The 6 Toughest Interview Questions – and How to Answer Them | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 5 November 2014

The 6 Toughest Interview Questions – and How to Answer Them

Here are 6 tough interview questions you should be ready to answer, along with strategies on how to respond to them in a way that makes you stand out:

See the latest jobs in Nigeria - HERE. Continue...

Could you tell me a little about yourself?
Most interviewers use this question not only to gather information, but also to assess your poise, style of delivery and communication ability. Don't launch into a mini-speech about your childhood, schooling, hobbies, early career and personal likes and dislikes. Instead, briefly cite recent personal and professional work experiences that relate to the position you're seeking and that support your credentials.

Why did you leave your previous employer, or why are you leaving your present job?
If you were fired for performance issues, it's best to merely say you "parted ways" and refocus the discussion on how your skill set matches the current position. If you currently have a job, focus on why you're seeking greater opportunity, challenges or responsibility. If you're transitioning to a new industry, discuss why you're making the transition and tie it into the new job responsibilities (make sure that you have very strong references regardless of why you left, or are leaving, a position).

What are your weaknesses?
Realize that most interviewers don't expect you to be perfect or reveal your true weaknesses. Turn this question around and present a personal weakness as a professional strength. Let's assume that you're detail-oriented, a workaholic and that you neglect friends and family when working on important projects. You can turn these weaknesses around by saying that you're very meticulous and remain involved in projects until you've ironed out all the problems, even if it means working after hours or on the weekend.

Another tactic is to discuss an area where you're seeking improvement, and then highlight the steps you're taking to meet that goal. Perhaps you're an accountant, and are working to improve your knowledge of payroll procedures by taking courses at a local college, or maybe you're an IT professional earning additional certifications.

What sets you apart from other applicants?
The interviewer who asks you this is really probing your readiness for the job, your ability to handle it, your willingness to work hard and your fitness for the job. Show your readiness by describing how your experience, career progression, qualities and achievements make you an asset. Keep it professional, and focus on the value you'll bring to the position. Highlight your ability by discussing your specific skills and accomplishments, but don't forget to show your interest in the job itself.

Where do you hope to be in three years?
This question is often asked of recent college graduates, and the worst answer is to say that you want to be president of the company or have the interviewer's position. Instead, talk about what motivates you especially what will motivate you on this job and what you hope to have accomplished.

Do you have any questions?
Don't say "no," or that everything has been thoroughly discussed. If you think the interviewer has any doubts, now's the time to restate why you're the most logical candidate for the opening. Show your interest in the company by preparing some key questions in advance. Asking about corporate culture or what the interviewer likes the best about the company will give you insight and let the interviewers know that you're interviewing them as well.

See the latest jobs in Nigeria here - http://goo.gl/9YFZ8S

45 comments:

Uche Emma said...

Good

Eugenia said...

Nice one. Thanks.

OMZYNIFICENT said...

LOL BUH KUL THO.OMZZY

Val lala said...

I hear una. Val lala say so valenrinechisom7@gmail.com

OMZYNIFICENT said...

LOL BUH KUL THO.OMZZY

Owk nice and commendable initiative.

Dave Mide said...

The 2nd question is mandatory , every employer wanna know that

OMZYNIFICENT said...

yeah like criously,.BONARIO U ARE ALWAYS COMMENTING ! NAWA THAT'S JUST TO KEEP YA FAME!!

thank you for this...

GodblessNigeria

Copied. Made sense.

yeah, especially d weaknesses bit. phew!

liflblog.WordPress.com

LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERYDAY!

ChincoBee said...

Hmmmm well what people don't know is that there is no precise way to answer interview questions because all interviewers expect different response.What interviewer A wants to hear from you is different from what interviewer B wants to hear. Just be yourself and if you have to lie about some things,be consistent with it

Nathaniel said...

Wow....coool

Peejay said...

Nice tips. I hope to be the one interviewing though.

Nice one #onelovefromSnow#

Insight,.I remain #Immanuel..Youngkixx93@gmail.com

hmm very good,i really learn alot.

Daralohi said...

Nice one.

Gud Insight@linda..I remain #Immanuel..Youngkixx93@gmail.com

Dammit Linda, you for tell us this since nah? So na like this I just carry my rightful position for that job troway. God pass them sha

Good

I used to be a fan of jobberman before but recently they dont have good job post. kindly post jobs that are benefiting and not bar man vacancy or Teacher vacancy

jobinformant said...

Nice one. Jobinformant for latest hot job vacancies in Nigeria.

myraclebee said...

Keep his fame?
How e take concern u na?
Abi una sleep togeda wake together?

Thanks so much for this linda, I have an interview tomorrow #divineintervention

Gentletee said...

Quite educative! Kudos Linda.

Thx linda.

harby said...

LINDA THANKS FOR DIS

now this is the best post I've read on LIB, helping peeps with their career.

more of this.

cheers!!!

F.O.B sayz so

elovi said...

Nice 1

Linda, how does it feel to kick some knowledge for the First time? or maybe Second time lol glad i saw this today. oooshey!

Mayor

paul aina said...

A very good piece and instructive but Nepotism is the order of the day, the job placement is often time on the basis of man know man and not on merit

interesting.u jst reduced my ignorant

nice work LIB
courtesy: www.naijarace.com

orlando said...

Nice work LIB.keep up the good work.

BONARIO!!! Ur fada left lap!!!!! if you think say LINDA wan dash you money again , u dive igneous rock!!! Awon eleyiii!!!!SAPELE PIKIN SAY SO!! heheheehehe

Joy Adeniyi said...

Nice one. I always look forward to reading stuffs like this

Niceone linda, making sense post no doubt...

Regina said...

Wonderful
ave learnt something 2day.

Jessica law said...

The first time I went for interview and I was asked all the questions above omo I failed, but the second time I went for another bank interview I was successful tho I did not take the job because I got another better offer.. so linda things like dis helps. most ppl need to be educated more on this and also how to dress for an interview.

Nice. Thanks Linda.
And I never ever see my comments

make sense

Sridhar Chandrasekaran said...

You have such an interesting blog. Thanks for sharing, I enjoyed reading your posts. All the best for your future blogging journey.

Moonshine said...

I hail o my safi sis/bro I missed sapele small abeg help me go hail my papa for yoruba road tnks.

Ina said...

You are still ignorant. lol! Your grammar.