Obasanjo is a father to me and I am his first political son - GEJ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 February 2015

Obasanjo is a father to me and I am his first political son - GEJ

President Jonathan says despite former Pres. Obasanjo's recent verbal attacks on his administration, he still sees him as his father and his first Political son. GEJ said God used people, including the former president to make him become the President of Nigeria. President Jonathan said this in an interview with Tribune in Lagos
"First and foremost, Obasanjo is a father to me. By divine providence and the grace of God, I am the President of Nigeria today. It is not by my strength. But God uses human beings to actualise His own blessings on human beings. And He used so many Nigerians, including former President Obasanjo, to play one role or the other for me. I became the deputy governor of a state, became the governor, the vice president and president. I have no issues with him, and I really don’t want to join issues with President Obasanjo. 
I think it is not necessary. But I will use this opportunity, because you asked, to just plead with my father that he is a leader, a former president of the country. He has led the country more than anybody, eight years of democratic governance and almost four years of military governance. No other person has that kind of record. The stability of this country is critical in terms of the economy of this country. Rating agencies downgrade countries that are going into elections because the feeling is that there would be crisis. When you paint the colour of instability for your own nation, you are doing so much injustice to the country because it affects the economy of the country, not just affecting the country in terms of security and social issues alone. It affects the economy directly. So, I plead with very senior citizens that Nigeria is dear to us; we don’t have any other country than Nigeria. So, actions and inactions, or utterances, should be guarded so that we don’t expose our country to the international community as if it is a country in danger, a country that is about to collapse. You are frightening investors, especially those who invest hot cash, to pull out their money from the country and that would affect the stock market and it would affect the economy. For one reason or the other, Obasanjo may disagree with me as his first political son. You can even disagree with your own biological children, as a human being, not to talk of disagreeing with your political children. So, he can agree or disagree with me, but the utterances have to be managed in a way that it does not affect the economy and security of this country"he said.
On how he felt watching Chief Obasanjo destroy his PDP membership card on the television, Jonathan said the incident had no effect on him because the attacks had been consistent.

204 comments:

1 – 200 of 204   Newer›   Newest»

Kikikiki... goodluck o,we don hear,but sai Buhari,

God dey #ABJID

me,masef and eyes!!! said...

Very humble fella...

*ah mk her cum first...den ah folo de lead*

Angry Citizen said...

Chei! No be small thing. Anyway,Linda next plss....

Nice response

Obasanjo used to support him until his administration started failing Nigerians !

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

I just love dis man GEJ! Waiting for bonario to comment rubbish! And waiting for dat foolish aboki to comment sometin meaningless as usual.LOLO1

Such a humble reply!

chloe said...

Nice one!!

That's what I call maturity.

Dave Mide said...

Lmao ...seem GEJ no sabi him real daddy sef, 2 weeks ago, Babangida was his father ...fast forward to today, its OBJ! thats what happens when mummy sleeps arnd too much *sarcasm*

Mide Giwa said...

hmmm......may God help us.I just pray Nigeria would rise against all odds,how i so wish!

What mature and prudent response...I hope OBJ sees this and take a clue!

Ok ooo, politics politics.

***floxycares***

Presh Chinny said...

GEJ...The man of d people

Roman! said...

Sensible thing to say...

When someone wants to ruin you with hate you destroyed them with love. This another way to play this game, make OBJ look like an idiot! Finally GEJ people are doing something right, I like how they are playing this game.

Well spoken GEJ even tho am not a fan.

A man of wisdom! Long live GEJ

Because he commot from APC to PDP

Funkiedipsy said...

Well said

all na wash they knw better pls give me another better gist

ok... buh #CHANGE has come

Better
Is good you respect ur elders

A wise man, the content of a man's character can be judged by his words. It has been said over time 'man speak, that I might see thee'. From who we are comes our speech.

That is my President talking with wisdom #sai Jonathan#
Say no to Violent

Bad guy!

Ok ooo keep on respecting your oga at the top..

....JOSHSAYSO...LIB...FAN

EmirateBaby said...

Obj hmmmmm

That's very sweet of him to say after all that has happened......that's how mature men reason and am kinda proud of you Mr president......no room for malice........*No further details*

:::::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::

U always talk like a God sent I give it to u as the most humble president that I avever seen......Oh God what a man do u gave to us....God let ur will be done

Y famz tho

Carry go my presido.

GEJ TILL 2019

@SOPHIA STEPHEN

Word. But they can't use chaa chaa

STORY STORY said...

Humble submission

Is this guy serious? Mind his utterances? Nigga, ur PDP spokesmen and members at large have been saying things that can end the world and not just a country. What have u done to caution them? Kk, when it's against u then it's wrong right? Typical of PDP!

Matured respond, for the first time you talk sense.

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

Truthful lies......

GEJ is a very good man. With God's help I hope to see him conquer Buhari's Boko Haram very soon. Then we will see more growth & development. Y'all should mark my words.

yes, Mr Jona may God bless you with wisdom. you speak so quiet & gentle, and this has been the weapon u have & use to melt the masses heart, but at the same time it's doesn't change the situation of the country likewise increase the developmental growth of the nation. i also believe that utterances should be manage in irrespective of the nation brouhaha and others affairs within the nation.

His advisers really worked. Dis tym on hw he shud ans d question...well done GEJ..na you we know

So,which kind of son describes his daddy as a Tout?!
Nija politicians and doublespeak!

I Love You Mr President! God Win,You win!!

Political speech..........

We have our mind made up Pres Jona. You have tricked us before by forming humility and pretending you listened to the travails of Nigerian citizen. Make peace with God and leave Obj out of this. God bless Nigeria. Ish 60:16

Niger Del said...

what a gentleman. I love you so much my President. you're trulu the definition of a gentleman.

He doesn't want to join issues cos he knows baba speaks the truth about gejs administration!

GEJ spoke as if he is scared of OBJ. Anyway Noted!!!

Eddy Mycky said...

I love this man, wise mode of speech. #GEJ.

T2 said...

Really nice one coming from.mr. President...chai! small small shading dey inside sha.....see sense! Weldone sir

Karlsson said...

That's how to handle issues, need not join issues with someone who's he'll bent on dragging down with him. OBJ should act his age for once n stop being an AGBAYA. GEJ till 2019. UBANAGUM

adeola said...

Well said Mr president, our utterances should be 'well' guided starting from the leaders(GEJ,OBJ,GMB,Asari,Lai) and the followers(Me,You,They), security officers(Mba)

I give it to Jonathan on this. #wordsofwisdom.

humble & wise statements.

Ibeg.......next story *thamixbreed*

IZU said...

you are a bad son if your papa disowns you!!! jona still dont understand

A man that is well read is well read.with this answer Mr president i will vote for u.my people I understand where we are coming frm n what we are use to (Rush life) GEJ might be slow to some of us But He knows what he is doing.pls my Good n Blessed people of a blessed nation give GEJ a second chance. Thanks n God bless

Don't criticize him its loyalty.

austin steve said...

It is well with us,in this nation

austin steve said...

God will help this nation

KayMaths said...

Gaskia! People think Jonathan is Clueless, but I tell he isn't. So matured of him....

Sam Bello said...

GEJ is wise. His reactions to Obasanjo revealed that. It us unfortunate if elders do what children should do and get caned for- Sam Bello.

A very Good response, people need to think of the economic impact some of their actions n utterances may have, not just Obasanjo.

truth said...

Jonathan is so smart....People say he is a Mugu but he knows how to play politics

This man is a humble crook #GEJbackToOtuoke

OKIEMUTE EMAWHE said...

well said, we should learn to respect the office of the President no matter who is there or the region that person represent

kidykuz said...

Anyhow I must vote for change

A man of Peace and great wisdom. #GEJ till 2019

I may not like the way u handle some aspect of governance of this nation which requires more strictness but I ll always admire ur humility. u r humility personified!¡¡ Thats why the likes of obasanjo are still talkin n walking the street free

Hmmm, I agree even though I won't voting for Jonathan in the coming elections.

Goodluck Jonathan i so much love your humility and choice of words here...

Bunny said...

We have hear

Chikata Chidinma. said...

oga GEJ.the LORD is ur strength.its not easy to even lead a group of people let alone a whole nation.Nigeria will surely overcome all the challenges.

nice one and one love keep us together

My amiable presido! God will see us thru!

Today z my birthdaY,GEJ,can u please stop dz political stuff & wish me HappybirthdaY ahA

Thank u ooo. To defend our unity as we sing in national anthem and pledge we are not. Nice speech . GEJ till 2019

Hmmmmm wise words but i still believe in changes that's all

When u were organising interim government you know know

CHERRY said...

Seen!

Words of wisdom there my able presido

Well said but start parking your things, come may 29 all road leads to otuoke. Tired of your inactive governance.

GEJ is beginning to play some maturity game now and that could help him out.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Obj.. Baba toh bad.

Touching and careful not to touch the vipers tail. The country is indeed unstable.

QUEEN AMANDA said...

Eyaaaa humble man

If he is like a father to you, them why don't you for once try to listen to his point of view, he has led this country try 3x and we had peace and no BH. Why did you call him a motor park tout because he was trying to warn you that the people around you are leading you the wrong way! Was he not right? Now, see how hard you have to work to try to win the election, see what mess the country is in now-there is a saying that only an old tree can tell the shrubs of a pending storm. Btw, only a bastard son will call his father a thug. This is why Nigerians and now some people within your party no longer have confidence in you. You are not a wise leader.

Hmm. Always speaking cautiously which is d best. Diplomacy!

Jonathan is the best Prsident nig. Has ever produced

I love u my presido

Nice one!

I love this GEJ for who he is.he is peaceful within and without.

Shoroniyen........U Shall leave Jona

The son now advising the father.... Am impressed. Obj should get his acts together.

Obj will do anything that pays his game, even if u are his biological son, afterall Gbenga is his biological son & baba loves getting his(Gbenga) wife to bed. #NobodyIsGod

President Goodluck lives, breathes and speaks "Peace". Some other President may have attacked Former president Obasanjo but No, not GEJ. If this is not humility then I will never understand the meaning of the word.

Hmmmmm, oga Jona keep playing mind games with Baba Iyabo. Linda take note!

Gentletee said...

I will give it to GEJ. Pls Obj listen to your or son Ok

Etsako Pearl said...

Eyah! sowi iyee......

princess said...

Wise response!!!

GEJ you have spoken well. God will see you through all these issues. You will remain our president. Amen

Loving GEJ on this issue.

We don hear

Ufo cha kpi, woooo! Dis is tales by moonlight. Political father and son.. na d style wey u take de beg baba iyabo be dis?

nice words from a nice President

Well a father can disown a son and same thing applicable to a son to disown a father, I see no reason why President Jonathan should not disown the old ugly thing and so what if made you a president excuse me na today.

Good answer.humble man

Very Wise comment Mr President, Keep it up, those who are with you are more than those against.

Osuagwu Friday Niles said...

Goodman, Goodluck.Gejilove

See shade!!

See matured Yan,no be OBJ wey go run mouth like gutter wey dey lick,beginning wonder weda Obj had a good home training from his folks

Sidney Izulu said...

Now that's a wise man. You are bound for greatness when you honour whom you regard as your father(s). It is Scriptural. GEJ will keep making waves cus his heart is right. It transcends presidency. We all must learn this.

More matured than his so called father! GEJ all the way

La said...

Confused man, our economy is dead and buried.

I sincerely love our President. If only he'll promise to work with people like Fashola, Oshomole, Amechi, Mrs Oby etc I might consider voting for him. May God continue to give him wisdom and also give him the strength to control his wife and the nation.

Sometimes commenting on issues like this is a waste of time..

They are all in for their personal pocket.

Jonathan's approach to Obasanjo's maligning attacks is so mature. I must give it to him.

It takes the grace of God and utmost maturity to handle Obasanjo and his near childish shenanigans.

See, once again, Jonathan has chosen the path of honor, rather than the path of pettiness like some old men who won't let us be.

#SaiJonathan

Dis is gej is better dan buhari i love him for dat

Zamani said...

By fire by force..lol. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

chinwelovesNseEkpeEtim said...

I luv u GEJ

You can even disagree with your own biological children, as a human being, not to talk of disagreeing with your political children. So, he can agree or disagree with me, but the utterances have to be managed in a way that it does not affect the economy and security of this country" qoute of the day I rest my case

@osuagwu wat did he do for u Gejilove except he trained u through uni or otherwise u are just deceiving urself talking of love mixed with politics

Nky sunshine said...

Mr. President, l love you for this matured answer and the way you responded. May God continue to give you more wisdom to excel.

ok...... been impressed with GEJ in the last 3 months than I have been in 4 years.. still not a fan but very well said.

Una all be mumu, allow all this politicians to be playing pranks on u people, can't you see that the clash between them has been settled, check out what obasanjo said about the PDP card and what Jonathan just said, wake up Nigerians

Well said,but xcluding Amechi. He Amechi is incapable of taking orders from pple. He is very arrogant.

If only GEJ can come out openly like this to speak on the issues seriously affecting our country.Becos he needs our votes he is apologising to his political father openly.NO to GEJ and YES TO BUHARI/OSINBAJO

GEJ MEN OF GOOD HEART

Display and exhibition of maturity and humility. I am not your fan but u hav wisdom. If it's God's will u will be re elected

Good n mature reply

Goaldyn Boy said...

Goodluck Jonathan has a large heart! Unlike Obasanjo and Buhari that has unforgiving spirit!

Nigerians don't appreciate the freedom they are enjoying today! If it were to be under Obj or Buhari govt, a lot of journalists, bloggers and the oppositions would have been hounded to prison and even killed!

Sai Buhari

I luv Buhari more

All nan wayo! You won't abuse him but sent your other Father and friends to do the dirty work for you

steve said...

God bless u Gej.

"if the lord be for u who can be against u"

Gej all the way till 2019

PRETTY GIRL said...

I kee saying it,forget politics, GEJ is a good man with a good heart.....

PRETTY GIRL said...

I keep saying it,forget politics, GEJ is a good man with a good heart.....

Well said.

GEJ is sooo humble buh we need him 2 chnage things in dis country..Vewi wise response..prayin dat God grants u the grace 2 run this wahala country

Well said

How is this relevant to the discussion? did u actually think before writing this ...I doubt!

Just a click will change ur life..http://youthinvite.com/?user=2246

U can't even construct a good English

GEJTILL2019

U are d biggest fool so far on lib.will u ever compare obj admin to get?after all d former did in his tanure. Who will listen to his advise

NMaa said...

Jona muo. No bad utterances bk to obj. Dat is a good leader.

NMaa said...

So right. Linda ikeji would hav been in prison by nau lol.

With this ur English! U better follow buhari sharp sharp. Blood is thicker than H20

All this to prove what ?? Still not getting d relevance of this article abi statement

obiora said...

As humble as always. GEJ till 2019.

@Mercy why art thy head so empty?

I wish people know that this man is behind boko haram just to cripple north-west and keep them from voting. I just wish.

GEJ may God give you Wisdom like king Solomon. Deliver you from enemies like Daniel from lion'sden. Crown you again May the 29th like David. God is on your side my president.

That's a man with wisdom and respect. That is how to address an issue not wit insulting words. Tank u Mr president. Am proud of you.

Obj has always been a greedy man..Nigerians love noisy people..because dey re noisy..goodluck doesn't talk ..APC and change.what has changed in their states? What did Amaechi do?or tinubu or the overrated fashola ...Nigeria today is better than OBJ regime....Nigerians most know fighting terrorism is not a days job...we all that are always criticizing GEJ we should all go and confront boko haram ...hw many years did Osama,Sadam stay?or this Isis?our economy has grown for those who don't knw...please APC will not change shit because they can't...the devil u knw is better than the angel you don't knw...

God gives grace to the humble.
God bless u humble President!

Your wisdom and humility are great virtue! We who are with you are soo many more than those who are against you.

#moreGoodluck2Nigeriatill2019.

Wise words presido..... Wish you all the best if GOD still want you there no man can uproot but if not vice versa . Jah continue to help you sir

Prodigal son...

Political tricks to earn him votes smh, gej is so desperate honestly even the other rivals (apc ncp apga anpp and kowa party them ain't as desperate as he is now

What do you know? zip

Good president, humble response.

@ pam eucharia hbd

QUEEN AMANDA said...

U are so dumb

nenye said...

Nice one Mr president. U r such a humble man

QUEEN AMANDA said...

Minus Amechi plus peter obi

QUEEN AMANDA said...

I tot ur subscription has finished who dash u money to subscribe. We've rily had cool moment here without u and ur childish comment

After calling obasanjo a motor park tout.he is now your political father.hmmmmm

"A man that is well read is well read"!! You will vote because he said he is a political grandson or because he provided hospitals for women and children? Roads for the Nigerian population? Or security ? You obviously are not "read" at all!

Nice words from President Jona, no denying he is a good man, but dat doesn't make him a good leader. God help naija.

Thank you 4 Your maturity and humility. whether you win or lose you will Stand tall at the end Knowing you did your best. Sometimes a nation of Wicked people needs a Wicked leader like an Ahab for them to remember what good looks like

Wow! Good talk!

Lovely response!

prettiyz said...

Nice statement,he still remembers and respect pple that made him

Thats my president. ... GEJ all the way joor

...And OBJ administration didn't fail us?... U must either be coming in from MARS or you're high on cheap drugs...See let me educate u incase your shallow brain is no longer functioning properly. It was dis devil man called Obansanjo administration that brought Nigeria to where we are today and his mess is what GEJ is trying to fix. He's an evil man trying to remove himself from every possible blames because the seat he's occupying now in PDP is no longer favourable to him. We say NO to Political Fatherism. GEJ can no longer be controlled like a puppet. He needs to focus and lead us well till 2019...and no Shango can stop him.. We're still matching👍

Oh please can u shut up already dis aboki....

U r obviously daft

No mind them...this gej na real man of deceit, he will stand there playing a saint but will tell okupe and fkk and fayose and the others to do his dirty work....nonsense, I'm not moved....is this not the same gej that called obj a political tout some months back? Now it's election time and his popularity is waning and all of a sudden obj is now his fada again...few weeks back, ibb was his fada....gej which is it?

Hahaha no mind the drunken master....I thought he left obj for ibb? Nonesense

God will strengthen you and grant you more wisdom Mr president

He was a failure then and he will still be because If any one tries to convince me about casting my vote for buhari, then it all means that " the labours of our heroes past" has been in vain because they couldn't raise a successor to reign after them. What humble president. Sai GEJ

Well spoken.

I love GEJ, he is the most humble president ever. GEJ till 2019.

Mercy seat said...

Commenters ::: note and really note how polite, and humble a controller of armed force of FRN is.... We will never have his kind after now. Whether he comes back or not! Men in spiritual n political position ... Learn

Really humble indeed. It takes a lot of humility to give the answer he did considering the constant attacks he has been under. That is one thing that erks me about Buhari. He has never apologised about his atrocities in the past but instead has said that it is not fair to be judged by them. He should humble himself and apologise.

At least he showed appreciation. Hope he meant it.

A man provokes his "father" enough to fall out with him, he allows many waters to pass under the bridge and a big damage is done, then he turns around to say my Father my father

GOD help nigeria

You are also a great fool

Lol. The handwriting on the wall is clear. Even PDP Leaders know it. Just the supporters pretend like they don't. Like in a war scenario were the losing side puts out propaganda and lies to their foot soldiers to pave way for the leaders to go on exile. GMB has won!

AMIJEZ said...

Wise response from the president. Let Baba keep behaving like small pikin. Shows he's fighting for personal interest.

This Jonathan sef jus dey add to his problem "CHANGE" is all we nid jus stop all dis ur useless tricks

Cindy# said...

@ Olumide, he said pol father & it can b as many as possible. Don't ur sarcasm didn't work

Jonathan is cleaning up d mess done by his aides. Fani kayode and Okupe Are d only reason I now luv GMB. #sai Buhari. Sai Baba.
Vote GMB vote change

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 204   Newer› Newest»