More details on Lekki robbery: how policemen, father of 7 were killed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 15 March 2015

More details on Lekki robbery: how policemen, father of 7 were killed

12 (or more) men dressed in military fatigue wielding AK47 automatic rifles brought terror to Lekki Phase 1 on Thursday March 12th. They robbed 1 (or 2) banks on Admiralty way and killed 6 (or 7) people. No person in the bank (s) were killed because they cooperated with the robbers. The robbers made away with money in the vaults and even broke the ATM and took all the money there. 

From Sunday Sun

The fulfillment of the assurance given by police authorities to arrest the perpetra­tors of the robbery incident that cut short the lives of three policemen and three others in Lekki area of Lagos last Thursday, though may serve as a form of succour to many Nigerians, the bereaved families, particularly that of Inspector Bethel, indigene of Kwale in Delta State and father of seven, will certain­ly need more to survive the tragedy that hit them.

Two other policemen identified as Sergeant George, an Urhobo also from Delta State and Corporal Ikechukwu, a Benin man from Edo State.

Six persons including three mo­bile policemen were killed and sev­eral others seriously injured during the incident which happened on Lekki-Ikoyi Link bridge when the rampaging armed robbers attacked a new generation bank.

Security sources told Sunday Sun that the three policemen were on the escort of some expatriates from Victoria Island to the international airport in Ikeja when they ran into the bandits who had stormed the bank for robbery operation.

Sunday Sun reliably gathered that the escort team decided to fol­low the Lekki-Ikoyi link bridge because of the usual heavy traffic on Ozumba Mbadiwe way with the lead driver who carried the for­eigners on a Coaster bus leading the way.

The team, it was learnt, ran into two robbers who were in army camouflage uniform. They were brandishing a submachine gun, which a source said uses ten mag­azines and an AK47 rifle which uses double magazines.

The driver who had no inkling of the danger lurking around was said to have continued with the journey without taking any precautions. “When the entourage got to the second army check point, which was around the FCMB bank being robbed at the time, there were many men in camouflage on standby as if waiting for someone.

“They allowed the Coaster bus to pass but immediately opened fire on the right side of the Hilux Van conveying the police inspec­tor, a Sergeant and a Corporal. The Police inspector who was the lead­er of the escort and the corporal who sat directly behind him were hit by bullets and died instantly.
“Then the first two men in cam­ouflage left behind began to shoot at the Hilux Van. The driver who is a civilian stopped the vehicle, switched off the engine, got down of the truck, raised his hands and ran for his dear life. The Sergeant on the other hand realizing he had been over powered, got down from the truck without his am­munition with his hands raised in the air and attempted to run away from the vehicle. But the rob­bers opened rapid fire on him till they were sure he was dead,” the source revealed.

Sunday Sun further learnt that the Coaster bus driver who saw another check point ahead of him was quick to realize that the area was too hostile and decided to slow down.

“One of the robbers fired at the bus but at that point, two things happened simultaneously. The driv­er of the Coaster bus stopped while a girl selling smoked fish who was running for her life was hit by a bul­let in her forehead which came out through the back and damaged the right side of her head. She fell down in front of the Coaster bus and died instantly. Another civilian was hit by a stray bullet.
Meanwhile, the robbery inside the bank was said they have been carried out quickly without any re­sistance. “People didn’t know of it because they felt the men in army camouflage were there to secure the area
Inside the bank after the robbery incident...

92 comments:

My goodness, this is terrible.

RIP to the dead. May God forgive those robbers.

Heartbreaking! Lindabserve

Tee said...

WHAT MAKES Y'ALL THINK THESE THREATS ARE NOT FROM BISI HIMSELF? HUH? HE CREATES FAKE TWIITER ACCOUNTS AND TWIT OUT RUBBISH TO GET ATENTION. AND SOME OF Y'ALL STUPID ASS FEEL SORRY FOR HIM. #GAY

9jahub.com said...

it is well

9jahub.com

Tragic! May their souls rest in peace Amen!

Mehn!!!
This robber really mean business
They were really prepared

chloe said...

God's grace is all we need..may d souls of d dead rest in d bosom of our Lord!

The camouflage helped d sucess of dis operation immensely, they would have still being successful without d camouflage anyway, just sad bout d lives lost...collect wetin u want but don't kill,is it too difficult?! Nawa

OMG!!!Sad news!RIP to them

The kind of ordeal we go through in this country is very alarming.These armed bandits and BH have ridiculed the security architecture of this country and made khaki uniforms a mere rag.I'm sure they operated successfully without any 911 intervention.A uniform that once used to command so much respect from even the devil.i pray for my country everyday.It shall be well someday

CHERRY said...

Too bad, may their souls RIP!

Insiders must have been involved!

Jesus......na wa o. Its like a scene from a Hollywood movie. RIP to the dead.

This is very sad n frustrating.

Geeeeeeeez God pls guide my steps... Help the bereaved

This is bad. RIP to d dead

My Gosh. Dis is brutal.

What is life? Lindaobserve

ARE YOU GOOD BIN BED? AND YOU NEED A RICH SUGAR MUMMY WHO CAN AWESOMELY PAY FOR YOUR SERVICE CONTACT ADMIN MISS FAITH 08137414988 AND GET CONNECTED

Come, are u alryt?

Really not fair, only God can have mercy on us

ARE YOU GOOD BIN BED? AND YOU NEED A RICH SUGAR MUMMY WHO CAN AWESOMELY PAY FOR YOUR SERVICE CONTACT ADMIN MISS FAITH 08137414988 AND GET CONNECTED

Shut up your pussy please

kidykuz said...

It's so obvious dat nigeria need a change

EVA said...

Lord!

This is a terrible experience.. May the souls of the dead rest in peace. Wonder were dey got the uniforms from....

I tell u

This was a well crafted armed robbery with all intent to kill anyone who got in their way.

goodluck is not running the country at all. with boko haram threat, security must be top priority

mozoella said...

this is so unfair, security is whack in Nigeria

iyke cindy said...

May those armed robbers neva knw peace.... Jesus!!! M scared lookin at d pics,RIP to d innocent souls.

Eagle Eyes Media said...

The picture of the dead body of that orphan-hawker-girl still haunt me till today. Full of sympathy for her. She was cut short of her beautiful dreams, her birthdays, her aspirations, her engagement party, wedding and all the beautiful things that lay ahead of her. God rest her soul. May heaven be nicer for her. I love you dear girl. #tears.

Where were the Lagos state security trust fund helicopters

God will help our country! So sad

Hey, wat re u talking abt here??? U sure u ok?

RIP ,the dead.

So sad. R.I.P to the dead. How i wish robbers will just rob without killing anyone!

Very bad..the robbers really planed dis operation well...

cy said...

It is well ooooo. Mmmm

may God give d families of d beraved d heart to bear the loss.

This was planned robbery someone knew info won't be surprised if it was d president cos he doesn't ve d money anymore for election

Dis like wat we see in foreign movies. RIP to those who lost der lives

@AbokiDaWarriBoy, u took those words rite out of my mouth. D robbery was well planned and organize. D police stood no chance to stand against them bcos of d sophiscated weapons.

RIP to those dat lost their lives and I pray God grant their families d hearts to bear their loss.

When you end the life of a father of 7, how do you expect forgiveness

I guess those robers are uniform men for real,
Cause with d way d operation went, I dnt tink civilians can go that far

God will punish the robbers, and they will roast in eternal hell.

How would the cops be able to secure lives when they are either guarding VIPS or fighting each other over Alonmo bitters? This is why we want a country that works We want CHANGE!

Chai, y is it dat anytym jona is in a state is wen robbers attack? Jonathan ws in ondo state wen dey robbed der n same tin wt Lagos now, o ga o. RIP 2 d dead

davidalonge said...

Dis one na seriou matter

No death is worst like an unexpected one. May God help us.

God alone knows the end from the beginning.. He has taken control.

No, God cannot forgive them. They've done a lot damage to a lot of lives and property.

Dese ppl will be caught, I'm convinced

Really tragic! May God keep having mercy on us all

Which means the occupants of the Coaster bus escaped just by divine grace if their escorts got wiped out just like that!
So, what were the soldiers at the checkpoint near the FCMB doing if such robbery happened so close by and they couldn't raise instant reinforcement?
Where did the robbers' speedboat end up?
Lagos with is it 19-20 million population is too unwieldy security wise.
All residents are in God's hands.

The way this news is being reported is an insult to the families of the victims. So no government official Can come forward and give accurate details of what happened? We have to rely on bbm messages and gossip blogs for information? Too sad.

Oh my God!!!! Robbery is gone to the next level in Nigeria!!! Father protect your people and may our dead ones find peace. IJMN

Amy said...

Is it that the bank does not have bulletproof doors? By 4.30pm banks have closed abi are they the ones that close by 5pm? It's a pity sha. Come to think of it, all these police escorts, don't understnd their work oh. Ma ordinary citizens den sabi wax power for road. Escorting expatriates who could even have been the targets. The robbers for don succeed if they were their intended targets. Maybe there wouldn't have been this number of casualties if only the policemen didn't happen to be there at that time. TheCP should announce a reward for whoever will give them any info about this robbery. That might help them to catch these hoodlums.

rip

All I care to know is how much was stolen! I knoW tomorrow the bank manager of that branch would seize the opportunity and be few million richer, RIP to the deceased, may GOD touch there heart so they know they already astray and Turn to GOD, this is what happens when the government fails to do what they supposed to do, we now live in a world where our government recognizes touts than PHD, Masters and BSC holders, cyber crime, robbery, rape, lies, all these R now seen as the right thing to do! We need GOD people, I'm not perfect either all you shouting GMB|GEJ, ask your self when GMB was Nigerian head did your father tell you any good abt his regime and you can also tell about GEJ regime By the devaluation of Naira and a whole other BS, reasons why people want to serve the nation has now been driven from sincerity, justice and good deeds to embezzling public funds and not caring about the masses leaving them to suffer and live a retched life, destroying even the future of the unborn once, my people once again the change we need is us the courage to stand up to any government official by our selves and not wait for anyone to do it for us, don't point fingers, get up and do something your self, tinubu, fashola, Buhari, good luck Jonathan, mama peace, Obasanjo, Doyin okupe, etc R all birds of same feather

BTW

I'm

G!Money

amyi11 said...

Very sad. May their souls rest in peace....

Christian Umunna said...

God help us.may their souls rest in peace

Lind I know u didn't write this but write up on how that innocent girl selling fish died is too descriptive. Bear in mind her family or friends might be LIB readers. Imagine reading about the death of ur loved one like that. RIP to the victims

Chikata Chidinma said...

Lord have mercy.RIP TO THE DEAD.

nife said...

May the deceased RiP. This is so terrible

Clean Toto Eater, your messages project you as a jobless tout.

Shut up if you have nothing to say

Oga Coca kolo abeg this na different post lol,u correct tho buh try not to get too dosed to mistake again...And Linda no Edo man be Ikechukwu,shebi na Delta men be all of them *crying* our brothers...War against Yoruba don start. Lol...pity tho,to an extent The presidents visit was a major distraction.

It is well! Rip to d dead

He is the one that sent them. Mtcheeeww, idiotic Fat Fool. Everything na jonathan. You don't know how to fuck, na jonathan, you are to fat and lazy, na jonathan cause am. Beast.

EWU

sodablog said...

God have mercy

Rip 2 d bereaved

Some of those Bandits will be commenting on this blog now...U guys will never go unpunish

~Vavavoom Marker~

Saddest part is that the perpetrators of this heinous crimes will never be brought to justice as the Nigeria Police Force will never catch them.

#smh I'm Ibo but will vote Buhari and I can't wait to hear how 2 (SS and SE) will be greater than 4. After all 17 was greater than this 19.

face kobo said...

Evidence the toll gates are traps. The robbers did their home work, to have standbys on entry and exit points. Government should immediately remove the toll gates.

Why this robbery at this time. Me thinks some political party running low on campaign money may have set this up.

Sad something RIP to the dead May the good continue to protect us and our loved ones IJn

omotara said...

Bank closes by 4pm to its customers.. the staffs works till late night

I am pretty sure these fucking dudes aint lagosians.. I read an article on here a few weeks back about an incident similar to this in Ondo or akure where innocent kids where killed during bank robbery operations.. This is just too similar and i belief same gangs would have perpetrated same act.. they obviously would have come through the water to ondo .. They are either the popular Niger/Delta Militants with same sophisticated weapons and now they are broke and hungry. They have to use those weapons to rob and make money but why kill? WHY? Very Sad.. May their Gentle soul rest in perfect peace .. Akin

ebonydoc said...

No, God MUST forgive dem if only dey come before him with contrite hearts, asking genuinely for his mercy and completely turning away from deir evil ways! Remember, Jesus came for d gentiles, not the saints. God is too true to his word, and since he has promised us forgiveness if we ask for it and repent, then he'd do just dat!
I pray d thieves Wld repent so as not to lose deir souls to d devil.
God console d loved ones of d dead. RIP to all that lost deir lives

Akin I agreed with u those guys are not just ordinary people but militant. Well some people said that an insider must have given them info which is very possible but one thing I knw is that God will surely expose them. Because of the innocent souls they have sent to early grave

Wat a pity.. d poor fish seller , RIP.. Bt as 4 d police men dey got was dey deserve cos dey re all thieves too bt jst clothed in a blue nd black cloth.. how I wish all d police in d world wuld b put in 1 hall nd killed wit bullets in their heads cos dey re more dan robbers dem selfs, if my dad was a policeman I wuld hav killed him myself.

This is really sad. May the perpetrators of this evil never go unpunished

Team G.POINT said...

RIP to the life's that were lost and God grant the innocent Girl soul internal Resting place in heaven, Amen @iamgpoint

Team G.POINT said...

RIP to the life's that were lost and God grant the innocent Girl soul internal Resting place in heaven, Amen @iamgpoint

Ebonydoc! I recommend dat GO
D shldn't forgive those touts their souls will see their souls will see the hottest and gruesome part of hell!!!

Efiree said...

It is the end of time, where money is worth more than a lifetime. Visit and