Photos: Powerful typhoon hits Taiwan. 6 dead, over a 100 seriously injured | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 August 2015

Photos: Powerful typhoon hits Taiwan. 6 dead, over a 100 seriously injured

At least six people have been confirmed dead, four missing and over sixty seriously injured when Typhoon Soudelor hit Taiwan early this morning Saturday August 8th. Taiwan Power, the island's main power company, said 2.94 million households are currently without power. Hundreds of flights have been delayed or cancelled, according to Taiwan authorities.

Thousands of people were evacuated as the storm approached and the island's military put tens of thousands of troops and thousands of vehicles on stand-by for rescue operations.

The storm made landfall early in the morning on the island's east-coast counties of Yilan and Hualien, bringing up to 1,000 mm (39 inches) of rain in mountainous northeastern areas and wind gusting up to 200 kph (124mph). Typhoon Soudelor is expected to cross the Taiwan Strait and hit the Chinese province of Fujian late today. Some photos below...

Image Credit: REUTER/AFP/Stringers/twitter users

58 comments:

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Na waa o.
This is bad

Ihe na eme

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

kemikane said...

We are just lucky in this part of africa. Thank God.

Omg! RIP

This is bad!
Lord have mercy!!

Choi.....thank God we don't have natural disasters like this in Naija. RIP to the dead, and quick recovery to the injured. May God help them.

Strange news everyday

Hmmm said...

Looks like the end of the world. We humans need to do right. God is really upset with us. Love of money, hatred for one another,religious violence, senseless killings f om muslims, sex crimes and abomination. Its crazy.

God please save ur people......

Ooops thats a catasrophe.,not a good news at all!

Nawa! Nigeria is blessed mbok. Some kain natural disaster ehn!

The clean up efforts will be terrible. Im sure taiwan has some money saved up for a day like this. If this was naija, im sure we won't have a dime saved up to clean up due to political thieves that ruled and are ruling. May God help us

Chaii, na wa o. Thank God dis type of thing

Chaii, na wa o. Thank God dis type of things doesnt happen in nigeria. God help dem

Even taiwan or tai2 even better pass abuja,kaiii naija dey back sha!

ogeee said...

Too bad. Nigeria s blessed

Natural disaster. May their souls rest in

Oh dear..

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

Dis is serious, it is well with them. Linda take note!

Some Countries weather though.
RIP to the Dead n Departed.

Na wa o!
Thank God nigeria, we don't experience such things.
We're truly blessed.

Thank God we don't experience such in nigeria.

danex said...

Jess! God pls help them

aproko manager said...

God c dem tru ooo

may God have mercy.

you are welcome to use unisells.com, Nigerian campus marketplace, find available buyers and sellers of items and service.

Na wa oooo God help dam ooooo

oiza said...

And yet we are still ungrateful in Nigeria. God I thank you for everything!

Too bad. May God help dem.RIP to dos who died.

That's so unfortunate!! RIP

Good God

Not funny at all.....Africans are blessed sha, all these scary and dangerous natural phenomenon don't happen here....... God save them Henry Eze

Oh! God help and save us frm untimely deaths and tragic accidents. RIP 2d dead and speedy recovery to those injured.

Hmmmm signs of the end,may God save his children there from this.

Mihearty said...

Things like this doesn't happen in nigeria. Nigeria is blessed no doubt

Ewwww may God save them oh.

OMG!!! I wish them well. I can imagine the lives n properties that would av been lost as a result of the typhoon. We r really blessed in Nigeria by not having all these natural disasters. Except human disasters, esp in the helm of affairs of d country n terrorism.

seyi crown said...

God have mercy

frank said...

OMG

Almighty god have mercies.

Wow the world is really coming to an end

Abeg the world is coming to an end

Nna this is disaster though no doubt....

Lord have mercy

It is at times like this I count myself lucky to be Nigerian! Look at the devastation! We are lucky our natural disaster is just corruption.

God help iooo

Lord wat is dis? Kaiii

GOD be with 'em

My dear, went through your pictures and your wowoness knows no bounds, your mouth sef 😂😂😂. Juliet take note!

Oh! God help and save us frm untimely deaths and tragic accidents. RIP 2d dead and speedy recovery to those injured.

God really love us in Africa

Terrible

Gosh! God help them o
Signs of the last days
...NA ZO

I pray God almighty rescue dem 4rm dis atrocities

So bad