According to reports, one of the chapters of the book titled "To be or not to be, Jonathan" Obasanjo said he was deceived by late President Umaru Yar'Adua about his health status before facilitating his emergence as the PDP flag bearer in 2007.
"As can be expected, I was heavily involved in the transition and exit process that saw me leaving office for my successor, Umaru Yar’Adua, as recounted in Chapter Thirty-seven, the ninth chapter of the second volume of this book. The unprepared and unplanned transition from Yar’Adua to Jonathan was a more difficult exercise in some respects. One reason was the ‘cloak and dagger’ manner in which Yar’Adua’s illness was handled. The illness of a President cannot be regarded as private. His health has implications for the security and wellbeing of the nation. For the president and those around him to have attempted strenuously to keep the fact of the severity of his illness from public smacks of ignorance of the enormity of what the job entails and the level of provinciality of their understanding, attitude, and approach. I remember that in 1978 or 1979 Chief Awolowo visited me while I was military head of state and shared with me how he would always stay at home to attend to the work at hand and only make a private visit to the UK once a year for health reasons if he became president of Nigeria. I made it clear to the chief that once he became president of Nigeria, he could have no private visit to anywhere as such. Wherever he would be, he would be on duty, and the totality of his life would be public. I jokingly added that the only privacy he might lay claim to would be when he was at home with Mama Chief H.I.D., and that even then his security staff would be on twenty-four-hour duty."The launch of the three volume book was stopped by a court injunction secured by a former friend of Obasanjo, Prince Buruji Kashamuon on Friday December 5th but lawyers to Chief Obasanjo advised him to go ahead with the launch.
Credit: The Cable/Sahara Reporters
207 comments:
1 – 200 of 207 Newer› Newest»Good 4 him
Nuradeeeen@gmail.com
Hmmmm.
Don't say illl about the dead Mr man
Wow lied about him? Wow nuradeeeen@gmail.com
Hmmm!!!
am the first again...$100k betting... anyone?
All of them lies a lot now..so Yar'dua's own is no case...its part of who all d politicians are
Celebrityoye@gmail.com
hummm....lets watch and see drama unfolds....libcash4seun@gmail.com
Hmmmmm!
Hmmn
Obj sha
im definitely going to get my self a copy, need toread it
Good 4 him
ghen ghen!
good
Eeya. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com
May Yar'adua's soul continue 2 rest in peace..dts all I av 2 say.................. NJ
Na him know, why didn't he do his home work b4 picking him?
Story story!!!I hope i get this 20k all my xpens will be cover...Next please #we dey chase money for Linda blog no be small something obisunny1@gmail.com#
Obj, Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com
Eeya. Boobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com
not bad
I JUST WANT TO COMMENT.. LOL... omobar.blogspot.com
Hmmmmmm
Breeze go blow, fowl nyash go open.
Yar'Adua is not alive to debunk this. We love that man.He would have been the best president ever.
Smh
Rubbish..dis is past tense
Am d 1st ooohhh
wow ...... reclusive.kingpin@gmail.com
I like OBJ. He's quite frank.
Hadyzat3@gmail. com
Is he doing any xmas give away price?? Looolz. Kidding.... Good for him sha
Mejidaniels@gmail.com (•͡.̮ •͡ )
Abeg go and rest obasanjo...no truth in politics, dats y I don't like it
Lol. OBJ of life.
Who doesn't tell lies? Chief liar himself.....
I would love to read the book, guilty conscience is gradually turning Baba to a writer.
He had the opportunity of turning the fortune of our country around but due to selfish reasons he brought us to where we are now.
Eeya, bt I still like late yaradua pas oga GEJ.Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com
Ok....obj sef make him try
Shaniquapatty@gmail.com
>>>> its a little too late now OBJ
Hmmmmmm!!
He should please park well, wether yar -adua lied to him or not he shouldn't have forced him on us, then wouldn't have been in this mess with ebele jonathan. He wanted to play God and it back fired.
tobytelove@gmail.com Linda my 25k oo I don't trust u pple until I see I have spent over 2k 2day to be commenting hmm.
Uaradua regime better pass oga GEJ. Regime. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com
Make una leave d man to rest in peace abeg.
Inem.whyte@gmail.com
We don't want wahala ooo after the book launching
Ugochi4luv25@yahoo.com
tobytelove@gmail.com Linda my 25k oo I don't trust u pple until I see I have spent over 2k 2day to be commenting hmm.
Yipeee! I'm no longer anon!! Finally got an ID!! How gud it feels. Linlin, pls post, lemme see my comment.
No privacy, but they were still able to hide d illness for long.
Thought there was a court injunction restraining him from publishing the said autobiography.
Political lies that's all I can read. »»QUEENMAYA»REPORTING LIVE»»
Nice1...heartmabel@yahoo.co.uk
Dats serious, ok o we have heard.
I believe Yar'a dua's health is obvious to evryone dat d guy is. Not okkie. So he shld stop d deceit act abeg
Hmm...
Publicity stunt
This old man (OBJ) should go take a back sit joor.
He's just looking for every avenue to be relevant
Yaradua regime better pass, GEJ. Regime. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com
lolajedun@yahoo.com. obj please let bygone be bygone.
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Lol... This my old man sef!!
Dis man should just rest. Naija need fresh blood!
this obasanjo is stuborn and a mad ex leader. I thought the law court warned him not to launch the autobiography three days back. I dislike all the mere stand who thinks that they are god. Engr Emy
lol politrickians... eeziboyy@yahoo.com
I would like to read the book
Nawaooo. mikefirstofall@yahoo.com
Petarken@gmail.com
I heard his book is a great piece...good for him.
Please click on my name
Baba your turn is coming. Writing my own book.
Nick
Have not read it, but heard from classic FM that's it interesting.
Who asked him all this story
God sees all
Obasanjo And his troubles
Obj ... I heard that court stopped him from launching the book, how come he launched it
hmmm nawa oooo
I heard he beefed jonathan in It...strong shade
Rubishi
Oya for people wey go read...it's out.!
wow autobiography dats nice to hear
Baba na Baba, if not obasanjo, Nigeria go still dey backward
lol this politicians can do anything. njkalu@yahoo.com
Mr obj, "ina apu ara"????
Story story
The man is dead now so i don't care.
i love FMR president obasanjo. very fearless.
Can't wait to have one for myself
OBJ na who we go ask. micheal4rig@gmail.com
truth is out
He never knew that yaraduA was sick,i hail u OBJ
ORACLE SAYS SO
First!!! Money coming!
Can one read it online?
I'm sure the books will have some information we have been searching about Nigeria. Our question however will be... 'How true they are'.
i will love to read this book
when this guy speaks, I wanna believe him but I find myself doubting him!
I will like to have one
Eeya. Like obj sha. classyherbie@gmail.com
A must read. Juliette (slimisbold@yahoo.com);
I hear you
richardemekagbor@gmail.com
Obj may u leave long an make sure u deliver Nigeria from this politician that are not sincere
Yeah. Heard about the book too. I hope it would be made available to the masses
Hmmmm niger
Nice 1......pedrotoki80@yahoo.com
Nuradeeeen@gmail.com.... OBJ
Hmm..
.nice autobiography....
THE ASHAWO STORY OF MERCY JOHNSON BEFORE GETTING MARRIED
make obj go rest
Leave d dead alone OBJ
Na him sabi
Gud for him, he don chop belle full he still nor wan rest
hmmm
LOBATAN
I hear u Sir
I hope he doznt only reveal the truth about others but also about himself and the decisions he's made since he became relevant in our national discourse.
Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE.
Obasanjo is a distasteful character...
A man full of himself...
All his grandstanding is for one objective: bring down Jonathan and determine his successor..
Invariably OBJ seeks to establish himself as Nigeria's ultimate godfather...
Unfortunately he's a spent force...
Stupid ass of a book!!!!
9c book 2 own tho...
Oh really?
Hope he wrote abt pple he secretly killed..... Fake auto
Owkie
100K sure??????
obasanjo and his wahala. mtchewww
Baba please stick to ur poultry business. Writing books is not ur calling.
™THAT EDOBOY.COM~
Is a pity the man can't defend himself.
Blatant disregard to the rule of law.
Dis OBF sef oo?
Isorai, kontinu
#diarisgod o
Ok,good
I love to read this book, must really entail things that are revealing about this country.
l will buy it.excel4sure@gmail.com
Eyah,good to know
Hmmmmm,pple too dey lie abt their health
obj too controversial
Naija,ther's nofyn we will nt hear
why now. This man is up to something bad ooo.
Mr president, l will buy your book.l hope its for free cos you don't need the money.vennvee@gmail.com
Who will he sell those to? I guess his former crooks and allies. Emmanuelthomas219@gmail.com
i grt u OBJ
harrispatrick10@yahoo.com
See, you too mumu, this is not the post Linda will be selecting from... Today winners have already been selected until tomorrow and there is a particular post she selects from.... U just dey mumu yourself all over the posts.. not allowing people who wanna make sensible comments to comment... If u need money make u go join maheeda... Ass
Make I hear say "baba" no know say Yar'dua sick. Him be don dey sick since him be Governor of Katsina.
lool..ahaa olaolu1111@yahoo.com
Nice one.
May the soul of a gentle & humble president rest in peace
naa him sabi
i cannot really believe any politician again,cos after this bruhaha u will still see them together walking hands in hands
No dear, notin's comin... dis is nt were ure supposd to comment first inorder to win.... its on d "give away" post... sowi for burstin ur bubbles fine girl
I see,Hes Tryna come clean.
hmmm.....Gold help us. tubbytracy@yahoo.com
eeyah...
How are we to verify the contents of this book, Mr Olusegun? Cos as far as am concerned, u can't air ur own dirty laundry. You wil only twist the truth wen it suits you. Good to kno u can write quite well though, that's if u truly wrote all that
IS THAT BOOK FREE? BY THE WAY EVEN IF IT IS FREE, WHO GET TYME TO THE EPISTLE? LINDA JUST BE GIVING IT TO US BIT BY BIT LET US SEE IF WE CAN READ AT LEAST ONE CHAPTER IN TWO MONTHS!
please nobody should say ill about a dead man else amadioha go find you come house lol. more on http://exlinklodge.blogspot.com/
Obj U aint saying the truth
I'm going 2 get my copy asap. The book must be very interesting btw Linda post the winners na make person rest small
Obj alwayz wanna be relevant all the time.Take a back seat jare
eyah good for him Mr preso....one love sir
Story for the gods
OBJ, who we go ask?
how much is the book self? someone help me out! oolaotan2@gmail.com
Next....paul.sid845@gmail.com
Liar lauretb@yahoo.com
Can you be less obvious?
My dear!
None of my business. Na money I dy find. (Kellynguru@yahoo.com)
Hmmmmm. Kellynguru@yahoo.com
None of my business. Na money I dy find. (Kellynguru@yahoo.com)
OBJ is a very stubborn man who does not have respect for the rule of law and judiciary process. The court orderd him not to launch the book yet he went and did.This is the same person who speaks ill of GEJ yet cannot respect the court. SHAME, its a pity!
The leaders are getting richer while the masses are crying.... Na them sabi oo....
U don't speak ill about d dead
So na "My Watch" OBJ call im tory.
GEJ go call his own "My Shoes"
#Talesbymoonlight thinz!
baba wan open cancaworm,oya ready to receive back o,all dis young politician no send old palle o.j don't take it personnal
medutenio@yahoo.com
OBJ n his endless stream of lies.
long hisss
@Bonario Nnag,is it only Obasanjo that has brought Nigeria to where it is now,though not in support of any politician ,they are all the same but Obj Baba is better than quiet a number of his colleagues
What this nation is passing through now is all baba's fault
Baba no dey rest. Want to start another war of words
Stupid people saying he stole but cannot prove anything. OBJ is the best President we have had so far in Nigeria. Will definitely purchase his book.
This book is a must read...a lot is abt to be revealed!...OBJ is becoming a torn in the flesh for many of his former friends.
Drama man
Baba don they enter the news anyhw this days i swear.....
political tale...
arikeomobolanle@yahoo.com
Goat
Ghen ghen! awaiting counter allegations and responses. Oya Omkri, Abati, Okupe.......get to work. Baba must not go free with this one. lol
There's too mUch Drama In Naija poiitics
Baba tried wit d book sha...R.I.P yar adua..
Obasanjo,obasanjo,obasanjo written again after written letters now is books baba pls take a leave have some rest pls.
Linda, dbanj new song na dope.feeling d nigga u need to talk about dis since dbanj na ur guy.shame to haters
Let's forget abt d past and move forward..biko
Baba speaks. Mega4dave@gmail.com
Last to comment.
GO TO HELL OBJ ,STUPID IDIOT
Man wen get mouth.
#no be say shoot bed mama fly, come dey find pikin later.
Tushizzy4real@gmail.com
Good for him
@Sade Odumuyiwa, they are all the same.
Baba is self acclaimed good leader
Story story
Just see nigerian govt. Court gives order and dey dont observe it.....OBJ that said yar`adua lied abt his health is just trying to cover up abt his atrocities
Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com