Fatal Accident In Ijebu Ode Claims 30 Lives | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 September 2012

Fatal Accident In Ijebu Ode Claims 30 Lives

Over 30 people lost their lives yesterday Tuesday September 18th in a ghastly accident involving a truck, two commercial buses and several motorcycles at Mobalufon junction along the Sagamu-Benin expressway.

The fatal accident occurred when a truck carrying fertilizer lost control due to over speeding, while trying to evade arrest from the police who were chasing him for driving against traffic. The truck unfortunately crashed into two commercial buses dropping passengers at the Ijebu-Ode junction, killing all passengers inside one bus, some already out of another bus and some okada men trying to pick up passengers at the bus stop.

At least 30 bodies were removed from the scene by the Ogun State Accident Rescue Team.

The fertiliser trailer which caused the accident was almost set ablaze by a mob but quickly stopped by the policemen around. The driver of the truck was not injured.

54 comments:

Al Ameen Nigeria said...

Tragic!!!

bunny said...

My GOD... Sad

LORD PLEASE BRING BACK TOBE IN ONE PIECE.MY COLLEAGUE WAS A VICTIM..HE'S STILL UNCONSCIOUS PLEASE PRAY FOR HIM..PLEASE.

Princess Inuaeyen said...

Waoh.......SPEECHLESS. May God grant their souls eternal rest in his kingdom. What a sad D̶̲̥̅̊ɑ̤̈̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ for their families.

The sad thing is that the truck driver will most likely go scot free when this should be at least a four count murder case....Sad indeed!

Kill the truck driver

ola said...

Allahu Akbar

May their souls rest in perfect peace..Amen~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA3310.

MAXIMUS™ said...

Oh dear! Sad ish

A country where life is worth nothing

And the truck driver did not die? OMG! He should be roasted alive. WTF was he driving on the wrong side of the road? Jungle justice should have been allowed. Let them deal with him. How are they so sure it was just fertiliser? If not, why was he speeding away. He has too much blood on his hands. He might as well leave this sinful world.

vina said...

May there soul rest in perfect peace,, you see wetin police cuz blc of #50, stupid uniform beggers SMH

vina said...

May there soul rest in perfect peace,, you see wetin police cuz blc of #50, stupid uniform beggers SMH

Nekky said...

how will the silly driver keep living with himself after causing these multiple deaths?? tragic!!!!! may the souls of the dead ones rest in peace. so so sad.

Oge Nsimah said...

Oh my God... What a sad story

very sad.

May God bring him back. Amen

sexylove said...

Saw it on my way back too, tis a very nasty scene and I feel so sad especially for the lives that were lost

Two wrongs don't make a right I blame d Police nd d driver 4 dis issue! Why shuld u b chasing a truck facing one way, endangering pipo's life. This is so sad.... No value of life in dis country. May their souls rest in peace!

Baby Confessor said...

May their soul rest in peace, the Nigerian Government wouldn't see this oh its only plane crash they will see because just the rich and influential peoplee travel by air. May their soul rest in perfect peace

May God help us all aspecially this ember months when there are a lot of blood suckers on the roads.

Tobe pls wake up,its nt ur time.so sad all these happen just like dat,d governor shld do sumthg abt dat road

So sad! May their soul RIP

kattie said...

Hummmmmm...... May their soul ripp

So sad may their souls rest in peace.

OMG, wat is dis. y do pple just die in dis country due to some idiots' attitude. The truck driver is a bastard for driving against traffic, but d policemen are also stupid for chashing him. see wat corruption is causing in dis country; as if d policemen wld hv done anytin beta than to collect 'egunje' if d driver had stopped. God, pls help heal our land.

Yes the driver should b brought to justice,buh I wonder why those police men took it so personal, chasing him....i doubt its for the speed...its a pity tho,may they RIP

Warri Girl said...

Would commit him in my prayers.

Debbi said...

And the truck driver is still alive and well....abeg he shld be sentenced to life imprisonment.. Dats hw dey will be killing innocet pple becus of deir recklessness n foolishness. May d souls of dose hu died rest in peace and deir family and frnds take heart..

Debbi said...

And the truck driver is still alive and well....abeg he shld be sentenced to life imprisonment.. Dats hw dey will be killing innocet pple becus of deir recklessness n foolishness. May d souls of dose hu died rest in peace and deir family and frnds take heart..

And to think I was in that town about a week ago... Lord have mercy....!

I just wana leave dis country i am tired. Spits

Amosun's ritual. May they rest in peace.

WHITE PEARL said...

JESUS WEPT !!!

Dats d sad thing abt ds truck drivers,dey cause havoc n dey demselves go unharmed. May God console d families of dos affected.very sad!

Must you write this ur 3310 thing? Its really annoying please and kind of disgusting, not to put you down bro but pls save it for the witty posts!
God bless
Chidimma

Looks like a scene 4rm a movie! May their Souls RIP.....Amen!

sowey dear,its on auto comment and doesn't change d literary meaning of d comment.
Don't mean to sound rude.
God bless
Bonario.

Police again !!!

I thought they have been removed from the highway and no road block anymore . Na wa for 20 Naira people dem. They caused this. If the truck driver wasnt in a hast to evade arrest, the truck wont have lost control due to reckless driving.

Lindi, notice how all these trailer/tanker drivers never get injured in the fatal accidents they cause? Hmmm smh. May d souls of the departed RIP.

ALLYBERRY said...

May their soul rest in peace!!! But u guys are forgetting who really caused dis accident,how Α̲̅πϑ why will the police men βε̲̣ chasing a truck driver on the roaddddd oooo when they knw it wld βε̲̣ busy?*sadface* that was how they were pursuing a bike man in my area Α̲̅πϑ ran into one woman n she died on the spot.its foolishness ƒσя them to βε̲̣ doing that.this is just §ǿ sad.....Tobe it is well with U̶̲̥̅̊.

The evil ones have sacrificed their blood for their juju! Evil!Shame!

So sad! May their soul rest in PP

KD said...

May their souls rest in peace.

Izu says - Why four? Abeg they should make it 30

Tobe u will not die rather u will live to testify the goodness of the Lord. May the souls of the departed rest in peace, amen.

Never wish anyone dead... Its a common thing in nig. No one obeys d rules 100percent. The police shld b blamed for ds cos they knew chasing buses or trailers endangers lives. Blv me they wud do d same even if he had passed d normal way.... Naija police are d greatess assasins or. Murderers we av in ds country. They are so read to kill a village for 200naira.. May d souls of d departed RIP.

siht like this will start giving someone driving phobia

*Sad* RIP

Tobi, shall not die IJN.Amen

MY COLLEAGUE DINT MAKE IT. TOBE IS DEAD...IM TIRED OF CRYING...MAY HE RIP.

AND THIS IS WHAT HE WROTE IN HIS NOTE BOOK "...I KNOW MY COUNTRY,FRIENDS,AND FAMILY NEEDS ME BUT IF IT HAPPENS, JUST CRY A LITTLE AND REMEMBER I WAS A NICE GUY AND GOD HAS A REASON FOR EVRYTHING" WE LOVE U TOBE AND WE MISS YOU.RIP.

My family would have been mourning by now...my kid sister left that spot not up to 10mins wen this accident happened. I'm grateful to God n i pray that affected families will find solace in God.