Rivers state students in the UK cry out, say they've been abandoned, facing deportation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 August 2015

Rivers state students in the UK cry out, say they've been abandoned, facing deportation

Students who were sponsored to a UK university by the Rivers State Sustainable Development Agency (RSSDA) under the River State government have reached out to LIB, saying they have been abandoned by their state government. They say their school fees have not been paid for two years and their visas have been curtailed. Below is what a student wrote in;
We are 2nd year students with the university of Huddersfield currently hoping to progress to final year by September or going on placement as some of us have chosen. It is with deep shock that we realized that the RSSDA (Rivers state sustainable development Agency) under the rivers state government who is our sponsor have not paid our fees for 2 years.
The university have made all efforts to get the money from them but they have since attributed the non-payment to the government of rivers state not releasing funds. The university even went to the extent of travelling to Nigeria for the money. We are more than 11 students with the cost of each student fees being 12,500 pounds each. Since all effort have failed to get the money from the agency, the university have come to the resolve of suspending our studies and revoking their sponsorship on our visas, Hence, giving us 60 days to leave the country. The have 10 days to revoke the visa cancellation if the agency gives them a time frame for payment and the 10 days expires this Friday. The agency have deliberately refused replying the university on several emails and refused to also commit to them by giving them time frame for payment. Worst of it all is that the agency have not even acknowledge the situation or even comfort us and take responsibility for whatever damage this might incur. They said and I quote “they don’t even have our flight money back”.
We are stranded!!! We have not been paid allowance and rent money for 9 months now which is meant to be 800 pounds a month. Fees owed by the government around England and other part of the world have amounted to about 3 billion naira. We need this video to spread let the whole world see how politics is affecting the future of the country. PLEASE!!

77 comments:

Lol a friend of mine there is also stranded..

Reina said...

And bubu is not probing amaechi o.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.......

Chei! Amechi anyuoo nnukwu nsi oku na uno uka! Wike dibe oooh

This is not the first time this people are complaining.
Rivers state government, over to you.

Such tins happened under Amaechi's watch? Wat can one possibly use in qualify such level of rancor? Cockamamie

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

shescute said...

Gov Wike please help o biko! If this student are. Deported they might go into crime out of frustration and the country does not need that now.please come to their aid biko sir

Chai!

Shey eyes dey pain me abi na wetin??? 3 Billion wetin, abeg make una park well. As for the fees, somebody somewhere has enriched himself with it. Linda take note!

Charles White said...

Lmao......... And we are supposed to believe that these rich looking 11peeps are the future of nigeria???????amaechi should have settled you guys be fore leaving office if he meant well.come back o, you have been abandoned.he can still pay from his pocket if he see's you guys as the future of ogoni.... Sorry nigeria

Amaechi d goat, this is ur handwork

Mihearty said...

If the government is not doing anything, their parents should abi. You guys even have the opportunity of going abroad and u are complaining. Wike over to you

Shebi una no wan school for naija? Issoryt!

Come home quickly. Isn't it injustice for the Government of all the people in Rivers state to pay millions in fees for a few? I think these folks should even be ashamed to show their faces as people benefiting from such scandal. Come home quickly University of Port-harcourt will be a good place to continue.

Now you post it??? Thought they reached out to you months ago and you refused to post it. Smh!!!

obietrezy said...

Their business ni and they should carry their cross..... Jor oh

Chai. It's true Linda they are suffering. I wonder why they haven't raised this alarm before now. I live close to Huddersfield and i have friends in that school.
This is so not fair.
...Mama J...

Amaechi...Amaechi...Amaechi..... #1corruptman.... let's see how Pa Buhari intend to carry out his probe fairly...he has lost #Change Focus...lolz

Awwn....I feel for them.
I just hope the appropriate authorities are listening....

This will be my first time to drop a comment on this blog! All i will say to them is to go and meet amaechi in abuja!

Handwork of that big eyes,loud mouthed silly Amarchi. Instead of using the allocation given to him to do reasonable things,he looted the state funds and also sponsored Buhari's campaign through the stolen fund. God help Wike for the troubles Amaechi left for him.

Apple Berry said...

This is terrible. Please Rivers state govt should handle this situation ASAP. How can they send 11 students to another country and abandon them to their fate? That's the height of wickedness.

Ok wey d money wey d. Wiliwili wike say he send go meet dem since. Dat Yeye advert governor

It's really a pity.

It's really a pity.Pls the government of Rivers state should see to this pls and stop embarrassing our state and the nation.

Ngwa ekwere Nwanyi na elu akwa agaghi emezu

I believe d parents of this 11 peeps can pay all dis because this scheme favoured d politicians n dier kids...the poor people wif no connection were not even considered?

Ur very stupid. The government gave them scholarship to study abroad. If u had the same opportunity, won't u accept d scholarship???. Foolish goat. You won't read before u comment.

Adaiberibe, could u for once say d truth. Y cnt u call amaechi dat got dem stranded b4 shouting over to RS govt

Maybe ur father did. Iti

ade said...

They are mad..so they cannot work??

Smh! But rssda is a joint venture between the oil companies in rivers state and the state government contributes little in terms of financing the programmes of rssda. So the oil companies should be held responsible for their misfortunes!

It's cold it's cold all is cold

Bia dis girl juliet, isi odichakwa gi mma? U just made me look @ ur pic for the 1st time and u know wah I saw? An imbecile. So u are forgiven. Arrgh na ako ihe na agba ka motor

Hello again mbechiileee!

OMG! Dis r our future leaders b practically abandoned by our leaders to go thru national disgrace in another man country. Lord pls come to their rescue!

And to think Rivers state is one of the major oil producing state in Nigeria, such thing is not even supposed to be happening in a state like Rivers Henry Eze

Lol this comment reeks of envy. These students wrote scholarship exams and came out top in the state. That's why they are paying millions "for a few". Go and deal with the green eyed monster lurking inside of you.

Abeg make una come house. Nigeria has plenty issues except u pple Rd the chibok girls if not come to uniport make we hear word..

All these ones will start forming fresh on Instagram nau o..Abeg mk we hear word o

Chibuike Amechi, may God have mercy on you, should this act alter the dreams of this youths.

<< LIB Addict >>

Na so Amaechi, d pussycat of ubima use una school fees sponsor Bubu for election. una no worry Wike go rescue una too as always.

How will Buhari probe Amechi when he knows the money was spent on APC campaign?

<< LIB Addict >>

She had to wait for Bellanaija to post first. Lol

<< LIB Addict >>

As in eh. Even R/State Nysc allowance has not been paid for over 3 years now(ie over 9 batches)

Hahahahha..3billion?...abrg make una dey come back

They should enter Night bus and come back. There are lots of Universities in Nigeria like Uniport, RSUST, FUTO, and UNILAG to mention a few. Why should they get exorbitant school fees and upkeep while millions are hustling and hungry. Wike should probe their parents cos that's how they'll use Govt connection to get free education. How many "ordinary" Nigerian students were posting first class graduation pics from UK and other countries in the last few months? Goes to show how people in Govt exploit the nations resources for personal gain.

How many African countries are sponsor so many of their citizens in the UK and US like Nigeria is? Instead of investing in the schools at home they'll be wasting it on students that are not even planning on coming back here to do anything in the near future.

Thank you. They can enter night bus and come home.

You just spoke like a fool. Government is a continum. Is Amaechi supposed to still pay for them after he left office? BULLSHIT

Let the "Wike" pay for them... Isn't he now the Governor of the State. Or would he allow them to die there under his "pull Amaechi down" policy?

Ameachi if Bubu doesn't persecute you he is a joker.If you h
ave never seen an elephant project before come to rivers and see the monorail,nobody should call Wike into this if he helps them it's by choice

I feel really sorry and pity for Amaechi that even his good will and policy would be used against him. He had sponsored over 2000 students out of which over 80% has graduated. Students whose lives have changed forever instead of been grateful are been used to bite the very hand that feed them. Well Amaechi is no longer Governor, they should channel their complaint to Wike.

gbenga said...

Dem use our money send you go UK school and your placard is reading 'Have we been abandone'. Is this bad English also the fault of the RSG?

Too bad

Amaechi can answer to that,he used your monies to sponsor this new Government!

What a sad world we live in...... How can one do this to another human being. The world should do and end.....make we all go hell and park for there.

I pray they settle these students.

You are just a big fish that thinks he is a human being.

So Amaechi is still governor? Big fish

This fish you have guts to call Amaechi a goat, is he still the governor?

Some fishes here still thinking with their ass and calling Amaechi's name when he is done as a governor. Wike should think responsibility.

They might go into crime out of frustration...what an excuse for crime when there are so many living in naija poor...graduates are selling newspapers and recharge cards so pls no excuse for crime its just a fast food to moni and the end result is....ur guess is as good as mine

Gov Wike....do something. These children who have separated themselves from the rest of the lazy youths and are prepared to study hard....why let them suffer because 2 elephants are fighting?

Not only the UK students, even the ones here in Nigeria still doing their A levels haven't been paid their allowances and their Cambridge fees haven't been paid. I know one of the students and she says the A level schools have really tried for them for so long but are now threatening not to release their certificates until they pay....

Biko...don't take out your political tussle on innocent children.

I bet, no poor man pikin got that scholarship...hmmm... come to think of it, #3billion put into our Universities in Nigeria, if usage is monitored properly can make even foriegners want to come here to study... The problem of nigeria is so much... 800 pounds a month for allowance???? hmmm...with me working in an oil company in nigeria, flying chopper every month, in the middle of the sea, my salary is not even upto that amount....smh...Which way Nigeria!!!

Its dia palavar! Dont u guys have parents? I tink they shld continue from where govt derailed,, dont fink nobody will answer u at this trying time. Linda pist ma comment oo

Linda i will soon delete dis ur add from my fone cos u never post ma comment

There are lots of self sustaining Africa students abroad, why can't they do they same instead of embarrassing the country and themselves.

Gabby said...

Its a pity please the government should help them out..

6 HABITS THAT CAN WRECK YOUR RELATIONSHIP

This your comment just made my day.
Thank you.

At 800 pounds a month, these guys are living large on taxpayers money.

Government is a continuous process, your caretaker governor inherited both assets and liabilities. So let him pay.

Probe? For what? Your caretaker governor inherited both assets and liabilities. So let him pay.

I can't sympathise with this student regardless of the circumstances most of them won't come back to use the knowledge paid for by this country here they will find all means to stay back. good luck either way i don't care about your fates get the money from your parents or part time work or come back home!!!!

TAMUNOITEKENA ALFRED SEMENITARI ABAM said...

yes WIKE may be the current Governor,he shouldn't be held responsible for the EX Governor's (Amaechi)action. they are the Government's responsibility but first and foremost they are also Nigerians. the should go to the Nigerian consulate and ask for assistance and stop acting deama