense! The video does not portray his lyrics. I don't see the correlation. Dumb ass Rozay! (Shaun I hope you've watched this sick video)#VeryDisgustedRightNow

all this fools condemning d video,he was tryin to show the real 'streets' dumb ass libers.....what our nigerian artists wld never do shoot a video in an environment like that..kudos roazay

I weep for people that worship this idoits.What d hell is this video abt??This nigga wont hold me back...watch who u r f..ing.What has that got to di with Biafra & shiwing the worst part of Nigeria.handing money out to kids in.Nigga pls.There r places in America worst than this and here in the Uk there.Learn Nigerians,People will drag u in d mud if u let them.So so pissed.

I certainly hope that he doesn't think that this was a noble homage. SMH

Gruesome Reality of the life of the poor.Yet despite all, I also say
DIS NIGGAS *corrupt and heartless govt* WONT HOLD ME BACK.

This should be a lesson for all of una wey dey live for Naija. Everytime u people see a foreigner, body go dey shake una like maga...all those ones wey full hin video like fools no be naija people?? Given theopportunity many off u would've been all up in that video cheesing like goats just to be in rick ross' video. I detest how Nigerians damn near kiss the arses of these foreigners men! Dont even get me started on those damn lebanese, indians and chinese lots in naija.

How in d world did rozay turn such revolutionary video to vitches and hoes. Good video RUBBISH LYRICS. thumbs down

This is how real Nigerians live! So the lucky few should shut up and look for ways to improve the country.Kudos to Rick Ross for highlighting this.

what exactly is his point? what is he trying to prove/show? This is absolute rubbish!

lol, I find nothing wrong with the video. There is more to Lagos than VGC, IKOYI, Lekki and Banana Island. Lagos is a slum, repeat after me, Lagos is a slum. Once we have accepted this, then change will happen. You Ajebutters keep living in denial. You guys need to get it through your head that most lagosians don't experienced the reality of the people that live on the Island. Most non Nigerians consider Lagos to be a slum. It's only the upper class nigerians that are living in this grand delusion that Lagos s Lekki and Ikoyi. *hiss*

IN SHORT NO COMMENT, SO DID THEY ASKED THEM NOT TO SHOOT THE VIDEO IN VICTORIA IRELAND,IKOYI AND OTHER BETTER PART OF NIGERIA? WHO ARE THOSE NIGERIANS THAT GAVE THIS GUY MORAL TO SHOOT THIS NONSENSE VIDEO? MY WHITE FRIENDS WATCHED IT WITH ME AND THEY STARTED ASKING ME, IS THAT HOW MY COUNTRY LOOKS LIKE? THAT, WHY ARE PEOPLE SUFFERING LIKE THAT, AND I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHERE TO START EXPLAINING TO THEM, HAD I KNOWN, I WOULD HAVE WATCHED THE VIDEO ALONE. IT'S A BIG SHAME.

Dats exactly hw nigeria is.. Was he suppose to go to obudu cattle ranch to shoot the video.. U're blaming him becos? Y'all nid get ur heads rite cos its the nigerian government u shud blame not rick ross

Our leaders shuld watch dis video nd be ashamed of themselves

silly silly rick ross

thanks for showing us all you cards Mr Ross cos in this one sweep move ur loyalty to the forces of Balkanization has been exposed. That Biafra subliminal at the beginning serves only one purpose and one purpose only and the God almighty will see to it that una plan no work. For a guy that was hosted in the poshest areas of this blessed country, u really fell our hands...punk

It just shows that we are savages!
It is only God that saved rick ross that he did not have one of his legendary black outs in that slum else he'd have been in the dark for eternity . LMAO!
Nigerians, WAKE UP ABEG! ABI UNA NO DEY TIRE FOR ALL THIS RIDICULE?

I love the video, shows how Nigeria really is. Let's stop deceiving ourselves with all the champange popping and ass shaking videos in clubs, this is the true Nigeria, we need more musc videos like this

The Truth is bitter…. My People…… Yes, We have lots and lots of beautiful places in that country but lets be very honest with ourselves, at least 60-70% of the population lives like some parts shown in the video. The Government has failed its people. Who is the voice of the people that truly live like this… The people in Makoko, Obalende Area and not to mention areas outside of Lagos. Yes, the people that live there don’t complain but their living condition is horrible for a Country thats the 7th or 8th Leading producer of Oil in the World. Maybe videos like this will shame all of us to start giving back to our communities instead of waiting for the Government who aren’t doing sh**t but getting their pockets fat.

Lets call an Ace an Ace people, This is what our backyard looks like. Are we going to keep complaining or put words to action… Just Saying!!!

Vans said...

RIGHT, THERE ARE A COUPLE OF RICK ROSS, JAY Z and THE GAME'S VIDEOS THAT USE GHETTO AREAS IN THE AMERICA. THEY JUST WANNA SAY THAT THEY COME FROM THE GHETTO. I THINK THIS IS MORE OR LESS THE SAME CONCEPT.

NOT BAD.

(JUST SAYING. NO COME CHOP ME RAW ABEG)

To me d vídeo is ok

Francis said...

Please people take time to listen to the music itself ,The lyrics plays an important part to what the video is trying to depict.I believe it was a well shot video which should remind we nigerians the state at which our country is @ still ,Fela said it years ago,Suffering n Smiling which is basically how we all live today one way or another we are always Enjoying n suffering alot one way or another.Lets just say the Big Boss is reminding us "These N**ger's wond hold me back" In the sense that we should let the government hold us back from expressing our wants and desires for our dear nation yes we need a revolution one way or another buh i believe we should commend an american for coming to remind us of our true state. Check out francisruff.blogspot.com

This doesn't portray Naij in a good way, its very condescending. This is incredibly sad!!!!

Daniel said...

Why are people on here 'offended' by the video...some people saying he should have shown the 'beautiful parts'....ignorance that this is what exists in Nigeria does not make the situation go away.....at least now people can be embarrassed and ashamed enough to want things to change

Totaly disgusting video!now ill travel 2 Yankee and peeps wld b asking if I was in the video!damn!I hate dis fat man

Bill said...

For all those cursing rozay! He had earlier shot a US version of d song and was also shot in d ghetto! Every country has its own ghetto! But ghetto pass ghetto...He is actually trying to pass a message with d song and video...beside before he came he made it clear he was coming to shoot a video at slums...go and check his old tweets.

Pls who knows Rick Ross in Mushin ? Didnt you see the guy giving those little kids money.That was the only way he could pull a crowd! Ewu nwuru anwu.. Why cant he shoot a video of the ghetto's in the US. His career is almost finished here that's why he has to go all the way to Lagos to shoot a nasty video for publicity .. IDIOT!!
Ng says so via my agbalumoberry!

jojoophina said...

menh this is so so downgrading

All of una quiet abeg. Suffering and smiling people with una taba teeth. Yeye dey smell. He's showing you all the things wrong with your *pussy ass niggas* behaviour. See some of u saying he should have shot it in the more beautiful parts...... Smh. If he did that, how will the world see the BS we cover with our fake swaggz. It's not like the ghettos are fake na. The percentage of the poor/middle income Nigerians to the affluent is like 90/10. The poor far outweighs. DO STH about this rather than sitting on ur fat lazy asses (˘̩̩̩.˘̩̩̩ƪ) over a song. Abeg I dey go before una vex me.

Ekedum Steven said...

This is too bad of a clips.

hian! you know what i am not mad at rick ross, i am just appalled by the state in which some people live in. nobody should be angry at him for showing the obvious. we always say, there are beautiful places in Nigeria, that is true just like there are beautiful places even in countries like Haiti, just because we come from the better parts does not mean that people are not suffering. Maybe if more international artistes keep coming to Nigeria and showcasing the impoverished parts in their music videos, shame would "catch" those in charge and they would eventually do something about it.

Are those places in Naija? :S

There are ghettos worldwide, even in New York and London, lets not deceive ourselves.We can't be living in deceit and faking luxury when more than 2/3rds are poor, and many graduates jobless.Yes I agree has more cons than the pros, but look folks its the reality out there.The video is not different from Eni Duro by Olamide or Dagrin Pon pon pon, just cus its Rozay, everyone is crying wolf.

Oh dear, rozay use naija cure for dis video oooo lmfao

Iyaeto said...

So let's see what Fashola has to say about this.Sebi they complained about Welcome to Lagos when BBC showed the world the documentry. Abi no be thesame Lagos .. Obaje ju

Errmmmm like sriously I don't see wat this song has to do with this kinda video!!!!9ja my country sha

Before you curse RR, or the person that shot the video please take time to watch the version shot in US. Then calm your dumb brain to get the message in the lyrics and video. Thank you.

US Version:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVO5WhIm4uI

I smh at y'all abusing him. Don't you know the truth is bitter. What he showed is nothing but the damn truth and I respect him for that. Its people like y'all condemning the vid that love to hide under the cloak of pretense, claiming Nigeria is the best country in the world when we all know its the exact opposite. I am a full blooded Nigerian and I don't need to live in poverty before I can admit the country needs help neither do I need to deny it to my friends from other better countries. Over half of the population live in abject poverty. You don't even know if its through this vid a revolution can happen. All it takes is one of the leader's children to stumble on this, get convicted by his/her conscience and show his/her parent. So stop the venom spitting haters. And yeah, to those cursing his family who have absolute nothing to do with it, just know it would surely back fire. Its people like you who cause unexpected predicaments on yourselves and start blaming it on someone chasing you from your village. Either ways, Rick Ross has made his millions and doesn't care that you, your dumb comments and back fired curses exist. So I advice y'all to seal your lips, poke it back in your face and move the hell on.
Hisssssssssss

c'mon rick ross shoulda done better...this is vastly humiliating and repulsive,outta da 36 states and cool locations in Nigeria,he just had to shoot his video in dat kinda environment,what message is he trying to send out...that Nigeria is so undeveloped and riddled with poverty???

Such nonsense!

we are about 200million people in nigeria, just about 50million are average and upper class, the rest are poor and many wretched and some of us want a video of obudu cattle ranch and ikoyi....smh...i love this video...the govt should see it..thanks Rick Ross. shame on most of our politicians God bless nigeria...

people need to shut up already. i am tired of Nigerians complaining about just the bad side was shown. not everyone can afford to live on the island, and the truth is majority of Nigerians are suffering so kudos to rick ross for showing the part of Nigeria everyone likes to forget about.

It took an international artist to show Nigeria's problems on video... Thumbs up Rozay

c'mon,rick ross shoulda done better,outta da 36 states and cool locations,he chose to shoot the video in the worst part and most dreadful place in Nigeria u can ever find...this is just outright repulsive and embarrassing,what message is he trying to send,that Nigeria is so undeveloped and riddled in poverty???

the way nigerians are beefing this video like the places shown in this video isnt in nigeria, if you live in abuja,vi lagos or lekki,arent you worried about these pple shown in this video? our own artists show club scenes like everything is ok while things are getting worse by the day, and a foreign artist has done it for the govt to see and be ashamed and some heartless nigerians are still beefing the video,am suprised, if we think there's no point in this video why were we shouting occupy nigeria etc then? infact i dont get we nigerians atimes..fuck the govt...big up Rozay,Tuface,Asha and other nigerian aritists that show the majority of nigerians who are suffering in there videos for the govt to see...shamesless politicians...

i really don't see anything wrong wiv this video...we've got slums in naija,everyone knows that and I see no reason y we shld pretend they're not there...if u really understand the message the track is passing then i see no reason for curses and sh*t.its bad enough that someone from yankee actually cares abt the slums here more than our so called government.big ups to rozay...hate it or love it the video is out and its gonna be played around the world...these niggaz wan hold me back...these ho's wan hol' me back...lol

He tried to use us as usual.. Because they say, even the neausance has its own value. This vedio does not define the nigerian people and culture. Let d fat idiot take some good shot of us, not d ghetto, cos even the so called America there are some places that AJ city is better than! ATLIST i was there for 5 years.

This shit just got real

Christian said...

why complain?
U dnt know the reason why this guy did what you just watched.Our leaders has failed us and people should see the real face of Nigeria,he did well.More than alot are hungry in Nigeria and the rich once are mostly those in power or connected to them.this is who we are,Hungry,starved by our former and current leaders.More greese to your elbow Mr Rick,good job.

Oh please, people need to see what Naija really is and this video potrayed just that.

I'm sick of people making Nigeria seem like its the best thing since toilet paper. People are suffering and their story need to be told.

And u think dis wasn't derogatory enuff wt all d show of abject poverty and dirt????? Smh for u,

What I think about the video is that Rick Ross showed the real part of Nigeria, and maybe this will convict the government to improve on the infrastructure in Nigeria.

More like extremely derogatory and demeaning. And to think he's gonna make some money outta dat!!!! God punish devil.

And u think dey don't have all dat in America? Wake up dreamer, plenty homeless folks ova there too. Quit being myopic ojare. Who eva told u USA is heaven msheeeeeew. Nonsense.

naijababe said...

@Anon 9;50

LOL@ fat Rick Ross go to hell.

Although, I understand he was trying to keep it real but why show the worst parts of Nigeria. When they go to Brazil, mexico, other places to shoot, they always go to the best parts to put the country in a better light.

Rick, after eating all the fufu and egusi soup, is this what you give us in return. I don't like the video at all.

Please be quiet

But that's the point and its not far from the truth

E b like say ur papa get shares for oxford dictonary cuz Na you speak english pass boss. I sure say u b english lesson teacher

JAYISM said...

Nothing personal.. the video does not lie.. these are some harsh realities about life in Nigeria. This country cannot be presented to the outside world through the eyes of the privileged few. This country needs some serious work if we want to be portrayed to the outside world as a country with potentials. But on the downside, as regards the video, his lyrics really suck. What is he even talking about. He should have done better.

JAYISM said...

Nothing personal.. the video does not lie.. these are some harsh realities about life in Nigeria. This country cannot be presented to the outside world through the eyes of the privileged few. This country needs some serious work if we want to be portrayed to the outside world as a country with potentials. But on the downside, as regards the video, his lyrics really suck. What is he even talking about. He should have done better.

Lala said...

We r all in denial. A good reminder that majority of us still live in poverty.

gray smiles said...

why does everyone get angry when someone raises awareness to their problem? Honestly, one of our biggest problem is that we are too proud to cry for help. So much is going on in Niger that no one will talk about, we are all pretending like Nigeria is perfect. We are not and maybe we need outsiders to tell us our house needs to be put in order for us to realise that we need to do something. Maybe this time, out pride will actually push us to get up and change, because so far it have only caused us to hide our dirt in clean cloth. Thereby, soiling useful material. Anyways, that is my two cents for today.

Some of you guys should be ashame of yourself. Cursing his family over a stupid video. All you Nigerian warriors, Abeg, chill. It must be insecurity and your conscience killing you guys. For you guys information, many rappers go to the ghettos or "hoods" to shoot music videos all the time, I don't see Americans getting angry when their ghettos are shown, why? because they are not insecure about their country.

To the idiot that said this will prevent tourism. lmao, I no fit laugh. So this video is what will stop tourism. What tourism industry does Nigeria have? With Boko Haram blowing waging a holy war, religious crisis in Jos, militants in the south east, Fuel scarcity, etc and you are worried this video is what will prevent people from coming to Nigeria. Hahaha, go check your head.

Good job, about time somebody exposed the level of poverty in Nigeria. Just because most of us here r better off does not mean we shld pretend like we don't know many r suffering.

But he should v shown the good side too. That's how u tell d story.

http://ashirigbakaute.blogspot.com/

There's wrong with the video at all. He portrayed Nigeria WELL! The poor and hungry folks. Everyone is not making money to buy clothes to wear for Bellanaija red carpet. A country where 90% are POOR! Why are we so pretentious? I LOVED THE VIDEO!

Seriously! I'm sick of these ignorant stereotypes and WTF does the song have to do with the video anyway??

Ify said...

Just can't laughing at you guys comments..very interesting

Jay O said...

I was confused about the video but lets state the truth.

1) The majority of Nigerians are impoverished. You and I know that, I feel blessed to never have experienced this, but I cant lie that I didnt see it around growing up.

2) The ppl who paid to go to his concert, how many would have donated to the ppl in the slums. For many of them, this is the only recognition that they have.

3) Yes this is representative of Naija, go to the small towns and villages, and majority are in dire poverty.

4) He had a Nigerian flag at the end, you can see he is happy to help be a voice of this major group of ppl.

5)Trying to hide Biafra or that the War happened, is ignorance, because it still serves as a hidden problem in our society. If all you know about Biafra is that it was a seceded nation that lost the war, then you my friend are an ignorant Nigerian, who should be ashamed that you dont know a vital part of your country's history.

6) He had clips from Yekini's goal, and other football scene. The point of the video I believe was to show despite the hard times, ppl are still trying to rise up. Kids hustling and selling on the streets. Mothers cooking wherever they can. Its a hard life, but it is REAL!

I am thankful for my parents, that i never had to experience this growing up as a kid in Lagos. That I never had to worry about food, go hunting in the garbage for food, or to stand outside begging, or hawking to make money.

I am thankful for my blue pali, which ensures that no matter what, my kids will never have to deal with this EVER.

The sooner we admit we have a problem, and arent so caught up in going to our happy hours, Ikoyi Club, meeting up at Bungalows, popping something at Swe Bar, and the likes, the better for all of us.

To the person who asked if we are at war???? Yes we are!! We have Boko Haram war! We have kidnapping war!! We have armed robbery war!! We have Niger Delta war!! We have corruption war!! List goes on!!

You think its normal for soldiers to be walking around with guns in a normal society?? Sorry its NOT that way! Its only because you are stuck in your box, that you dont think of it as abnormal.

I don talk am, keep getting mad folks. I was confused initially, but understood 2nd time I watched it.

Tribalist oshi!

Your primary school teachers were wicked! What's all this rubbish? :s "ireland"... Why can't you tell your "white" friends that there's more to Nigeria! Enlighten them... Better still enlighten yourself.

Tribalist oshi!

Seriously! I'm sick of these ignorant stereotypes and WTF does the song have to do with the video anyway??

Everyone is giving Rick Ross a hard time for showing how approximately 50% of the country lives. Would a more balanced view been more appropriate? Yes. However, if you're going to ridicule him, I believe you should also criticize the likes of Dbanj, Wizkid, Banky W that don't shoot their videos in Nigeria and opts for South Africa instead. When it is an opportunity for us to tell our own story. Just a thought...

I dont know what this video's about oo..
a
All i saw was black and white music video running for six minutes.
i dnt even know the use of that biafra clip at the beginning.
overall sha pointless. but i lyk the rick ross grunt, hahahaha! epic!

Oya, pack go stay Niger republic. Nonsense!

Ai

I don't know y Nigerian get annoyed when we look in the mirror.

This kind of video should be done more often so that we stop lying to ourselves.

The video above should motivate us as a people to do better.

Trabajo beuno officer ricki

I concur

Don't go download better song. I don't give a F about rickross shooting his video in nigeria, the rubbish song still don't make sense, people just love to do follow follow just cause this ugly thing is trending doesn't mean he's d shit cause he really isn't and he doesn't stand for anything positive. tired of dis folks coming from other countries and then portraying nigeria the negative way they do. If a nigerian shot a video like this , same stupid nigerians will look @ the artists like razz folks, rick Ross shot music wey no make sense , people are praising him like WTF is the dude promoting in his video tho . If u gon sing about the slum , at least be part of it , he has no idea what the people he used in d video go through on a daily basis. Sad people fall just anything sha, I see people claiming to finally become his fan. Smh ! Because a fat man with bear bear from America dey sing in ur country doesn't mean he's sharing any positive message. I don't even know how to put my words together sef. I just tire sef #my1cent

Impressed kini ? Some of u , just no dey alright o

Ode , rick Ross is maybach music and lil wayn is YMCMB, Linda too much agbero on ur blog o. Fall in love with someone portraying nigerians as punks . Bull shit

Amen

He's not changing d situation but portraying ya all as messed up folks . I don't know y u thanking him

I grew up in lagos for 27 yrs and lagos isn't like that , u can like to correct yourself and say some parts or where u lived. Sorry we all can't face ur fact

Whether he shot the version in new Orleans or not , this video is a mess. I don't give a F about rickross shooting his video in nigeria, the rubbish song still don't make sense, people just love to do follow follow just cause this ugly thing is trending doesn't mean he's d shit cause he really isn't and he doesn't stand for anything positive. tired of dis folks coming from other countries and then portraying nigeria the negative way they do. If a nigerian shot a video like this , same stupid nigerians will look @ the artists like razz folks, rick Ross shot music wey no make sense , people are praising him like WTF is the dude promoting in his video tho . If u gon sing about the slum , at least be part of it , he has no idea what the people he used in d video go through on a daily basis. Sad people fall just anything sha, I see people claiming to finally become his fan. Smh ! Because a fat man with bear bear from America dey sing in ur country doesn't mean he's sharing any positive message. I don't even know how to put my words together sef. I just tire sef #my1cent

walahi o
U no lie

Akinkunmi@12.37am you are an IGNORANT IDIAAAT!!!BiKO,Lin Honey post dis!!*kisses*

Did anyone even listen to the lyrics of the music before abusing Rick Ross? Did you guys check out the other video shot in the US? The concept of the video is to show the struggle of the people simple. The other video also showed how americans struggle and hustle to make it. As far as am concerned the video was great and doesn't show Nigeria in any bad light it just raises awareness to the plight of the poor in this country. Every country has ghetto areas and I honestly think that we as Nigerians should be thinking of how to improve our living conditions rather than hating on a player get paid. BTW what's the difference between Dagrin Pon Pon Pon and the Rick Ross Video. The point is every song has a particular message it conveys and this song conveys the message of struggle and it was properly represented both videos Shikena.

Also there is no need trying to paint Nigeria all bright like everything is all good in this country. We face greater challenges each day and if a music video shot by an american is what it takes to raise awareness of the struggle then so be it. Kudos Ricky mehn.

For the Latest in sports news checkout...true2soccer.blogspot.com. Have a great day guys

Niceeeee I like it good especially the flag , football and eko hotel part ... Den the dance troupe niceeeee well for the ghetto nice to cos a black background was used soo it covers the dirtiness.. Am sure he rickross didn't mean any harm. From a critic n professional point of view the whole concept is niceeeee cos there was a balance.....both the good and bad side and the victory story...

Niceeeee I like it good especially the flag , football and eko hotel part ... Den the dance troupe niceeeee well for the ghetto part nice to cos a black background was used soo it covers the dirtiness.. Am sure RICKROSS didn't mean any harm. From a critic n professional point of view the whole concept is niceeeee cos there was a balance.....both the good and bad side and the victory story...

your one and only Marketing Mogul

Dr. Pinch said...

Thank you my dear, as if we don't have fine areas in Nigeria what nonsense. He can go to hell for all I care they also have ghetto and poverty in USA

Back to his roots!I love this.Nice one Ricky rossey.We love u bro.-Biodun

Wat is dsapointin abt d video? Dat he told d whole world our tru status as a nation witout good governance? D video brought tears to my eyes bcos our own artistes run to SA for "cosmetic" videos bt ds one is as real as it gets. See all d mopol nd security details to show insecurity. See d kids running arnd naked to show poverty nd hunger. THANK YOU RICK ROSS FOR SHOWING AND DOING WHAT OUR SO CALLED "BIG ARTISTES" CUDNT DO!!! Plz feel free to com nd shoot more eye opening flicks. GOD BLESS U!!! ME...

Kudos to Ricky and everyone involved with this video. The world should get to know what is really going on in Nigeria. And for the rest of those that don't get the vid, please realise that in Nigeria, with all its wealth, only 9% live in affluence, 12% middle class and the rest live in complete poverty. The truth hurts.

febom said...

am so down with this video ...the ugly truth init?

all i see in the video is poverty,sickness,illiteracy......i dnt blame rozay...i blame our so called selfish and notorious policitian...

Walle said...

We all need to to applaud Rick Ross's interest in Naija. Though some people might wanna criticise the video, it'd be better done constructively. For me, it's a good video and I see him trying to pass a message - they (presumably the government, ethnic groups) can't hold him back from being who he wants to be. Quite right! A message of hope amidst all the violence, ethnic clashes, corrupt governments peculiar to Naija since independence. I don't like rap music anymore, but I get the message clearly whenever I listen to one as this. Big ups, Ricky and you too, Linda.

I have always respected Rick and liked his music till now. Rick is a dumb ass for shooting this kinda video.

Walle said...

We should not all just criticize without thinking about the message behind every production. As much as I'd think of this as a negative portrayal of naija, I believe there's a message behind his story - nothing holding him back from being who he wants to be amidst the violence, ethnic clashes, injustices, corrupt government and lack of infrastructural development that has plagued Naija since independence, nothing stops us from being who we want to be. We surge on, achieving our goals. Big ups, Rockyrozay and you too Linda.

kikas said...

GOWON declared war has ended in 1971.but rick is showing us conditon of nigerian state since the end of the war 41 years ago..thnks ross

You got the message!!!

Stargal said...

i cudnt even finish watching d video.rubbish, so dat was his aim.am least worried.NAIJA NA MY COUNTRY NO MATA WAT DEM SAY.

I swear Nigeria is like this very very ugly woman with low self esteem that hates getting caught without her heavy make up and fake weave".

YES!!! And YES!!! Na lie b4 say we dey underdeveloped and riddled with poverty??? U had better start telling urslf d truth and face reality! *hiss*

F**king video makes no sense.... He needs be banned from entering Nigeria.

Rony said...

i was so embarrassed watching the clip. it just made me realise just how underdeveloped nigeria still is and the high rate of poverty in this country. The issue is, what really did Ricky have in mind when shooting this video, was it to portray us as savages cos that he definitely accomplished!

Big Mike said...

The American version was shot in a ghetto in New Orleans. Even some African Americans complained about the video cos they were ashamed too. They gave out sneakers but they shouldn't Hv given those kids money or whatever in the water like that. Also, officer Ricky should Hv made one hot naija babe dance & hang around him like he did here. The point is he wanted a ghetto and he found one. There's no way he could Hv changed it or make it any better. If the Ghetto was like the one in New Orleans it would be the same. Ghetto pass ghetto. I hope they dnt play that shit on BET else my colleagues go ask me o... Officer Ricky which kan wahala be dis na. The truth hurts but truth is truth... I can't blame him. He gave those people money and they acted like he wanted them to.

Yer but thats d whole point of d video.. Even d original version was in d hoods of yankee

You are such a heartless soul. Isn't that your Nigeria? Don't face reality and be dying in your bad heart. Make una dey vote PDP, Nigeria will never improve

I'll take it dat most of u panning dz vid havn't watchd d original.it wuz shot in a ghetto in d states so he ain't dissin y'all.take a chill pill

Dear all, I don't see anything wrong with this video, it's shows how people are sufferiing in nija, it's the true reflection what our country is, we should stops hiding, simple bc we live in a good envornment does not means we don't have suffering and forgotten without our leader doing anything. May God continue to bless our country.

all this mumus complaining bout the video, bet y'all wudve been happy if he shot it in V.I....arindins.....why didn't dagrin shoot PONPONPON vid in BANANA ISLAND sef.....the song potrays the struggle of people living in the slums and to create awareness that even though they are suffering, they are still smiling and NOTHING CAN HOLD THEM BACK

I concur.everytaim these bastards want to show naij dey always make it luk as if all of us are war-torn refugees livinng in shelters and shit.its pissing.if rick ross wass lukin 4 a slum or ghetto 2 shoot a video in(as surprisin as it may seem) thers a gud enuf numba of those in the UK or Yanks were he traveld 4rm-laik homeless guys livin in cardboard boxes nd shit.plus just out of curiosity I wondr if he did enything 4 those poverty sricken ppl he featured in his video or whethr dey were only ther t make up his scene

Most of y'all abusing him haven't even seen the original video or taken the time to listen to his lyrics. Like alomo the truth is bitter, He showed the truth & if e dey pain u go hug transformer.

nnamdi said...

my own opinion is that rick rosse just insulted naija .....making it look like dis is how d whole place in naija is... why didnt he go to places in d island to shoot d video?

Mr Ross abi wetin be ur name, u think say we dey fight war for naija abi that na y u dey shoot sarcastic video. if they born u well come naija again if i no go break your leg. Amugbo oshi. Nonsense!!!!!!!!!!!

Half of Lagosians have never visited this places the video was shot at and would avoid the kids from there like a plague. But trust them to criticize, and when he was here how many went to see him perform. Imagine the security that was provided for him. We cant pick and choose all the time.

Ofilispeaks.com said...

The first few seconds of the video...I wonder where he got the clip from.

FortySeven said...

Na wa o! I am shocked at a lot of the comments up in here! Okay, granted, the video didnt showcase the best of Naija. It didnt showcase the affluence, the style, the bubbling night life. But ask yourself this: Has Rick Ross highlighted or shown anything false? Did he lie against our beloved Naija?

Come on people!! That we want to go about our daily lives pretending that such things dont exist does not change the fact that they do. In the course of my career I have been to many places in this country that make the images in Rick Ross' video seem like park and garden estates! These things are real!

We need to get over ourselves biko!

Besides if you have watched the original Hold me Back video, which was shot in New Orleans, you will see that its the same concept. It was also shot in America's underbelly. It showed poverty in the American ghetto. All the guy is trying to say in these videos is that despite the hardships, despite the poverty, despite the horrible living conditions, a man who is determined not to let anything hold him back will surely survive.

By shooting this video in the slums of Lagos he is trying to tell the world that despite the situations these Nigerians find themselves in they have decided to survive and to thrive. They have said to themselves I wont let this hold me back!

Eish!!

Came to read the comments first before going back to watch the video and all i can say is that...yes, if you want to be myopic about it, you can come here cursing away @ Rick Ross for showing all that is wrong with us as a nation, but i really dont think that's what we should be doing...what we should be doing is asking all our 'p-squares, d'banjs, etc who think that shooting videos in SA with naked girls is the way forward to have a re-think and do socially-conscious videos like this. Like someone said earlier maybe we can keep at it till someone's conscience in govt is touched and we see change.
Big ups to people like 2Face, El-dee, Sound Sultan who do videos that show how unkind we are to one another in this country.
@ anon Sept 18 9:46...that screaming baby was a LAUGH!!!

Disturbing...

This video is dope, I loveeeee it I loveeeee the concept n all. I never liked rozay but I think am starting to fall for him whoopppp

baby cute said...

my point is........... he did a good thing by coming to Nigeria, but why will he go to the poorest areas, it just like wizkid going to shoot a video in one of US ghettos how are they gonna feel? dese is really bad, why should Nigerians accept this thrash, its not like there r no ghettos overseas, there are so many, they just wont show them!

is this man stupidddd or what

iddddddiiiiiiotttttttt i could not stop typing that on my key board

Nigerians typically want this video 'shoot' in the finest part, so that people can say waoooo!! fine county. meanwhile the part in the video exist and is maginalised. HYPOCRITES, stop feeling all right, all is not right. i love the video and i dont see any ridicle anywhere, if it was not so, he wont have shown it. peace out!!

So is nigeria not like that, is lagos not a slum?why r u ashamed ?I live in ikoyi and passing some roads wit potholes makes me wonder if I really live in ikoyi or mile 2?explain to ur friends that even the nice areas in lagos r slums, the country is blessed but corrupt

sandrq said...

Linda dia is a rick ross sex tape wit a naija girl. *smh* pls bring us d gist nd video!

No b rick ross una suppose insult cos no b im create d horrible living conditions 4 naija na naija leaders.D slum 4 d video even betta pass many slums 4 northern naija.Naija is on a very long tin

If all he potrayed in the video was a lie,let all the curses be on him and if it's the truth,watch your back people,the curses are coming back with double speed to haunt you.

@Tunde Ogunpitan You are an educated illiterate ,your oyinbo friends,who cares? Tell them about their own countries,every county has a story,this is your country NIGERIA,accept it or eat indommie with toothpick

This video is a simple reminder,the road is far for Nigeria.God help us

chaz said...

Honestly i see why so many people are mad but guess what if he only shot in the best of VI, Ikoyi and Lekki it would be a very different song. lets be real this is Nigeria and most importantly Lagos. i live in the UK and whenever i come i'm privileged to stay in VI and its not even the nicer parts of VI but it will do. but trust me i've seen what is in this video alot, the harshness of reality. Maybe we and government should be forced to see it everyday until we all change the situation. its Nigerians problem and that includes Nigerians who live abroad. Until most Nigerians start living better instead of a small percentage this is the image the world continues to see of Nigeria.

THIS IS A BETTER VERSION OF EEDRIS SONG! NIGERIA JAGA JAGA...LOL....Thanks so much rozay!

i am happy to read the criticisms on these video,it means the video has done its job, like it or not this video potrays what the majority of nigerians are going through,its a shame it took a foreigner to come and show it,our own artists prefer going to other countries to shoot fake videos, the people that this video is speaking for cannot even browse or tweet and so cannot comment here if not we would have heard there voice, they arent even very computer literate, you lot are here shouting cos you have mtn,mtn that you always complain about...thanks rozay

there is little or nothing wrong with this video, he started with the biafra story which everyone should know as part of nigerian history and not try to scrap it as if it didnt happen.it went ahead to potray what it happening in nigeria,as there is no location in the video that isnt nigeria.it also went ahead ahead to show the struggles of the good ones like Late Yekini n his collegues and the suffering and smiling of the cultural dance group,this what fela was preaching,this is what eedris has been saying...some nigerians think nigeria is good chai..i dont know whatelse to say...nice video...

joijoy said...

funny comments I am laughing at all the comments of my fellow Nigerians! ranting away in blissful ignorance, this is how most of the areas are in Lagos especially Makoko, obalende,marina yeah in the oecean there are abadoned ships dat are sinking there slowly becoming toxic waste! pls don't we have bomb blast almost every day in Nigeria now? please you nigga can't hold it back, its out there now! deal with it.....

GLAM ME PRO said...

I love that he loves my country...Nice One RICKY but wots with the pussy ass snd ho's all about? LMAO @ that little boy that screamed on seeing rickys face CHOI! convulsion choro ibia di lil boy anoda one that got me was the two fighting guys,and how serious they were....Also nice of u cz u were relaxed and played with those ghetto boys tht shows u must be very humble and friendly,Loved u for that thoo.

What is his message with this video?? That is all I want to know...

you guyz should shut up and see the good in this video. what d hell is wrong with nigerians, so person no fit come rep your country again? this guy is a philanthropist!!!!

stop lieing to yourselves cos you cant face the truth. this is the real nigeria rick ross showed if you dont like it, tough

Segun said...

I love this video in all its entirety. Rick Ross stuck to the ghetto concept. Same as New Orleans where the 1st one was shot.Good shooting as well and unfortunately showing the REAL Nigeria. I don't know what the fuss is all about. Was it a good video? Yes. Did he lie about the true state of the country? NO. If he wanted to shoot with beautiful places in the background would he come to Nigeria to do that? Hell NO. Abeg lets not mince words here Nigerians are suffering and let us do something about it. Not rain curses on someone that told the bitter truth.

N some God forsaken pple r happy abt dis video, y didn't he use at least d live stage thing, fools. Let me tell u all, this video is going round d globe n anyone who doesn't knw anything abt Nigeria is convinced dt dts d hell u all came from.

Why shot in slum area?

Can't believe this is d almighty Lagos, displayed in dis video.

N some God forsaken pple r happy abt dis video, y didn't he use at least d live stage thing, fools. Let me tell u all, this video is going round d globe n anyone who doesn't knw anything abt Nigeria is convinced dt dts d hell u all came from.

lili said...

What fine place does Nigeria have that you can show to an American celebrity? People that have seen the best in the world. Get over it, this is Nigeria.If u don't like what u see,instead of complaining, press for a change.

That baby screaming cracked me up. Best moment was Rashidi Yekini's part. I don't know why people are criticizing this video btw. The lyrics portray the Nigerian struggle of course. No matter what we're facing, nothing would hold us back. Abi nor be so?

lili said...

hat "fine" places does Nigeria have that you can show off to an American celebrity? People that have seen the best in the world. Get over it, this is Nigeria.If u don't like what u see,instead of complaining, press for a change.

unfortunately, this is the harsh but true reality of the Nigerian state. Video shot in Nigeria!

Lets hope people just think this is someplace Africa and not Nigeria in particular because we certainly don't need any more bad publicity at the moment. God bless Nigeria!

Lets hope people just think this is someplace Africa and not Nigeria in particular because we certainly don't need any more bad publicity at the moment. God bless the Fedral Republic of Nigeria!

Exactly...this is nigeria...peple need to wake up fron thier day dreams and smell the coffee. Nigeria still has a long way to go in fixing up.

:O lolololololololol!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ahh aunty/uncle that is one deep prayer

You dumb critics should just shut your dirty mouth. Ya just better go live in an exile where all you had to feed on is grass and dead rats. Every video has its own concept. Rozay has done a perfect job, he showed the Ghetto side of 9ja in that video so what wrong in that? Nigerians just like to live in pretense, so you only wanted to see areas like VGC, Banana Island, Ikoyi? Ya'all bunch of fools, crappy dumb head goats, are there no Ghettos in Yankee? Why did you guys not say crap when Banky W sang (Ebutte Metta) was that not shot in the real Ghetto of Ebutte Metta? Akon (Ghetto) was it not short in the crazy Ghettos of the Yankees? why do we have a problem with Rozay's video? Ya'all should shut your stinking mouth. Lets face the reality for the hope of Nigeria rest on the shoulder of us citizens. Lets curb living under pretense. Every country has its own Ghetto

Amber Lake said...

To those of you that are angry about the song : You are angry because you hate the truth. Nigerians love to lie and deceive themselves in the name of patriotism. All that smiling when your country is literally on fire and sayings like Nigerian people are the happiest people, it's not working anymore. You guys need to wipe that smile off your face and face reality. The country will never get better if you can't admit there is a problem with it.It's sad that it takes an outsider to tell you your house is burning when you can smell the smoke yourself. 85% of the people in Nigeria live in poverty. From that 85%, 71.5% of them live below the poverty line (which is very extreme poverty). To those of you comparing Nigeria to America: Nigeria is way far behind. Only 14.3% of people in America live in poverty. You seriously think that's not a problem. To those of you claiming/saying there are better places in Nigeria: How many of you have access to the fundamental basic needs of life (Constant Power supply, Water, good roads and infrastructure.)How are the roads in your neighborhood, some of you have to wake up at 4:00am to go to work that starts at 8:00am (this all due to the horrendous roads and infrastructure) and you still think that's not a problem. It is 2012 and not 1912 and still Nigeria cannot boast of constant power supply. Does it make any sense that the 7th largest crude oil nation in the world cannot provide constant power supply for its citizens. For those of you talking about Lekki, Ikoyi, Victoria Island: How good are the roads and infrastructure in Lekki. How many of you talking here can afford to live in this places. All you see is Humongous houses surrounded with nasty infrastructure, pot holes and roads. Corruption has practically become one of Nigerians attributes. Instead of getting angry at Rick Ross, Channel your energy and anger to the crazy officials you elected. There needs to be more thought provoking videos like this; videos that will pierce people's heart and wake them up to reality.

rick ross hold me back = dagrin ponponpon.....all of una chill in on lappy r part of the 25% percent that are either average or upper class......the rest r suffering n smiling n dey didn't complain about d vid. It's only you ignorant fools that want rozay to show ur banana island n ur ikoyis that will......SELFISH FOOLS count ur blessings n thank God that you're not in dt predicament that those people in the slums are.....rozay create awareness n showed love but NO, u don't appreciate that , u just want MORE...THIS IS WHY GREED IS THE BIGGEST PROBLEM IN NAIJ

Na wah o!!! all our musicians are going to America to produce their videos,& now americans r coming to shoot their videos too...hehehehe

@ross Nigeria won't 'FORGIVE' you either for this. #bb covers face.

okorodudu said...

Check out 1:15 where the baby goes into shock from seeing Boko Haram.

Then again check Omotola out at 4:23 - 4:24, what was she wearing????

Did you see all the smokes neatly rolled into a holder on d boat?

okorodudu said...

"September 18, 2012 11:27 PM ...SO DID THEY ASKED THEM NOT TO SHOOT THE VIDEO IN VICTORIA IRELAND, IKOYI AND OTHER BETTER PART OF NIGERIA? .....IT'S A BIG SHAME."

kai! Oyinbo is a killer me. Victoria Ireland????? Dammmmnn. nuff said.

why would he portray Nigeria like this? it does not make any sense. Highly dissapointed

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 218   Newer› Newest»