IT company denies being paid N78m for Fashola's personal website | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 August 2015

IT company denies being paid N78m for Fashola's personal website

Info Access Plus Limited, the IT firm named by the Lagos State procurement office as allegedly receiving N78 million for the upgrade of former Governor Babatunde Fashola’s personal website, has denied claims it was paid such an amount of money for the job. In a statement they released this evening, the company said when they applied for the job, they asked to be paid N12.5 million but were paid less than N10 million after the job was done. Their statement after the cut...

Our attention is drawn to the twitter campaign alleging that the Lagos State Government (LASG), led by His Excellency, Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN spent Seventy Eight Million Naira (N78M) to upgrade the www.tundefashola.com web site, a site dedicated to giving citizens unfettered access to the Governor’s daily activities and open access to information. It is imperative to state here that, the website in question is not Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola’s personal website but an official website which reports and documents his official activities as a way of socially accounting for his stewardship to the people of Lagos State. This initiative of having an official website for the Governor was to build on the earlier commitment to open access which saw Governor Fashola being the first serving governor to publish his telephone number on the pages of newspapers. As pressure mounted on that number, the website and all of its social media handles became alternative platforms for people to directly engage with their elected governor.
While we do not hold brief for the Lagos State Government, the selective loading of contracts awarded and executed by the Lagos State Public Procurement Agency is itself suspect and aimed at a pre-determined end. The statement of the Contract Line Item and the cost ascribed on the website of the agency are therefore misleading and mischievous.
For avoidance of doubt, we are by this medium therefore laying bare the facts for the public:
Introduction
The former Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, SAN, set out to streamline easy access to himself, while in office and to document his activities for the citizens.
From 2008 and up till May 29, 2015, the www.tundefashola.com web site has processed thousands of press releases/speeches, more than 6 million pictures, thousands of videos to generate world class, content-rich online information collaterals for the former Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, SAN.
The same www.tundefashola.com web site provides great opportunities for the Lagos State Government, as it collates all activities of the Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, SAN, and his government during his two terms.
What Did LASG Get For the alleged “N78M”?
  • N12.5m was quoted for the upgrade of the www.tundefashola.com web site, which includes complete re-design of all the hundreds of page templates. Meanwhile, the LASG spent less than N10m on this and not N78M being bandied on the social around.
  • Info Access Plus Limited will provide free technical support for the entire life cycle of the web site.
  • Info Access Plus Limited will manage the contents of the site, which consist of press releases, speeches, photos, videos, etc for one year.
  • Info Access Plus Limited developed and managed the first and only web-based 1-year Countdown Clock to May 29, 2015 on a 24-hourly basis off the back of this same service cost for a period of 1 year from 2014 to May 29, 2015.
  • Info Access Plus Limited developed mobile apps for the top four platforms, namely Apple iOS, Google Play, Microsoft Windows Phone 8 and Blackberry World off the back of this same service cost.
  • Info Access Plus Limited will provide free technical support throughout the life cycles of all these mobile apps also off the back of this same service cost.
For the Records
  • In addition, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, SAN, personally paid for the www.brforg.org web site, even when he was the Lagos State Governor. He felt that www.brforg.org is the online presence of his Non-Governmental Organization, BRF Organization. Again, we state for the records, that the website in question is the official website of the Governor of Lagos State and not Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola’s personal website as being disparagingly alleged by the campaigners.
Quality Software Development Takes Serious Effort, Time and Resources
Signed on Behalf of Info Access Plus Limited

50 comments:

Of course they were going to deny it. I hope investigation to this allegation is carried out.

I thought as much.

Whether N12m or N78m is it not too much to pay for just an upgrade?.

Why won't the denies it,sdenying it is just medicine after death.
Fashola the looter has bribe them again to deny it nigeria shame loi.

Some am meant to read all this crap abt a website and 78m........Henry Eze

Okay....

All these websites,emails,phone numbers sef are just a waste of resources and time.Its not the government reads any of them.Their PAs do the reading & screening.

Wat do we believe?

One thing I hate when a finger is pointed t someone in Nigeria is they turn to quote examples from America. What do these two countries have in common? Compare the accusation with logical arguments and stop fooling around.

10m is still too much for a website...

BOLLOCKS!!!

sweetie said...

Evil people everywhere, nobody can destroy fashola, is d best gov so far and going to b d next president either enemy like it or not. Linda tanks for bringing this out

Very interesting response by Info Access. When Fashola personally paid for the website, why is Lagos public procurement reporting the contract as government record. The cost basis given is not tenable because all are for business that generate income. Is Fashola website which is claimed to inform lagosians about his program meant for profit. I know nothing will happen to Fashola regarding this issue - at least we are informed. The DG of Lagos public procurement us a man of integrity and he needs to talk speak now.

See Gobe!

Linda, bs. My grandson who is 5 years old can do this nonsense website for free. How come in the contact section, it's Fashola s name listed as contact instead of Lagos State Government. My dear, even 1million nairia is overpriced.

Wait first. Forget about their 78M. I'm i not seeeing a budget of 39million for buying printer ink..., JUST INK = 39,000,000....

Haba, let me jst not swear/curse them now in my bitterness...chai

plus which BRT lane is there from mile 2 - cms, almost 3billion Naira

Ha...!! diaisgodoh

Info Access plus limited why are you holding brief for the LASG? Are you an official of the LASG?I perceive someone trying very hard to convince us against available facts.

Madam Lin Lin biko check ur mail fa sent smth u ll lyk pls.tnks

Only in Nigeria.

Info access plus limited can go to hell. Web developer that has no website = scam! Don't compare your trash website with facebook, twitter or google, because yours has only a fraction of a fraction of a percent of the infrastructure of those websites. Those websites have traffic in the billions and also generate billions of dollars a year, while yours was just an excuse to collect government money. TRASH.

Thank you!! They were doing okay with their explanation and it was coming out as plausible, until they went off on a tangent with those other sites. Stop already!

Nigerian have started with their PHD syndrome. The moment your opinion differs from theirs , they start painting you with tar. Whom GOD has blessd no man can course. Ride on fashola nothing do you. If a Pope comes to nig they will paint him back. God with you BRF

They were never going to admit it! Moreover some of that money might have gone to them and the other into other people's pockets.

bright said...

....info access plus neither has a official address nor a website. This is most dissapointing for a likes of fashola.

FASHOLA IS NOT ALL THAT PEOPLE MAKE HIM OUT TO BE. THE DUDE IS NOT ONLY CORRUPT, WHICH HIS ETHNIC DOES NOT WANT TO HEAR BECAUSE THEY WANT HIM TO BE SEEN AS THE BEST GOVERNOR, EVEN WHEN HE IS'NT, HE ALSO EXHIBITS SOME PREJUDICIAL TENDENCIES. EXAMPLES ABOUND.

WHEN HE WAS CRITICIZED FOR THE DEPORTATION SAGA; (I AM NOT WHIPPING SENTIMENTS HERE AND OBVIOUSLY DO NOT WANT TO START ANOTHER WAR), HIS REACTION WAS NOT THE KIND STATESMEN OR SEASONED POLITICIANS WHO HAVE NATIONAL INTEREST IN MIND, WOULD MAKE. HE SAID, THAT THE PEOPLE OF THAT ETHNIC GROUP SHOULD BE CAREFUL OF THEIR REACTIONS BECAUSE IF THERE IS A BREAKDOWN OF LAW AND ORDER, THEY WOULD BE THE PEOPLE THAT WOULD LOSE MORE, SINCE THEY HAVE THEIR PROPERTIES SCATTERED ALL OVER.

THE IMPLICATIONS OF THAT STATEMENT IS MIND-BOGGLING.

WHAT HE MEANT IS:

1. HE ENCOURAGED NIGERIANS ETHNIC GROUPS TO ATTACK EACH OTHERS PROPERTY WHENEVER THE DISAGREE RATHER THAN DIALOGUE.
2. HE ALSO INFORMED THAT ETHNIC GROUP THAT THIS IS OUR GAME PLAN, AND INDEED, WE ARE NOT HAPPY WITH YOU BUYING PROPERTIES HERE, EVEN WHEN HE AND HIS FOLKS BUY PROPERTIES ABROAD.
3. HE ENCOURAGED VIOLENCE AS THE ONLY WAY TO SETTLE DISPUTE OR A WAY TO PROVE ETHNIC SUPERIORITY.
4. HE ALSO BY THAT CARELESS STATEMENT, PUT YORUBA PEOPLE WHO OWN PROPERTY ALL OVER THE WORLD, AT RISK.
5. HE WAS DIVISIVE AND NARROW MINDED IN THINKING THAT YORUBA WILL NOT BE ATTACKED OUTSIDE YORUBA LAND AND EVEN IN YORUBA LAND AND ALSO THEIR PROPERTIES WOULD BE AT RISK.
6. HE TOLD INVESTORS THAT WE ARE NOT INVESTMENT FRIENDLY ETC

I SUPPORT THE CALL TO INVESTIGATE FASHOLA, NOT ON ACCOUNT OF THESE AFORE-MENTIONED INANITIES, BUT BECAUSE HE FRITTERED AWAY THE LARGEST POOL OF REVENUE EVER AMASSED BY ANY STATE IN NIGERIA. FROM TAXES, CHARGES, CORPORATE SECURITY CONTRIBUTIONS AND ALLOCATIONS. ANY RIGHT THINKING YORUBA CITIZEN SHOULD COMPARE THE REVENUE AMASSED UNDER FASHOLA AND HIS ACHIEVEMENTS WHILST IN OFFICE AND MAKE THEIR CONCLUSIONS. LOOK AROUND YOUR NEIGHBOURHOOD, ARE YOU HAPPY WITH WHAT YOU SEE?

Warrevar! Who cares??? Linda take note!

In the end those who know, know. It's poor man mentality that kills us in this country. So someone will design a site, script it (which is not beans), manage all its content for a year (ask linda about content management), offer tech support for the life span of the site (you have to be on ground if the site is down or hacked or compromised, for LIFE), build apps for the 4 major platforms (go and see what it takes to build one app na) and you people say 10m is much? 78m is just right please. Mschew. When you are good at what you do you make a shit load of money from it. Ask Linda.

These ppl must b big fools,u think d ppl ur talkn to r stupid,d obamacare,facebook and twitter u mentioned were built to handle traffic over 100s of millions,dats y dey spent huge amounts on processors to handle d traffic,not huge amounts on d design or maintainance, and y r ppl feeling its political,so we r to punish only opposition dat r corrupt and not d ruling,abi d change na for one side only

Na WordPress theme be that. I for charge N78,000 for that kind work.

The guy come here dey advertise him services.

oiza said...

Im not suprised he will deny.Brt is own my fashola and tinubu !! And they had d gots to demarcate state roads in pretex that it's Lagos state property

smart mobile apps said...

It is disappointing that people who know next to nothing about website and web developing are busy commenting on issue they barely know. I know it cost over $80 million dollars to run facebook for just one month! As the saying goes "soup wen sweet na money killam".

These guys are just stupid cos they have mad no point here at all. The owner of this company told me himself that he collected over 70m for that job while quoting me 300m for a job. He casually said go and ask how much brf paid

How is 10million naira less than $40,000 too much for a company to build and develop a website for a Governor with a national profile? Was the website put up using templates, or built using developers, is it hosted on bluehost or aws, is it using Google's free platform? Is it responsive? What about tracking and security? Those without knowledge should not speak on something they know nothing about. Nigerians are so used to cheap products and never understand the difference between fake, cheap or real. That's why no one has any respect for Nigerians abroad. Yes you can put up a free website, a mediocre website or you can put up what is known as a platform but hey I'm judging from the responses that you wouldn't know the difference between real Gucci and fake Gucci. Same difference here.

No one asked you to. The same way no one asked your childish want to be cool behind to make a comment. Go back and suckle on your mama's teats b4 you get slapped.

No its not!

This website that is not even responsive, with just articles etc built with drupal starter theme, costs's 10 mill? I will get there one day.Amen

Readers, please don't be deceived by this "saint". It will take a Procurement expert to see through this!

"We did so so and so free at no extra charge to the original contract!" Wonderful! And your company has not gone under yet? Lord have mercy on Nigeria!

By the way, why using Raji Fashola as name and not something like Lagosgovernor? Raji is Lagos!

My people, My feople, I rest my case..EFCC over to you if you are not only hunting certain group of people.

Taaaaa! Gerrout!
Nowhere do they design and manage websites at that price. I am into the business. Atleast not this inferior site he directed us to. What is happening?

Did anyone ask them about how much they were given? What we spoke of his how much he budgeted for it. Even if it is his personal site, how much is his salary? And if it's not, it's in his regime such trash was done. He should be probed.

Besides I have read articles of mouth watering sums.
http://www.nairaland.com/2147714/how-fashola-looted-n402bn-lagos
The man is a thief!

You are right. If you want to do a website for me, I need to see yours first

Please let us ne objective and more Nigeria forward

Why is the contract info listed as public procurement when Fashola personally paid for it. Info Access plus has no website lol

Gabby said...

Who wants to bring BRF down? Is it about ministerial appointment? There is no smoke without fire.
The problem we have in this part of the world is that we often jump into conclusion at the instant of mere accusation even without hearing from the accused and by the time the accused state his/her side of the story we find it difficult to reverse our earlier stand point instead we resulted into rationalisation and that is exactly what the perpetrators of the falsehood wants to achieve.
I advised my fellow Nigerians against being used by unscrupulous individual who have scores to settle with others.
From explanation given by the website designer, somebody in the procurement office of Lagos State is out for mischief against BRF if less than N10m will rise to N78m with a stroke of pen.

10m...., are you kidding me? That's almost £40,000 for a website! What the hell will we be able to shake Fashola's hand through the screen?!!!! Thievessssss my God the level of corruption is just ridiculous everyone na thief!!!! Just checked it - £1000 can get you something better!!!!!

So many people comment without really understanding and digesting the info in a post. Info said BRF personally paid for the brf.org website not the tundefashola website which was made to cater for him in his capacity as lagos state governor. Which means that they are trying to distinguish/justify the purpose/function of the 2 websites. While 10mil is a lot for developing and mIntaning a website; from the info provided it appears the amount was to cover running the website during the two terms of the ex-gov.

@v fedebagha rowland yo have spoken well, APC supporters are the worst fools, they support blindly and even contradict themselves, is the change for one side? only PDP should change abi

74 million is too small... They should have collected 100 million

Website Designer in Calabar said...

If it isn't his personal website, why then did it bear his name and not something generic like www.lagosgovernor.com so another administration can continue to make use of it.

Now he is gone, what would LSG do with the website? His Excellency, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, please when you are ready to build yours, kindly holla at us @ Audacity ICT Solutions Ltd, we would give you a much better website and a much affordable price.
Thanks.