Osun 2007 bomb explosion: Court sentences prime suspect to death by hanging | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 December 2014

Osun 2007 bomb explosion: Court sentences prime suspect to death by hanging

The prime suspect of the bomb explosion that rocked the premises of Osun State Secretariat, Abeere on June 14th 2007, Mr Richard Abayomi Adesanmi, has been sentenced to death by hanging by an Osun state high court that sat yesterday December 11th.

Justice Adeyinka Aderibigbe who presided over the case, convicted Adesanmi on all the six-count charge, including murder and conspiracy to effecting unlawful purpose...

During its investigation, the police found that the vehicle that blew up belonged to Mr Adesanmi and some materials used in the making of Improvised Explosive Device (IED) was found in the trunk of his car.

On the day of the blast, Mr Adesanmi and four others had stationed his Peugeot 504 saloon car with registration number AL 850 NND, near the Ministry of Water Resources and Rural Development and in the course of coupling the bomb explosive, the bomb went off, killing one Taye who was in the car with them.

Two others in the vehicle fled the scene during the commotion that ensued. Mr Adesanmi who lost an eye during the explosion, was arrested near the scene of the explosion.

While handing down his judgement Justice Aderibigbe said;
“the prosecution had proven their case beyond reasonable doubt. Richard Abayomi Adesanmi is, hereby, sentenced to death for murder by hanging till he gives up the ghost.” 
On other five-count charge, the court sentenced the convict to 35 years imprisonment without an option of fine and the sentence would run concurrently.

Source: Tribune

178 comments:

Chai

Funto said...

Terrible

Amen!!

Accept no one's definition of your life; define yourself.

yes yes yes

Linda..i still dy wait o...i must win today

Ehen ehen. After all this while...justice. november,an007@yahoo.com

yes yes yes

Ok gud go save us

Ayodele Jay said...

Arise... COURT

LIBVIRUSSPREADING said...

Sad somting

I now see some improvement

Na so good judgement @ armstrong365kglp2@yahoo.com

Africanpetbabe2k@yahoo.com

Ok nice one.Bobbyfefavorirabo@gmail.com

charlesome said...

That's good

Ok nice one.Bobbyfefavorirabo@gmail.com

xtinexxx said...

datz justice

shoooooooooo.

serves him right!

Rip....

esozion@yahoo.com

Steady said...

Harsh judgement

hmmm

He deserves what he get. Repent in hell.

David E said...

Y strangling for make sense pass :/

Justice looks to have been served

Hmmm..are we sure his not one innocent dude thats is just taken advantage of

Gud for him,let say no terrorism.

May God forgive him

joanaustin30@yahoo.com

Since june 2007 and ur just passing judgement now? 2014! Nawa Oooo.

KIKIS said...

This is wat should have happened to the guy they released

Serves them right

Na so good judgement no peace 4 d wicked @ armstrong365kglp2@yahoo.com

sounds harsh tho...

all this death by hanging cases. where don't see the end. What abt Rev King. Am sure he is still living large in Ikoyi prison or Alagbon wherever he is. I prefer life imprisonment to this death sentences. chikena

Neks said...

>>>>> ...while they let BH suspects walk away free <<<<<< corcake@yahoo.com

good for him
ricnino4real@yahoo.com

SINCE 2007....>>>pedrojex@gmail.com

bluemagic said...

Serves him right
Nxttttttt!!!

all this death by hanging cases. where don't see the end. What abt Rev King. Am sure he is still living large in Ikoyi prison or Alagbon wherever he is. I prefer life imprisonment to this death sentences. chikena

That's really cool,we need more of such sentences to serve as deterrents

bluemagic said...

Serves him right
Nxtttttt!!!!

OMG.

bluemagic said...

Serves him right
Nxtttttt!!!!

wow..........so naija law harsh like dis?

Oluwaseun said...

That's justice

Good, wish Abuja would follow this benchmark.

Huuummm, not too bad (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

What were they waiting for

Good for him

That's something o.

Serves him right... May God continue to rid us of ppl like this.

Linda said...

Thats good news....

Battle Of Supremacy'; Suspected Cultists Kill Rival Gang Leader In Lagos State

KWEEN said...

Wonderful news. I hope to hear more like this concerning perpetrators of such evil acts!

Tristanflow said...

Horrible

It will be justifiable if same can be done for this BH members, he who kills by gun die by it.

Tristanflow said...

Horrible

Nyc 1

Helena said...

Mnnn

Good 4 him that is how it suppose be

Bad pple...frankotec23@gmail.com

Prime suspect affect investigation or assumed prime suspect? I hope he is not innocent. »»QUEENMAYA»»REPORTING LIVE»»

ogloria149 @gmail.com said...

Dat severed him right

Awwww eeeeya

vaneciavanecia55@gmail.com

chai

7 years later...

the earlier the better...

Ooooooooops RIP peace hommy! Why can't dey be doing same to all be BH guys they have been catching

7years ago,, does that mean that BH go take 7years? anyway nice judgement but i wish the judge wld have said death by planting multiple IEDs on him

bummer!

danny fisiye said...

since 2007 na nw dem pass judgement and for d man d explosion take him eye wetin him gain after 7 yrs in jail u get death sentence oga go well

bummer!

bummer!

Awwwwwwww

Awwwwwwww

Atobatele said...

Not bad though

But y does it took eternity for justice to serve??? It's a shame right!

Temmy said...

So Nigeria still sentence offender 2 death by hanging?

Rip sadist

Onye877@hotmail.com

This is how a man wasted himself.

He deserves d punishment though buh heeeeey, who are we to condemn ppl to death? Such ryt belongs to God alone

Eeeeya, he even lost one of his eyes double wahala.

Supposed judgement..befitting one

Awwwwwwww

dats gud

sassy chick said...

good for him

Story 4 d gods..rosepowell0@gmail.com

Saidat said...

Sentence nd hanging? Will he serve sentence before dey kill him or dey will kill him before he serve sentence? Lol

He will serve the concurrent sentence in a prison in hell according to osun defenders. LOL. Good riddance

NicK

Thats serves him right if he is actually the bomber. benotekcomputers@gmail.com

ebidamillo@gmail.com

Hmmmmmmmm,dnt trust dem jo

life imprisonment would have been better

dodo said...

It is well

by d law, we live. ik5_3@hotmail.com

I believe deres no sin in that case...dose people don't have God mind....olakunle...

Rest in hell.....

I hope he has given his life to christ,cos Hell fire is real o,may God have mercy on him

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Don't understand our judiciary system one bit,an act dt occurred in 2007 and yet they are just passing out a sentence 7yrs later...Nwayz d judgment was a fair one,serves d idiot right;wishing some judges would emmulate him tho and issue death sentence 2all dem defaulters

Others states should learn from this
amyjessy87@yahoo.com

I hope he has given his life to christ,cos Hell fire is real o,may God have mercy on him

MaziPita said...

Yes! Amen...Good judgement

Since

Chidinma Grace said...

nawa

warri lawyer said...

Smh....its evn hrd to say he deserves it..
Cos well,he killed pple

Good if his guilty

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

philippa okonkwo said...

he did d crime...he's only dancing 2 d music!... d wickedness of man though....
philippaokonkwo@gmail.com

Thats nice....

Hope he is not innocent o.. all these Nigerians.. they can pin it on the wrong person

Oh
Since 2007, i hope the judge did the right thing

Nigeria ... The lord is our strength.

Its a terrible thing.......death by hanging??? "goose bumps"

Really...pedrotoki80@yahoo.com

ok oo. seen

Bunmi said...

Justice must prevail

good one

Finally it's over thank God

Black Anchor 2 said...

Serves him right.

gbemsco said...

Since...nawa o

gidis said...

In as much as wat he did is so bad n inhuman, I rily dnt support dis judgment of hanging or wat v yu coz dat on it own is murder...I mean dey r other way of passing judgment dat wud rily serve as a punishment #jessayn (toviebo@yahoo.com)

Vivian Gills said...

All these bombing you pple are doing,their is God oooo (gillsvivian@gmail.com)

bold judgement!

lekyan2002@yahoo.com

chaiiii

Agnes Oveh said...

That is right

Nice. Others will learn from this. Naija is all we have.

Goody said...

May God save us

oyekunle bunmi said...

Eyah, so sorry for him.

Goody said...

May God save us

Wunmiomo1992@yahoo.com

vivian o said...

OMG so sad.gentlevivian58@gmail.com

What were they even planning to do with the bomb in the first place. They got what they bargained for.

It's well

good!

Good for him

The prime suspect of Nyaya Bombings was released last month even after the massacre of the thousands.
What an Irony

too bad ... evil end of evildoers Rayzur@live.com

raul (okekeuzochukwuj@yahoo.com) said...

should even be burned to death after he gives up the ghost

no comment

He intends to kill ppl b4 so he shld face it

King Dave Anya said...

Chai no be only him waka come!

What a great judgement, may be this one will teach the rest some senses....

After proven guilty, is he still a suspect or a culprit?

Could be a set up nikkyqueen2013@gmail.com

micheal pan said...

BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS....It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about a month ago..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I'm rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get in a day with it is about $50,000.(fifty thousand USD) Every now and then I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com). Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That's the simple testimony of how my life changed for good...Love you all ...the email address again is ;atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com
call me for more info 08138155648

GREEN said...

ITS GOOD SO THAT OTHERS WILL LEARN FROM IT.

nkiru4love@yahoo.com

Hmmm d judgement is right

Peter said...

i must win today abeg linda. gist.naija@yahoo.com

Steven and G said...

If u ask me

Steven and G said...

Chai Chai

That's good for him, I don't know why court not judge Kabiru Sokoto died by hang

So awesome. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

Wat a pity........

Good one.

Great improvement

This life...

Good for him Dats if he's guilty o

gloria said...

Justice!!!

give urselves brain said...

finito...

TOYIN said...

PLEASE HAS IT BEEN COM FIRM THAT HE IS THE CULPRIT I DON"T TRUST NIGERIA JUDICIAL SYSTEM

God have mercy on him,but serzly what abt Rev.King? Not heard about him inna while.
Olorival9142@gmail.com

hmm
motun011@gmail.com

dayo said...

Name wah o.dayo2285@gmail.com

Emmanuel Ehiaghe said...

Chain,emmanuelbanger@yahoo.com

pathetic

thelmababy27@gmail.com

eeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyya.

Good for him

AQO said...

Is he dead yet? Or what is d hangman waiting 4?!

The one who master-minded bombing in d North was realeased.Who amalgamated Nigeria should also die by hanging.

That serves him right