Port Harcourt records 2nd Ebola death - Health Minister | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 September 2014

Port Harcourt records 2nd Ebola death - Health Minister

The Nigerian Ministry of Health has announced the death of another Ebola patient in Port Harcourt. The victim is said to be an elderly woman who contracted the deadly virus while on admission in the same hospital where late Dr Enemoah died. The Minister's spokesman, Dan Nwomeh announced this on twitter today. Continue to see more of his tweets...

53 comments:

Now this has gotten out of hand

Man! Boko Haram in the north, ebola everywhere else! We don hear am!

Satinizer people! I carry mine About........ Always in ma hand bag.......pls go get yours! Its crazy here in PH.

Juicy Annie said...

@tyms like diz all we can do is pray*** Lord help ur children

May God have mercy on Nigeria.. Amen

sparklingeyez said...

KWEEN said...

The 296 under surveillance part is disturbing. Quite a number. But I commend the government's efforts so far.

Nigerians r quick to make decisions. No yardstick whatsoever. Because private school owners r after their own gain, they've pressed prof. Onyebuchi to allow schools re-open on 15th of sept. D prof. has agreed who knows what has transpired. That means there was no basis for putting d date on oct. 13th. Cos no analysis was mapped out. May God help them. Fellow Nigerians, let's bear in mind that these govt officials and school owners have mostly grown up children who are in higher institution or probably working. Na person wey get life they go school. May God help us.

haters-slayer said...

jesus christ,ebola go nah,uve over-stayd ya welcum

NaNcY DreW said...

God help us

Sylvonce said...

Hmmm...God help us.

togsonkaks said...

I just dunno what to say concerning this Ebola of a thing

So, Mister, Lagos has become Nigeria; because last contacts in surveillance will be freed in Lagos by then, schools are to resume Sept 15th. Has it been only 21 days since Sawyer came into Nigeria?, yet you have 75 people under surveillance. Those of us in PH are scape goats. Na October, my guy.

I would like to know how many people above 55 years have survived the latest Ebola outbreak in West Africa. I'm not talking about Nancy who used Zmapp.

May God help us

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

This is really getting serious. #####QUEENMAYA#####

preety B_cee said...

God save us oooooo

PAVOUR said...

Schools should remain closed till next yr.

Lyndywayne said...

Awww.... so sad.... I pray this ends.

ASHANKA said...

Contracted ???

Preshnext said...

Schools shouldn't be opened till Ebola has been completely controlled...no one should risk the lives of little children...

Preshnext said...

Schools shouldn't be opened till Ebola has been controlled completely..no one should put the lives of little children in danger

I so agree with you... till next year and e-learning shud b adopted this term or distance learning

Am scared of going to immunize my kids in heaith center.God help us!

NELSON said...

Its obvious that this virus sizes to leave our dear country...God I commit my entire family into ur hand and also my own country!

Itz well#chingychyke

Hmmmmmmn I'm so scared

Are you an epidemiologist? We want cure for all ages for now, before we begin to look for prevalence level and immune system play in the survival rate.

It is good to know we've been able to contained the virus to a significant level. My question is what drug did they use to manage it? Is it the same Zmapp? Are we missing something out?

Go to liberia and count....analyst for your papa parlour

oma said...

True talk my dear. Na person we dey alive de study. I'd prefer illiterate kids to sick and dying kids

oma said...

True talk my dear. Na person we get life de study

MICKY: #no words..it shouldn't keep spreading

We in ph no school for our kids oooo na who get life dey go school ,this man took an airport taxi ,The airport taxi man has a wife at home with kids does kids are in school also and u said our kids should go back to school no way

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

Schools should remain closed till this Ebola wahala reduces . It's when you are alive that you can talk of school.

Seriously, Lots of negative minds here, please people should try and be positive minded for once here. Why Always talking fear, looking for govt. to criticize, blaming people for every thing that happens to u. Haba! Let's change our mindset for the nation to change. The serious problem d country has is the negative people around who never say good thing about people and the nation. "The power of words" if over 200million nigerians will start talking positive things about the nation and the govt. Naija will change. The only problem in naija is attitude, once this problem is taken care of u will see a better nation. Try and see the good side of people, don't focus on the wrong side. D way u guys talk fear about ebola here is disturbing. Even when d govt is trying their best to contain it, people still talk negative things. "Power of word" what u say is what u become. So if u want ebola free nation, say Nigeria is free from it, no matter what news u here. GOD is helping us in this nation, HE needs us to trust HIM. If not by HIS grace the man that brought it to nigeria wouldn't have collapse at the airport, he would have spread it by now, but God took care of everything, we need to always bless nigeria, no matter what, its for our own good. Remember "the power of words" use it wisely. That's what God used to create this world. Use words to create a better u and a better nation, not using negative words to destroy it. God bless u all. "One love" keep us together

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

Schools should remain closed till this Ebola wahala reduces. It's when you are alive and healthy that you can go to school. Govt should not mind private school owners . They are after their own monetary gains not after the pupils good health.

Miss Bells said...

Oga minister skuls no go resume oo abeg @ least nt 4 nau....u knw ow playful little kida cn be,dy r evn @ a higher risk dan adults hu cn control demselves...

princess said...

Selfish Nigerian pple! Sch to reopen sept 15 when there r 320 pple under surveillance.. y d rush? Even when there r fewer pple under surveillance they choose Oct and now that there r more pple they r moving it backward to sept yeye dey smel. As for moi! My Children no dey go sch till next year kabeish!

I concur, schools shld remain closed till nxt year, lili plz u hav to lend a voice most of these people their kids are not in Nigeria, while some have grown up kids. Hmm biko odikwa risky nursery school children before u say Jack thir hands are in their mouth. Schools shld remain closed till d end of this year or at least Oct ending.

I don't believe dis people.....minister n his spokesman...u guys r not telling Nigerians the truth....preiod

Linda my worry is, after keeping someone under surveillance what happens to d persons job. Many ppl will loose dia works especially if its private company

Engr Marc ph D said...

It's not as crazy as people talk about it here in ph. Besides it doesn't spread d way we think. We give ourselves unnecessary fear about this ebola. The only place people should be afraid of going to is the hospital. Pls let us stop spreading the fear. Thank u.

Nawoooo this ebola case is very serious. Pls lets try our best in keeping ourselves clean and sanitize our environment to be safe. by dobis112@gmail.com

the average Nigerian man's problem is Religion.... oyinbo people wen introduce us to religion don leave d tin tay tay de strive and progress... we we carry am for head.. instead of the average african to isolate himself first if he suspects he has Ebola, he will go to "church" to pray to God to save him... God is yet to save anyone from Ebola virus... na Zmapp so far na im dey work... lets keep actiing stupid and not investing in medical reasearch, rather we are spending our monies on useless pastors and churches yet our people keep dying and our country keeps going downhill.. oyinbo man use religion take wash us yet na we carry the religion for head. I think we keep forgetting that religion was introduced to Afria by the white man to brainwash us into stealing and pilfering from us. After they got what they wanted, they dropped the religion. Yet they are thriving, surviving and and prospering. Yet we continue to languish in the throes or religion. The average african believes that religion and "God" solves all his problems. We have been praying since thy kingdom come, nothing has been happening.. Oyinbo people use action and everything dey go well for them. So who is the loser here, us or them who developed Zmapp and not one of their citizens have died or us African's who have been praying in Church and over 2,000 people have died. Do the maths people. Our problem is ourselves. if we take religion out of our equation and be more humane. our lives will be much more better and prosperous

divine health is my portion.

HBD to me.

via official intercom

Thank you Mr president, our health minister and all those involved in this fight against Ebola....weldone

All thanks to mad man koye.

Chukwuma said...

God go help us.
It wont be easy for naija here oh!

Jaja said...

So this mumu minister is tired of reading the announcements now he has passed on the responsibility to his spokesman.
Now they just found out that this woman died of cardiac arrest and not Ebola, why did they announce it when they hadn't confirmed yet? This shows how shoddy and irresponsible they are with their work.

Yea, d Naija govt really dey try for dis Ebola stuff

it was listed above to he 9 survivors what was administered tovthem to be certified cured and those that were released hw are dey sure they are fit and ready toi continue making communication wit others abeg dis man should go to hell wit all dis lies