The Obamas' White House garden harvests sweet potatoes for the first time | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 November 2014

The Obamas' White House garden harvests sweet potatoes for the first time

For those who don't know, some American presidents have had the opportunity to have their own gardens within the White House though some didn't grow gardens, but Eleanor Roosevelt, Clinton and now, the Obama's have their gardens in the White House.

Michelle Obama started her own garden, which is the biggest White House kitchen garden so far, when her daughters Malia and Sasha were not receiving nutritious meals. They had been eating out a lot and the family's pediatrician recommended a diet change. This was revealed in Michelle Obama's book entitled "American Grown: The story of the White House Kitchen Garden".

This year, the  kitchen garden, as it is called, for the first time included orange sweet potato, a root vegetable that is rich in vitamin A that most Nigerians and Africans are conversant with. The sweet potato was chosen to highlight its role in improving the nutrition and health of millions of children and women throughout Sub-Saharan Africa by providing this essential nutrient.

Under First Lady Michelle Obama, the White House kitchen garden has been expanded and reinvigorated to include a wide range of herbs, fruits, and vegetables. It serves to educate people, especially children, on the importance of good nutrition and the role that vegetables and fruits can play in improving health. The sweet potatoes that were planted in the garden were provided by North Carolina State University (NCSU) and include Covington, a variety developed at NCSU, and Beauregard, a variety developed at Louisiana State University. 

Photo Credit: Wikipedia, whitehouse.gov, justjared.com

62 comments:

And in Nigeria you get impeached when you rear chickens in govt house.

(Twitter/ig)

How nice? Can pashie do. Dis? Talk of squatting down in a garden......na so so fart go de comot em big yansh.

national helm said...

Is this real...The Obamas are really down to earth...Nice..How I wish our leaders can emulate this
PEEP THIS; Lingerie Model Imitates Kim Kardashian "Break The Internet" Cover Photo....

Good one Mrs President!!

hmmm.. nice

Are You A Wife Material (A Must Read )

Wow! That's good, will love to have a garden at home.

#king said...

nice one madam..I love dis lady........................#KingOfKings #6ixGod

Bunny said...

Nice! I know some frustrated critics will come on here n criticize our first lady when they themselves don't even know what seed is planted to harvest corn.

Our First lady is busy being first to care about anything else

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

if na Dame Patience Jona now, u go just see as army go full everywhere while police go come they do the harvesting... #FOOD LOVERS! heard about P.h 1st Food fair? add 2AFFD1E7 fing out more

ANN said...

and Enugu state deputy governor was criticised for keeping a farm in the government house.

Pls ow do I tel my neighbour I wnt 2 kiss him? Av nt kisd for a while n tot I shud do wt him. No strings attached,ow shud I?

bbm 7F098C19 said...

noted. president GEJ also did same which I was present may 12 this year. so is no news. Engr Emy

Okay #bright bravo#

Dats so goooood....And the Enugu deputy gov was impeached for aving a poultry in d govt house... Nigeria need to learn

Dats so lovely,

waiting for uncle jona and patience to grow sometin too. lolllll

Click here to copy this system and use it to make good pay daily for yourselves, Doubt it if you wish

Chineke God i knw yu are still alive in my matter.... Lovely family no doubt....

Lovely......****QUEENMAYA******

Good
Don't expect this in 9ja

This is beautiful

becckyd said...

Intelligent people..

.love them Linda post my comments

I like this humility act I'm seeing o

See simplicity. I wish our "Mummies" can emulate. Abella

Where is Dame Patience kitchen garden? Oh, it cost #1 billion naira in our budget to feed mama goodluck and his fatty son!!! Anuofia

Chioma Ijomah said...

I love these people..
See how they made farming seem like a fun thing to do..

Obama be like "yeah my talented wife and kids did it !!

Very nice I love dis concept AMYsexy

Love them to bits !!!!!!!!!

beautiful idea keep it up all d way #proud Africa!!!

Love me some Michelle Obama!
This is the kind of people I admire and look up to. They lead by example.
Michelle, you just won my heart all over again. Thumbs up momma

But here in Nigeria we would rather impeach a governor for rearing poultry in the government house!

Hmmmm, seen!! She should also plant cassava, and yams

Joy Adeniyi said...

Great! Agriculture rules the World.

@bunny..u don't know how ridiculous some folks can be..spilling venoms @ every giving chance..if mama peace uploads a pic attending to her green,this same folks will be the ones slamming her..incase u don't know..she's got other priorities to attend to..lest u'v forgotten she's still leading the Bringbackourgirls rally..douche

U got me laughing!

U can ask him. olodo!!

Aigbe kester said...

Wow..I love it cool..

Take note rich nigerian ladies. You children now grow up frying egg and boiling indomie.

clovis louis said...

Come do that with me princess

Kabuoy said...

No, just when you lie about it... why won't a poultry smell like one... (that's if you're referring to fayose in ekiti some years back)

Patience jonathan dat can't even say a complete sentence in english language. Is she now d one dat wants to grow a farm??? That fat excuse of a woman I wonder why she's called first lady, she should be called first madam or first orobo of nigeria

Hahahahaha. I taya for my pple

Humility in action. This is so lovely.

Ok seen n heatd

Ok seen n heard

Dis fool, can u say dis things b4 ur children? Sure u re thousands of miles away from aving a family sef. Mscheeeew

Lizzy said...

Seeing these things make me dislike Nigeria the more! These people are just too unquie.

...food for thought!

It's not just about the gardens it is about the humility n selflessness our politicians shud learn

Gracee Love said...

I love this woman so much

fresh food!!

LOooooooool...na so so dollars gej dey harvest

jst take a look at d first lady squattin ryt dae in d garden.nigeria leadas n dia wives wer una dey.....

@Kanyisola, he is referring to the Enugu deputy governor's case, not Fayose.

LMAO @ Mrs president

This is really Good Idea.

pipifierce said...

Rich pple pls learn 2b humble. Humility is d key success.

Please check out new blog wit juicy gists from zaria. http://kslala.blogspot.nl/?m=1

Nana said...

Haahahaha! Funny but true....

Though I don't like Jonathan for many reasons but am proud of him for doing what non other Nigeria leader has not done
Jonathan is the first Nigeria leader that present his real wife that suffered with him as the firs lady ..I will not say more than that because you know it morevthan I do
If our no 3 man become president today you know his first lady. If OGA atiku enters you know his own.
All the married women that has suffered with their husband should be celebrating OGA jona and the wife of his youth .
When things better for African man then hevwill realise that his wife is too fat ,illiterate, not presentable
As a woman I pray for you any lady,star actress, miss hell fire.etc that want to take your sit when your husband you are struggling with now becomes popular shall fall down and die .
If you say Amen don't abuse mama peace again .celebrate their marriage . they have done what no Nigeria leader can do
Remembered I am not a fan of Jonah but I like his courage in only this aspect