Obasanjo launches his autobiography, says late Yar'Adua lied to him about his health | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 December 2014

Obasanjo launches his autobiography, says late Yar'Adua lied to him about his health

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo launched his controversial autobiography 'My Watch' at the Lagos Country club Ikeja, Lagos today Dec. 9th. Guest at the event included former VC of the University of Lagos, Prof. Ibidapo Obe and former Minister of Education, Oby Ezekwesili.

According to reports, one of the chapters of the book titled "To be or not to be, Jonathan" Obasanjo said he was deceived by late President Umaru Yar'Adua about his health status before facilitating his emergence as the PDP flag bearer in 2007. 

In the book, Obasanjo was quoted to have said;
"As can be expected, I was heavily involved in the transition and exit process that saw me leaving office for my successor, Umaru Yar’Adua, as recounted in Chapter Thirty-seven, the ninth chapter of the second volume of this book. The unprepared and unplanned transition from Yar’Adua to Jonathan was a more difficult exercise in some respects. One reason was the ‘cloak and dagger’ manner in which Yar’Adua’s illness was handled. The illness of a President cannot be regarded as private. His health has implications for the security and wellbeing of the nation. For the president and those around him to have attempted strenuously to keep the fact of the severity of his illness from public smacks of ignorance of the enormity of what the job entails and the level of provinciality of their understanding, attitude, and approach. I remember that in 1978 or 1979 Chief Awolowo visited me while I was military head of state and shared with me how he would always stay at home to attend to the work at hand and only make a private visit to the UK once a year for health reasons if he became president of Nigeria. I made it clear to the chief that once he became president of Nigeria, he could have no private visit to anywhere as such. Wherever he would be, he would be on duty, and the totality of his life would be public. I jokingly added that the only privacy he might lay claim to would be when he was at home with Mama Chief H.I.D., and that even then his security staff would be on twenty-four-hour duty."
The launch of the three volume book was stopped by a court injunction secured by a former friend of Obasanjo, Prince Buruji Kashamuon on Friday December 5th but lawyers to Chief Obasanjo advised him to go ahead with the launch. 

Credit: The Cable/Sahara Reporters

207 comments:

1 – 200 of 207   Newer›   Newest»

Good 4 him

Nuradeeeen@gmail.com

Hmmmm.

Don't say illl about the dead Mr man

Wow lied about him? Wow nuradeeeen@gmail.com

Hmmm!!!

am the first again...$100k betting... anyone?

All of them lies a lot now..so Yar'dua's own is no case...its part of who all d politicians are

Celebrityoye@gmail.com

hummm....lets watch and see drama unfolds....libcash4seun@gmail.com

Hmmmmm!

elovi said...

Hmmn

elovi said...

Obj sha

tadf said...

im definitely going to get my self a copy, need toread it

Good 4 him

kels said...

ghen ghen!

xtinexxx said...

good

Zombie huntress said...

Eeya. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

May Yar'adua's soul continue 2 rest in peace..dts all I av 2 say.................. NJ

Alale Anthony said...

Na him know, why didn't he do his home work b4 picking him?

Story story!!!I hope i get this 20k all my xpens will be cover...Next please #we dey chase money for Linda blog no be small something obisunny1@gmail.com#

Obj, Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

Eeya. Boobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

not bad

Omoba News Media said...

I JUST WANT TO COMMENT.. LOL... omobar.blogspot.com

Hmmmmmm

khemorah said...

Breeze go blow, fowl nyash go open.

Yar'Adua is not alive to debunk this. We love that man.He would have been the best president ever.

BOSSLADY said...

Smh

Rubbish..dis is past tense

Am d 1st ooohhh

wow ...... reclusive.kingpin@gmail.com

Love Treasure said...

I like OBJ. He's quite frank.

Hadyzat3@gmail. com

Is he doing any xmas give away price?? Looolz. Kidding.... Good for him sha

Mejidaniels@gmail.com (•͡.̮ •͡ )

Abeg go and rest obasanjo...no truth in politics, dats y I don't like it

Janeosuetha@gmail.com said...

Lol. OBJ of life.

Who doesn't tell lies? Chief liar himself.....

I would love to read the book, guilty conscience is gradually turning Baba to a writer.
He had the opportunity of turning the fortune of our country around but due to selfish reasons he brought us to where we are now.

Eeya, bt I still like late yaradua pas oga GEJ.Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Ok....obj sef make him try

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

Neks said...

>>>> its a little too late now OBJ

Hmmmmmm!!

lami said...

He should please park well, wether yar -adua lied to him or not he shouldn't have forced him on us, then wouldn't have been in this mess with ebele jonathan. He wanted to play God and it back fired.

tobytelove@gmail.com Linda my 25k oo I don't trust u pple until I see I have spent over 2k 2day to be commenting hmm.

Uaradua regime better pass oga GEJ. Regime. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Make una leave d man to rest in peace abeg.
Inem.whyte@gmail.com

We don't want wahala ooo after the book launching
Ugochi4luv25@yahoo.com

tobytelove@gmail.com Linda my 25k oo I don't trust u pple until I see I have spent over 2k 2day to be commenting hmm.

godgives said...

Yipeee! I'm no longer anon!! Finally got an ID!! How gud it feels. Linlin, pls post, lemme see my comment.

No privacy, but they were still able to hide d illness for long.

obiora said...

Thought there was a court injunction restraining him from publishing the said autobiography.

Political lies that's all I can read. »»QUEENMAYA»REPORTING LIVE»»

Nice1...heartmabel@yahoo.co.uk

careen said...

Dats serious, ok o we have heard.

Neymar said...

I believe Yar'a dua's health is obvious to evryone dat d guy is. Not okkie. So he shld stop d deceit act abeg

chilex18 said...

Hmm...

Chidinma Grace said...

Publicity stunt

This old man (OBJ) should go take a back sit joor.
He's just looking for every avenue to be relevant

Yaradua regime better pass, GEJ. Regime. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

lolajedun@yahoo.com. obj please let bygone be bygone.

Bose said...

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Lol... This my old man sef!!

Chidinma Grace said...

Dis man should just rest. Naija need fresh blood!

bbm 7F098C19 said...

this obasanjo is stuborn and a mad ex leader. I thought the law court warned him not to launch the autobiography three days back. I dislike all the mere stand who thinks that they are god. Engr Emy

lol politrickians... eeziboyy@yahoo.com

zainab said...

I would like to read the book

mike said...

Nawaooo. mikefirstofall@yahoo.com

bizzie boi said...

Petarken@gmail.com

Catwalk With Pat said...

I heard his book is a great piece...good for him.

Please click on my name

Baba your turn is coming. Writing my own book.

Nick

Have not read it, but heard from classic FM that's it interesting.

Atobatele said...

Who asked him all this story

linda ikeji's boo said...

God sees all

charlesome said...

Obasanjo And his troubles

Obj ... I heard that court stopped him from launching the book, how come he launched it

hmmm nawa oooo

Emmanuel Erommonsele said...

I heard he beefed jonathan in It...strong shade

Rubishi

Ammy Becky said...

Oya for people wey go read...it's out.!

benita said...

wow autobiography dats nice to hear

Steady said...

Baba na Baba, if not obasanjo, Nigeria go still dey backward

nkiru said...

lol this politicians can do anything. njkalu@yahoo.com

WetinDey said...

Mr obj, "ina apu ara"????

Story story

The man is dead now so i don't care.

i love FMR president obasanjo. very fearless.

obiora said...

Can't wait to have one for myself

OBJ na who we go ask. micheal4rig@gmail.com

truth is out

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

He never knew that yaraduA was sick,i hail u OBJ

ORACLE SAYS SO

First!!! Money coming!

Can one read it online?

I'm sure the books will have some information we have been searching about Nigeria. Our question however will be... 'How true they are'.

i will love to read this book

when this guy speaks, I wanna believe him but I find myself doubting him!

I will like to have one

Eeya. Like obj sha. classyherbie@gmail.com

A must read. Juliette (slimisbold@yahoo.com);

I hear you

richardemekagbor@gmail.com

Obj may u leave long an make sure u deliver Nigeria from this politician that are not sincere

Yeah. Heard about the book too. I hope it would be made available to the masses

tfreezo said...

Hmmmm niger

Nice 1......pedrotoki80@yahoo.com

Nuradeeeen@gmail.com.... OBJ

Kester Eke said...

Hmm..
.nice autobiography....

THE ASHAWO STORY OF MERCY JOHNSON BEFORE GETTING MARRIED

wani said...

make obj go rest

Leave d dead alone OBJ

Nonny said...

Na him sabi

Gud for him, he don chop belle full he still nor wan rest

hmmm

LOBATAN

I hear u Sir

I hope he doznt only reveal the truth about others but also about himself and the decisions he's made since he became relevant in our national discourse.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Obasanjo is a distasteful character...
A man full of himself...
All his grandstanding is for one objective: bring down Jonathan and determine his successor..
Invariably OBJ seeks to establish himself as Nigeria's ultimate godfather...
Unfortunately he's a spent force...
Stupid ass of a book!!!!

gidis said...

9c book 2 own tho...

gidis said...

9c book 2 own tho...

Oh really?

Hope he wrote abt pple he secretly killed..... Fake auto

Owkie

100K sure??????

GistNaija said...

obasanjo and his wahala. mtchewww

Baba please stick to ur poultry business. Writing books is not ur calling.
™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

Is a pity the man can't defend himself.

Blatant disregard to the rule of law.
Dis OBF sef oo?
Isorai, kontinu
#diarisgod o

destinysweet said...

Ok,good

I love to read this book, must really entail things that are revealing about this country.

Vivian said...

l will buy it.excel4sure@gmail.com

destinysweet said...

Eyah,good to know

destinysweet said...

Hmmmmm,pple too dey lie abt their health

obj too controversial

Naija,ther's nofyn we will nt hear

why now. This man is up to something bad ooo.

Vivian said...

Mr president, l will buy your book.l hope its for free cos you don't need the money.vennvee@gmail.com

Who will he sell those to? I guess his former crooks and allies. Emmanuelthomas219@gmail.com

i grt u OBJ

harrispatrick10@yahoo.com

Steady said...

See, you too mumu, this is not the post Linda will be selecting from... Today winners have already been selected until tomorrow and there is a particular post she selects from.... U just dey mumu yourself all over the posts.. not allowing people who wanna make sensible comments to comment... If u need money make u go join maheeda... Ass

Make I hear say "baba" no know say Yar'dua sick. Him be don dey sick since him be Governor of Katsina.

orlar_e said...

lool..ahaa olaolu1111@yahoo.com

AQO said...

Nice one.

May the soul of a gentle & humble president rest in peace

C. A. Omerenna said...

naa him sabi

i cannot really believe any politician again,cos after this bruhaha u will still see them together walking hands in hands

No dear, notin's comin... dis is nt were ure supposd to comment first inorder to win.... its on d "give away" post... sowi for burstin ur bubbles fine girl

Website Design | Website Development | Digital Marketing said...

I see,Hes Tryna come clean.

hmmm.....Gold help us. tubbytracy@yahoo.com

eeyah...

How are we to verify the contents of this book, Mr Olusegun? Cos as far as am concerned, u can't air ur own dirty laundry. You wil only twist the truth wen it suits you. Good to kno u can write quite well though, that's if u truly wrote all that

David Iyke said...

IS THAT BOOK FREE? BY THE WAY EVEN IF IT IS FREE, WHO GET TYME TO THE EPISTLE? LINDA JUST BE GIVING IT TO US BIT BY BIT LET US SEE IF WE CAN READ AT LEAST ONE CHAPTER IN TWO MONTHS!

Exlink Lodge said...

please nobody should say ill about a dead man else amadioha go find you come house lol. more on http://exlinklodge.blogspot.com/

Alma said...

Obj U aint saying the truth

I'm going 2 get my copy asap. The book must be very interesting btw Linda post the winners na make person rest small

Ziggyflex said...

Obj alwayz wanna be relevant all the time.Take a back seat jare

gmog said...

eyah good for him Mr preso....one love sir

Story for the gods

ogeee said...

OBJ, who we go ask?

how much is the book self? someone help me out! oolaotan2@gmail.com

Next....paul.sid845@gmail.com

Liar lauretb@yahoo.com

Soul said...

Can you be less obvious?

chinny choo said...

My dear!

Kellydbob said...

None of my business. Na money I dy find. (Kellynguru@yahoo.com)

Kellydbob said...

Hmmmmm. Kellynguru@yahoo.com

Kellydbob said...

None of my business. Na money I dy find. (Kellynguru@yahoo.com)

Bukas said...

OBJ is a very stubborn man who does not have respect for the rule of law and judiciary process. The court orderd him not to launch the book yet he went and did.This is the same person who speaks ill of GEJ yet cannot respect the court. SHAME, its a pity!

Uchenna Ekwuruke said...

The leaders are getting richer while the masses are crying.... Na them sabi oo....

U don't speak ill about d dead

Ken - Atutuboyoyo-I of Ahia Land said...

So na "My Watch" OBJ call im tory.
GEJ go call his own "My Shoes"
#Talesbymoonlight thinz!

baba wan open cancaworm,oya ready to receive back o,all dis young politician no send old palle o.j don't take it personnal

medutenio@yahoo.com

OBJ n his endless stream of lies.

long hisss

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

@Bonario Nnag,is it only Obasanjo that has brought Nigeria to where it is now,though not in support of any politician ,they are all the same but Obj Baba is better than quiet a number of his colleagues

What this nation is passing through now is all baba's fault

Uche Emma said...

Baba no dey rest. Want to start another war of words

Angel said...

Stupid people saying he stole but cannot prove anything. OBJ is the best President we have had so far in Nigeria. Will definitely purchase his book.

This book is a must read...a lot is abt to be revealed!...OBJ is becoming a torn in the flesh for many of his former friends.

Drama man

Baba don they enter the news anyhw this days i swear.....

political tale...

arikeomobolanle@yahoo.com

Goat

DadMatilda said...

Ghen ghen! awaiting counter allegations and responses. Oya Omkri, Abati, Okupe.......get to work. Baba must not go free with this one. lol

There's too mUch Drama In Naija poiitics

Easy-E said...

Baba tried wit d book sha...R.I.P yar adua..

Obasanjo,obasanjo,obasanjo written again after written letters now is books baba pls take a leave have some rest pls.

Linda, dbanj new song na dope.feeling d nigga u need to talk about dis since dbanj na ur guy.shame to haters

Let's forget abt d past and move forward..biko

Baba speaks. Mega4dave@gmail.com

papami5 said...

Last to comment.

GO TO HELL OBJ ,STUPID IDIOT

Man wen get mouth.

#no be say shoot bed mama fly, come dey find pikin later.

Tushizzy4real@gmail.com

Good for him

@Sade Odumuyiwa, they are all the same.

Baba is self acclaimed good leader

Story story

Just see nigerian govt. Court gives order and dey dont observe it.....OBJ that said yar`adua lied abt his health is just trying to cover up abt his atrocities

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 207   Newer› Newest»