Ashlee Buratti, of St. Cloud, Florida, had invited her son Glenn's class of 16 children to his birthday on February 8, and when no one showed up, he was devastated.
Though no one RSVP'd, Buratti and her husband John Buratti were 'still holding on to the hope that some of them would show up' to the party for her son, who has epilepsy and a mild form of autism.
'From the minute he woke up that day he wanted to know how many minutes until his friends came,' Buratti, 25, said, adding that his eyes filled with tears when he learned no one was coming.
The
mother-of-three posted on a locally run Facebook page with more than
10,000 members titled, Osceola Rants, Raves and Reviews List, to express
her frustration, according to the Osceola News-Gazette.
'I
know this might be something silly to rant about, but my heart is
breaking for my son. We invited his whole class (16 kids) over for his
6th birthday party today. Not one kid came,' she posted.
And
when other group members saw the post they sent Buratti messages asking
if they could bring their own kids to Glenn's party to celebrate.
The
message even reached staff from the Osceola County Sheriff's Office,
who asked for the family's address and said a helicopter would fly over
their St. Cloud home.
The helicopter came to the house within an hour, and the pilot flew low enough that Glenn could see him waving.
Glenn,
who loves public safety and law enforcement, was overjoyed with the
party, and his mom said that though he is usually shy, he took to his
new friends like he'd known them all his life.
'In
general, deputies have big hearts - they thought about their own kids
and wanted to make this boy happy because it was such a sad situation,'
Buratti told Today.
In total, about 15 kids and 25 adults showed up to celebrate and eat cake, give gifts to Glenn and play in a bounce house.
One woman
brought the birthday boy a bike, while others brought toys. Buratti said
one man came to the party with a camera and took pictures he later gave
to the family.
'It was just amazing. The people who came out were so awesome,' Buratti told the Osceola News-Gazette.
And
Glenn's birthday celebration didn't end on Sunday - several crews from
the Sheriff's Office and Osceola County Fire Rescue stopped by the
family's home on Wednesday.
Though
Buratti knew the crews were coming, she left it a surprise for her son
to see as they were on their way home from school.
'We
got to the stop sign by our house and Glenn was like, "The fire truck's
at our house!" I said, "It's okay, they're there to tell you happy
birthday,"' Buratti told CBS News.
They
all wished him a happy birthday, gave him tours of their fire truck,
squad cars, motorcycles and a SWAT vehicle and showered him with more
gifts.
'And
to think, all this happened because nobody showed up to his birthday,'
Buratti wrote online. 'Thank you, thank you, thank you.'
Culled from UK Daily Mail
209 comments:
1 – 200 of 209 Newer› Newest»wowooooooooo
Awwwwwh
Awww! I actually got goose bumps reading this..
Next
Awwww! Nice of them...
Awwww this brought tears 2 my eyes, thank God d lil boy enjoyed his birthday afterall...
Lucky little cutie......HBD to him
::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::
Awwwwww!!!!! Now I'm crying! May we get there someday in my dear Naija
MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.
Awww. Lucky boy. Happy birthday cutie
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~
Oh God I couldn't hold back my tears. Every dissapintment is a blessn
Awww..nice
Eya....evry diasappointment z a blessing!!!
Awwww that's so nice of them
It is well.
Eyaaaaa. That's so nice. This really heart touching.
Eeeeeyah! Dats one thing about Oyinbo people dey sabi value life & property. Linda take note!
Wow!!!
Being Dumped is awful, being dumped with a classics break up line is even worse What does "l need to focus on my career " really mean? Does it mean they really want to focus on their career or are they just over the relationship. Here are some break up lines you've heard . break up lines
Awww...oyinbo pple could so affectionate...this is quite beautiful
Awwwww, dats sweet.
Awwwww...so nice of them...
WooOoo,
I officially dropped tears 4 dis story.., the most touching and heart felt story i'hv ever read, soo soo happy 4 him. Happy birthday in arias glenn , good health and long life 2 u
Thank You to everyone that went!!! She shld remove her son from that school, they don't preach love there... in Nigeria, I pray this can happen without anyone saying nonsense.
I knos how it feels I held my 22nd bday and no one came
I felt so horrible and hated myself I ate my food alone and prayed to God for a wonderful year ahead
God has been merciful to me
So this boy shouldn't worry better things are coming
That's great
Awww!
So touching!
Thank God so kind people later made him happy
aaaaaaaw! got tears in my eyes for this one....
This like the most touching story Hve read in this blog....made me cry..swear down. Some white peeps r wicked tho
Sooo impressive, not Buhari, FFK, okukpe, OBj, amber, Boko matter every day d@s got too boring... thumbs up 4 dis piece still with heavy eyes..
This shows that there is still a little bit of love and humane left in the world after all...
Oh my God, I can't hold back the tears. Good people still exist.. God will bless you all. For the parents that did not show up with their kids, a very big shame on you. Thank God for disappointing you.
Wow! Like I shed tears reading this. Soooo sweet. Happy birthday Gleen!
This is touching !
Eyaaaa,lucky boy. His disappointment brought him blessings.
Tears!!!
You are a bastard! May God leave every difficult situation in ur life unattended! Insensitive twat!
Hehehehhe. Gud 4 him!
thanks to Them for putting a smile on his face. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com
Fuvking insensitive idiot!
Shame unto d mothers if d children cos he was epileptic they tot it will b a flop.now their disappointment has turn to a blessing for d boy
Hence why they are ahead of us. They are principled with morales, not necessarily religious, less hypocritical. Caring, nice and not consumed with greed.
Tears. Dis is one thing dat is Right in d world. Let's share love
I actually cried reading this. So touching. Don't worry Glenn , I will be around for your next birthday party.
Awwwwww!
Moved to tears
I'm sure the happiness the lil boy felt must've been out of this world
I dunno who u r, bt one tin i'm certain about is d fct u'r a hater n a silly one @ dat.. If u see a post n ur brain dsnt work fast 4 a coment, jst skip it n wait 4 d nxt one.. Commenting on LIB is nt a Do or Die affair kid.
Makes me wanna cry
I'm glad they showed up. Every disapointment is a blessing.
ckjacob.blogspot.com
Awwww, so sweet
My eyes filled up! So mice sweets. Two sides of Humans. Good and Bad! Ying and Yang!
Happy Birthday Boy!
This is cool.
Hmm....It's really heartwarming.. HBD!!
Give us your address
This sincerely brought tears to my eyes! Best way to preach love I wonder how come am not a white
So touching. Hbd boy!
awwww... So touching.... Happy Birthday Sweets... This goes to show that God has a plan for u.
If it were to be NPF they will never show up unless there's ogogoro, free food for them and fuel money.
Lovely!
Wow...and this happen for real!!! Hbd kiddo
got emotional reading this.
Awwww... this so touching! This is why the whites keep progressing, there is love! Nigerian police won't even check facebook, they r busy chasing Okadas to extort money from! May God bless those who care for others! That's love!
@gr8akin
Am touch. Am happy for the support. Gave to the little. Boy
Happy kid. So touching! Ur classmates shd f**k off kid. *Batsh say so*
For the first time in years....I got tears clouding my eyes.
Awwww...Couldn't hold back the tears. God bless them all.
Awwww....just cldnt hold back the tears. ..so so touchy
that is nice
Happy birthday darling little boy. You are healed from epilepsy. We wish you many more beautiful years ahead. From all of us in Nigeria.
You annoying piece of shit can u please stop this "linda take note" bullshit. I see you want to start your campaign for end of the year 100k early, but the way you are going about it is disgusting. I hope u don't get a dime. Rubbish.
So touching
Typical of an IDEAL society
you are one big idiot. You will have kids one day. Just pray hard that this pitiful thing or worse doesn't happen to them.
Awwwww, very happy for him...Touching story.
Some people can be real retards, na by force to post? Even wil he minna moses couldn't help but say awwww, quite touching
Same here at anonymous, I pray God bless and enlarge my coast so I can help the needy
Very touching indeed
The guy is just a consumed sadist.
I'm telling you , very razz.... Linda take note
Awwe......touching story
Couldn't hold back the tears. So so touching. God bless them so much. Happy belated birthday dear. Grow and shine.
Lmao! I tire o!
Shame on his classmates parents. They denied their kids from attending the party for selfish and stupid reasons best known to them but at the end it was a blessing for the little boy.
So happy he had a fulfilled day oluwa tobi loba
Let me have your address
So touching!!
Wow so touching! This is d reason I love Nigerians........cos even ur enemies go come, u ll even see pple u have never met b4! Oyibo n Discrimination...HBD Lil one! U shall live Long, Strong, Healthy and Wealthy IJN! AMEN
Awww, God bless all who went. With teary eyes i smiled all through as i read. Wow, what a show of love. Meks me wanna put a smile on someone's face right away
Every disappointment is blessing in disguise
Auntylindagoddaughter
The best way to earn huge amount of money on the Internet is http://moneytreet.com/?invite=17571 follow the link and get started...
Heart broken...my heart melted...feel like crying.
Wow this was sweet...God bless them
That is indeed a birthday to remember
"Awwww. I actually got goose bumps reading this" hmmm,yday was my birthdaY even when I mentioned it No 1 cared 2 wish me happYbirtdaY now ur forming
This brought tears to my eye.
God promised us He will do, exceeding more than what we ask or ever imagine. Happy birthday baby boy. I play Korede Bello "God win" song for u.
Ur so right O,had 2 remove my weavon b4 I run madt
Wow..... This story is nice Linda .....hbd to the lil kid *thamixbreed*
You have said it all, every disappointment is a blessing.
Woow its quite good to know that we still have some kindhearted people in this world.
Lol .....I wonder o
So touching, my heart melts
Same thought I had..This little girl is a freak of lowlife.I wonder why she keeps this fucking n useless signature on and on.."Linda Take Note"What a bullshit.If I should just try to get down to where she came,she is nothing but a pauper.Akushe jattijati..Omo iran kiran...
This really got *tear* in my eyes ! People are so mean ! But God shamed them for the cute lil boy...so happy,all thanks to the people that made him happy,I pray pple learn to start having a gud heart cos it pays.
God have mercy and heal the little boy, feel like crying #melted heart#
Awwwww! One door closes for anoda to open jare. 9ce one
This is touching. There are still good and selfless people in this world. I wish we can be selfless in this part of the world
Awww.. So sweet.. Disappointment turn out to be a blessing
Happy birthday
U guys should free her and campaign 4 ur own stomach infrastructure na, leave d babe joor, even tho she's desperately exasperating... LWKM
America very wicked society, they only look at what they'll gain in a situation but God is bigger than them.
Don't blame him not everyone understand English language.
Thot am d only one tearing here...
Wow!!!! Amaazing!!! This is humans being there 4 one another
Americans and their big heart! God bless you all that made it a memorable day for this young man!
OnPoint
Happy belated birthday, dear Pam.
That makes two of us o! The we Avon was driving me nuts. I didn't even wait to go to the salon to take it off, just looked for razor blade and started cutting and in the process I sliced of quite a bit of my own hair but I don't care...I've poured water on my head and I feel cool! Lol
All these insults just to pass a message across? Nigerians, I hail thee!
Awwwww. God is always on time.
vision 30infinty for nigeria
Awww...it now turned out to be a memorable birthday party!
Amazing story. God has a way of making up and doing it with a swag only him can bring about.
How sweet
Happy birthday
O my God! I shed a few tears ova dis.dis is so hart warming
Eyaaa, how sweet and kind of them!
I love dis story so much dat I came back 2comment again .
Wishing I was der 2help d lil dude celebrating his bday.
Hapi bday 2him
Wow. Touching, felt like crying. Just Love it when people go out of there way just to make others Smile. Its a thing of Joy.
This is soooo touching... there are still people out there who have hearts of gold
awwww!!!
Pam oya happy birthday. No cry again u hear.
I'm telling u, I'm sure they'll feel more terrible seeing the outcome of the boys party.
Had tears in my eyes. At least there are still decent people out there
This story is so so touching, I have tears in my eyes right now. This is a challenge to all Nigerians, we have to learn to love, I believe this act is part of community services. We Nigerians need to do more of this. God is Love and Love is God. I pray Love prevails in Nigeria.
I SERIOUSLY DONT KNOW WHY THEM BORN ME FOR AFRICA EEHHHH.
A very touching story am happy the child got to celebrate his birthday in a bigger way.....shame to the parents of his classmate....linda I have spoken
Still tinking why I can't control my tears reading dis. It took me 20 yrs to cry again today.Happy birthday Glenn!
Whao this all I can type whao again
So sweettttttt.
Eiyaaaa, I'm a guy and I don't see it as a thing of pride to be described as emotional, but I gotta say this got me all warm and mushy inside, maybe because of my own son. God bless you kiddo, and the beautiful people of county law enforcement and fire department for going beyond the boundaries of duty all for that little boy.
Happy birthday Eucharia, you will have more to celebrate in years to come.
Awwww happy birthday dear.
nice one, happy birthday
Awsome!
Make una no kill me with laugh, i think say she go don tire by now, this kind person dey make me fear.
Lol...
A sad story that ended well
Happy belated bday Pam.
www, how lucky can we be? February babies are so cute.
www.udokajane.blogspot.com
Wooow..... it's so touching, I wish I was there to celebrate with him as well. Happy Birthday
So touching,this story brought so much tears to my eyes, shame to those that were invited that didn't come
yea.really touching.glad d boy has something lovely to remember for the rest of his life.
Is it because they don't eat jollof??
Lwkmd.una don finish this juliet gal oo.chai.make una take am easy biko.lolzz.
Heavenly.
AMEN AND AMEN.HIS DISAPPOINTMENT TURNED INTO A BIG BLESSING.
Awwwwww happy birthday to him am touched God bless him wishing him many more years!!!
Awwww, this had me almost crying. am glad he had fun at last
Hi Linda,
Please we say "person/child/boy " with autism not "autistic person/child/boy".
The idea is that you acknowledge the person and not the disorder.
Thanks for showcasing this story
Regards,
An autism mom
What exactly is what you said related to the heart warming story shared? Ehn mumu. Just type nonsense because you can comment under anonymous. Goat
This definately made me teary... as i understand perfectly how this mother must have felt!. i have a son suffering from both horrible, horrible conditions..so i know. Really happy fro the little lad.
Americans r good pple..... If na naija,rant all u want eh nobodi get dat tym.
http://moneytreet.com/?invite=17992
This literally brought me to tears!
Nigerians will ask for egunje first.
Narcissistic douchebag! I pity the children that will have you as a parent
Happy birthday pam!!!
I quite agree with u. Her stupid comments are always posted twice and this "linda take note" nonsense. To top it up she looks like a retard.
Now Kass is the mean one!hahaha..
Awwww this so touching...wish I could reach out to the little cute man.
Heartwarming. Close to my heart
GOD remembers you and that's all that matters. People come and go but only GOD is consistent. Next year will be different
So touching.
@ lwkmd, I don laff tire, dats our NPF u finished here! Lol! Na so. Its so touching, beautiful!
This brought tears to my eyes God is bigger than every situation
Awwwww, I love these people
Dis is so so touching..bring tear 2 my eyes...alwys a way wen it seems all hope is lost
I was reading this with tears falling from my eyes. I'd bet his mean classmates now regret the fact that they refused to show up for his birthday. Thank God their absence turned it into the best day of his life. So sweet.
Ate ur food alone? That is an unsafe act Anon :) Now when is ur next bday n send us your address
first time commenting here, brought tears to my eyes...God bless you young boy
Sometimes, Americans can be really bossy...I lived in their midst for a while so I know. But when they decide to show love, I don't think any other nationality beats them in that. They will overwhelm you with love, hands down. God bless these people that rallied for this boy. May God continue to rally for their own kids too.
Redcandy
wow!... unfortunately such a story is not heard near our clime...
God bless you!
Nigerian Police and Fire Service rake note!
This story brought tears to my eyes. If people could only show a little love, the world would have been a better place. God bless his mum who took that step and God bless all those who turned up, am so sure God smiled at them for making that lil boy happy.
this babe wey every time linda take note who get her address i wan take some notes of pain to her cuz its irritating every time she says it
Aw sweet?
Awww so cute, oyibo dem get good heart I swear.
White people loves theirselves
Wow this is so amazing. Wish for a world where people would look out for others, may God bless their good hearts.
Thank God it all turned out well!
RETARD alert!!!!Oloriburuku big time!!! Insensitive baboon!!!
I got severe goose bumps I had to stop reading for abt 10mins.
Making some other person happy is the most Awesome feeling Ever!!!!
Hell Mr Red candy, I disagree with u. I live in America. This is not the first time such a thing is happening here. its very common. That is discrimination. It happened to a friend daughters birthday party. and non of his school mates attended due to the fact that the little girl is black and the only black in her class of 18.
This made me really teary. Thank God for everyone that came to make Glen's day special in spite of all, God's substitute is always be the best.
Happy birthday Glen and many more years of better celebration in good health.
@ Lindaikeji, thanks for this piece, it is indeed a sweet relief from all the naked bodies, tattoo's and electioneering palava. More this such news plssssssss
This made me really teary. Thank God for everyone that came to make Glen's day special in spite of all, God's substitute is always be the best.
Happy birthday Glen and many more years of better celebration in good health.
@ Lindaikeji, thanks for this piece, it is indeed a sweet relief from all the naked bodies, tattoo's and electioneering palava. More this such news plssssssss
@MR EDDY are you in HELL? Why is heat always killing you?
Awwww............i cant help the tears now. Nice pple with good hearts.
So so so Nice, How i wish Nigeria could be someday like this. E far again sha!
wow, I got goose bumps reading this.