GEJ, other ECOWAS leaders head to Ouagadougou for crisis talk | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 November 2014

GEJ, other ECOWAS leaders head to Ouagadougou for crisis talk

Read the State House press release below...
President Goodluck Jonathan will travel to Ouagadougou tomorrow as a member of the three-man delegation of Heads of State and Government raised by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) to facilitate the rapid resolution of the current political crisis in Burkina Faso.
Other members of the delegation of ECOWAS leaders are President Macky Sall of Senegal and President John Mahama of Ghana who is the current Chairman of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government.
During their one-day visit to Ouagadougou, President Jonathan and his Ghanaian and Senegalese counterparts are expected to meet with Burkina Faso’s interim Head of State, Lt.-Col. Isaac Zida, opposition leaders, members of civil society and other political stakeholders in the country.
Recent political turmoil in Burkina Faso led to the resignation of former President Blaise Compaore and the assumption of power by Lt.-Col. Zida
The African Union’s democratic charter requires its 54 member-states to act against the forceful overthrow of elected governments on the continent.
The Union has given the Burkina Faso military an ultimatum to transfer power back to a civilian administration within two weeks or face sanctions.
President Jonathan will be accompanied to Ouagadougou by the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Dr. Nurudeen Mohammed and some of his principal aides and advisers.
Reuben Abati
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)
November 4, 2014

44 comments:

We have our own crises here, no African country has volunteered to help us out. Lin Lin post my comment.

I wish em good luck and his name is goodluck

This is not the kind of news I wanna hear, he should put more efforts to save this country from BH #onelovefromSnow#

APPLELIPX said...

Just give d military d weapons yu pple borrowed money to buy to fyt so they wont have to abandon their barracks for d insurgents

All this meetings na long talk

Olusoji said...

I pray Their meeting will better the africans' lots.

They should go am on my way.. please visit my blog www.udokajane.blogspot.com

GEJ come back home o,your house is on fire and you are going to fetch water to help quench another man's house,please is it that you enjoy travelling or you just have displaced priority. ......na wa o

I don hear!

Nairaland Trending topic for the week: Ways to survive Unemployment in Nigeria

Haha.. His house is on fire, he's busy 'looking' for rats to chase. His advisers has failed woefully again!!!
Where he's going to help resolve issues, is it worse than his house?

*My R1.50c comment*

See this embarrassing video lady who got drunk and hibernated in the street

Ykay said...

While ur own house is on Fire,keep flying up and down.

ok..hoping it will be successful...

nice..

Haha.. His house is on fire, he's busy 'looking' for rats to chase. His advisers has failed woefully again!!!
Where he's going to help resolve issues, is it worse than his house?

*My R1.50c comment*

The Igbos have a proverb: 'onye uno ya na gba oku, ona chu oke?' (I hope I said that right!) The translation: A person whose house is on fire doesn't go about chasing rats! Boko Haram is seizing states and facilities and ransacking police stations and army barracks, yet our President is busy outside playing leader! Mmmm opuru ezi di mma!

May God help us with our internal crisis too cos we have no one to talk to.

Ok #bright bravo#

Uncle Jona just dey waka waka about.
Faceoflib

Safe journey n Gudluk,no 4qt say ebola stil dy dah area o so nor shake anybody.I remain #immanuel..Youngkixx93@gmail.com

and who and who is in the delegation to solve our own BH crisis

Although oloriburuku ni GEJ yi,however jst one day without our clueless oga won't make any difference, person wey dey country like say we no get president.

Don Z said...

why would GEJ travel to Burkinafaso to solve thier problem when Nigeria is boiling.This administration is acting as if they r on a mission to promote anarchy and blood bathing.GEJ should act now because when it will happen there won't be any hidding for the golden fish.

Mtcheeeew...everyday fruitless meetings

so oga president u fit go facilitate another country's crisis while urs is grilling with thousands of lives wasted and even more at stake. sha its all planned. well do ur thang while God does His...

This stupid Presido has not resolved d problem of Boko eating up his crotch,but decides to help kill d lice on a neighbour's private part,mtcheeeeew. I can't blive I wasted my vote on dis thing Smh.

Val lala said...

Our Oga at the top among the three men, hmm! #vallala# valentinechisom7@gmail.com

jona is going there wt boko boys,he never solve his country's prob

jonathan nigeria is burning naw

Imagine! When his own house is on fire.

GEJ till 2019.

HUMBLE EVE said...

And wat about Boko Haram? Clean ur house first Mr President

This talk thing no come dey make sense again i swear.....

And boko haram dey wreck havoc here.... #IronyOfLife..

Crisis in Burkina faso when his own house is burning? This man is a joke.

Nigerians better behave themselves well and vote this president out in the next election. until the entire northern states become Boko Haram states before international community hold talks on our own Nigerian crisis. MTCHEWWWWW!!!

I believe GEJ knows what he's doing, we Nigerians think he's weak or can't tackle boko haram? He's doing nothing so boko haram can destroy many part of the north so as to weaken the voting strength of the northerners. Let boko haram attack bayelsa, you will see quick response from our military. GEJ is also equipping Niger Delta region as he knows that he can't win 2015 general election and they control the larger part of our economy, Niger delta is ready to go, come 2015 I hope there will still be a republic but with GEJ'S selfishness i don't think there will still be Nigeria. His administration is so corrupt and terrible and people are so tired of his recklessness, we say we don't want him to rule us and he insist in ruling us, isn't that forcing himself over us, if we say GEJ remember there will be history, he doesn't care because he doesn't have a child of his own so his son is never going to rule the country. Please vote him out in the coming election.

GEJ is the most incompetent president ever in our history. Imagine ignoring the inferno in his own country and traveling to put out the smoke in another man's land.

tenny said...

Who do advice this man? and why will he not just make use of his own God given brain,Nigerian r becoming refugees under ur leadership n his busy dancing naked outside,is Ecowas blind to the happenings in nigeria that they can't come to ur aid or they feel we don't what the help.

Ozed said...

Charity begins at home.We have a bigger right here.There is no need for the President to go for any peace talk outside our boarder.

Yeye president, his own house is on fire, he still have the effrontery to go nd put out another person's fire. The one happening here doesn't concern him, he has counted it as everyday thing in Nigeria so it doesn't concern him. Yet some people without eyes are still campaigning for him to come back, not in this Nigeria again. Who want to be under his leadership for another 4 years? (God forbid what am thinking)

Uche Emma said...

We should watch our back so that we, as a country, don't head in that direction too.

He is panicking he knows that if the military succeed in Burkina Faso they may also succeed here. Nigerians had better VOTE THIS MAN OUT HE IS A TRAIN WRECK AND KEEPS GOING DOWN

Hope they include the ongoing crisis in Nigeria. It is becoming a serious issue.

Lol! Looks like they are avoiding the Liberian president, Ebola wahala! I no wan Laugh abeg.