Boy with giant hands gets pioneering surgery after being dubbed 'the devil' (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 August 2015

Boy with giant hands gets pioneering surgery after being dubbed 'the devil' (photos)

8 year old Kaleem suffers from a rare medical condition called macrodactyly, that means he has giant-sized hands. He's been excluded from school and cast out in his local village in India because he is believed to be "the child of the devil". Kaleem's own uncle believes that because his mother visited latrines when she was pregnant with Kaleem that it could have infected him with "demons".

A Channel 5 documentary titled 'The Boy with the Giant Hands', follows Kaleem and his family as they prep for life-changing surgery.

Kaleem is more than apprehensive but faced with a future of illiteracy and constant bullying it appears it is the only chance for him. As he spends his days playing with a rubber tyre by himself Kaleem says: "I don't go to school because the teacher says the other kids get scared when they look at me."
The family travel thousands of miles to visit a leading reconstructive surgeon in southern India, who is convinced he can improve the function in Kaleem's hands.

The doctors have to work against the clock during the complicated surgery to manoeuvre between fatty tissues and swollen nerves in Kaleem's hands. The invasive surgery is risky for the malnourished eight-year-old, as he has to build up his strength so he can get his hands reduced to a regular size.

The documentary sees Kaleem get his fingers shortened but the recovery could take months before the youngster notices a difference.
It's down to the team to help Kaleem get through the intensive post-rehabilitation and convince the local villagers and the school the young boy is not the "devil child".

Source: UK Mirror

99 comments:

OMG.....

Eya!
feel sad for the poor boy.

Speechless

Phew! It looked bizarre, happy for him he's getting help at last.

Woooooooow! At dis point I think I have seen it all. Linda take note!

Kai! I don't want to believe this....what???

Hmmmmmm. End time sign's and those who haven't repent frm their sins, better repent for d world would soon come to an end.

Na wa o

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Ayodele Jay said...

if he slaps sumone wiv dah hand...d person will see vision of heaven nd hell at the same time.

#Blessed Child

Strangest thing I've seen so far!!....God deliver him.

oiza said...

God I thank you for me! Thank goodness they came to his aid

everything God made is beautiful

The condition has even given him pecks or maybe it comes from having to lift his find always. If this guy slap you, na die oh!

Eyyya.....God will see you through it

08138681195 said...

May God See him through.. Amen

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Awwww bless him - good to know that he has help

MUVA said...

I'm speechless

Wonderful

Like really? Seen is all ur block head could come up with??

Hope Royal Prickhood get slapped with those hands.

So sad

Sorry to say this but u are a dumb ass.....bow is this end time......if check history or during the lives of our great grand fathers, u would see that such ppl existed, don't use every opportunity to shout end time.......if u want o die just kill ursef already Henry Eze

Eyahhhhhh, poor boy.

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Mumu.
Hope u get slapped with those hands while dreaming.

Wow thank God for successful surgery

India seems to have a lot of all this strange illness, or shld i say Asia as a whole......pry he recovers quickly after the whole procedure, good luck boy Henry Eze

Na WA o. Wetin person no go see for dis life

Once saw a boy around awolowo ikeja lagos with similar fate

A very big block head indeed..

Poor innocent child.

Happy boy, i wish him all de best

Nawa ooooooo, Indians need to seek Jesus cos those demons they worships is really coming in human form! All kind of wicked mutations are in Indian.

It's cold it's cold all is cold

Wonders

Damilola said...

He was only tryn to get first to comment. Too bad

Thank God for technology and doctors.....wat would become of dis world without them??

Yea, her problem's she's racing 2 be the 1st 2 comment. That's y. Bush girl!

Don't mind her.Crazy ass

Here am I pitying this little kid, but Indians are one of the most evil people in the world. Far above white supremacists in rank.

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

You are daft! This is a rare condition. Watch bizzare body on TLC (dstv) or google it and see that conditions more bizarre than this has existed for as long as life has existed. In fact your own lack of information is more pathetic. Seek information you appreciate repentance better. Duh!

Oluwa oh! It's well with him.

No mind dt fool

All this yeye Indians and Pakistanis can born all sorts.

Like seriously, hellboy is real!. So many wonders in this world. I wish him safe surgery and quick recovery.

@ Sheila slim lol...don't mind the Royal catchist..

harry,ohni said...

@foolish mumu priesthood,u can't make a simple sentence

Miss Ferragamo said...

Lord have mercy.

Ha ha ha, he needs to get a life. Priesthood you don't ever have anything good to do just rushing yo be the first to comment. Time is ticking really fast, get something to do man.

Indian ppl always have rare diseases. Just watch 'body bizzare' on TLC

prittyog said...

I don't why is mostly in India we see these rear cases of strange disease,Thank God the poor boy is getting help at last.

#prittyog

Lord Jesus I thank you for making me the way I am

I love that Sheila. You just can tell how shallow some persons can be.

Azumdialu said...

Oh God please help him, make him whole as you intended. Guide the surgeons as they perform your miracle on this child, I pray in Jesus Mighty name Amen. Sending lots of love and a big hug xx.

Officialmrssam said...

Lol.....

*Miss official

Thank God help came his way! Speedy recovery kiddo. Mo-1

If this guy fingers somebody's daughter...hehehe, I rest my case

INK_HER said...

seen?? Na by force to comment?? Blockhead

Optimist said...

Wow and all I see is a happy kid. Wish him a successful surgery

this statement though...

This is disheartening. Chai.... I can imagine the ostracism he would have gone thru

This lady called Royal priest whatever is the most stupid and jobless human in this blog. Get a life woman

Nulia said...

All things happen for a purpose. God, I will forever appreciate U.

India people and deformity shaa! With all those nonsense them dey eat n drink, plus dia idol worshipping why dem no go dey deform!! #smh

dorothy said...

Feeling sad for d boy. Dt feeling of rejection is jst d worse

I 1st saw this sometime ago & was horrified for him. Happy he's getting the help he so much needs now. I pray to God it's successful...#ItIsWell

This girl u talk like a fool all the time..block head,you don't read to understand. You comment to read..what is end time thing here now?Any small thing end time things some of u idiots with superstitious belief..
it is people like you with narrow mindset that has abandoned that child abd tag him devils child..pls change that your name,the name seems 2 b better than u block head

Oluwatosin BDC said...

Haha blockhead...

Madrid should sign him as a goal keeper

only in india

I wish him well...infact just said a word of prayer for him

There is a little boy about his age in under Ikeja bridge where NACO buses turn. He has this condition as well.

Priesthood, your mouth like 'seen'. If that boy slaps you with his hands ehn.....

The surgery hasn't been done, duh!!..

these Indians and their weird birth conditions...latrine indeed

Wow!

This is so sad. I can actually relate to what this child has passed through. Being shunned and treated as an outcast simply because of a disability or deformity in which you had no say whatsoever in. Linda please follow up on this story if you can. I would like to know if the surgery was successful and if possible get pictures of the boy after recovery. Thanks

the lord is ur strength kaleem

Please oh there is this little boy who begs beside LUTH and he has something similar...He needs help seriously carrying that hand around..I'll get his pic soon

True...the boy hangs around the ikeja general hospital bridge begging for alms. I pray help comes for him too

E ya, poor boy

kam nukwa na echi aburo uka!!
wonders will never seize at all.
God help him amen.

I'm wondering how that shirt entered those hands. I wish d doctor gets this right. Poor child.

I pray he has a safe procedure , it would have been really hard living life with Disabilities....

Haaaaa! Chineke nna. Na wa o.

Nawah

I wish him goodluck with the surgery.bless him

Astrid Lundberg said...

I've noticed most of the disorders pertaining to the limbs are common amongst Indians, I watch a lot of TLC, and its always an Indian that has multiple or overgrown limbs

Hope the surgery went well poor child he most have gone through a lot of bullying and name calling all these yrs.

Thank God he's finally getting help....

Trinity said...

Stern or whatever u re called u re d biggest block head here for dis rubbish to hv crossed ur thoughts.......

One slap from this boy will reset ur brain back to factory default settings. God be with him

Na wa ooooo

Car Parts said...

Really interesting stuff.