Bizarre: Meet the Brazilian man born with his head upside-down | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 1 September 2014

Bizarre: Meet the Brazilian man born with his head upside-down

A man born with physical disabilities so severe his head is Upside-down has defied the odds to become an inspirational public speaker.

Claudio Vieira de Oliveira, 37, was born with his neck folded back on itself, as well as badly deformed legs and almost no use of his arms and hands. Doctors told his mother to stop feeding him as a newborn as they believed he had no chance of survival. But Claudio from Monte Santo, Brazil, has overcome his extreme disadvantages to graduate as an accountant and become a public speaker. Continue...

"Since I was a child I've always liked to keep myself busy and work - I don't like to depend totally on other people. I do a bit of accounting, research for clients and consulting. I have learned to turn on the TV, pick up my cell phone, turn on the radio, use the internet, my computer - I do it all by myself." he said.
Claudio types with a pen held in his mouth, operates phones and a computer mouse with his lips and has specially made shoes that allow him to move around town. His determined independence saw him succeeding at school and qualifying as an accountant from the State University of Feira de Santana.

When Claudio was born, doctors told his mother Maria Jose he would not be able to survive. Maria Jose said:
"People started saying 'the baby is going to die' because he could barely breathe when he was born. Some people would say: 'Don't feed him, he is already dying'. But there's only happiness now. Claudio is just like any other person - that's how he was raised in this house. We never tried to fix him and always wanted him to do the normal things everyone else does. That's why he is so confident. He is not ashamed of walking around in the street - he sings and he dances."
At eight years old, Claudio, who had previously been carried everywhere, began to walk on his knees.

His family had to change the floor of the house so he could walk around without injuring himself.
Claudio's bed, plugs and lights had to be made lower so that he could do things for himself without asking for help.

He cannot use a wheelchair because of his unusual shape, making it hard for him to be independent outside the home - but he begged his mother to be allowed to go to school and learn with the other children. Doctors have recently diagnosed him with a rare condition called congenital arthrogryposis.

They believe he has multiple joint contractions in his legs and arms which mean they cannot extend properly. Claudio said:
"Throughout my life I was able to adapt my body to the world. Right now, I don't see myself as being different. I am a normal person. I don't see things upside-down. This is one of the things I always talk about in my interventions as a public speaker.
"Nowadays it's much easier to deal with the public, I'm not afraid of it anymore and I can say that I am a professional, international public speaker and that I receive invitations from all over the world."
Culled from UK Mirror

92 comments:

9jahub Blog said...

wahala

9jahub Blog said...

it is well..shoulod i say nature cheated on him.

MTN freebrowsing now available at www.9jahub.com

Crazy world

Easy-E said...

Wow... Wonder never seize to b amazing us....i like his fightin spirit unlike me who will lose hope.

Wow! In him I see not disability but a living testimony of God's love.
Even in his condition he is still happy and thanking his creator. God I'm sorry for the times I took your blessings in my life for coincidence.

God is wonderful. He has kept him alive all dis years n shall continue to keep him. Amen

Bizarre! I am thankful,Father!

Oh God! It is well. Isaiah 41:10. BishopDammy#

Truetalk said...

Na waoh. Never heard or seen something like this before. Good his people didn't give up on him and he made something out for himself.

Obara Jesus

Peejay said...

I'm still surprised he survived infancy. God is awesome.

Just when I thought I'd seen it all.
Can't this be corrected?; then again, Brazil is soo rich but yet soo poor.. If he was an American, sth might have been done abt at least the position of his head.
I admire his confidence; some in his condition may have committed suicide.

* My R1.50c comment *

Lord, am rily grateful...

confessor said...

Ohhh Lord!!! Wat sin has his forefathers committed 2 warrant this Lord....oooohhh I feel 4 him

God is great!! Aribitirabata

When life gives you Lemon, make lemonades.... This is infotaining and inspiring.......!#cheEzyjayne

ChincoBee said...

What a world...been in this state and still find the need to be up and doing...Even those that have a normal body still commit suicide but am glad he made so much out of his life.Thank you Lord for who and what I am....

His life is an inspiration to me. Indeed God is wonderful.

Na wa ooo God is really wonderfull. Doris

Sometimes the advocates of Euthanasia make sense.
Can someone pls tell me, what quality of life will this man have? ? ?

God is good some get shoe but no legs some have legs but dnt have shoes...I appreciate God for my life

So he sees the world upside down? Very unique.

Every baby born healthy is a MIRACLE, as a billion different things have to come together perfectly in the womb each time. The human body is AMAZING.

Kimmy*****

Whats my excuse....

OMG...God u r awesome

MICKY: #goosepimples..this is unbelievable. But he found a way despite his disability#totally inspiring

Ij pretty said...

God is Wonderful!!!!!!!!

I can't stop screaming. This is so unbelievable

Lord have mercy!!!

Still wondering how uncomfortable he will be feeling especially wen sleeping. Love his courage and boldness.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Ha

if only i could find words to describe how i feel right now then i would have made more sense

Weirdest story ever,Bizarre,things dey dis world ooooo,I can't fit shoutt

Allah is mighty..... Who says there is no God????..... U can be whatever u wanna be... Only if u believe

Beautiful lopez

wow.der is God oooo*alaska*

mystic Sun said...

Great Guy. Those of you shouting that, I dont have shoes, hat, cap, wristwatches etc should be thanking GOD for wat the have.

Indeed nobody is worthless or made to be poor by some witches or uncles in their villages. God has blessed every one with great potentials, but lazyness and greed has held most people down.

MAN KNOW THYSELF TO KNOW ALL

I saw this earlier, it scared the sh*t outta me, I thought if your head was upside down the blood goes to your brain and you die! How has he survived? God is good, he creates a way where there is no way and for a man who doctors didn't give a chance, he has come a long way. I hope many of our beggars on the street see his picture, read his story and are inspired. Cos there is ability in disability.

Debora chidume said...

God is awesome

Jesus Christ, oh my God,am so confused I don't know the right word to say. May God continue to be with him.

simply incredible

few said...

Wow! Some have normal hand,head nd leg yet dy r useless e.gbuhari e.t.c

God is awesome. ........araoluwa45@gmail.com

i had to turn my fone upside down to see his face, am sure am not the only one guilty of that

DADDYSWIFE said...

Chai,d Lord who made u shall continue to see u tru in Jesus name amen,amazin how some of nigerian beggers dt has only one deformed arm wil b tellin u to see their condition n that's y they cannot do anytin,thy should come n c him

So strange. Buh sha d guy no go fit 2 de torch lite babes oooo. Lool

Really weird

sisiclara said...

Omg this is were u see God's awesomeness!...

Mehn I will really want
to listen to one of his speeches n ask some questions....it is well.

GM

NigeriaFreeAds.com said...

I don't see things upside-down. This is one of the things I always talk about in my interventions as a public speaker.

This is Really Inspiring.
GOD BLESS YOU.

sandra-mary said...

I am motivated by this great man,God bless him

bunmi said...

God is good! All d tym

God be praised.

abdul said...

C me turning my fone upside down....

Beeteewhy said...

It doesn't make sense to me at all..why let him live, only for him to suffer? He may do certain things by himself,but he can never enjoy life to the fullest and he is better off dead. he should go away,he won't even know,the world would remember him,but his sufferings will be over. imagine the pains of having your head bent over. how does he feed himself? Sex? He should have been euthanized a long time ago.but no! I guess his mom was told that he will be a great child..oh yes he is now a motivational speaker..thank God for making him look this way so he can become a motivational speaker..as if we don't have great motivational speakers with great looks. Not the type that scares little kids.

*sobs* its well.....its stomach churning tho...his survival is a miracle because God always have a bigger plan and confuses us with this things.

»_»_• \0/ ^FORTUNEDEXC£L@REDIFFMAIL.COM^ »_»_• \0/

Phatymarh said...

Hmmm,I don't even know what to say

Shit always happen!

My bro, d lord is ur strenght

God I hv goose pimples, I'm so greatful to u lord.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

But WTF THOUGH? Why so backwards and ignorant?

nd i dy complain cos i dy short...may God 4giv me

God is jst. Awesome...imagin wen pple tot he culd'nt live or do it God mde a way....I dnt c in him a disabled man instead I c d wrk of d lord in him...

Chyluv! said...

Inspirational.

ENEMY ACTION
“The kingdom of heaven is like a man who sowed good seed in his field; but while men slept, his enemy came and sowed tares among the wheat and went his way."
Wherever we see death, sickness, disease, stealing, killing and destruction . . . IT IS NOT OF GOD.
Please do not attribute such works to my Father.
"Then God saw everything that He had made, and indeed it was very good."
Halleluyah.
- AE

@ u beetewhy am so sure u are a stack illiterate. I can swear u didn't finish ur Secondary education.

Who says his forefathers or parents must have sinned. His condition is for the sake of the gospel. He's happy, we all gonna die someday

So far its way better than yours.

The kind of news that keeps my fingers numb. I can only but wondered the paradox of life. Man, you are an inspiration.

Blog Admin said...

This is strange!

Forgive me oh Lord when I whine, for your handmade praise You the way You've made him. What about me that's fearfully n wonderfully made? Have mercy on me! #thinkingcorner

gabz said...

@ hilary yes o. The beggars wld be able to see d pic but NOT be able to read cos they used their disability as a reason not to improve themselves. Rather they like their bambi allah! I don't give street beggars money. Ild rather give people around me who in need cos charity even begins at home.

As long as you are alive. He deserves life more than you moron. Olodo oshi. With your so called fullness, you will never accomplish what he has. Useless comment. Miscarriage that never happened buruku yi.

Mehnn! I though it was another picture from ISIS controlled regions.

The man still looks happy while many able bodied Nigerian leave 90% of their lives sad faced!

Mekus!

There should be a law whereby the doctor has to dispose any deformed new baby...no need to let the parent,family member or the baby itself go through the life time struggle!

He is a living testimony of God's capabilities. From what i can see, he is happy and not depressed (suicide). Really inspired and I thank God for myself, life, situations and blessings.

No be small thing my brother!

hmmm...GOD IS GREAT

OMG!WOMAN said...

Oh dear Lord, he must have come through caesarean... Sigh!

GOD!!!

LEEZ said...

OMG! So bizzare! God I'm so thankful for my life! I'll forever praise your name!

Merciful God.

God can use whoever he wants no matter the person's condition and position in Life.God is awesome.

i love his pro activeness even in this state of being. Lord I thanks

vera said...

I just want to say thank you Lord

He is Jehova Overdooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

what a God

AND LATER YOU WILL SAY GOD IS PERFRCT..TSK

i love his determination. im inspired

dozy said...

Bless God

God is really amazing

◄ John 9 ►
New Living Translation
Jesus Heals a Man Born Blind

1As Jesus was walking along, he saw a man who had been blind from birth. 2“Rabbi,” his disciples asked him, “why was this man born blind? Was it because of his own sins or his parents’ sins?”

3“It was not because of his sins or his parents’ sins,” Jesus answered. “This happened so the power of God could be seen in him.

I think he answered that question in the article. Euthanasia would make sense with people like you however.