Photos: Ikeja residents protest at PHCN office | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 March 2015

Photos: Ikeja residents protest at PHCN office

Ikeja residents this morning protested at the Ikeja Electricity office (Nepa office) in Alausa, saying that PHCN is giving them crazy bills, extorting them and not giving them electricity. The residents asked PHCN to provide them with pre-paid meters and threatened to burn down the building if their demands are not met. More photos after the cut...

97 comments:

Needed! Phcn is something else. Lindaobserve

Fashola over to u... U blame GEJ in everything.... Now d table is turned.... Solve it

When will we get there the same story as usual

This is not PDP state.... Its APC

Only Buhari can bring d change #March4Buhari

Abuja residence should do same.

Good...

Flawlessbae❤❤ (wears,bags,sneakers,heels,sandals) for both m/f @08156743416 said...

Good move
I love the action they have taking.

SAY NO TO DARKNESS! NEPA IS JUST CRAZZZZZZZY

Eagle Eyes Media said...

It's everywhere. Crazy billing.

People that they ought to beat.... OBSEQUIOUS

Dudumide said...

Crazy bills all over even in Festac, no power supply and u pay as high as 10 - 15k per month per flat with just 5 hours power supply in a month..... extortion in the highest order. Plssss help. They have refused to bring pre-paid meter.

My lawyer is tired of writing to EKDC.

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

E be like say na everywhere 'em dey share this crazy bill o....... #StupidityisWhen you charge your phone with generator and still come online to type #GEJTILL2019 . #supportChange #March4Buhari

Thumbs up to them and they should keep up wit dis so dat theywiil effect a lot of changes frm PHCN if not they wil b taken for granted.

Rubylicious said...

Lol @ "Ikeja electric officials are terrorists ".

kidykuz said...

U guys shouldn't worry wen gmb come to power...u will have stable electricity

Votegmb4abetanigeria

king Jaja said...

something should be done about the extortion called crazy bill by PHCN. Not only Ikeja resident but the whole of Lagos should stand to resist the rubbish. it is only in Nigeria that u pay for what u don't used

Looooolz, gud 4 dem jare. Dats wat dey r doing Everywhere, d bills dey bring @ d end of d month is always crazy bt dey shd protest wt der head n maturity o, setting d office on fire is nt d solution @ll.

this is the way to go instead of calling on GEJ all the time. Protest _ that's what other countries do. Let people start taking responsibility in their various offices. People do rubbish in this country because they know the president would be blamed for everything. LEARN TO PROTEST

Looooolz, gud 4 dem jare. Dats wat dey r doing Everywhere, d bills dey bring @ d end of d month is always crazy bt dey shd protest wt der head n maturity o, setting d office on fire is nt d solution @ll.

This has been going on 4 years,thought they should av gotten used to it by now

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

#StupidityisWhen you charge your phone with generator and still come online to type #GEJTILL2019 . #supportChange #March4Buhari

Yes dat is good... its al ova ds country,dey dnt bring light bt dey extort huge money frm us by bringing ds crazy bill of a tin... dey shld burn it dwn if dey dont shw dem wat dey required

I think some of ds peaceful demonstrations r necessary

Phcn just dey do people strong tin with der crazy bills all the tyme

Husband from hell abuses his wife in public

Mother Teaching Her Daughter a Hard Lesson For Sleeping With a Neighbor

Guy Caught his Girlfriend cheating with another Man in Lagos

Hmmm anoda reason Goodluck Jonathan will not be voted for...God help my country

biko, protest well oo, doz pple are torturing us. no lite, outrageous bills. nonesense

pamscrib.blogspot.com

Its not just an Ikeja problem but a national problem. God help us.

Crazy bills everywhere yet no power supply! All them politicians don't really care bout us....all they care bout is their pockets

You ain't seen nothing guys. Come to Abuja and see where a two bedroom house is billed 21k every month. Not in Asokoro, not in Maitama but Gwarimpa and Apo. Prepaid meter of 25k just last month is now selling for 39k. The common man is being choked to asphyxiation point all on the platform of Fresh Air.

I don't blame them o
The bills phcn bring this days are crazy

Supported!!! I can count how often they restore light at month end. PHCN is the worst so far.

This is crazy i swear, even down here no light and still yet they bring crazy bills to us.....

No be Joke..

well,i dont know what they mean by crazy bills..i live and work in ikeja..ikeja light is so good.in some places we enjoy up to 18hrs,i sleep with light every night.are we not the same people that said give us light as long as it is available we will pay?

Dis D kinda protest d Govt shld do sometin bout. Hw can u pay ur Nepa bills nd still no electricity.

good

Very Good! Nepa or Phcn or distribution company watever dey are called is very useless! Stupid lots, we hardly have 48 hours of electricity in a week, and dey keep bringing high billls, its not fair! Dis hardship is toooo much! Something has got to be done! Anon from Ogba!

Even thepre paid meter now is crazy......fixed charge dat use to be 750 is 1500 now monthly......aside the card U wanna buy oooo.......Anyway........Jonathan is working...Naija go beta

Haaaaaaaa am in support of ds protest oooo, no electricity nd yet we still pay 4 electricity bills. Haba na wa oooo.

PHCN has turn to somethg else in Nigeria, we no longer see light. Infact is everywhere in Nigeria nt only lag

About time we deal with phcn!!!

PHCN better reduce d bills, it's always too outrageous...

SMURF said...

They shld give them prepaid meters oh

Ada lolo said...

They should threaten them with sack letters and they will respect themselves. All PHCN workers are thieves.

Its about time Nigerians fight for what they pay for

Phcn no be am at all...

This is not only in Lagos. In Abuja, the PHCN officials confessed they have a quota they must meet on billing.

Please the N750 they collect monthly from both pre-paid and non prepaid meter owners, where is it going to? I do not know of anyone who has ever had their meter maintained, yet they collect this fee from millions of customers.

♏v̶̲̥̅ dear 5 hrs is 2 much in satellite is 30mins so bad

Believer In Christ said...

looool. . .PHCN is Fashola's fault? No wonder you are following Jonathan. hahahahahaha. Kai. Sorry for Nigeria (In Femi Kuti's Voice)

@ Elgiver James, what concerns Fashola and Ikeja Disco. Is it owned by the lagos state.

Dude, you need to do some reading

This shud be a national protest.
PHCN is something else. The bills are now 5times higher

Shows how dumb u are

The problem Nigeria is having is dat dumba** like u will be voting.

Is this a state matter or national one

What planet are u operating from. Since when did GEJ privatise PHCN. So u think this is state matter. Better get educated.

Bros we all know NEPA is worse than before nowadays but at least dey reduce the lie na haba, 10-15k ke?

Inactive org

Gbenga said...

You don't have any moral right to tell them what to do because you are in support of this administration that is the very cause of the pains they are going through.

Can electricity in naija be any better than what we are already used to??? Except by God's divine intervention. Linda take note!

Good talk my bro

Rubylicious said...

A million likes for this comment of yours.

was hoping to read some fools blame GEJ

Gbenga said...

Moron! Just because you're having it don't mean others have it so good. And you're talking about payment as long as light is available but you fail to realise that light is hardly available, yet people pay for it at cut throat prices.

@martin u deserve a hug for this comment #no homo

Eko Distribution are also THIEVES!!! They are billing people for past residents Power usage, does that make sense? NO MORE EXTORTION! NO PRE-PAID METER, NO PAYMENT!

Franklyn said...

Elgiver James
you be complete mumu..
electricity is controlled by Federal govt and not state government, its GEJ problem and not Fashola

This light issue has gone from bad to worse...you dnt get to see much of the light bt u pay exorbitant bills...samayo via bb10

PHCN is just crazy....no lite but dey wont fail to bring bills to ur doorstep

dontJme said...

Bros.. its true. It is extremely annoying!!! Please we need a campaign like the that of the bringbackourgirls. To really have an impact!

It is not a lie, sometimes we receive more than that for a flat. We've actually received 25k for a month before and the most annoying thing is that once you receive such bills they'll do nothing to change it. Getting a prepaid meter isn't cheap either, you pay so much to get one and it takes so much time to get to you. This country is a huge joke.

Its not a lie, I got an almost 13k bill 4 last month n there was hardly light. Its abt time d issue iz addressed. I've gone 2 their office in ogba, okeira 2b precise n told dem am not paying

God bless you Martin! @Royal Priesthood, can u just cover Ur face in shame already? March4Change.

Jade said...

Jonathan has failed us! All these entertainers running around in the name of campaign should wake up and smell d coffee

Ogun go kill all Nepa officials and NERC, can u imagine the whole of ajah has not had light for one month and no one is doin anything.God punish dem all

It's true o my friend d other day got a bill of 19,500 just for a month and a mini flat for dat matter she paid just 5k and wrote to d MD, they didn't stop at dat they still gave her 10+ for last month again, dust crazy bill is every where.

You must be a fool to think it's a lie.

ahh burn down building ke..they should not o, change is coming

lami said...

Can't you people do without the insults?

This private sectors are taking advantage, I support them

Festac pple una see? Una go dey do nonsense big man turn up for ikeja. That bill is mad

I thought this was only happening to us. I moved to a new flat where they started the bill with 6k per flat in the block of 6 flats, we paid the first month, the second month was 8k we paid after much protest,we wrote lenty of letter contesting the bill and protesting the none delivery of out paid meter for over yr.They now jumped to 19k, and then 26k the subsequent months. We have since ignored them by paying only 6k month wwile letting there other bills pile.
One of the empty flats keeps getting the same bill and one of the tenants who opt to use his generator instead since October 2014 still gets the same. Today the total out standing for all fats stand at about 500k.
we have only live here for 11months.

Elgiver James must be very ignorant or plain stupid for that fashola comment. Is it the state govt or the federal govt that is responsible for providing Power (electricity). Get your facts right before making such silly comments...

Geeday Dina said...

Tell him and let him hear. Is all PDP, dey privatised it and is now worse. Everywhere, in Ajah is so bad and terrible. We need a change and PDP is not the answer, I keep preaching to ppls. look @ this now.

Abuja sef

The government should look into this, the masses must be heard

Its d same story at yaba as well. Precisely araromi street onike. The was crazy n der was no lite at all. D bill for feb was ova 30k n d tariffs has also increased. Oga jona ova to u ooooo. Dis ur tenure is somtin else. Haba.

I support this 100%, PHCN wan kill person with crazy bill

#smh - GEJ didn't improve our power situation in lieu he has worsened it.

#GEJ shouldn't be afraid as Buhari has promised that after swearing in he will concentrate on the future of Nigeria and not go back to those who have constantly looted the Treasury of this country in the past decade. However Mama War should be careful as International Criminal Court in the Hague hasn't promised anything apart from the fact that those who incite violence shall be prosecuted. Stone, poison etc.

SAI Buhari