Mallam Nasir El-Rufai has never heard of Ice Prince | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 20 September 2012

Mallam Nasir El-Rufai has never heard of Ice Prince

Is that acceptable? :-)

143 comments:

( =D
)
/ \ ,
' ‎​ laff don pull M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ trouser ..y e go knw am wen all wen dey e mind nah to render people homeless..!

Gistarena said...

it could be true, most of these men may not know all these our celebs due to their kind of music.

...and this is an issue because? There are many other people that haven't heard of him

Ofcourse its possible he doesn't know Ice prince,don't think he was sounding rude.
~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA3310.

On wat planet has he bin dat he's not heard of IcePrince Zamani? Hello Pls get real!

Lol, can b truth, ystrdy my friend posted on FB "watch me do my azonto" n her elder sist commented wats azonto? Lol

DITLO said...

ahnahn el-rufai is too busy to know "ice-prince" na...shoooooo

drerhumu said...

He may have heard his songs without knowing who sang them.

He doesn't listen 2 music probably busy wit politics.shuuuuu.

What's unacceptable about it? Is it a requirement to withdraw money that he knows Ice prince? Abeg

that's just a stunt to get El-Rufai's attention. B4 u knw it he'd be asked to perform some political rally.

Lmao..apparently he doesn't listen to hiphop music

yes its acceptable, different generations, different music taste.........

abeg! naturally joor..
i seriously doubt el rufai goes around listenin to whiz-kid, n ice-prince dem, that's like asking ice prince if he has heard the songs of dan maraya, dan kwairo or oumou sangare(awesome back in d days hausa and malian singers)

not cool, could hv at least googled him then pretend '' oh yeah that young musician''

Moses said...

Accepted! People like Mallam El-Rufai, spend most times reading and writing. The last time we exchanged tweets, he told me he was writing till daybreak because he's to be on a flight that morning. Even, when they read Dailies, they browse through what concerns them; Editorials, Politics, International news and not enetertainment. When they try to see the TV, Trust me, Its CNN, Islamic religion stations or any other strong news or educational reporting stations, same on the radio. Music to people like this is just to get them on, then they refer to the oldies, their tribe music or Islamic music. So, tell me! Who's Ice prince to Mallam El-Rufai. I'm sure he doesn't.....

kanayo said...

Its possible. Even ♍ƺ don't know him. Plz linda who į̸s ice prince? Į̸s he a member of the national assembly?

Why wud elrufai av hrd abt ice prince?!...dy r not in da same class...

"Is that acceptable?" As in?

and they say he is in touch with the PEOPLE? Please

And this is a potential leader of our People? wow we need help in NIGERIA

whats unacceptable about that Linda? there are loads of pple who dnt knw ice price. i only heard about him few months back myself....talk a whole lot El-rufai. moving on abeg

Of course its acceptable....Lindo,do u know everybody??? Abeg free El Rufai o!!! He is very free to know whoever he chooses.

Nuff Said!!!

NecFix said...

Haha, Ice Prince performed at the CPC rally at ember creek Ikoyi last year & mallam Nasir El Rufai was very much present in that rally. But its no biggie; His statement is very acceptable, everyone is entitled to his/her opinion right? But El Rufai sha & his regular use of sarcastic (most times exaggerated) undertones. U gotta admire his intelligence though.

Mummy Twins said...

why is it not acceptable? Should he lie? they are not of same age group or in the same circle of life. Moreover most people should ask their parents if they know ice prince am sure they will get same answer!

No big deal!! I have never too

Me said...

Very acceptable! They are not in the same age bracket olodo Linda. Go and ask your father if he knows Wizkid because he mentioned him. Get real! Besides no gist? why all these dry gist

Linda, not everyone knows Ice Prince. Trust me; not everyone knows D'Banj even sef.

Never heard of him either. Who is he?

MNC_Critic said...

famzin' tins...i guess ice prince got busted

its possible , him dey hussle 2 find how he go make money not memorise names . im sure he tot ice prince was a traditional drink

That is your own cup of tea

bimzy said...

who is ice prince?

What concerns El rufai wt ice prince, even me here who is younger don't knw a lot of this new artists, so what do u mean by is it acceptable? El rufai is elderly first and foremost and an efiko not quite a socialite I tink there's nothing wrong with him not knowing IP.

is not surprising to me, it is highly possible
naijaopenmouth.com

annonymous 9 17am so upon all d bueatiful pics in d world u choose that horro one?each time i see ur post i nomally jump it wt speed cos of that ugly face of urs, u scare me alot pls linda stop posting his or her coment until he change that pics unless u also welcm spirits on ur blog,u irritate me.

priest said...

"in ice-prince's voice" ...SOMEBODY LIED....

chioma said...

Seriously linda, I don't even expect EL_ rufai to know ice prince. Some of them are not even intrested in this modern day music. There was a party my organisation had and wizkid was the last artist to perform can you believe that that the room was half empty at the time he was singing. All the elderly people have disappeared.

How does dis affect the price of garri in the market.too dry abeg.

Some of these polticIans don't even know that ur so called celebs exist in d North.Sorry but its true.
ThOse of us who left Nigeria in d early nineties can't fanthom what u r talking abt when u mention some of ur celebs nAmes!

Warri Girl said...

It's possible he hasn't heard of him. He is a busy man and maybe he doesn't like rap music.

Does my Father knows Ice prince?????? Ice prince kor........Ice water tutu re niii, Next!

But whatz wrong with his comment?dont know him ..whoz dat?does he sell ice or what???

What's Ice prince pls?

Wat do u mean is it acceptable? Lyk duh! Do u think it's evry1 who kips up wit d entertainment world! Lyk serzly! Ur "is d@ acceptable" is Not acceptable n silly!

mehn dz is seriouz...ice prince evn mentiond his name in his song......ogami u no try atal

happyhausabunny said...

Errm Linda, it's acceptable! Ow can u even ask d@? Makes u seem myopic

What is Ice Prince???

Well focused politicians unlike many we have in Nigeria dont give a hoot abt Ice Prince cos they have more pressing issues to attend to. Leave El- Rufai alone

Pls help me ask them... Its amazing how well we celebrate mediocrity in Nigeria. God help us!

African Sweetheart said...

I've never heard of Iceprince too! ;) lol

Check out my blog gorgeous people! Hope you had a blast Linda! Holla me this weekend in London.

http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/fashion-focus-isoken-enofe-asemota.html#.UFr4pI1lRs8

Are u for real? How does knowing Ice Prince represent a connect to da People? Abeg, we have more pressing national issues joor.

Hello Linda, this guy no be our mate nah. How is he supposed to know Ice Prince? With the kind of music they make these days, I don't expect anyone his age to relate. Don't even get me started on Ice Prince bars :|

Kech

...they are not on the same radar, just the same way RMD never heard of Linda Ikeji! Pass the mic I beg!

Why everyone on my BB contact saying HBD to 2face Idibia??? Pls is DAT religion or a country cos I have not heard that b4.

Now evri1 is talkin bla bla bla,ow many parents over 50 know iceprince,evn MI,my dyd dosnt know all of dem,wen dey r nt oliver nd shina peters,,SMH

LALICIOUS said...

Lol Linda give us gist on Чυя party joor,,,who's ice _prince 2 A̷̷̴̐͠ politician,my mama no even kno am mtchewww

NaNmA LaBaR said...

Trust me! Iceprince knows these people and he's listened to their songs.

KOFOSHY said...

Free d man abeg, not all politicians av d tyme to listen to hip hop songs.

Don't tell me u r as dull n stoopid as d actor kanayo o kanayo. Wtf is wrong wid u? Pls say smfin else.mschhwww

On planet earth....he isn't a youth and bsides not all youths are into music

More like asking my 70 year old dad if he knows Banky W.

He was most likely referring to one of his sons.

Can u imagine comment, dat he mentioned his name in a song so what! Was driving an uncle 1day n he told me 2 skip 2 d song I was playing smdays bk n I asked which n he said dbanj oo dbanj abiala n he was like pls who sang it lol I laffed d whole day. So pls oga rufai don't av any biz knowing iceprince

Sirikenna said...

LINDA, POST MA COMMENT OH:foolish comment made. If u dont have wat to comment, whistle while go tru d post and other comments. U musnt call her olodo. And if u are tired of reading her dry gist, why dont u go form ur blog and carry wet gists dem dem. Last time i checked, u dont have a well recognised blog. Sirikenna talk so via nokia ipad5

He won't lie and why should he know him?

linda it is so acceptable. what ofi tell u i only him by name cox of my younger ones but dunno how he looks like what he wears or his songs? Anyway i kn him kn thanks to u linda.

Exactly what i tot!!!

devour said...

why should he no ice-prince ? am in mi 20s n i just discovered he was the one that sang oleku and i love that song die but never saw the video or asked.i was surprised though when i was playing tu-face for instance back in Atlanta n mi dad whom stays in 9ja didn't no who he was so that's the way it is.the old folks just enjoy the music in passing and don't give an f* who the musician is unless is the oldies they already know.

Lool so that's what is scaring u? Ahahaha I was expecting to see summing horrible.. Kmt!

Why not if not. Wetin concern Agbero with Overload? *chewing my grilled plantain with creamy palm kernel and red pepper toppings*

As popular as 2face is, or even P-square, i can bet my dad does not know them. These men are not in our generation, plus they are BUSY!

oliver omoredia said...

Ye ma form familiarity...baba knows him not. They are not in the same class...my father also knows him not,they are not mate. Or maybe the man knows him as Alhaji Zamani.

So if he is a potential leader he should know everybody? Pls listen 2 urself talk.......he dosen't know he,he doesn't know him,why should he lie.......i don't see any big deal

Linda what kind of silly question is that acceptable? Na by force to know who Ice Prince be? After all an rubbish he dey sing, I don't expect a matured man to know who Ice Prince is?

Ice Prince who???? Abeg Linda carry go.

Linda u r so funny what. So u expect some body like El Rufai to v time to listen to such music that v no meaning.

Wash of life

TWITS said...

Is it mandatory to know d fellow??? What's unacceptable about El-Rufai's response, if I may ask? Infact, who is Ice Prince?? Pls let's not over-estimate the "importance" of these guys..Has his music fed millions of poverty-stricken Nigerians??? ((just asking))

ha! Wetin come concern us say u exchanged tweets?? Must u hike ur shoulder to write a single point here??

Zsa Zsa said...

Is it just me or did the fact that the question was really a joke totally escape all of you! Linda put a smiley face at the end of her question and u guys just took it to another level, NA wa o! Lighten up people, didn't we joke about Obama not knowing who snooki from jersey shore was? Take it easy y'all.

Not all politicians have the time to listen to hip hop songs

Mtcheew he said he dsnt knw him,must he lie.haba

Hope said...

buahahahahahahahahahaha..lwtmboooooo

Naeto C was in my office and i didnt recognize him.

That one nko!?

He he... Who be ice prince????

tommy said...

Please, who is ice prince?????? Is he a fashion designer or an ice-block seller?

Am not old,am nt a politician,am a Nigerian,and I also dnt knw d ice prince guy!!!!its no big deal.meaning he isn't of any importance to me(not in a rude voice).

The guy has other things 2 think about, esp becoming Nigeria's president

Lala said...

Now he does...

That's true......I saw Tuface and screamed "that's Tuface" and my husband was like "who's Tuface"? He had never heard of him.

Its just a song,most of them don't mean there lyrics.....

LMFAO @ Or maybe the man knows him as Alhaji Zamani....LIBERS una sabi crack person up

Who is Ice Prince?

The sage said...

In this day and age, not taking anything away from mallam rufai, the more u read the more ur supposed to be aware of what's going on around u; particularly if ur in politics.

If he doesn't know Ice Prince, its fine, but displaying such ignorance on a social network with gusto, doesn't quite sit well with the person being described as well-read of things Nigerian; which should include current affairs and particularly an area where youths are actually making a future for themselves legally.

In one sentence, he has sold himself short.

And so? ~Chris~ says

The sage said...

Pls, we have to understand what Linda means by asking if its acceptable. My dad hardly knows any musician asides KSA, Obey and Shina Peters, but then he's also not a politician nor aspiring to be one! For a politician that wants to be seen as representative of a new generation and youth, he didn't do himself any favours.

And for those saying " a whole elrufai, why should he?"; pls note that Elrufai is a human being, went to schl in Nigeria, just like millions of other Nigerians. Providence and goodwill are mostly what got him to where he is, it could have been anybody else.

Part of why we are in this mess is cos most citizens deify our policitains cos of the opulence and brazen power they display; while the politicians in turn decieve us into beliveing they know all abt us and what we need, whereas, just as he said, never heard abt us!

El rufai is a mallam, so its acceptable for him not to have heard of ice prince. But I think he knows Dan maria jos.‎​‎​​ lol

El rufai is a mallam so its acceptable for him not to have heard of ice prince . But I guess he knows Dan maria jos . Lol

Hahahahahahaha! Now dats wat its lyk. Dis guyz r in anoda world o! D 70's n 60's.

I dont know ice prince as well

That ur husband must b old fashioned

R4R said...

i dont tink its compulsory 4 el rufai 2 know ice prince.its possible he doesn buh at least with this song they wuld get to meet,which is the most imp tin and not whether or not he knew him prior to now.

Pls, peeps check my brand new blog & post any relationship issues u may be facing @ work, church, school, with your husband, wife, boyfriend, and girlfriend………u name it……..lets resolve it 2geda.*smiles*

www.relationship4rum.blogspot.com

what is jersey shore?

yes I said it said...

Please you people don't understand what linda means by 'is it acceptable?' She meant is it acceptable for ice price to sing a song claiming to be close friends with these politicians!!! I heard the song today and he kept on singing that he was friends with El-rufia

Ice Prince is not just anybody or everybody, he stands n represents a clique or figure of peepz ... For El Rufai not to know him, menh it is point blank he doesn't know a damn thing about the youth and TO ME dat is a no way near bein' a potential leader FYI - Obama should have decided to respond: Who is Nicki! #TOTALLY NOT ACCEPTABLE# - I Ain't Givin' Hypes 2 Ice Prince Tho!

na must to know these so called celebrities? do they put food on anyone's table? maybe their family members' tables but why do everyone have to know them most especially if their music isn't helping in stabilizing the country?

gistnextdoor said...

This is not a topic na...wetin concern politician nd rapper?If dey ad sed he doesn't know 2face nw I wud av sed dat jst absurd...

Is he an American music star?dnt know him.

Not surprised, my father and mother wudnt knw who ice prince is either. It's the younger generation of Nigerians that knw these things...... Most of our fathers don't and elders don't...

Jay O said...

See a joker, comparing Ice Prince to Nicki Minaj.

The only thing I know about Ice Prince is Oleku, and is Brymo that made that song!

I know the name Ice Prince, but I wouldnt recognize him on the streets o, neither would I be jumping,

For anyone to be yarning dust about El Rufai and others not knowing Ice Prince means they are ignorant of Naija's issues.
Why didnt they ask him about P-square or Tuface...abeg!

Probably knows ice prince by another name. Wats dat his real name sef? "MR ZAMANI". whoever ȋ̝̊ڪ asking el rufai shld ask him again Cos he might know MR ZAMANI.

If you don't listen to Afro Hip-Hop then why should you know Ice Prince? This is a silly debate because how many of the commentators know Fuji artists? Leave El Rufai alone. The man has better things to do than dance Afro hip-hop. He is not a kid.

No it's not acceptable. He is highly educated enough not to have displayed such class arrogance on a social network ! He has access to be informed!!

However, he does not hold any public post at the moment or contesting for one. So his opinion of who he knows does not count because lots of gari sellers does not know who EL RUFAI is either !!! So who is El Rufai ? What does he do presently?

Eyah, ur sense has finished sha.. My baby bro can't talk rubbish like u, haba

Uche Ohia said...

Please, who is Ice Prince?

@ sirikenna, which one is Nokia iPad2 again? Aba! Nigerians and washing shaaaa!! El Rufai called out *ice prince, now I'm calling you out too!!!

Musicians like to feel among. Just like rick ross rapping that he knows communist president noriega

Hahahahahahaha! Ur wicked!

Its official- u r now rootless. D whites wnt take u in as white even if u've bin there since d 60's, I dnt expect u 2 kno evrybody, but at least create a connection. Trust me u'll feel beta n despite d fact dat Nigeria is not all dat, we go arrive surely

uhmm.. how is this an issue? i can bet my dad doesn't have a clue who ice prince is, he might have heard his music a few times... doesn't mean he knows his name. NEXT!

Maks said...

Jay O said...
I quite agree with your comment. Brymo's voice actually made the song "Oleku" popular. Why must El Rufai know Ice Prince? What do they have in common? what does he even sing? what has he contributed to humanity. Of what value are the lyrics of our musicians (especially the so called rappers) to the society? Or than the immoralities they teach the younger ones. Abeg make una free El Rufai and lets concentrate on the challenges facing us. Make I begin count...Light, insecurity, poverty, corruption, bad road, unemployment, robbery, health care,etc............

And so what? Ice prince is just a musician, how does does that concern youth development. Very shallow way of thinking..Even ppl sef wey be youth nor know ice prince

honest to God,i don't the ice fellow if he is to walk pass me and it is even while reading the comment here that i learnt he did oleku.

And it is not limited to him,all good music artist but for dbanj, are not known to me.i have never heard west voice or don't know he is the person rambling.it is even worst with home videos.
I struggle to keep myself abreast of entertainment issues by coming here.

I can't sit in front of a tv for 30 minutes if it is not news or interview on the economy or polity,generally.

All the songs in my phone i dowload and they are mostly r and b of the nineties:jodeci,levert, and others.

@logosfromDAC.

What's ice prince? A kinda wine?

lynnpopes said...

Anonymous replier that can't recognise a joke even if its written in ur language

naijababe said...

Are you guys kidding me? Who freaking cares if he hasn't heard of Ice prince. My parent don't know who the hell wiz kid, or Rihanna is. They live a different generation so let's leave it as that.

@anon 07:16 dos ur father knws ice prince cos u askin a stupid question.

Teey said...

My parents don't know Ice... He came for my party and wen everyone was struggling for pics with him and Brymo, my folks were wondering wat the whole brouhaha was. They're strong church peeps...

Mek d man go die joor

most parent know iceprince, my mom knows all d artist both nigga and foreigner abroad

tozo united said...

ice prince is sure of what hs saying joor,lol,all na hustle

Vigi said...

I think the question "is this acceptable" has to do with his response.
Never heard of him sounded rude.
Not really or not sure I do would have sounded more classy.

The lack of tact of Nigerian politicians sef.

Who is ice prince? Plz make i hear, wat so special abt him dat el rufai shuld knw him? Has he impacted anythin meaning ful 2 d society, we have pressing issues 2 worry abt not ice prince who is doing his thing. I dnt lik his song apart 4rm oleku and thnx 2 brmyo if not na rubbish e dey sing. How many parent knw ice prince or all dis so called hip hop stars?

To d best of my knowlegde,ice prince is no body for evrybody to knw him.who is he cos he sings naija music.so local.

Lol Lots of people actually don't know wat is going on if its nt bringing in money

student 4 ur backyard said...

wen nigerianz go eva get senz self? u guyz shld jst let dem b joooor!!!!!!!!!!!! el rufai..ice prince...hw e take concern me wey de reason hw 2 pass ma examz......no tym jare

flo said...

peter rufai is just being sackassthick...
Ya'll dodon't got his jokè either

flo said...

ode . Wetin consan us consan ur exam. If u wan pass ur exam ... Comot for here go read ur book.
Eyes prince nd hell ruffian av dere green lredi . Won ko de tu mo bi iwo se je. :)

flo said...

ode . Wetin consan us consan ur exam. If u wan pass ur exam ... Comot for here go read ur book.
Eyes prince nd hell ruffian av dere green lredi . Won ko de tu mo bi iwo se je. :)

Na u talk am linda, u say guy na "mallam" so yes it is acceptable for him nt 2b current :D

lol linda, you are very funny. Its like assuming that everyone in the whole world knows who you are and what you do..thats impossible. so dont be surprised when many people do not know the "niaja celebrity." Have a nice day