Federal Government reduces electricity tariff by over 50% | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 March 2015

Federal Government reduces electricity tariff by over 50%

The Federal Government has announced the reduction in electricity tariff by half. Chairman of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission, Sam Amadi, who made the announcement in Abuja today March 17th, said after a review of the tariffs being paid by Nigerians, the commission agreed to slash it by half. The reduction takes effect from the end of March.

He said the commission agreed to remove the Multi-year tariff order, MYTO 2.1 following multiple petitions and complains from Nigerians especially members of the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria who said inclusion of the MYTO 2.1 caused them to spend more on their businesses and in some cases loss of jobs.

“The Commission also invited the Chief executive Officers of the distribution companies to the hearing to respond to the case of the consumer groups. Furthermore, the Commission reviewed the technical and financial assumption of MYTO 2.1. The review shows that the major underlying cause of the skyrocketing increase in the tariff is the huge Aggregate Technical, Commercial and Collection (ATC&C) losses, which are passed through to consumers. In some DISCOs ATC&C losses increased tariff by as much as 80-103%. “…

It is the responsibility of the DISCOs to collect their revenue from their customers. Failure to do so should not be a penalty to customers who pay their bills. It is clear that removing the collection losses will lead to lower tariffs for consumers. The removal of collection losses from customer tariff has reduced tariff by more than 50 percent in some places. Please note that the reduction does not affect the CBN facility and its repayment.

“Therefore, On Monday, March 9, 2015 the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) issued a new order to the effect that henceforth collection loss, which is defined as the ‘amount billed but not collected’, will not be automatically passed on to consumers of electricity. Consequently, the collection loss for all DISCOs is set at zero. It is now the responsibility of DISCOs to convince the regulator of any exceptional circumstances for such loss to be passed to the consumers,” Amadi said in a statement.

179 comments:

Election is coming.. stupid president.. Nigerians are wise now

Rubylicious said...

Nice move, hope it is implemented across board ASAP.

Rubylicious said...

Nice move, hope it is implemented across board ASAP.

Hope it remains like dat o

Michael Techme Monwuba said...

just like they have reduced light as well!!!

IF I HEAR.. I'VE NOT HAD LIGHT BACK TO BACK IN 2 WEEKS..
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Election things! We're no longer gullible. #NigeriansdecidesMarch28

Jenny said...

Ehen....all in d name of forth coming election

Hehehehe the magical 6weeks.
Wish everyday in our nation will be like this added 6weeks to election.

DS WIL BE GRT...TOMJERRYSWIT

Wow! Election is doing wonders.

On paper and the internet okwia? No news is news until physical implimentation. Rubbish GOVT & dead NEPA

Good one

All na for election purpose

This is laughable!

No be pesin wey get light dey pay reduced bill? Mtschewwww!

Damilola said...

All this for election? Am watching them in 3D

Wow wow...jump jump jump...dividends of election campaign

Am back again

Jokers! And is it a coincidence that the review just came to fruition this month?

We need steady light here Pls ooooo

GEJ all d way

So is this an agenda to buy votes? It would be a better idea to slash it now but then it would have been a wrong time to do so because it will become clear it is due to the election. The question now is why wasn't this action taken ever since Nigerians having been crying out for lack of electricity yet high tariff being paid? Why end of March? So that they will vote for you, Mr. President? It is a shame.

You cannot buy our votes like this

We want light, give us light

We want good roads, give us good roads

Hmmmmmmm, goodnews but how really good it is we get to knw when we see it in effect of implementing it. Thumbs up to them and I hope there wil b compliance to dis.

My worry is at what cost?As it is we hardly get any supplies from the electricity companies.Are these cuts sustainable and would it go back to business as usual after the elections like the hike in fuel after the 2011 elections.

These actions portrays desperation and dubiousness.why? What else is Mr. president and the team ready to negotiate with in order to stay in power?what's your fear sir?I'm still undecided as to my vote but the daily actions of the present government is quite worrisome.

God help us

It us becoming more obvious by the day that this government has been a failure

It is not about age, it is about who can be effective

Berry said...

Anything life Tarrif before? Now it's time for elections they're doing all this.

We need true leaders

Propanganda...buhari will do better.lindaobserve

AppleofGod'seye said...

Mtchewww..all for d elections!just like dey reduced d kero,pms n dey re still selling for deir higher price.make we hear word abeg.no discipline@ll

No comment only a fool will believed this nonsense

Africa we need change!

Nigerians say no to corruption

Jojo said...

Good one Mr president.......... more of this pls, hope no more increment o?

Bravo reduced by 50% less than 2 weeks to elections, get ready for a 100% increase once GEJ gets re-elected!

This is a welcome development. PHCN has been milking Nigerians dry all in the name of electricity tariffs. So with the tariff reduction, how much would a unit cost henceforth?

Our liberation is here and it is spelt CHANGE

A wave of change is here

The government now listens

How long will this last?

Awesome! hope after election they wont take it back? just saying though

Okay!

Story for d gods. Medicine after death

Is this the advice Professor Jega came up with to help GEJ

Looolz, is dis a kind of joke or wat? So we shd carry drums n start dancing rnd d street? Tariff dat is reduced by 50% now wl increase by 100% after d election.

Twodays nw we never get light and even though we get light e no go last for two hours.... Fuck nepa abeg.....

I can bet this will only last a short while, seems more like a trap, the desperation of GEJ these days is more alarming

Or maybe not

GEJ is doing it. Vote wisely

Thank God o

Abeni said...

Good if they. Will not change it again

Good leadership requires less stress in campaigning for elections if the system has been working but when it's a failure the clamour for votes by all means both evil and good, it's like a wolf in sheep's clothing

good improvement... but i trust APCriminalsBlindSupporters like bonario and that stupid troll would say it's election strategy... good one my President, long live GEJ, long live Nigeria.. GEJtill2019

"Yawns" na now their day dey break. If these guys have been taken these steps ever since they came into power, the land would have been greener. But election matter don make dem dey do like people wey their brains been don go on a business trip only to return few weeks to election. Still on Still, March4buhari

Very well done

1. The chibok Girls
2. NNPC Scam
3. Police pension fund
4. Missing 20 Billion
5. $9 million Arms deal
6. Bomb Blasts
7. Immigration job scam
8. Petroleum pump price
9. Devaluation of Naira
10. Oil theft
11. Power outage
12. Selling of Nepa
13. Selling of Refineries
14. Skyrocketed Nepa Bills
15. Asuu & poly Strike
16. Doctors Strike
17. National Assembly tragedy
19 Aso rock Feeding Funds
20. Kerosene subsidy

21. $3million F. Lawan bribery scadal
22. $6.8 billion petrol subsidy scam
23. N60 billion police pension scam
24. Oduah N225 million car scandal,
25. N10 billion Allison jet scandal
26. N10 billion laundered by Lamidos
27. Missing $20 billion from Fed acct
28. Haliru Mohamed £1million bribe
29. $1.1 billion Malabu bribe scandal
30. $180 million Halliburton scandal
31. $32billion ill-equipping defence.
32. $713 billion port authority fraud
33. Immigration death scandal
34. Bart Nnaji NEPA scandal
35. Dame dollar laundering scandal

Who dem dey fool? Because of election,shuooo!
Shygal.

Dat is not d koko, it should be implemented and also make them release prepaid meter. Linda take note!

Good! After this, when are we going to start having constant power?!

Africa change! Nigeria change! Citizens change! Do not sell your votes, a journey of five days is different from a journey of four years. Five days of enjoying a bribe of N5000 or N1000 or four years of development, improvement in the quality of life, education, security for both you and your children by saying no to bad government and voting for change, which do you prefer? I say the latter is better than the former, we say no to bad leadership, a government that turns ears away from the cries of its people and only comes around like a wolf in sheep's clothing when the end is near for it is not a good government and possesses bad leadership form top to bottom

This is a greek gift. It hold no water as Nigerians are not fools.Even if you make it free of charge, it will affect our resolve for change.

Lolz election shud be every year oooo

GEJ is no longer thinking straight, he is in the pathway to recking this country permanently like a tenant about to be evicted.

we are paying high now and getting no light , what is the assurance that reducing tariff will ever make us see light again?

This is a greek gift. It holds no water as Nigerians are not fools.Even if you make it free of charge, it will not affect our resolve for change.

Jonathan needs to stop this all at all costs!!!! Who is he fooling naa?!
Whoever is advising him is not doing the right thing at all. Why is he reducing the tariff just few days to election. Do Nigerians look stupid to him or what?
Dear Ebele, all this you are doing will not work o. it will not work at all. It is too late to do all this. Nigerians are going to vote you out. This is nothing but desperation. It shows how scared you are cos u know u are shady, corrupt and stupid. Anyway, just get ready to go back to otueke abeg. no need to waste more time writing...

Amaechi (Oriental Nigga) said...

GEJ till I'm ready to contest

Why is this coming few days to election. Can you also inrease power generation in 10 days to election? GEJ tactics are too childish and can not appeal to intelligent nigerians. CHANGE IS INEVITABLE.

Naija my country, some folks who have light 24-7 because they have diesel generators and can afford it cannot know what it is to stay a month or two without light and turning your generator for a few hours a day for a month or two because they leave in glass houses and people in glass houses don't throw stones and when they do, the house comes crumbling down. GEJ and his government have decided to throw stones and the consequences are about to be displayed if they are not already in display.

Vote for change

Vote change

Secure your tomorrow

It is becoming clear that this government is a failure

The most important thing is the availability of Power and not reduction in tarriff.

Wow nice I will nt by pass my light again

joycares said...

This Nepa reduction of tariff by govt is because our Presido wants our vote, na sit down look I de.

Wow, this is good news. Nice job.

One day one day my people e go better, if GEJ nor wan do am, God go do am, remember Moses and the Isrealites, and how they were freed from slavery under Pharoah?

How can we be slaves in our own land?

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

Reduction or no reduction which I no is fake 4 elections, ve bein in darkness for 6 month, at first we ration one day on one day off, now I don't even have at all. #abuja #lugbe #airport rd

Its not saying they have reduced tarriff, they should ensure that these power offices adhere to it. That was how madam Allison said fuel is 85naira but i still buy fuel for 105naira per litre.

All these "on paper" policies jona will just be using to deceive people. Our light bill still be 13k naira for area wey we dey see light only 3 times a week. And our house na 3 bedroom flat with only one ac. We no dey use electric cooker o. God punish all of una.

Nice move...

Osuagwu Friday Niles said...

bravo

For wat part of the state cos kerosine price is very high in Benin when they said its 85naira so maybe all dis changes happen in this new or two state in Nigeria Lagos and abuja

OKAY GOOD NEWS.

Jonathan. All in this 6weeks.what a poor way to campaign. Tot u were wiser than this.GMB2019

Well done federal govt pls keep it up.

Another Greek gift.Keep it sir.We have gotten used to our generators.Now we know that when a more honest & people oriented leadership comes in,we must not suffer as Nigerians.We will vote CHANGE.

This man is damn funny. So he just know of the sky high NEPA bills? Isn't this obvious enough that this man will do just anything right simply cos of election?

Jonathan can only perform if everyday is election. Sadly, it's not. So if elected again, he forgets his work, claim he acts patiently and begin to rush things for the next election.
I'm not stupid to be fooled that way.

It reminds me of the tactics NEPA uses: there'd be no light throughout the month and they'd blame it on transformer, low gas and such, but when it's time to share bills and expect ur payment, (tadaaa) light becomes stable. Magic!
Sadly the cycle starts again after bills are payed.

This man is damn funny. So he just know of the sky high NEPA bills? Isn't this obvious enough that this man will do just anything right simply cos of election?

Jonathan can only perform if everyday is election. Sadly, it's not. So if elected again, he forgets his work, claim he acts patiently and begin to rush things for the next election.

It reminds me of the tactics NEPA uses: there'd be no light throughout the month and they'd blame it on transformer, low gas and such, but when it's time to share bills and expect ur payment, (tadaaa) light becomes stable. Magic!

Hope it will be implemented, all the same its a good one.

Let's watch and see....

March 28 is close
And they're reducing light bills
Why didn't they do it since
This won't make me vote GEJ

In a very short period of time just before elections, fuel price slashed by N10.00, Boko Haram finally gets worthy opposition, one year after, families of victims that lost their lives trying to get Government jobs now enjoying benefits from Government and now PHCN tariff brought down 50%. If things had been working this good, they won't be trying so hard to make things right so desperately. Nigerians won't even give ears to any opposition. Were the promoters of these lovely ideas not in Government before now? Why would they expect Nigerians not ask questions about how it's suddenly possible to achieve all of this? How else can this be explained without mentioning the word - desperation. God save this country.

50% Tariff for no light! give us constant light

Etsako Pearl said...

All b'cuz of election? oga jonah no go kill me wit laff sha...Btw, no be person wey dey see lite use dem dey slash tariff for?? mtcheew!

7F098C19 said...

Great move. GEJ till 2019. Engr Emy

Why?? Is there light in your area Linda?

Election gimmick!

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Good but they should monitor it not only to give order coz wit good monitoring it may not work.

5thMarch said...

Welldone GEJ!!!
Carry ON!

nihin said...

Stupid people. Where is the light sef. Mscheeeeew

Hope Phcn won't reduce power supply becos of this

Please oooo, I don't seem to understand. All of a sudden, tariffs and cost of government regulated goods are suddenly dropping in price. I smell desperation!!!

And after elections ........

Good one frm federal Govt

Rubbish! What difference will it make, they are still selling kerosine to us at #130 and they are telling us it is #50.

After election nko??

Gud news

What do they take us for, Retards?
Let me advise everybody to upgrade his/her mental reasoning to be able to decipher the true intents behind SHITZ like this fuckery i just trolled.
FUCK!!!!!!!! Somebody's shitting on our collective INTELLIGENCE. Nigerians got to open their eyes wide to be able to look into this deceit. There are other Political parties in the Polity aside PDP and APC.

IT's not enough to announce, see to it that it is implemented...

Goaldyn Boy said...

We have a president who listens! He has tackled fuel scarcity! The exchange rate has now dropped to N193 to a dollar! But apc and their brainwashed supporters will try to hide these new developments!

Like I said before, Jonathan is like Moses whom the Lord used to deliver the children of Israel from enslavement in Egypt! At a point in their journey through the wilderness, they began complaining and blaming Moses for leading them out of Egypt! They started contemplating going back to enslavement in Egypt! This is exactly what we are seeing today! Some Nigerians had blinded themselves to the extent of not wanting to see the progress this country has made under Jonathan, even when these development is starring them on the face! They prefer to go back to enslavement! They prefer to go back to 1983 just because their brother will become vice president or because they are still nurturing the illusion of Born to Rule'!!!

Holuphorlahan said...

Fellow Nigerians, don't be fooled, these prices are going back up after elections..

Good to know.

Thk God... Some will now say election strategy buh na Dem dey complain say d bill too much

Pure Electioneering, SMH

Election things. I wonder who this people think they are fooling. After the election it will be reversed back.

Ah! Dat means no mor light for d next 1yr, we pay heavy nepa bills, we don't see light, wondering how is goin to b like now dat dey hav slashed it wit 50%. All d. Same GEJ is workin hard bcos of election

No way!! please confirm to us when you notice the reduction, this is just a stunt

It is risky to re-elect this type of government.Why now ? Nigerians be wise !!!

Story for d gods

Noooo. They should just leave it like that cos na once a yr light go dey come. Thats what they did with fuel, they reduced the price and now there's no more fuel. Anyway sha, jonathan is going. Sai buhari...

Good one!

AGB said...

Freaking politics.

#BuhariOsinbajo2015

God Bless Nigeria. Amen.

ColdFlame said...

Politics in Nigeria Is indeed an insane line of business or how do you slash (by a whopping 50%) the price of something that hardly exists, where is the electricity and what do these unconscionable people hope to gain by this sort of grand deceit??

Nice one! We Hope it is implemented... Not all this paper-TV talk Biko

Waw! Nice strategy

They'll reduce it, just to triple it later. It's nothing new.

sisi said...

Give us electricity

Reina said...

We don't mind paying 100% if electricity is constant.

La said...

Are you mad. Which exchange rate dropped. As at today it is 229 to a dollar. Shut up pls. Your generation is brainwashed if you fail to see the rot in this country. No be only Moses, na Judas. Retard.

All these miracles all because of election! Reduce it by a hundred, if it isn't available, it is still useless!!!

give us constant light, we can afford it, don't bother about reduction.

Darling if you spent more time reading the papers and watching news, than your visits to this blog, you would have known that MAN(manufacturers association of Nigeria) just brought the matter up with the govt. Don't just come here and blab

La scream with no voice. Dollar is 199.5

JONATHAN OLORIBURUKU...GIVE US CONSTANT LIGHT,WE CAN AND WE WILL AFFORD 100% NEPA BILLS.....EYIN OLOSHI GBOGBO YI...JONAH IS SO GOING #SAIBUHARI

1. The chibok Girls
2. NNPC Scam
3. Police pension fund
4. Missing 20 Billion
5. $9 million Arms deal
6. Bomb Blasts
7. Immigration job scam
8. Petroleum pump price
9. Devaluation of Naira
10. Oil theft
11. Power outage
12. Selling of Nepa
13. Selling of Refineries
14. Skyrocketed Nepa Bills
15. Asuu & poly Strike
16. Doctors Strike
17. National Assembly tragedy
19 Aso rock Feeding Funds
20. Kerosene subsidy

21. $3million F. Lawan bribery scadal
22. $6.8 billion petrol subsidy scam
23. N60 billion police pension scam
24. Oduah N225 million car scandal,
25. N10 billion Allison jet scandal
26. N10 billion laundered by Lamidos
27. Missing $20 billion from Fed acct
28. Haliru Mohamed £1million bribe
29. $1.1 billion Malabu bribe scandal
30. $180 million Halliburton scandal
31. $32billion ill-equipping defence.
32. $713 billion port authority fraud
33. Immigration death scandal
34. Bart Nnaji NEPA scandal
35. Dame dollar laundering scandal

Jonathan whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy ??? Do you think we are stupid ?????

Abi? These people really think nigerians are fools...

Great News.Thank GOD for President Jonathan.More grease to your elbow.

He is making effort to make things better but APC supporters can't just appreciate any good thing done by MR President but we don't care
GEJ will be there till 2019

Mercy seat said...

We don win election$$$$ God Win$$$ PDP PDP PDP PDP PDP PDP PDP PDP ... God win !!

So this man could do all of these? Then why didn't he do any since?

#GEJ shouldn't be afraid as Buhari has promised that after swearing in he will concentrate on the future of Nigeria and not go back to those who have constantly looted the Treasury of this country in the past decade. However Mama War should be careful as International Criminal Court in the Hague hasn't promised anything apart from the fact that those who incite violence shall be prosecuted. Stone, poison etc.

SAI Buhari

Why now? Whoever named u David made a very terrible mistake! Dumb Uche,that fits u,did u just call that 'good improvement? so because u make money from swindling and duping people under Gej's administration,pilfered someone's phone and have access to social media,u think u can insult just anybody? Oh my! 11 days to go.....enjoy it while it lasts....Dumb Uche A.k.a Alaba International 419.

Greek gift! I instantly remembered Trojan Women by the ancient Greek playwright -Euripedes,i know the razz,tribalisitic,uncouth and senseless supporters of Gej on this blog will call this a great improvement..... Too late Mr Jonathan, too,too late!

Don't u like hot palm oil? Mtchewwww, No be only GREASE! 18th century anonymous. March4Changr.

20000 likes for this post

They should release the prepaid meter while they are at it. ....
Stewpid pipu.....chiioooooorrr

Miss do good said...

Dollar nko?is still high pls

Very funny by half, how much dey shld b specific. A government that met about 6.62/unit now chargers way over 20naira yet, instead of improving gets worse. Thief people because of election. This government look naija people finish dey call us mumu I tayer. Take effect after elections. Haba.

Can't stop laughing at all d re-election strategies been put in place by bros jonah

ßįļľkụ́mâ said...

For Christ's Sake don't call a man old enough to be your Father stupid. If you can't respect him as the President of Nigeria respect him because he's a human, someone's father and indeed has feelings.

Linda take note, this will not be implemented. sebi na naija we dey wey plenty paper work and deceits work magic. hiss stupid electricity company and our shameless politician

Oh my goodnes, desperation is a bitch. See what desperation turned GEJ to. Na by force to rule? If Nigerians said they don't want you anymore, is it by force to rule them? Had it been you did what you were elected to do, this election will just be like a referendum on your achievements, but you chose otherwise so face the music

Deedee said...

CHAI,FOR ALL DIS TINS BE LIKE SAY MAKE ELECTION BE EVRYDAY OH LOL, SEE AS DEM DEY BRIBE NIGERIANS.

let have the light - stop the deceit

my baby said...

Na true I support

my baby said...

Vote for change my people

Joe prince said...

Na today..!! Lol

Joe prince said...

Na Today..!?? Lol

John said...

All because of election. He wants people to re-elect him/vote for him.

John said...

Truly, this is DESPERATION (on the part of GEJ). He is now doing things hitherto considered impossible.

I just 'love' you Linda. You are giving us undiluted truth and nothing but the truth. Posting the thoughts/minds of people without being edited is so good. It allows us to know the true situation. Please, keep it up.

A Change that won't last but we all should enjoy it while it last though...#ElectionStrategy

First, there's nothing like LUCK! Either you are favoured or coursed. How much was dollars when he become the president. You make 20 wrong moves and make one right one and you expect an applaud? Congratulations!!!

Continue to applaud your president. When you know the right thing to do but ignore it, you are heaping courses for your unborn generation. When they grow, they will start looking for deliverance and breaking generational courses.

Please don't reduce the tariff, so that we can keep having the small one we have been getting. See what happen to fuel. We are buying at N100 per litre.

The Jahidist APC have done worst things in a bid to discredit GEJ. Things that are treasonable: supporting Boko Haram insurgents, advocating violence, advocating for negotiation & amnesty for Boko Haram, castigating Nigerian Army instead of encouraging, carrying false rumors against Nigerian governments, telling lies about our economy to USA and Europe - all capitalist gluttons, inciting  Nigerian youths with false hope and anarchist propaganda. What else did they plan to do, turn 7years girls into human bombers? Yeye de smell.

There is virtually nothing APC have not propagated about GEJ. The only difference  APC and PDP is that apc stories are mainly falsehood while pdp publishes mainly facts. 

APC have been banking on propaganda and falsehood to garner votes from gullible Nigerians to win elections.

When the elections were prosponed the government used the opportunity to teach APC a lesson that rattled their propaganda machine which has been capitalising on the insecurity for campaign.  FG flushed out a number of APC infested soldiers, re-shaped the barracks and is now winning the war against BH. APC are now more disgruntled and confused about using insecurity posed by their foot soldiers to score cheap goals. APC like Obasanjo, even if President Goodluck donates his blood it will not be pleasing to them. 

President Jonathan has shown the ability to lead the country despite the propaganda, insult, castigation, abuse and disrespect both from APC and their confused  followers. 

President Goodluck has all it take to lead Nigeria. Vote Goodluck, Vote for transformation. #Goodluck4President

When APC shout like a helpless coward to draw attention. When you hear them criticize and make noise, it seems heaven will fall the next minute. But they are completely helpless against the might of PDP, save for their wagging mouth and their targeted activities in the north east to discredit GEJ.

The inequalities upon which this country is built to favour some must be redressed by Mr. President. We say no to people who shout Change, but do not want to change the political structure of Nigeria. They are enemies of justice, fairness, equality and progress. They are the real enemies of Nigeria!

GEJ till 2019! 

When APC shout like a helpless coward to draw attention. When you hear them criticize and make noise, it seems heaven will fall the next minute. But they are completely helpless against the might of PDP, save for their wagging mouth and their targeted activities in the north east to discredit GEJ.

The inequalities upon which this country is built to favour some must be redressed by Mr. President. We say no to people who shout Change, but do not want to change the political structure of Nigeria. They are enemies of justice, fairness, equality and progress. They are the real enemies of Nigeria!

GEJ till 2019! 

Compare Electric said...

I discussed the issue online recently and using lots and lots of batteries really is the best solution with today's mature technologies.
compare electricity rates houston