Oil won’t be sufficient as Nigeria’s revenue earner, we need Agriculture-Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 August 2015

Oil won’t be sufficient as Nigeria’s revenue earner, we need Agriculture-Buhari

Yesterday, President Muhammadu Buhari said that his administration would henceforth take agriculture seriously, saying that crude oil and gas exports would no longer be sufficient as the country’s major revenue earner.

The President stated that his government would cut short the long bureaucratic processes that Nigerian farmers had to go through to get any form of assistance from government, stating that it's time Nigerians took Agriculture seriously.

The President Buhari spoke when he received Dr. Kanayo Nwanze, the Nigerian born President of the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), at the Presidential Villa on Friday.
The President said:
“It’s time to go back to the land. We must face the reality that the petroleum we had depended on for so long will no longer suffice.
We campaigned heavily on agriculture, and we are ready to assist as many as want to go into agricultural ventures,”.
The president said that improvement of the productivity of farmers, dry season farming, and creative ways to combat the shrinking of the Lake Chad will also be given the necessary attention.

“There is so much to be done. We will try and articulate a programme and consult organizations like IFAD for advice,” the President said, adding that foreign exchange will be conserved for machinery and other items needed for production, “instead of using it to import things like toothpicks.”

He told the IFAD President that improvement of the productivity of farmers, dry season farming and creative ways to combat the shrinking of the Lake Chad would also receive his administration’s attention.

Dr. Nwanze congratulated President Buhari on his victory at the general elections and assured him that  IFAD was ready to give all possible assistance to the Federal Government and Nigerian farmers to boost agricultural production in the country.

IFAD is an international organization dedicated to addressing issues of agriculture and poverty alleviation.

Vanguard

42 comments:

Thumbs up Mr president. But hope is not the OBJ style.

APPLELIPX said...

Nice one malam..jst get tins working
Linda wheer ris d list of winners in d last giveaway

Agriculture again? cant we move unto something like manufacturing.

joyous babe said...

Well done baba,thru talk we need to go back to the land

Na wa oh,is this the change? What's diff from what GEJ was doing na?

Mihearty said...

Start with one first. U are just everywhere but nowhere. Haba mutumina!

This is long overdue. We pray PMB achieves this for our dear country. Linda, you did not respond to my e-mail dated 1st of Aug.

paulo4real said...

This is welcome development but government must not delude itself that primary agricultural produce would amount to great effort, we need to agro-allied businesses and other agriculture food processing businesses to spring up.

Nice one from our president.

Very truism my able president but oil revenue should be manage judiciously

cookie lyon said...

Applaudise!

AbbeyUnited said...

God will help him to do that ooooo. It's time to diversify the economy. not just sitting lazily on oil money.

AbbeyUnited said...

God will help him to do that ooooo. It's time to diversify the economy. not just sitting lazily on oil money.

AbbeyUnited said...

Now...that's way to go..

Una just dey find out?

objective said...

Please action! Less talk

You are not doing anything Jonathan didn't do already. He too boosted agriculture, so ur meant to take over and improve on his work. Next!

Well done My Able President, you are so on point. Linda take note!

otule said...

This man is doing his job, no doubt.

WORD!!!
Agriculture has always been the foundation for industrialization.
That sector should be hit with more focus in order to power the wheels of Growth n Development.

True......they should help develop Agricultural Universities αи∂ colleges that will bring out fresh αи∂ skilled Agriculture rs who will contribute to mechanised Agriculture thereby generating revenue for d Economy

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Well done. Pls endeavour to follow it up to fruition.

Way to go Mr. President

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

Way to go Mr. President

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

I said it. " where GEJ for stop na Buhari go continue" #Changeindeed

Mazikazi said...

Well well, inasmuch as Agriculture is an important industry and should be fixed, its imperative to note that to successfully compete in today's world and be respected among the comity of nations, we should move one step ahead of this. We should also focus on Science and Technology and improve on our Research and Development (R & D) in all our production units. We should also be services inclined and aim at creating products that would add value not just in the short term but in the long term.

Will u just shut up? Why didn't you follow GEJ to his homeland? You fucking illiterate. Get with the program, its a new governance now, either u STFU or just kill yourself.

Yet another illiterate, how do u people come by phones?? I bet you are a kid or just a dumb old fool with a kid's brain. Why don't u sit your dumb ass down and learn to read rather than just spew stupid comments all over the blogosphere.

Ok, well said

Wow, this is your plot to sound smart? Manufacturing indeed, I guess they should start off manufacturing a new brain for u.

Miss Ferragamo said...

Now you're talking.

Bravo Mr president....Agriculture really needs it,and let's stop d importation of rubbish(toothpick),chicken,rice e.t.c our local. rice is really nice we just need more machinery to. Refine it....Agriculture is d stepping stone...@least d price of food. Will reduce nd der will be less poverty

Good one. Hope it starts soon . my field anyway!

so true