Photos: Buhari meets Aviation sector officials, directs the ministry to startup process for the establishment of a National carrier | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 August 2015

Photos: Buhari meets Aviation sector officials, directs the ministry to startup process for the establishment of a National carrier

President Buhari met with top executives of the Ministry of Aviation led by the ministry's permanent secretary, Binta Bello. At the meeting, President Buhari directed the ministry to start up the process for the establishment of a national carrier for Nigeria.
"The President is quite concerned about lack of national carrier for now and he has directed the ministry to look into the possibility of having a national carrier as soon as possible,” the Perm Sec told state house correspondents after the meeting.

53 comments:

Nice one....

Seen, OK Ooo.....

There is hope with baba......

Well done Mr President. The Lord is your strength. Linda take note!

Noted.

lanre said...

Why the fuck do we need a National Carrier!
People will soon come on here and start saying good job now.

Good vibes. God bless him

Wow! Sai Babaaa!
It can only get better, you're indeed God sent.
May God continue to bless you.

hope they are not negotiating on how to privatise or commercialize the aviation sector...

Slim Down Your Tummy, Discover shocking nigerian meals that help you trim fat. click here to find out

After the fools will say he is slow. Best president ever!!!

Oh my God, I remember Nigerian Airways of those days it gave fantastic jobs and open doors of opportunity for people.But trust my country men they destroyed it gradually and nothing was left for the us .I wonder if some people at the helm of power ever think of others or coming generation.

liz swt 16 said...

N dey se ds man is clueless?? Me like ur cluelessness.

What's a National Carrier? Someone enlighten me please.....

Apple Berry said...

My one and only President. More grease to your elbow

An Aircraft ( aero plane) that's Nigerian eg Nigerian airways

Lookout lookoo said...

Will not work unless it is run as a non government organisation like Glo, MTN, Guiness, BA, Virgin etc. The Govt should sell the naming rights and business people will buy it. Start the company, float it as a Plc and the public can invest. Otherwise it will be another embarrassing airline like the previous one.

Dead on Lanre, Not sure why we need a national carrier ? America doesn't not have a national carrier. We need the FAA reformed. Standard of aircraft and maintenance needs to be set for aircraft and Airport maintenance needs to be addressed. Not taking on another burden of national carrier

Very great move from a president whom understand government and the benefit, this is another of boosting your economy ...this is how the Ethiopians economy. Air Nigeria should come back and take over,,, it is mandatory for a country we truly call giant of Africa.

I wanted to be rude and just say if na egg plant now,you go know..Since you said please,I will just say it is our national airbus or plane like we had nigeria airways in the past.Hope you were born then?No offence.

sky said...

Good one sir, I never saw this coming. I pray God grants you more wisdom. The picture is becoming clearer

you are a fucking retard

mumu, it wld also serve in our national income. ode!
and, BTW... that a good job

GEJ just wasted six years of this country

Abuja Media Circle said...

Hmmmmmmmmm, slow and steady

You re nothing but a God sent.Your plans for this country is of Good.God bless you PMB

ib naija o said...

Normally the guy dey vex me... but if he can do this, I'll begin to support him

What a shame. Even Ethiopia, Kenya, Ghana whose Gdp is NOT half that of Lagos state flies in ins out of London everyday. My beloved country has none. But has more PJETS on the runway than even the whole of the UK.
Bihari 4more years!

UK Tog

He shouldn't bother. We don't need a national carrier. Once government is involved, it becomes another avenue for chopping/corruption

The truth is that i don't know not a national carrier means.......somebody knowledgeable shld place help me out....pls no insult Henry Eze

don't expect any serious achievement from Buhari... Tomorrow he may even say he may tell you he did not in anywhere say anything concerning the aviation sector. it is only from him we see the magical metamorphic 'changi' of VP to VIP, from 1000,000 barrel to 250,000... We all know how he sold NNPC GMD position...

very soon you will see what's gonna happen in the sector.

Baba Buhari is suffering from mouth diarrhoea walahi
#Yeyenatu...

See the pics. They are all northerners

Sai baba 8 more years to go

These are my views on this issue.
First and foremost, i don't believe a national carrier is the top priority for this government. Majority of the countries that had a national carrier have long ago abandoned ownership to private companies because of the sheer capital involved in operating it. e.g British Airways, Qantas Airways, Austrian Airways, Air Canada, Lufthansa. The list is endless. There is a reason why their governments abandoned state ownership and decided to privatize them.
Moreover, countries that still own national carriers heavily subsidize their aviation sector. These are countries with the money to spend. Unfortunately we don't have that luxury.

An alternative is for the airline companies in Nigeria to form a partnership and fly as a single company. That's the only other logical option right now.

Ahahahaha!, lol

Great development, all I'm worried about is dying cos Nigerians are wonderful people, PMB has only 4yrs, what then happens to d maintenance of those aircrafts, won't they all go to sleep. I don't want to be cynical but I also know I don't want to die in d event of a plane crash. I pray d change is long-suffering and has come to stay. Amen

Ur mumu is too much,just use ur brain for only five seconds,American has a national carrier called American airline,mumu,and also it is needed to create jobs as usual so u can av a job instead of being stupid everywhere

Who told you America has no national carrier? Don't be an illiterate, have you ever heard of American Airlines, founded since 1931? I guess not, how about United Airlines 1926 Which is also the world's largest airlines by number of destinations served? Nope. Fools like you doubt know thus is what will create thousands of employment spaces and generate money for the country, even tiny countries have their airlines. Seems it's the citizens like you and not even Buhari who plan to take us back to the stone age.

Good for him

Dead on arrival! It will not work! If he doesn't clean up the aviation sector, it'll be another case of putting the horse before the cart!

Vino said...

ALl past executives of Virgin Nigeria should be brought to book by EFCC to answer question as to how they ran that coy down. By the way, he promised and he delivered. Soon Nigerians airways will be back. no more flying of private jets by public officers.

Did you read the post at all or you are this dumb? How is owning a national carrier related to privatization. You know you don't always have to be negative

Bonny V.I said...

I hope it wont be another Nigeria Airways, may be we should have Eagles Air

The best news we have been waiting for after they killed our airline with 33 aircraft's in those days and messed up peoples life in Nigeria Airways. Let British airways or Virgin Atlantic Executives run it for Nigeria, before they mismanage it again and take their dogs and cats to London free!. It is a big shame on those that did not think of this after many years. Great News of over 20years !!! Let the Eagle fly again my President!!!

Well done my mr president

SWJ said...

There is hope after all....

good move, time to checkmate the foreign airlines

A very good start. hope it won't be disorganized as most government ministries.

For those saying American Airlines and United Airways. Get your facts right! They are private companies and they are not national carriers. A national carrier is a government owned airline company. If it's not owned by the government, then it's not an official national carrier. Please i insist we don't have such luxury.

PMB is beginning to excite me.. Carry on sir..👍