Nigerian tissue seller in Spain returns €16,000 he found in briefcase | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 December 2014

Nigerian tissue seller in Spain returns €16,000 he found in briefcase

A Nigerian tissue seller is being praised in Spain as a good Samaritan after he returned 16 thousand Euros he found in a briefcase that fell from a car.

35 year old Peter Angelina, who makes a living selling tissue paper at a traffic light junction at the corner of Calle Juan Diaz de Solis and Ruben Dario in Seville, Spain, was selling his wares on Dec. 3rd when he noticed a small briefcase left on the roof of a car. The briefcase fell to the ground when the driver of the car pulled away. Peter picked up the briefcase and ran after the vehicle, trying to flag the driver down to return the case to him but couldn't get the attention of the driver. He then took the briefcase to a police station near the junction.

When police opened the briefcase, they found €3,150 in cash and six cheques with a combined value of €13,000 as well as some documents and a mobile telephone. More money than the man who left Lagos Nigeria for London, then Spain over 10 years had ever seen in his life.

According to Euronews, Spanish Police tracked down the owner of the briefcase, a 42-year-old businessman from Seville, and returned his belongings. The man later found Peter and rewarded him with €100.
"People say I could have kept the money and then thrown the briefcase away but I am not like that, and God wouldn't have liked that. I am not crazy, I am a good man." Peter later told local media
Turns out Peter Angelina is a doctor, but cannot practice medicine in Spain because his diploma from Lagos University is be recognized there. He started studying medicine in Seville five years ago and sells tissues to afford his studies. He also gets a little financial help from his father who reportedly works in the police force in Nigeria

425 comments:

1 – 200 of 425   Newer›   Newest»

Honesty pays

Ehya God wil still bless him more

seunzyl said...

It's good to be honest! Choi! Choi!! Choi!!!

Awwwwwww. There is God!

*** ose ore mi aka forst to comment ***

Dignity in labour.... God bless him.... Jexxxx... Uk

Eh! No be for naija. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

Peter said...

good nigerian. gist.naija@yahoo.com

Honesty is the best policy.

***ECHOMASS***

This is the kinda news that we she be hearing frm fellow Nigerians .Nice one

Ikmoney11@gmail.com

Wow! Finally something good can come out of this Nazareth.
Feels good to see Nigerians in the news for the right reasons.

Wowwww!Good Samaritan amindavison@gmail.com

Dats gud to hear

hmmmmmmm i am impress may allah reward him in multiple folds bur its a big temptation oooooo considering wt he does for living he returned everything still

d winch wey dey tidy dat guy mata na beta pro...

He's foolish..he's anti-success

he is indeed a good man. but that man cud have done better than giving him only 100 bucks

Austine ihechukwu said...

U see! They wunt publicise this one na, had it been he committed a crime nw, we 4 no hear word, anyway kudos bro he did well, dunno if I wuld av done same, lol

Neks said...

>>>> Unbelievable, good for him, for me .... sincerely i won't <<<<

Vickyfabulous said...

Such a good young man, he'll surely make it big time.. Gud afternoon Sis. Linds

Owk. Bukkyowolabi467@gmail.com

He lives being poor

Hehehe oga o, no comment for now ginika2nwa@yahoo.com

Really? How nice

wow! thats good of him...only few people will can do this..

anonymous said...

If this is true then a big gbosa to Peter

Good guy keep it uo

Awwww! Indeed a good samaritan

wow... The lord will do a new thing in someone's life today. Is good to hear good deeds of Nigerian people sometimes. May God bless everyone and give us the grace to work in this ways and understand his words according to the scriptures.

Faithful God will cum to ur aid Peter! U just announced urself to d world, now u are a super star.

youngmissy said...

u did good. God will surely reward u.

The good samaritans still exist. God bless this one. 3john 2. BishopDammy#

That's how it should be, God bless him. Suljosh04@gmail.com

youngmissy said...

u did good. God will surely reward u.

Not all Nigerians are bad..... Nice one bro, u have a bright future ahead of u

Adaobi said...

Linda, I hope the Bishop gets something, he has been a blessing to me

good nigerian, abi ooo, na we even better pass good samaritans. gideonogidi14324@gmail.com

Wow. Wah an humble man
Seunsulaimon@yahoo.com

Ceeflo said...

Rare, this is what our country needs now.

prittyog said...

Chai! Such a good man, God will definitely reward him

wow dats a vary good rep there, best of luck dear

Her Excellency said...

Comot der na lie, if u were in 9ja here u wldnt return d moni biko, but bcoz der r security cams everywia u cldnt keep d moni....awa goh abi

Mr nice guy said...

Honesty is the best policy

Wow...good Nigerians still exist...that is truly touching.....

Awwww

The man is good o

gbemsco said...

Not all Nigerians are bad

Neks said...

>>>> ....can return everything else, but the cash, no. <<<<

Hebrew 9 vs 27 said...

Wow.. God will surely reward u bro, he has d fear of God, Dats what our leaders lack, imagine dis man being a leader in any capacity in naija, but who will vote him in, no Godfather. God help naija..

We still have good people.....am impressed.

Good Samaritan.
God will reward him.
Good people are rare to come-by

Good samaritian indeed. What u did is good. keep it up.

Wow. He deserve a reward for this. Honesty pay a lot. «QUEENMAYA«REPORTING LIVE«

Shiloh just finish today and i dont want to commit any sin as such peter i leave you to your conscience

Woe.........He is a good samaritan indeed.....God bless

Favour belle said...

That's really nice of him....things most people don't have *HONESTY*

Neks said...

>>>> in my Nigeria, yes i will return everything, Yankee,,, no <<<<<

Good of him. Atleast let d world knw dat Nigerians are not as bad as they paint us

Such a good person God Bless him..

I HOPE HE WILL BE GLADLY REWARDED.BECAUSE SOMETIMES,ITS NOT GOOD TO BE TOO NICE...A.K.A NO GOKIN

godgives said...

Good man! Tnx for giving our country gud image. But dat man stingy ooo, only €100 fa. Its well my bro, God who sees d heart will reward u accordingly.

Peter Angelina? Hehehehehehe false name but a very kind thing to do, it contradicts the cut throat idea we have of life of hustle outside the shores of the country!

Let the whole world know that some Nigerians are well-trained wt the best home-upbringing.

Immaculate said...

Good for him

I'm torched..and he was rewarded with only €100?? You see problem?? Anyway lips sealed.

rufus said...

thank God for this, i've really been praying for some good news about Nigerians before this year's end. I'll hope he'll get even more better reward for this act. Bravo

prettiyz said...

Wow,nice guy God will reward him

Roman! said...

we still have good Nigerians

prettiyz said...

Wow,nice guy God will reward him

Integrity Is Key!!!

.Disclaimer:: Raise your words, not your voice. It is rain that grows flowers, not thunder.

Omg! Pregnant woman and her lover caught in hotel by her husband

See Gobe! Guy Caught his Girlfriend cheating with another Man in Lagos

www.glowyshoes.com said...

woow...big kudos to him...we still have good people representing us well

visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Some ppl can be stingy o! D stupid man almost lost €16,000 & could only spare €100 as a reward for returning d money? I dey wonder o!

GOD BLESS

busaryinfo@gmail.com

I used to b d #borrower...now am d #lender....#Hustle gats pay naani

Good man indeed

Lilian Fc Barcelona said...

God bless you Peter.

We still have genuine people with good heart in Nigeria

I like it when I read stories like this of Nigerians in diaspora. Well done Peter, God will reward u handsomely in due season. Proud of u. #GodblessNigeria#

So nice of him I hope d man he found d bag for gives him some cash or give him a better job.

~Levi Blessing~ Rep Ma Name!

Tristanflow said...

God bless him for being sincere. People like him is hard to come by this days. Such a sincere and trustworthy human being.

ASHANKA said...

SMH

My God bless in a mysterous way.... His life has changed for gud nw.....

It pays to be good. Not every Nigerian will do that though. Sweedydiagold@gmail.com

CJ said...

Its good to be nice, but that could have been his breakthrough. That money for really help with him study fees, good man tho.

Oh good man

Linda, do justice to these names listed below.
Peoples comment/ nominees on these blog is becoming nuisance. I believe all the people deserve something, it's a research from me to you. And I will keep posting these everyday until you do something about it, the fact that you pick 3 people & leave others is unfair, some names on my list might not be consistent & some might be new commenter (joined middle of these year) but they are all addicted to your blog. These are the names left behind;
1. Alloy Chikezie
2. Bonita
3. Willieminna Moses
4. Cute G
5. Bishop DAMMY
6. Shina shine
7. Kween
8. Christie Benjamin
9. Queen maya
Some of them are old & consistent, some are old but not consistent while others are new & consistent. They deserve something better like onyx Godwin, Bonario & Ed Dreamz
I rest my case......

God bless his wonderful heart. What a good name he has created for this country.

Ok's ah ode man.

Oh peter! Such a good and contented fellow. Most Nigerian r suffering over seas o. This is the type of story Nigerians should be know for not the psycho that murdered his wife and abandoned his baby.

Diss season.. good man thou Dennisjunior843@gmail.com

Dats nyc

nimmy said...

Good one from my country man

Everything Rosham said...

Hmmm.. Good of him...

Commendable! The Nigerian govt should start organizing awards for such people to encourage others that might want to do otherwise

oil_prince said...

Thumbs up man!!!

Who say better thing no good? At least make we hear one good news fron naija guys abroad. Well done Peter, God will reward you more for being a patriotic and true Nigerian.

Layor said...

The cash prize he received is too small if u asked me. Compared to what was found.

Wait a minute! I just go to see d man gave him just a €100 is dat not lyk #100 Naira here in naija where will it take him to? God help him.

~Levi Blessing~ Rep Ma Name!

Peter ANGELINA tf. Why is his surname Angelina. And they gave him just €100!!!

He really tried for real, he is a good man cos very few people will return such. I don't know if I will if I was in his shoes Hehehehehehe ofcourse I will cos am so kindhearted 'lmao' #onelovefromSnow#

He's a gud guy, l have equally returned #250000 and two blackberry phone l was using nokia c3 by that time. The bible says that what God give endures forever. So kudos to him! Sist. Linda, pls remember me in this your end of the year giveaway. God will richly bless your packet

Stupid man

That's a good thing.

He's a gud guy, l have equally returned #250000 and two blackberry phone l was using nokia c3 by that time. The bible says that what God give endures forever. So kudos to him! Sist. Linda, pls remember me in this your end of the year giveaway. God will richly bless your packet

lgho said...

Wow.... dis is what Nigeria's should be know of not d other way round...

God will bless this man.

is only people who have rich mentality that will do as peter has done because he knew he worth more than what ever that is in there,the real wealth is the values you have in side of you not the cash at hand,good one from a good Nigeria.

Heaven Will Surely Reward Him......

is only people who have rich mentality that will do as peter has done because he knew he worth more than what ever that is in there,the real wealth is the values you have in side of you not the cash at hand,good one from a good Nigeria.

kind and honest humans are rare to find. May God reward you better. How much really is €100?

Hehhehehe! If its me,as a tissue seller,its eida I return d money incomplete or not at all. Over 4million naira is no joke o! 4 all I knw,d policemen might hav connived wit sum1 to pose as d owner,d real owner might nt even need it to b careless wit such amount. #justmyopinion

really good guy that's what am talking about

Good upbringing.

God will repa him handsomely!

but most people ain't gon return the money

Hmmm, a Nigerian, return such moni. There is God ooo! Lol

hmm

sadielicious said...

So we still have good people dis world

Forgive me but such an oppurtunity sounds stupid 2 have wsted like that...imagine the useless businessman gave him only £100..

u gat to be kidding me

sadielicious said...

So we still have good people dis world

Wooooow.
A good Samaritan indeed.
Beauty in my imperfections up on the blog www.udokajane.blogspot.com

Wow! How nice of him. It's rare to find honest people this days

Thats a true Nigerian... we rep every where we go

My God bless in a mysterous way.... His life has changed for gud nw.....

this is rare

Dis d type of image Nigeria need out dere. God bless him

General said...

Is in our blood. NAIJA da REALEST

I get the part of u being nice and God fearing but omo u be big time Ode mumu

nice 1 man! Very tempting though. Happy new year and LIB.GOOD.tripplej4u@yahoo.com

Atobatele said...

I better don't comment on this

Heya,good samaritan

Emmanuel udebu said...

The awkward moment when throw away Gods blessing in disguise emmanueludebu@gmail.com

Wot a good samarithan

Who says Nigerains ain't good people, wonderful people with good conscience. Keep the flag flying bro.

Hi Lin i'm new on your blog and this is good too.

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Very Good peter..

BIG BROTHER SAYS SO

elovi said...

Wow dat is generousity

lord klaus said...

Atlast the word 'Nigeria' is in d news for d right reason

elovi said...

God will bless him

we still have some good people around.

LIB's last born

lord klaus said...

Atlast the word 'Nigeria' is in d news for d right reason

Henry Cheks said...

I dey craze? God forbid!!!

And d yeye guy could only give him 100 euros. Na wa o. Pls dokita finish ya exams asap and make d money or come back home. Haba 16,000 to 100 euros. Serios akagum. In any case this is a good Nigerian. Doctors rock(even if they are poor)

Henry Cheks said...

Anukwam!!! Biko na for Bollywood that nonsense dey exist....wake up

Who says nigerians ain't good people with good conscience.

Keep it up Lin i'm new on your blog.

The Policemen were like are you really NIgerian? Kudos to him for reppin Naija shaa....

ukbliss said...

Nice of him

God bless him

Is like Xmas come early!!!

Gabriel Hugo said...

That's a very rear human, cos if it were me, honestly i will keep the money cos i need it so badly. 100euro reward for returning 16,000 euro? Hmmm

Good man

Nice Guy;CNN,BBC & Aljazeera will not hear or write about this one, it is always Bad News they know about Nija. Abeg Linda send the story to them.

Wow, thank God we still have good Nigerians abroad

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

your reward is in heaven Bro.
official lib VP

your reward is in heaven Bro.
official lib VP

He's got a good heart

LUFI said...

€100? Why evilz mehn...not fair and encouraging at all. I'm not tryin to say being good should be rewarded with a price every time o but mehn a little more for his goodness would hv been better.
-LuFi frm TRINIDAD-

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

Wow...so dia r still go pple lyk dz in dis world, God bless u peter.
Davido's GF

Linda which one is diploma in medicine kwa? Hian!!!!

Good news, good name is better than gold and silver. God will also reward you His own way.I did the same thing here when i found a wallet in the mid night containing money and a new iPhone left behind the swimming pool in the hotel where i resided for one month. A white young woman from California visit the swimming pool that night and left. I have to look for her and return the money and the iPhone after i report the issue to the hotel in the morning. She offered me money but i refused it, then she decided befriend me saying you're a very good man, now i can see that not every Nigerian is bad, i found a good one. Even the manager of the hotel visited me in my room and told me that he respected me for that and discounted 5 day off and refunded me back my money cash.

Pino said...

Hmmmmm...€100 for €13,000? no further comment. Na only Peter Angelina waka come oo

khalan said...

Good maa

Gabriel Hugo said...

100euro reward for returning a lost 16,000euro...hmmmm. I still dey resson the thing

paul hero said...

ohhh such a nice person.... Tripoleonhillsmusic@yahoo.com

€100? God some people are very stingy and wicked out of a whole €16,000.......well is only God that can repay him

lami said...

That's really commendable.

Good samaritan...

odubena.blogspot.com said...

He must be a Christian but thank God for his life

Linda where is your source? From where did you lift this story?

Dat guy gud oh, if na me I for no return dat money oh. Cos if dem wan deport u dem no look bak. Spanish pple wicked. Ugo-Gold

munacole said...

Good name is priceless....tanx bruv!

Jessica law said...

He tried is only few Nigerians that can do such his a nice person.

This guy should come back home and join police force. I vote for atobatele to get the 100k.

Wow! The only good thing I've read in a while. At least it shows we still have good Nigerians from a good upbringing.

ebonydoc said...

Choi.. foolish man. Stingy businessman

I wonder why a trained medical Doctor should be debased to a tissue paper seller in far away Spain. We need to have a rethink about migrating to western world.@amyokeynnah@yahoo.com

Ucee said...

Atleast not crime dis time.ucee_babby@yahoo.com

Zombie huntress said...

That's very good of him

Awww that good peter, and it's true oooO our certificate is not recognized there.. Kestygm@Gmail.com

dogworthmontreal.blogspot.com said...

That tells us that not all policemen and children are corrupt.

Let them know Nigerian's are good people not what they think
amyjessy87@yahoo.com

Na waooo,de man try,God bless him

"Turns out Peter Angelina is a doctor, but cannot practice medicine in Spain because his diploma from Lagos University is be recognized there."

Are you seriously telling me that you didn't spot anything grammatically wrong with that sentence?

Wow! This is courageous. God bless u man for giving naija a good name ova dia.

At least that will tell the world that not all Nigerian are thieves

wow!
very kind of him.
kehindeosilesi@yahoo.com

purity C said...

Out of 16,000 euros he gave him only €100(#22,400)

Hmmm o boy see dis guy, hmmm well gud name is better dan riches... Lindway, nd all LIB, Lindsay pls oh what happen last year I don't want it to happen to me again oh, I have been following ur blog for two years nd half when I was left out among them BONARIO NNAGS N0KIA 3310, NOW NOKIA LUMUIA, nd onyx Godwin, nd the rest LIB here last year LIB GIVEAWAY... Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Awww! This kind of people don't exist in lagos

FREEDOM said...

Thank Gog for people like this who are making us proud outside the country.God will surely bless him

Linda, that dude try, buh me nor go return oyibo money! all the years of racism can't be paid 4 in cash! €100 reward? that's racist sef

jessiemor said...

He deserves more than dis.

he's good Samaritan truly,nice one.. #chizzy says so....

xquisite said...

Finally! Good news about Nigerians

That man is very stingy. €100 is too small . though God's blessing for Peter is greater. Also Nigeria plover should learn of, because if name them they 4 kill Peter chop the money

Nice man may God bless him more!

Inspiring...

Wow.. what a man! But mehnnn 100euros is small now.. haba

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 425   Newer› Newest»