Pics: UNILAG students use pure water to put out fire at their hostel | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 12 October 2014

Pics: UNILAG students use pure water to put out fire at their hostel

The popular Madam Tinubu Hall, MTH, was gutted by fire in the early hours of today after a student used a hot plate to cook and put it under her bed without totally putting out the heat. Thankfully no student was killed in the fire. A few of them were however injured when they tried to jump from their windows to escape the fire.

The saddest part of it all was that students had to resort to using pure water to put the fire because there was no water in the hostel. Quite sad! See more photos after the cut...

131 comments:

WHAT A SHAME!!!

God help them

OMOBA said...

Woow...that's good. Let's wait and hear what the school has to say about the lack of water.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Ehya...so sad..wats wrong with our fire service

Visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Fashion Style said...

Eeya....wlcm back big sista

Bad event
Thank God, nobody died

No water in d hostel ofallplaces in a skol env...... dats d prob with Naija...

Thank God no death was recorded...

Princess Charming said...

Chai! Naija!

Eeya...wlcm back sista

it was a very close call. but we thank God for life

Helena said...

Na wah ooh

Linda's bestie said...

Naija I hail thee

Thanks God know body injured,d hostel don't have water is shame for d management of hostel

Bianca Bruno said...

No water at night!?
That's terrible. Am happy no one was hurt.

Funso Samuel said...

Water scarcity,unstable electricity, uncoducive environment etc are few outta the problems we students are facing in our various universities hostels.Cant say about private uni sha o.

That student was careless though...but thank God no life was lost.

Oma se oooooo

Thank God no life was lost.

D@s wat we re facin in dis country ooO...if skul get lyf water no go dey,if water dey lite no go dere....thank God no lyf wz lost...

Thank God nobody died

Such a pity, tnk God no lives were lost

lovlyivon said...

Choi bad governance but the person taking this pix wasn't helping in putting the fire out I guess

And Who Approves Linda

@Charming_rascal said...

No water in the hostel, the fire extinguishers are not working. Which kind Village girl do that kind thing sef.. Tnk God she no kill person..

#The Theist

May God continue to guide us

Lady Of The Waters. said...

That is what u get when u wont allow govt increase tuition.
Sorry o..

Lesson learnt; always keep a bag of pure water,you never know when it'll come handy in this messed up country of ours.

Ahah!!Naija!!!....
===Pearl===

haters-slayer said...

Wow,thank GOd no one was hurt.

Codedexam said...

Wht will they do since they gat no choice

Why are Our Ladies exposing Their Body so Cheaply? (SEE PHOTOS) CLICK HERE TO VIEW

hotgirl said...

wow!that was my hall o.

thank God the fire did not cause much damage..

tank God for his Grace

Ajiifixing said...

#Murderous Nation.

An hostel like that should have fire extinguishers.

D ROCK said...

pure water to put the fire because there was no water in the hostel? No fireman service?
Oh!See ever pretty actress nadia buari caught in a hotel with a prophet

Moonshine said...

Greatest akokite! Thank goodness the fire was put out eventually..........MTH won't be erase by fire.

Click Here to See all Celebrities Nude Pics and Video Leaked Online

Chai, really sad tho, hot plate wahala

It is well, all dis our nigerian dead hostels

Wow

May God take control

At this tym of the nyt..... Thank God no one died though.....

Thank God that no life was lost.

That's jst d way it is...welcome to the system baby...

tnk God nobody died

Wow thank God no live was lost

Imagine they can not even provide basic amenities F̶̲̅õ̳͡я̅ d student they r busy sharing 25k all in d name of re-run Ŋa̶̲̥̅ wah

Modupe

TONY EDEH (SABBENK) said...

Thank God their lives that's all that matters

Naija I hail thee.

This is why I say Unilag students are jokers! They can block third mainland bridge simply becos govt renamed the school after a man who have donated millions and helped a lot of student thru scholarships but can remain ok with no water and dirty hostels! Rubbish. Shame on all of u Unilag students!

Lol... pure water? Oh my God. .. the almighty Unilag... smh

John

what is pure about the water... it's sachet water???

I'l just give up nd stop visiting, is it a crime to try to comment, why don't u want to post it

Naija university self na wao, common water no dey. Tomorrow govt go tell us billion naira say billion no say. There is God make them continue.

All these federal universities should do something about their hostels o... mostly hall 2 in uniben that there's never water

Paerdee Food Company, Inc. said...

Wow thats bad ooo,what are government doing imagine no water(technocrat.com.ng for free data browsing)

Later when they say don't cook in the hostel.. ppl will complain that they are upgrading them to semi secondary school.. it is well

Whera are d fire fighter? Hmmmm

Thank God#iamswwish#

Are u looking for a suger mummy or daddy please call dis line 08132333771 please be mature...

Hmm... Really sad.
Naija go better when?.. plus worn out fire extinguisher.

*My R1.50c comment*

What a shame in the part of lagos state govt... Nwa madiba*

Tee said...

SHAME ON THAT COUNTRY CALLED NIGERIA. NO ACTIVE FIRE SERVICE. NOTHING SEEMS TO BE WORKING IN THAT COUNTRY. HEALTH SYSTEM IS FUCKED UP! GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS FLYING OUT OF THE COUNTRY FOR MEDICAL ATTENTION. WHILE THE POOR DIE COS THEY CANT AFFORD FOREIGN TREATMENT. AND WE CALL NAIJA GIANT OF AFRICA. GIANT MY ASS...

And yet they say they want to ban pure water. Little drops can really make a ocean

arike said...

Thank God for der lives

Bhunmee said...

Awwww ehya...thank God no one died,buh using pure water to put out fire??weird tho

Hah terrible situation, I ran downstairs with my wrapper,phone n Documents. A well kitted fire service official ws nw strolling in without anythn.chai ds country ehn

thank God no one was killed..

Omg.......

All we wud have seen will be burnt Brazilian hair and burnt make up kit. That's their property. Becos they will take their bb phones in the race out.

Thank God no one was injured.

Omo na so we see am o

Omo na so we see am o thank God no 1 was killed, smh

No water, no 911 called, too bad.

Jibz said...

Lindy did u say pure water?geez....i wonder wat dey wud ve used if der wasnt pure water as well...mayb der tears and urine wud ve done some good..and u call dat a hostel?dnt think so

christian said...

hmm...thanks be to God

blood of GOD...wlcm back big sista

Thank God they eventually put it out and no one died

IKEBABA said...

So sorry abt dat...why no water?oh thought APC said they have done everything??If this was in a PDP state bet me lai will be making headlines by monday with his Buhaha statement*

I didn't ve to bring politics in this but dis is Naija for u*No live lost and am happy abt dat

I luv The Nigerian survival spirit. Quite a sad news tho!

Tnak God no life was involve

Waoh! Fire ke?!

Add 2B5CB881 for Organic beauty products

Wea was d skul management?messd up skul nd fank God nobodi died.

What a country! So unfortunate, thank God there wasn't any loss of life!

Na wah o

No water in a hostel? God,wat is our oil money used for, are the student not paying skul fees

Ikponwa

Na wa ooo a whole skool of first choice.....

Instead of ol hands 2 b on deck 2 put off d fire, sum were busy takin pics! Lindo see wat u r causin!

Nawao.
faceoflib

student and their funny act

NaNcY DreW said...

Is 9ja system buh is sad no extinguisher.

Ntuen Etim Etim said...

Geeeeeee ! this is like a typical BACKWARD 4th world country.

And this is from a state whose former governor has 2 PRIVATE JETS. And coincidentally, his name is also...TINUBU.

Neymar said...

Eyaaaah

tolex cakes N more, Ilorin said...

Thank God no life was lost

Aunty Linda, there was water in the hostel, there was just different means in quenching the huge fire. I'm a resident of the hostel

Riwo Adhuze said...

Thank God, no life was lost.

WOW. NO FIRE SERVICE ON SCHOOL GROUND ABI? HM! WELCOME BACK GIRL. WAS WORRIED ABOUT YOU FOR A BIT!

Aww dts rlly sad. ...tnk God nobody got hurt ..acharyti@yahoo.com

Wow thank God nobody dies may the Lord heal the injured ones

seunzyl said...

SMH for my dear country..no water,no power supply,no job,bad roads,no money,no food infact no Nigeria.we look upto you oh lord

Linda, thats not true...
MTH is basically d only hall in New hall that has water constantly.....We couldn't get through to the water and other girls on other floors ran out....

Thank God that the fire went off

And their fire service is just opposite mass comm. All the authorities know how to do best in that school is to extort money thru any means to continue erecting unnecessary structure. Naija Students dey suffer sha. *smh*

distin said...

Here we go again,God bless the students for their initiative in protecting the building from burning down... Maybe this is a blessing in disguise for them to now have constant water supply....And for that student who kept hot plate under the bed SMH for u oooooo......

SalmaLena said...

It wasn't funny, right in my front a girl jumped from 3rd floor, smoke, blood and broken body parts...i couldn't get myself for hours

The true leaders of tomorrow helping each other out. They don't need fire fighters, they are responsible for themselves. Nice!

Thank God govt isn't in control of pure water, pure water company wud av bin on strike....naija my country

Y all dis? Fire with pure water? God dey! Every day new story
First 2 comment
@Chic.arazu@yahoo.com

School life mehn? Nothing like it, the unity, the love, the joy, the struggle, the pain and the gain. I miss my uni dayz.

tank God no life was lost.and tank God for purewater o.

Chai pure water 4 dat mata! Govt sud provide water 4 d skul tnk God say no body die!
Knight's arc!

That's Gej for u....mberidem!

thaboiprince@gmail

I pity for tham that is nigeria for u soon the go use urine may God save them oooo

That's my guy!! I sight u my bro, Always on the forefront of danger, Looool, bad guy!

Says CRISPELS!

dimma licia said...

This is Nija where d unbelievable is believable.

dimma licia said...

This is Nija where the unbelievable is believable.

Power of unity. United we stand. But the girl wey cause this fire sha. If you check now, the food wey she cook no sweet oh

God..... We went through hell today. We were suffocating inside on the A n N wing of d hostel. Before d key to d back gate was opened. That was y students started breaking d windows n jumping due to suffocation. in order to escape bones were broken n all. it wasn't funny at all...

funny thing is that the fire station is just two minutes drive from that hostel... So if that fire cant be stopped quickly no fire in that school can

Like seriously? Unilag hostel without water at this age? We have a long way to go as a country.

So am wondering? Are you a student too? You need to take a crash course in EGL 101(use of English)

This our country sha..God help us

they improvise.. cool.

Pls kind-hearted Libiers help me b4 I go crazy. I need 50k to solve an imminent problem, no amount is too small. Acct Name: Edith Pepple. Acct No: 2023608106, UBA. Tnx & God bless

This is so so pathetic and extremely shameful. This shameful news and photos have now spread all over the world courtesy of the internet and it is unimaginable that it will give to youths in better organised countries. Nigerian youths must wake up, be proactive and take charge in ensuring an urgent and overdue change of leadership in this country. The inordinate preoccupation of our youths with english premier league, foreign fashion, movies and other mundane colonial things will only ensure they remain stuck in this type of primitive existence; but who knows, maybe they have accepted this bleak existence as a normal way of life.

Shame on you too. Bloody idiot

Thank God there are numerous fire extinguishers in my school

Good work.