Switzerland to return $380million Abacha loot to Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 March 2015

Switzerland to return $380million Abacha loot to Nigeria

The Swiss government has concluded plans to return $380 million to Nigeria, which is part of money stashed in Swiss banks by former dictator, Gen. Sani Abacha while he was in power.

Geneva prosecutors said today Tuesday March 17th that they ordered the money seized in Luxembourg starting in 2006 & was officially confiscated last year following an agreement between Nigeria and the Abacha family under which FG dropped its case against Abacha's son, Abba Abacha.

Switzerland has previously returned to Nigeria more than $700 million that Abacha stashed in Swiss accounts. If the Swiss government makes this new cash return, it would bring the total amount of Abacha's loot returned so far to $1.080 billion.

158 comments:

And another politician will loot it locally. Lindaobserve

Mab said...

Shit, Abacha is the man

A recovered loot to be looted again.

ADUPE o.. But, I hope its in trusted hands now? Make them no use am campaign

Role model

Btwizzy said...

He's been dead for over a decade and the money he stole keeps coming in. So, how much exactly did this bastard steal?

Abacha oo.... Igburu anyi pieces.......

Kponskii said...

Jesu!!!!! See bah!

God forgive me for talking evil about the dead but this man was wicked! God forbid that another former dictator comes Into power! Hian!

Imagine
What only one man carried
na wa o
Nigeria has money o
Just those thieves that loot money that make us suffer
I just hope the money will be utilised wisely

And Buhari said Abacha did not steal Nigeria's money. Yet he is the agent of Change and all the youths follow him blindly. I think i can categorically say that this country called Nigeria needs to be recolonized. What a shame.

Oloriburuku somebody dat money is enough to do another udoji or put electrify for d whole country God Witt punish ur entire family to the last generation of ur family or anyone wit dat ur last name Ijn

Guess who is becoming as poor as Dangote...

Gay Life of an Anonymous Writer

That money go don enter different people pocket ehhh

Great! Just hope the money will be channeled to the right place when it eventually comes

Abeni said...

Politicians. With their wayo dat y all of dem won die

Where is the money?

The better safe dat money for a better purpose not just sharing it among dem self oo

Thief! Ole!! Carry am go.

Na wa ooo the man been wan run Nigeria dry? Shuuu

Another cash from swiss again??? Chaii,now I know y maryam Abacha said she will never b poor as Dangote. Hummmmmm*thinkingDeep*

Mo said...

Bad timing

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Abacha na man u be,enough Money for Jonathan campaign and re-election.JEGA will flex muscle withh DanGote after dis election.

GEJ till 2019

Going straight to the federal Govt account.
And they will continue sharing the
National cake. God is watching us all.

Greatest thief of all time....Kai some people r just greedy, why steal so much?

Abacha did not steal -Buhari

Oh Jesus!!!!! And we are dying of poverty in dis country..... Say no to APC.... They are not far from this

eh.....more dan billion....nawa o

Yet according to mr buhari intergrity.abacha neva stole a dime or wasnt corrupt??? Make una shine una eye abeg.

That's some huge amount of money

Humphrey said...

Oh my goodness

Oluwadamilola said...

God! I need like 2million dollars out of that money..

lami said...

And what would the nigeria govt do with it? Waste it on campaign.

This man nearly ruin the nation but for God

thief

When? and who are they going to hand the money over to? I know some group of people have already shared the money before it's arrival sef.

New post on the blog
www.udokjane.blogspot.com

Chaiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii. Abacha of life, memories of your reign comes back knocking on our doors. Greed, the catalyst to the grave.

Please don't return it now .# change first

At the end no one would know what the money was used for.

Please don't return it now .# change first

Hedes will continue to punish this guy even in the underworld

Let Switzerland delay the transfer till the nation ushers in a new administration. The incumbent must not be trusted any further with recovered loot. This administration does not believe in transparency/accountability. Please, save the soul of our nation!

But Buhari say that Abacha is not corrupt.Buhari is an ethnicist.

Abeg, they should return it after election

It Should be returned after elections o

Abeg, make una wait till after election o! Otherwise na Jona election fund the money go enter.

And what has our Govt done with the $700m returned? And what will they do with the $300m ? The Swizz govt better hold on tight to it, or confiscate it longer, instead of returning it back into the hands of our greedy politicians. That money can go a long way in helping our turbines (better electricity)

I hail o

Nawaoooooh

C I'm face like thief

ejison said...

Chaiiiii see money, only one person wan chop dis kind money. Abacha God go punish ur ganeration

kitty Belle said...

Thanks so much Switzerland! May God bless you.
Its lent and I cannot curse this man now but make i just cuss am small. ABACHA GENERATION...WAKA! BANZA!

Return it to which administration? Jonathan? Forget it...walks away

O my God not again.This malam kill 9ja.i rather vote Goodluck than another malam called buhari the keller

Zamani said...

Then what's gonna happen to the money when it is returned. Pls visit rellanaija.blogspot.com

Chai they shud now distribute 5million each to all of us na

These aboki's can steal

WAIT OH.... SINCE THEY HAVE BEEN BRINGING ALL THIS MONEY BACK TO OUR COUNTRY NIGERIA, WAITING THEY USE THE MONEY FOR OR WHERE THE MONEY DEY ENTER?

Doris said...

Al dis dollars wey dem dey return,na where e dey enta? But d man gather sha,e pack moni tire,e no carry am go. Vanity upon vanity.

Where is the 700m.maybe in maduekes house

They keep returning, where are the previous ones that was returned??? And Oga Jona had to go borrow $1billion to fight boko haram. Issokay o! Linda take note!

sweetie said...

MOT

Ahhhhhhhhhhh! Na Thunder go strike jonathan and is corruption members. Where ar all dis money? We still they borrow money wit all money EFCC has withdrawed.pls kindly tell mama stone throwing to pack more beans she ll cook for her prisoner hubby when leaving Aso rock. I weep for my country.

jessy said...

God, and just one family was supposed to eat all this? GEJ no matter how bad or weak pple think you are, you are worth trying again.God bless nigeria

Come and dash me na.

Brown suga said...

God will judge & punish all d leaders dat has kept us in dis perpetual poverty IJN, amen!

jessy said...

God, and just one family was supposed to eat all this? GEJ no matter how bad or weak pple think you are, you are worth trying again.God bless nigeria

...and we want to vote his brother dictator in. Stupid Idiots

Oluwa ooo! These money would still find it's way out under another corrupt politician's name. Father have mercy!!!

ColdFlame said...

I'd say that they (Switzerland) hold unto that cash till well past the Nigerian elections. The speed at which it's raining dollars on a particular Presidential candidate's campaign trail these days, this money is sure to grow wings and vamoose without a trace. For once let money recovered from Abacha end up in our national coffers where it rightly belongs.

Oooh God. Let them wait and return it during (Buhari's administration). Jona govt go share am finish. What did they do with the first quater that given ????

chioma ubani said...

Come on not now. The Swiss should pls hold on to the loot. A lot is at stake now. We don't need an irresponsible govt to devour the money like the vultures.

laurine said...

Abacha really finished nigeria omg

Dia riz God ooh!!! Only one man.

Davdags said...

that is serious robbery.
Get your cheap bulksms units from 1naira @ www.dagscitysms.com
Get free units on registration and also free Ebook on making money online after purchase.

Davdags said...

that is serious robbery.
Get your cheap bulksms units from 1naira @ www.dagscitysms.com
Get free units on registration and also free Ebook on making money online after purchase.

Why send Abacha's loath to vagabonds that will spend it? That's a chicken fee for a government that stole $20 billion.

@Osirmah said...

Mehn dis man kill nigeria sha, n dere r still odas Dat haven't been discovered yet o! N d son wanted to contest for governor, thank God he lost. D party's primary!

FF on IG n Twitter @Osirmah

Yet Buhari said Abacha was not corrupt. I wonder the kind of corruption Buhari will fight if voted into power. His allies will loot billions same way they did when he was PTF chairman,yet he will not notice it. This time will be worse because he has the king of corruption(Tinubu) sponsoring his campaigns. Tinubu will buy the whole of Nigeria if APC wins,but thank God APC will never win because their evil intention is too much for Nigerians to bear. GEJ till 2019!!!

Okowright Balaxy said...

Yet Buhari said Abacha never stole any money. Buhari must be really brain dead.

Not up 20 billions dollar GEJ stole

Jesus! Even hell wil recognise Abacha as chief loot's in d world. Dis man almost grounded Nigeria wit all dis loots. Wht was he using all dis money for, to tak care of his unborn generations or wht?

Wht a shame dat our leaders we do all in their powers to loot our national treasures and end up undeveloping d country@d detriment of d masses. God help us.

Chai! Diaris god o. We won't even see the money when they return it.mtcheww!

I guess the Federal government has shared the National cake without investing it wisely

thief ooo,go they hide our money.
linda observe

We've been hearing this return loot since

Yay! Considering the current USD rate. I hope oga jona doesn't help us spend it sha

and that idiot GUMSU ABACHA still has mouth. By the time they finish with her and her family, ehhnn. mouth self to tak no go remain. she will just be existing like a zombie.

her stupid father will continue to rot in his stupid grave. ABACHA, E NO GO BETTER FOR UNA. BLOODY ASSHOLES , GUMSU AND HER MOTHER

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Nawa ooo these Man really finish Nigeria Money, But Hw have they Make Use Of the once they have Returned?

NO!!!!! They should give the money to the UNDP to help develop Nigeria . Jonathan and his thieves will finish it in no time .. Somebody please speak up . PLEASE !!!!!!

$1.080b........Where all the money???????

SWILL MARTIN said...

Hmmmmn jesu!!!av mercy oooooo

GR8BABE said...

wow!!!serious money

SWILL MARTIN said...

Dis guy finish naija shaaaa chei!

God dey oooo

This is serious...God dey ooo

They shouldn't bother joor... cos jona will still steal it again.
Jona in Nigeria's boat is the cause of the storm. Cast out Jona and watch the storm fade out. One man's greedy ambition is not worth the lives of millions of people.

Jezz!!! Dats a lot of moni oooo...mak I hear say Naija seize any small African country giv dem bak...

Etsako Pearl said...

Gud 4 us,even if na workers salary federal govt fit use am pay.....Choi!!

Chai smh

and wen returned, where will it go to biko nu? we dey watch.
for 4D.

pamscrib.blogspot.com

Tendency oby said...

Nigeria get money oo

ColdFlame said...

I'd say that they (Switzerland) hold unto that cash till well past the Nigerian elections. The speed at which it's raining dollars on a particular Presidential candidate's campaign trail these days, this money is sure to grow wings and vamoose without a trace. For once let money recovered from Abacha end up in our national coffers where it rightly belongs.

Reina said...

Jesus Christ....exactly how much did this man steal?

Biko who are they returning it to?

Chaaaaiii
1 man?

kanma said...

Pls dey should still keep it till GMB is elected. GEJ will only squander it

After people will say Igbo like money. Look at this people.

This is the same man Buhari worked as ptf chairman, as a hungry fool he is

Goodluck Till2019 said...

This money should be spent on a capital projects oh. If possible let it be extended on the second Niger bridge.

Goodluck Till2019 said...

Expended

UNHAPPY NIGERIAN. said...

@APC/BUHARI, ABACHA DID NOT STEAL ANY MONEY NEITHER WAS HE CORRUPT BECAUSE HE MADE HIM/BUHARI CHAIRMAN OF PTF. SELECTED JUSTICE AS ALWAYS. DRIVER CAUSE ACCIDENT BUHARI JAIL CONDUCTOR. AND HE IS THE CHANGED DICTATOR AND NO MORE A TRBALIST BUT A DETRIBALISED NIGERIAN MY ASS. NIGERIANS KNOW BETTER THAN ALL THIS PACKAGING ANYWAY. SHAMELESS DICTATOR, LIAR, TRIBALIST WHO SHOULD HAVE BEEN TRIED IN A SANE SOCIETY FOR HIS ATROCITIES AGAINST THE STATE OF NIGERIA AND FOR OVERTHROWING A DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED GOVERNMENT. RATHER WHAT WE HAVE IS THE SAME MAN TRYING TO DISRUPT OUR YOUNG DEMOCRACY AGAIN THROUGH APC PACKAGING. BEFORE THE AIT THE LION OF BOURDILON DOCUMENTARY. HE WILL JAIL ALL CORRUPT POLITICIANS, AFTER THE AIT DOCUMENTARY, NOW IS ANY CORRUPTION FROM 1999-MAY 29TH THIS YEAR WILL NOT BE INVESTIGATED BUT ANY CORRUPTION FROM MAY 29TH WILL HAVE HIM TO CONTEST WITH. THE MAN WITH NO STAND IN THE WHOLE OF NIGERIAN POLITICS. BUHARI WORSE THAN CORRUPT.

Going right into Jona''s account

Clearly Nigeria is being Transformed by the Jonathan administration.

http://www.nigerianext.com

And some useless northerners will be opening their mouth to tell us that GEJ brought hardship on Nigerians, as at 17yrs back when abacha was alive, how many Nigerian has N1billion let alone $1billion dollar possed by just a single man as at 2008. To me that's the height of madness, greed and callousness by a man who cares less for his fellow country men.

Nawah o. From one man! The money would be stolen again na.

No need. It doesn't get to be used for the good of the country.

Of cos, jubilation gallor 4 aso rock now. @least den go c money complete der campaign stuff

Walebayo said...

Can you imagine.... lets do the calculation, They say we have a population of about 120 million nigerians... lets say the money is being shared amongst all ... each person will get a million dollar each and it will still go round thrice making 3 million dollars each and still remain. Do you khow how a million dollar can change our lives forever. And this so called selfish, bastard politicians says they don't want change cos of their greed to keep on with the embezzlement so as to enslave us all... God punish you all and you all will end up like Abacha. some of our so called leaders have much more than that in their possession... Na Abacha own dem go dey clamour around about. Thieves.

We're is the first 700million dollars returned?

Imagine all the billions our politicians has been looting, if put into good use nigeria should be like dubai by now, oh God help your children!!!

God will fish them out soon

Husband from hell abuses his wife in public

Mother Teaching Her Daughter a Hard Lesson For Sleeping With a Neighbor

Guy Caught his Girlfriend cheating with another Man in Lagos

Instead of you to open the orifice at the top of your body and ask what your change master was doing neck deep in the same cesspool with Abacha you are sitting there talking change! I am amazed at the blinkered levels of stupidity some people can display.

Omo the Abachas rob Nigeria blind. They stole in one regime what a collective group would have in 10 years. Damn!!!

Amen

Amen

Funso Samuel said...

And some idiots keep asking where is the money the Swiss govt. returned earlier. Why dont you ask when was the money returned. Maybe it's during OBJ, Yar Adua or GEJ administration..you cant say.

And a reminder… Buhari claimed Abacha never stole any money from Nigeria. How true is that now?

Dennis said...

What of the interest from the money?

Look at his tribal marks, he's a Kanuri man from Borno but now they are forming kano indigene.

where is ABACHA??IF NOT DEAD AND BURIED

They should hold the money first o. So they can hand over to a Government that will use it wisely. If they give it to GEJ he will give to OPC and Switzerland will be held responsible for sponsoring election violence.

oya send ur account no

TRUE. GUMSU IS MESSED UP IN THE HEAD! SHE is one devil copy of her dumb and bastard father

Wow!!

why is US not returning the asset seized

Chio, see all our money. Abacha greedy well well

this is one of good work of jonathan kudos to his

Dis Abacha wrecked this nation, dont knw y one will steal as much as dat

Wait na only one man loot all this kin money...jesu!!!! God punish not just his family but all those who helped him loot this money IJN

Noooooooooooooooo! Suiss govt could you guys please just hold on to this cash for just a few weeks more? We don't need it right now. Bros Jona I hail.

God dey

Deedee said...

WU ARE DEY RETURNING IT TO, ANODA THIEF SHEY???? IF U ASK ME MAKE DEM KEEP AM USE AM DO BETTER TIN 4 DIA COUNTRY CUZ ONES E ENTER NAIJA ANODA OLE GO TK AM 4 E PERSONAL USE.

See as e be!

Switz Govt should've still hold on.All the ones that has been released to the Govt in the past should be accounted for,before returning the rest.Anyway,The Switz Govt has be make it clear that,if the money is not been utilize well,they know how to collect it back,Co they knew how corrupt our Govt are.

They should not release the money now bcos oga jona will just use it for compaign. It should release when Buhari has take over the power. Sai Buhari.

They should hold-on with the money now because Jona cabals will chop the money fast fast na voice mail be that.

Dani said...

So tha Gej will loot it?

Dani said...

That's what jonathan wants twn years to do now

Dani said...

Gej has looted it

Dani said...

You racist was abacha sharing his loot with northerns? Is Gej sharing his loot with southern? Stop being shallow nd tribalist

Chai......There Is God ooooo!!!

I'm sure that money will only benefit the ogas at the top. Follow darling girl on Twitter @darlingng and Instagram @darlingnigeria

this is totally nonsense.. imagine, that kind of amount looted and no body notices seriously, Nigeria is the most corrupted country ever known.. i just Buhari enters and kills all those stuff before it consume Nigeria.. I pray for Nigeria

I Can feel wt u r feeling right now...its only God that can amend all the broken...The present Nigeria of today started so many years back. I can see a change! (Not dt of Buhari ooo)

I advise the Swiss government to keep the money because our Nigerian leaders will embezzle the money. They will never use the money for the good of the nation.