What shocked a man who wanted to show love to his family | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 August 2015

What shocked a man who wanted to show love to his family

Is it asking for too much for a young man to be given the opportunity to give his family a treat according to his taste? Definitely not. But it is one thing to wish and another thing to have what you wish. (Dr Nnaeto Orazulike, GMD of Genesis Group, with wife, Dr Ngozi Orazulike, at the dinner)

A young husband and father living with his family in Port Harcourt wanted the best for his family. He and his wife were blessed with twin boys, vibrant and adventurous.

During weekends, especially, the man wanted to take them to places where they could have fun and bond as a family. But there was a snag. Such places were hard to come by in Port Harcourt. It was frustrating, demoralizing and even shocking. So what were the options available to him? Make do with the unsatisfactory places around and keep complaining? Stay indoors always and live a boring life? 

Fold his arms and pray for somebody to do something?

Well, the man of ideas Nnaeto Orazulike decided to be the change he wanted to see. And The Genesis Centre was born.

This is not fiction.

Have you been to Genesis Deluxe Cinema either in Lagos, Port Harcourt or Enugu before? I am sure most of us who have must have been captivated and immersed in the wonderful ambiance than to think about how it all started. I am sure this will interest you.

As a young couple, living and working in Port Harcourt was real fun for Ichie Nnaeto Orazulike and his beautiful wife Dr. Ngozi Orazulike. Life and business were just seamless and God blessed them with two wonderful boys. There is always the need for busy families to create time to bond with their kids especially on weekends. However, as the boys were growing up, it dawned on him that family entertainment destination was almost nonexistent in The Garden City. As is typical of the business maverick, Orazulike needed no further research to reveal to him the quantum of opportunities in that hospitality category, given the abundance of middle- to high-income family segments in the Port Harcourt city.

And pronto: an idea was born. That idea was The Genesis Centre Port Harcourt. It was conceived to provide the great city with a one-stop shop for family entertainment: A lifestyle centre where every member of the family will be engaged in different fun-filled experiences ranging from restaurants game zones, cinemas and exotic lounges.  As the development was going on, a similar opportunity came in Lagos at the Palms Mall: the birth of Genesis Deluxe Cinemas.

So it was the same experience of not finding a befitting place for an outing and the same drive in filling gaps in hospitality industry that fired Orazulike to found the Genesis Deluxe Cinemas in 2008. Genesis Deluxe Cinema is about the leading cinema developer and operator of multiplex cinemas in Nigeria. Since the launch into the Nigerian market in 2008 in Lagos, Genesis Deluxe Cinemas has grown to 4 cinemas with 18 screens and over 2,500 seats in Port Harcourt, Lagos and Enugu.

The journey into the cinema industry began with the belief that he could provide a unique entertainment experience, where the best international and domestic movie releases could be enjoyed within ultra-modern, friendly and welcoming ambiance. As is typical of Genesis investments, today one can say with confidence that Genesis Deluxe Cinemas is a market leader within the Nigerian cinema industry and is the brand of choice for commercial developers looking for a cinema vendor that not only drives traffic, but also brings extra value to the table.

According to statistics, Nigerian film industry, popularly called Nollywood, is rated the third most valuable film industry in the world behind India and the US. In spite of the giant strides Nigeria has made in the film industry, Nigeria has one of the lowest number of cinemas when compared to its peers in film business like India and United States. As such, cinema industry in Nigeria still has a long way to go. 

Genesis Deluxe Cinemas has taken upon its shoulders the responsibility of driving the process of bridging the gap that currently exists within the cinema industry by opening 30 new locations and 120 screens within the next 5 years.

Genesis Deluxe Cinemas’ offers are tailored to appeal to the different segments of the family for maximum satisfaction. These include Extra Comfortable Seats, VIP Seating, Cosy Lounges, Game Zones, Dolby Digital Sound/Screens, 3D Movies, Discount Ticket Prices and Fabulous Student Pricing. GDC also offers Membership to its valued customers, offering points that can be redeemed against tickets and concessions.

The business has blossomed. Today, the Genesis Group spans different market categories like restaurants, hotels, catering, cinemas, real estate, bakery/confectioneries, facilities management and lifestyle. One hears of Genesis Restaurants, Genesis Deluxe Cinemas, Genesis Fill-up, Genesis Bread, The Sojourner by Genesis, and more. The Genesis brand has gradually but steadily become a conglomerate that has spread across the federation, employing about 2,500 people. 

In recognition of his giant business developmental strides and contributions to the Nigerian economy, Orazulike was recently honoured by the University of Port Harcourt with an award of Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa).

In his acceptance speech on behalf of other honorary doctorate degree recipients, Dr Nnaeto Orazulike, who is the Group Managing Director of the Genesis Group, urged Nigerians to change their negative thinking about Nigeria. Orazulike noted that the fact that foreigners continue to establish new businesses or expand existing ones in Nigeria is a testimony that they see what we don’t see in our economy.

His words: “We need to change our perception about our country and start looking at the opportunities and how to harness them. I am not saying that the challenges are not real, but beneath every challenge exist legitimate business opportunities. It was this desire that inspired the Genesis Group.”

He listed some of the opportunities in Nigeria and how foreign companies are tapping into them, and ended the speech by saying: “My parting words to us today is for us to look at the brighter side of Nigeria and view it from a different perspective and be prepared to take the opportunities staring us in the face. This way, we can help in poverty alleviation in our country. If every Nigerian can commit to propagate one positive thing about this great country especially when we are abroad, our story will begin to change. Like I will always tell anyone who cares to listen, no one can love us more than ourselves.”

That same evening, a dinner was held in his honour at the highbrow Asia Town, Old GRA, Port Harcourt. Captains of industry and the crème de la crème of society attended the dinner. They included the current MD and former MD of Fidelity Bank Plc, Mr Nnamdi Okonkwo and Mr Reginald Ihejiahi respectively; former Chairman of APGA, Chief Victor Umeh; Chairman of Seplat Petroleum,  Dr ABC Orjiako; President, South-East – South-South Professionals, Mr Emeka Ugwu-Oju, and others.

58 comments:

oops

All this long story just to advertise genesis cinema.

Linda you got me with this. Never knew it was an advert

oiza said...

Hmmm ok

Dprecious said...

chaaaiiii... linda.... u know this man again? chaaiiii.. i know him too dough... he own genesis hotel where in GRA ikeja lagos... thats where we lodge our staff.. u dey waka ooo

Can't believe I read all this....*sad*

Nna linda ikeji sef...

Oh! Talk of ingenuity, so this is the story behind this big business establishment.
May God continue to prosper him.

Wtf..so long

She was my lecturer,consultant gynaecological and very pretty lady,happy birthday ma

You hit the nail on the head Ada. Rubbish

Wonderful

I swear! Genesis agbakasi golu

From the headline, I just figured it's another advert. Linda take note!

Lolz, na so oooo
Nice advert

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

LOL

Lol!

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Lol nice advert

Congratulations Linda.

sweet_denye said...

all dis one na for genesis cinema ...

Smart one

The guy is rude and arrogant. Had a bad experience in Genesis cinema at the Palms where my spouse and I were trying to get clarification on their "no outside drinks" policy. We were told he was the owner, and thought he would be helpful, boy, was he rude and condescending. We had paid for movie tickets but left the tickets there without watching. Promised never to step into any of his business outlets again. I work for my money, so I'm definitely not putting it into the bank account of a human being who is so full of himself and rude:

How van they be the leadibg Cinema with 4 screens? Have you seen the so called Cinema in PH? Even Silverbird is better. Then we have Filmhouse they will take over soon.

Loool I knew it was an advert!

Does she need to know him? Use your head biko, they will just contact her for d advert naa, or u think its free? She's a business woman, u contact her for advert, u pay, she places your advert here, if u like write epistle that ppl won't read like these ones have done, na u sabi!

Azzin ehn! Lol! With their expensive movie tickets.

Jeez gynaecological it's gynaecologist

Peeps. You need to take a learning from the story and horn your business skills.

You see advert but I see a smart way of starting business.

The difference between rich men and poor men lies in their ability to identify and take opportunities.

Beautiful...we re learning.Entrepreneurs take note.

I dint bother reading

That's a nice piece

The man is a Genius entrepreneur Linda take note.....

Thank God, I didn't waste my time on this rubbish advert

Linda r u 4 real? Lik seriously?

Mz Lolo... said...

Cinema full of rats

I have visited the genesis deluxe cinemas and restaurants. nice place. great experience. We need more of such brands in Naija

Jane Daniels said...

These guys sharp, they used enticing heading to make people read their story. Nice story sha. sweet couple too

Emmanuel said...

Never know who was behind this Genesis cinema until today. Ive been there couple of times. Not bad

Anon 11.42, you are obviously a biased person. Which Silverbird? Lol. Everyone in ph knows their story. As for Filmhouse, Good luck to you and their poor service. We all know that being a new cinema and all has its appeal but bad things don't last. I happen to know that GDC, especially Ph has the best service staff amongst the cinemas I have been to. Bad belle.

Donald Obika said...

So this is the founder of Genesis? hmmm. good ideas

Advert or no advert, bottom line is that there is some learning from the story. It is an inspiration to the young ones out there that allow the Lack of jobs get to them and lead them to crime. One can start up small and who knows can become blessed like this couple.

Nkechi said...

Great piece, the more he expands, the bigger the job opportunities for our growing unemployed youths. I look forward to visiting one of his cinemas. Congrats sir!

Linda,this babe,you need flogging o
Nice write up anyway.

...NA ZO

I had the same problem like three weeks back. They searched my handbag just at the entrance of the cinema as I walked in to see a movie with my husband and kids. ...saw take away dinner nicely wrapped up for my children to have when we get home and said I couldn't take it in with me. I insisted that I had no intention of eating of having my kids eat while watching the movie. They already had popcorn. And these robots insisted that I couldn't and suggested that I came back the next day to see the movie or place my children's food in some deadbeat locker outside. I ended up yelling to get my refund. They wouldn't even do that but ended up selling my tickets to get my money back. Fancy me thinking my handbag was being checked for security reasons only to find that they were checking for food??! And their signage at the ticket sales point says NO food from outside can be CONSUMED in here. It doesn't say we cannot take food in. I hadn't committed any crime as I didn't and had no intention of consuming any food in there. Uncle, if u feel the need to place ads out there then please take time to review this policy. Thank you.

Too long

This one no be Linda write am. Tori too long and dem de repeat. Business na business

Anon 11.42, really? Silverbird in Ph is better? I bet you have never been to silverbird in your life and just prefer to run people down. If not, you wouldn't have said that. As for Filmhouse, I cannot be caught dead there. Poor customer service. Genesis Cinemas PH has the best customer service in ph cinemas and hope they are consistent in service.

Yeah....right!

This man is a man of aesthetics, he is humble and what ever his hands touches looks like him. Handsome man with beautiful family, he supports very many family in Nigeria, what else can one ask of. We all need to visit these centres to be convinced.

Genesis is the best place to work and learn how to build ur perfect live, am speaking from experience believe me guys
Because I've worked with them, and believe me am not saying all this because I
woked there, i was sacked but what i learnt from that man is something i can't put all down here, I can proudly set up and run my own company which am looking forward to setup soon, davidwhitend@yahoo.com

Comments like this makes one get better only when they are true.

When you said someone was rude but didn't state exactly what he doesn't appear nice.

If he has started as expresses, I am not sure he will be where he is today in hospitality industry.

I also doubt if he is always at the shop floor.

hmmmm, all because of genesis cinema....ok oooo

Inspiring young man, beautiful family. A worthy role model for our youth!!!

The wife was my lecturer and my boss in Obstetrics and gynaecology, a very brave surgeon i must say. kudos.