EFCC Arraigns Lawyer For N117m Fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 February 2015

EFCC Arraigns Lawyer For N117m Fraud

Find the EFCC press statement below...
A legal practitioner, Barrister Babatunde Ojo, was on Monday, February 16, 2015 arraigned by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC before Justice Oluwatoyin Ipaye of the Lagos State High Court, Ikeja, on a 48-count charge bordering on obtaining money by false pretence, forgery and issuance of dud cheques. Ojo allegedly used his company, Amberville Communications Limited, to obtain the sum of N117, 350, 000.00 (One Hundred and Seventeen Million, Three Hundred and Fifty Thousand Naira) from Mr. and Mrs. Mathew Awodiya of First Hebron Homes and Investment Limited in the guise of allocating 50 shops at HFP Eastline Shopping Complex, Ajah, Lagos, to them.
The victim was allegedly linked to Ojo by one of the directors of the Shopping Complex. He was told that, the amount per shop was N4, 000,000 (Four Million Naira only) , with Fifty (50) shops, costing N200, 000,000 (Two Hundred Million Naira only). The victim negotiated for 50 shops but paid a deposit of N117, 350, 000.00 (One Hundred and Seventeen Million, Three Hundred and Fifty Thousand Naira). However, the director that linked the victim with Ojo later denied knowledge of any transaction for sale of shops with the suspect, and invariably debunked claims of having received payment from the suspect.

All efforts to get a refund of the money paid for the shops proved abortive. One of the charges read: “Babatunde Ojo and Amberville Communications Limited, on or about the 13th day of April, 2010 at Lagos within the jurisdiction of this Honourable Court with intent to defraud, obtained the sum of N15, 000,000 (Fifteen Million Naira) from Awodiya Olusegun Mathew under the false pretence that the money was part payment for purchase of fifty (50) shops from HFP Engineering Limited at HFP Eastline Shopping Complex, KM 26, Epe Expressway, Ajah, which representation you knew to be false”. When the charges were read to the accused person, he pleaded not guilty.

Prosecuting counsel, Vera Agboje prayed the court for a trial date and that the defendant be remanded in prison custody. However, defence counsel, R. U. Nnamani urged the court to allow her present application for bail at the next adjourned date and applied that the suspect be remanded in EFCC custody. Justice Ipaye, however, ordered that the defendant be remanded in Kirikiri Maximum prison and adjourned the matter till March, 18 and 19, 2015 for trial.

Media & Publicity 16th February, 2015

53 comments:

Bad Guy!! He'll Defend Himself..
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

It's a Bailable Offence...
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Seen!!!

Dave Mide said...

This one na lawyer ?? Omo na radical lawyer this one be oo

N117m?? Okokobioko

damn!!! Would love to see lawyer himself out of this one!

Welcome back EFCC from your 6yr break.Nigerians are proud of u.

Oga! You bad o
He may defend himself sha
Fear lawyers

AND HE IS A LAWYER??NINE DAYS FOR THE THIEF AND ONE DAY FOR THE OWNER OF D AOUS....TOMJERRYSWIT

Ok ooooo.

He should b lock up and d keys thrown into d river.

What a disgrace you are to the honourable legal profession! Did you not take the Legal Ethics class in law school! Yeye person!

What a disgrace you are to the honourable legal profession! Did you not take the Professional Ethics class in law school?!

See money!!! Everything that has advantage equally has disadvantage

::::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::

Jeni_zee said...

Hope that is not the picture of the lawyer cos this one looks like a highway robber

D guy rese

Lawyer indeed wit his big head, he shud b jailed.

D guy resemble hard criminal sef

been duped before (obviously not for an amount this big) so this kinda story brings back very horrible memory

Wolfe in sheep clothing.

Bad guy, see him face sef

tsalz c.e.o said...

badt guy

HE HAS GIVEN PROMINENT WIGS LIKE MYSELF A BAD NAME

Naija shaaa....una don corrupt dis country.......shout out to u ooo,cos na ya brain u use!!!!!ole lo bomo je

Let's see how's going to pave his way out of this.

Naijasportscrib.com said...

Let the law take its course....

click on my name for sports news

Fraud is sweet if u can tidy yourself....kpele bruv!

Why can't people just do genuine jobs than fraud?

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Efcc wah of FFK, farouk and the likes we've nt forgotten. Treacherous people always holding the insignificant people captive.

Olodo,it's bailable doesn't mean he will be granted bail,but how can someone dupe somebody of 117million naira sha,not even 10million!! 117million,greediness no be here sha

Hahaha! Real agbero looks

Can u imagine? Kai ewooo! Lawyer that suppose to defend the people they re the ones defrauding the people now, hmmm this country is really going true hardship! seriously speaking. We need #change# of Government. #ihavedecided vote for #change# GMB all the way

Na wa o...and he is a lawyer

I know lawyers to look gentle, but this one looks like babalawo for bush abi na palmwine tapper

THIS GUY WIA GO DO LIKE ONE GOOD MUSLIM?/?

MAY ALLAH HAVE MERCY ON YOU

Odeh!!

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

He resemble thief sef. Mtsheeew. #happyweds

Lawyers are liars. Most liars are thieves. Some thieves are Lawyers. Get it?

Royal Priesthood correct yourself pls.He should be locked up and keys thrown into the River and not he should be lock up.Thank u.Sirslim

Oh mehn.....too much money

Joy(sharonlady002@yahoo.com said...

117 million what!!? dats too much na mr man,no no no u went too far abeg

Thief, he looks hardened. Ogbologbo! Linda take note!

#smh - because of election EFCC has woken up; I won't be amazed if they also arraign a politician before that date. Because of Election Soldiers have entered Sambisa Forest, They are fast tracking 2m jobs for youths, Okojo Iweala finally agrees there is corruption but said we don't have the structure to prevent it (I guess she means we should let corruption be like she and her party headed by GEJ has let it be for over half a decade). IF NIGERIA DOESN'T KILL CORRUPTION, CORRUPTION WILL KILL NIGERIA. VOTE BUHARI!!!

Mosiwomeka said...

Lawyers.... He'll bail himself nao

EFCC, Welcome back o...
Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous

@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

omg!! my brother>>>> ...damn!!!

Lol.... Funny enough this guy lived around us in ikoyi ohh but all the same all way na way

Onyions stfu... Go and read your books. Exams are almost here. Heard ur heading fur a third class.. Hnmm.

i wish people wud stop commenting on stuff they really dont know abt.....shit happens..stop all dis funny comments ur making on a guy i know for sure is not a fraudster....pls

This guy is also a Christ embassy pastor o. Yeye dey smell. Dated all the girls in church. Fake lawyer, fake pastor. Are we sure he even went to school sef

You should know the people who were duped are also Christ Embassy Pastors sha.

Of course this guy went to school! Wow! He was my course mate by the way but never believed he could have had the propensity for crime o. Not in a million years. He is innocent until proven guilty sha. Really feel for his wife and kids. Just can't imagine what they will be going through now.