Lagos Chief Justice Frees 233 Kirikiri Prison Inmates | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 September 2012

Lagos Chief Justice Frees 233 Kirikiri Prison Inmates

The Chief Judge of Lagos State, Justice Ayotunde Phillips, yesterday Tuesday September 18th granted freedom to 233 prisoners. 130 inmates from Kirikiri Maximum Prison and another 103 inmates from Kirikiri Medium Prison. Most of the 233 inmates released yesterday have been in prison for more than 12 awaiting trials.

The Chief Justice ordered their release after listening to some cases during a visit to the Kirikiri prisons yesterday as part of the activities marking the 2012/2013 Legal Year

43 comments:

Haaaa!!dis just means crime on increase!

taata said...

Chai! See naija prison Ooº°˚ ˚° . ! Dirty stinking place... And to doz that were released,Congrts and Sin no More.

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

Is that what Nigerian prisons look like? WOW!

What jobs have been put in place to stop them from commiting more crimes when they get out?

Do you remember that married "Nigerian" banker that the lover exposed her nude story all over the internet after they broke up? Well the true story has been uncovered at www.bunafied.blogspot.com

God bless her.À lot of innocent people get locked up for petty reasons,and spend years behind bars because they are not priveledged enough to afford a lawyer or the bail.The Nigeria Justice System is soo shitty.what am I even saying?! Everything that has to do with the government sucks horse balls.

Princess Inuaeyen said...

Go home and sin no more. God be with all of U̶̲̥̅̊.

Yep yep that my Aunty... Am so proud of her.. And Linda that isn't her in the pic...

Fearless! said...

OMG,she still realeased this pple!
Na wa oh!

Lol Peju_A of twitter's mum,Justice P

Lol Peju_A of twitter's mum,Justice P,his mum is so pretty,he looks nothing like her

This is the former Chief Justice of Lagos State who retired a few months back - Justice Akande. Kindly update picture with Justice Phillips. Thank u!

Wrong picture of Justice Phillips, this pic is Justice Akande former CJ of Lagos State.

I like that,God bless u my dear

happyhausabunny said...

Justice system is crap obviously! Ppl awaitn trial 4 12yrs! Shame!

Many of them cld be innocent and God just answered their prayers. Good job.

Visit this Christian blog... http://grovespot.blogspot.com/

I hp dey r nt back to d society to cause more havoc

But without rehabilitation? And during this "ember" months? Good gesture, but I kinda think maybe it could have been done more strategically. Anyways, na small small sha.

@2nd Pix: is that what inside of a nigerian prison looks like??? *confused_smiley*

Ohhhhhh 9ja! *faints*

@2nd Pix: is that what inside of a nigerian prison looks like??? *confused_smiley*

Ohhhhhh 9ja! *faints*

Lord above, that picture struck fear in my heart...scarily enough a great number of people in Kirikiri are there for mistaken identity

Secretman said...

Are u beta than them? Holier than thou!

Thanks for correcting the picture :)
She has done well indeed. Go and sin no more..

Tanks 4 ur hand working

Modupsy said...

We re waiting on u Anonymous to contribute ur quota to d development of this country by creating jobs..if d govt won't do it den you should. Afterall, Jimoh ibrahim, Adenuga, Dangote and co are not d govt and dey created thousands of jobs. So, sir/ma until u have done something, don't point fingers

NG said...

I hope the govt has some solid plan in place to rehabilitate these former inmates and not just release them to society when there are no jobs cos sooner or later even the innocent ones among them will be tempted to break the law to survive. My own two cents. The govt has the MAJOR responsibilty to do these things as they are taking our tax money and money from our resources to finance their greedy lifestyle.

Kai I no go ever try thief for my life , see prison sha, Chineke mere madu ebere

My name is Amanda! said...

@modupsy, am really sorry to disappoint you and i say that cause am not" dangote, adenuga or mr ibrahim and co" but simply a citizen who works hard to make ends meet, that being said may i ask what you have contributed to the development of this country since you seem to know so much about quota contribution and sniffing out how fingers are being pointed? No come here dey speak grammer when you haven't removed the log from your own eye abeg. Cause i don't see how my question links to anyone pointing fingers.

God bless her

rita said...

God will bless u ooo....free at last.some of them are actually innocent and i want to belive dat it is d intervention of God that made them come out.

The NIgerian justice system needs a completer overhaul. People and even children are left to rot in prison for years and decades without trial. In a country where a rich man can pay the police to come and drag someone to prison without so much as evidence, one can only imagine how many innocent people are being locked up together with the criminals.When will something be done? God have mercy on our country. SUch disgrace!

@AManda, I dnt tink uve ever had a loved one lockd up 4 somthn he dosnt know abt nd was not tried 4 uears,if uve ever experienced it,then U wldnt talk lik dt nd who says U hav to b dangote to help,dey cn help U wit ur laundry or garden.dey cn also help wit ur dirty gutters.nd not all of dem der need ur jobs.som r job creators mind U.not evri1 in jail is a criminal.
Talkni 44rm experience

larakingz... said...

wow! I really wish they could do a documentary on the Nigeria Prison and air it live so people dont get to commit crime any more... Am happy for those release, hope they learn their lesson weather they where guilty or not...
larakingz.blogspot.com

ebeano said...

Modupe pls don't even call that 419ner jimo nackinson ibrahim any business that man touches always turn to sand,As for the prisoners they change thier ways if the like or they can easly go back to robbery but they won't be lucky next time

Excel. See 9ja Prison is very deadly person fit die there with sickness.when 9ja go be like over sea here Na wooo anyway madam you try good job.

Lynnajade said...

My thought exactly

Secretman see your mouth? Wetin he talk wey bad now ode

Some of you just sit down and comment nonsense,do you know there thousands of nigerians that are in prison for crime they know nothing about,do you know some nigerians are in prison just because they happen to be around scene of robbery ,while the main robbers are gone,some of you just sit and talk ,because you have not been privildged to have someone close to you locked up in the prison for what they don't even know,some are in prison for asking a police man cross question,so better watch what you say.what does it even cost federal government to pant and renovate nigerian prisons,yet they can sit down in transcorp abuja and drink richard hennessy for 2m naira a bottle,and spend 100million naira a night for just dinner,I swear in my next world dey born me again in nigeria ,I will just die .

middle finger said...

Also, many of dem could be guilty. We all know dat d security n nigeria z shitup

Do you know that one of these freed guys actually attempted tomake away with my car on the very very night they granted them state pardon?... He left his discharged note in my car after hitting it against the fence before he bolted away early wednesday morning.

Modupsy said...

@Amanda.......u have every right to ask. I ve a small business i run. I have a shopkeeper and a personal assistant. I also have a driver and a gardner. All of whom i pay. Those are 4 people i ve helped with employment. It might not be much but its something to those 4 people who work week in and out not to lose those jobs. I asked wat u have done so far to contribute to reducing unemployment becos we are Nigerians are so fast to push most of our responsiblities to d govt. D govt must sweep the roads which we shouldn't have littered in d first place, d govt should expand roads which if we were just patient drivers with one another, it may just suffice afterall...and so on.
We are forgetting that those in d govt are people too and they are doing nothing now becos when they were just onlookers on the outside all dey did was push responsibilities to d govt. They never thought to do things for themselves or help and its showing now.
If we, the new generation, d future leaders, are doing what they did...blaming d govt for d minutest thing..pushing responsibilities when we can lead and live by example...how would we be better than them when we get to d govt?

sQo said...

Mr or Mrs Modupsy, Jah bless you.

Abeg sharrap.what do u min he looks nofn like her?...I'm sure uv not sin him in real life dt y u r saying rubbish!