Photos: World Trade Centre reopens after 13 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 November 2014

Photos: World Trade Centre reopens after 13 years

13 years after the 9/11 attack, the World Trade Center is re-opening for business & has been renamed One World Trade Center. 

Standing at 541 meters with 104 floors, it is officially America’s tallest building and cost $3.9 billion to put the skyscraper together. One of the first tenants, publishing giant Conde Nast started moving in yesterday, Anna Wintour, the editor of Vogue, is said to be moving to the 25th floor with her staff, while Vanity Fair editor, Graydon Carter, has chosen the 41st floor. An official opening ceremony date is yet to be fixed.

The old twin buildings went down on September 11, 2001 after it was hit by two planes hijacked by terrorist group, al-Queda. See more pics of the new structure after the cut...

Photo Credit : Getty Images, EPA, Associated Press

67 comments:

Uche Emma said...

Glorious!
Tenacity!

But why didn't they make it twin tower again?

Noted

Seen....nxt!

mummy's girl said...

Thank God o

Wow!!! Grt!

Thats great and all... but have you visited my blog yet? *big grin*

www.askralph.blogspot.com it is like the world trade centre of awesomeness. lol

Nice job done...obama all the way

10 Smart Ways To Spend Your Money Wisely

10 Simple Steps To Change Your Life

Oyibo dey try!

www.glowyshoe.com said...

good for them...security will b tight

visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

I pray ISIS won't come for it this time

Bike Packing Blog said...

Was just like yesterday. Mehnnnn these Americans can amaze people ooo. This architectural masterpiece is a great engineering feat.

good news! i hope to visit there someday...

#Godblessnigeria

That's good.

seunLondon said...

Wow!!! God bless America...#SeunLondon

Good
That's great

God bless America.

hey Linda i wannna make enquiries on how i can advertise on your blog. Thanks

Nice.

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

I cant see it clearly from here. I ll go to US to ve a better view. Go with bullet proof o

The horror of that day still remain ingrained in my memory.This is goodnews

Nonso Pascal said...

Magnificient building but I must confess this is a sign of End-time ponder on the name "One World Trade Centre"

Read my blog sha...
B’Haram brings Mubi under Sharia, amputates 10

Jennykiss said...

Amazing...

To think one day, through all our prayers, this very-stubborn-Continent would emulate significant good from the West...Just one day I hope.

...Warm applauds US1

Amicable said...

Wow better looking now

Great
(( Frosh Nigga is here)

Lolxx I once heard it's nothing like any al-qaeda group dat bomb it.. I heard it's d Govt themselves dat did it.. God knows bestie

Wow! What an intimidating edifice.

God knows best

Wow, looks even better!

Welcome back.
Faceoflib

paul aina said...

America is a trail blazer in anything. Anytime they fall they pick something up. Kudos to the state for not falling flat, Osama is already receiving the treatment he deserves by taking the lives he can not create. His fellow blood sucking vampire ; Boko Haram, ISIS will also go down with him In sha Allah, In sha Jesus, In sha orunmila

Starting afresh, ...ça va?

Val lala said...

Good for them. #vallala# valentinechisom7@gmail.com

WOW....Goodnews

emeka ezechukwu said...

Architectural masterpiece.

At last. Glory

WIZZY said...

nice one.........via LIB READER.

Jessica law said...

Wow good to know, I wish to be there some day.

fantastic, looks better than before

WOOOOOOOOOOOW! If anyone tries to blow it up this time, they will face the worlds wrath

Wow...Good job

Only change is constant.

Waow! I will rent the first floor

Nigeria will spend more than this amount on something and we will still not see the thing..hmmmmn

Seputar Dunia said...

wow ,, Great ,, nice info , thanks

I don't mind visiting ground zero but i don't think i want to go into the new building. There will always be a sick feeling in one's belly of what could happen...

how old were you 13yrs ago... stop forming here

Very wonderful, are our politicians seeing this. We have much more to do this but corruption has blinded them.

Magnificent

CHIKITO said...

U SEE, ONLY 3.5BILLION DOLLARS. EVEN BURJ KHALIFA IN DUBAI, WORLD'S TALLEST BUILDING, AS STUNNING AS IT IS, COST ONLY 1.5BILLION DOLLARS. ONLY!! HOW MUCH DID SANUSI SAY WAS MISSING FROM CBN? A FREAKING 20BILLION DOLLARS! AND THAT IS BUT A FRACTION OF THE STOLEN WEALTH!
HA, NIGERIA! WE CAN BUILD 5 WORLD TRADE CENTERS, 5 BURJ KHALIFAS, 7 CNN'S AND STILL HAVE CHANGE. BUT WE ARE COLLECTIVELY FOOLISH PEOPLE. LED BY EVEN MORE CLUELESS IDIOTS. NO PRIDE, NO SHAME. NO WORLD CLASS STANDING INSTITUTION. AS BLESSED AND RICH AS WE ARE..

LET THE WHITE MAN CONTINUE CARRYING FIRST IN THIS LIFE, WHILE WE CONTINUE CLAPPING FOR HIM, AND BEGGING HIM FOR ZMAPP, FUNDS, VALIDATION. THAT IS ALL WE ARE GOOD AT. BEGGING. SLAVERY. GOING TO HIS COUNTRY TO SNAP 'CUTE'PICTURES FOR INSTAGRAM. (INSTAGRAM, AN APP INVENTED BY A 24-YEAR OLD HUMAN LIKE US.) SNAPPING A COUNTRY THAT WILL NEVER BE OURS..

I HAIL YOU AMERICA, I LOOK AT U AND BELIEVE THAT THE HUMAN BRAIN CAN ACTUALLY THINK, CREATE AND ACHIEVE SO MUCH, I LOOK AT YOU AND KNOW THAT HEAVEN WILL BE PROUD AT WHAT 'MAN' HAS PROCREATED FROM GOD'S RAW MATERIALS. I LOOK AT YOU AND KNOW THAT A COUNTRY CAN. ONLY OF THEY WANT TO. ENJOY YOUR SUCCESS, YOUR ANCESTORS/POLITICIANS WORKED HARD AND YOU ARE INDEED FREE.

Osama, Osama, Osama! May rise up again just like shekau

Which horror...d one U heard or d one u saw or watched? ...howold were U den? like 12, 13, or 14.....abeg jor, easy

I'm forever proud to be an American. I just hope one day I won't have reason to flush my green passport down the drain.

Shut up. Village Susu. If you don't know what to say. Why will you attach everything to end time.

abujakenneth said...

$3.9 billion heh. If it is Nigeria it will be $3.9 trillion

Da real deal said...

Wow dis is huge....congrats to d US of A

I salute all the structural, building and civil engineers for a great edifice like this. Me and height, mbanu!!! God knows why he pushed me to the medical line. If am opportuned to rent a place there, ground, first and second floor " na there be my bus stop" I no go beyond dos floors.

@ Chikito, well said. I couldn't agree with you more. Nigeria, a country blessed with so much human and natural resources and still in this state.

Babe, u talk. God bless you jare.

I salute all the structural, building and civil engineers for a great edifice like this. Me and height, mbanu!!! God knows why he pushed me to the medical line. If am opportuned to rent a place there, ground, first and second floor " na there be my bus stop" I no go beyond dos floors.

Wow! This is good fo sight seeing #onelovefromSnow#

Nonso Pascal said...

I no go shut up you hia

Toronto Goatest, why re u Mad @ d whole world, put ur brains togeda xo God will recognise u wen sharing blessings...pls

Beautiful work of art...

Chai! @ meetdrealevans ur a darling! Help me tell d lost sheep! Have u seen his kleg b4? I made him change his profy pics! D k legs is smoking hat! Ukwu gbagoro agbago. Torotoro ugliest!

Why would the government destroy one of their most magnificent buildings and kill almost 3000 citizens?9/11 remains one of the darkest days in American History,do some research before adding your own 2 cents.