Pics: Lagos State Govt begins demolition of burnt Balogun market | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 February 2015

Pics: Lagos State Govt begins demolition of burnt Balogun market

The Lagos State Government today Friday Feb. 20th began the demolition of the 3 buildings gutted by fire on January 12 at the popular Balogun Market in Central Lagos. Fire gutted the buildings housing about 100 shops and destroyed goods worth millions of naira.

Officials of the company who spoke to NAN on condition of anonymity said that it was the govt that gave directive for the buildings to be demolished.

The head of the demolition team said that the work would take some time to finish. Mrs Uju Agunna, a trader who sold clothes in one of the shops gutted, told NAN that she would rent the same place anytime the shops were rebuilt.
“I will like to go back to my shop. I have been in this Balogun for over 15 years so it is difficult for me to go and rent somewhere else.’’ “We hope that when the demolition exercise is completed the owners can start building. But now I am sharing a shop with my friend as you can see,” Agunna said.
Source: NAN

52 comments:

It is well

Zamani said...

What abt their goods that got burnt. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

Hintealand said...

good work.

...........****PRAY4NIGERIA****..............

Will the shop owners get their shops back? I doubt. The state government should try and make sure that the original owners are not sidelined.

Nice one. Before itfalls on people.

@Sophia Stephen

Hintealand said...

good work.

...........****PRAY4NIGERIA****..............

The fire was a deliberate act by the state govt

I think they want to build something better
That's why they're demolishing

Eya.....it is well

I pray d reconstruction would be quick to enable people to get back to their life. Linda take note!

Hope it gets finished quickly.

Hmmmmmm... I reserve my comment

Nice move

BAD MARKET: Pick Pocket’s Hand Get Stucked in Old Man’s Pocket through Voodoo (SEE IT)

What a Pity!! Hope they get back on their feet again all those immensely affected..
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Lady C said...

Election aside, fashola is still d best governor in d country so far.

This man is not smiling at all.......good job

:::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::

Good to know
http://onlineyouthjob.com/?user=51742

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Good.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

Gud one!

all is well

Hustling things. May God give them back all the lost. It aint easy

Visited the site last week, the devastation I saw was worst than it seemed in pictures and coming in contact with those affected made it even more real! That fire set a lot of people back a million miles.

BLAQ said...

It is well.

There is God

That's good. Safety first!

Good one

All these shops that get burnt I believe government's hands are involved so they could build another 1

WizzyEsq said...

court of law,d last hope of a common man(if ur constitutional right is infringed on)

commenting 4rm d
TEMPLE OF JUSTICE EQUITY N GOOD CONSCIENCE

WizzyEsq said...

court of law,d last hope of a common man(if ur constitutional right is infringed on)

commenting 4rm d

WizzyEsq said...

commenting 4rm d

What more can I say, God knows best. #onelovefromsnow#

Aboutnaija said...

nice post linda...i choose you as my mentor...need your help@aboutnaijablog.blogspot.com

pinky sebastine said...

I dnt think d owners of d land will ever reclaim them...it's now a property of d lagos state gov....criminal!!! #Sighs

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Lagos state is moving. #happysat

Please support me by visiting my blog 24gist.blogspot.Com thanks

Lol... it would b rebuilt and sold out for millions. With joint ownership by Tinubu of Lagos! I hail O! Hope we no go die for this country if una win federal? It is well!

This your theory stinks! Of all the shops in Balogun market, government will burn 3 buildings. To prove what? Stop all these propaganda and hate speeches.

And you can prove this statement?

Shade of TEJUOSHO MARKET. Burn the market deliberately and then sell the rebuilt brand new for millions of NAIRA. THERE IS A FORMAT TO THIS NOW which is a shame. Really smells of foul play.
If the new one is sold for millions then this will be obvious for all to see that it was deliberate.
Lagos STATE govt should help destroy the rumour by selling the new built blocks at the old price, otherwise the APC IS JUST AS BAD AS PDP. We are watching!!!!!!!!!
As these are people's livelihood we're talking about.
And then they say there are armed robbers about. Pls make ammends.!!!!!!!!!

What more can one say really? It is well.

This govt people self.......

Eeya! Feel bad for their loss its well!!!

eyaa they should take hrt shits happens

Is about time, good job

How is this like tejuosho, people? 3 buildings are being demolished, not the entire market! Some minds are filled with too much suspicion!

I hope they compensate them *thamixbreed*

N.C.ISAAC said...

big lost,building witout planing.

did they or would they get any compensation?

So that Fashola can quickly sell it to Tinubu

Well I believe he want to replace or build a better one