Omoni Oboli defends her choice of outfit to the Villa, says there's nothing wrong with it | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 August 2014

Omoni Oboli defends her choice of outfit to the Villa, says there's nothing wrong with it

Actress Omoni Oboli has reacted to widespread criticism she received after pictures from the private screening of her movie 'Being Mrs Elliot' at the presidential villa surfaced online last week Thursday August 14th. In an interview with Punch, Omoni said she styled herself, stating that no vital part of her body showed in her plunging neckline dress
"I styled myself and I thought the outfit was appropriate because there were no vital parts showing. Sometimes the angles with which pictures are taken can portray certain things you do not have intention of portraying. We have pictures from the event and you won’t see what people are seeing. The truth is that a lot of people are very bitter and when people are bitter they try to look for a lot of negative things in every positive thing. It is unfortunate that we are in the limelight because if someone else wears that outfit no one will say anything. I don’t even read blogs and see the comments. My true fans know who I am and my intention when I am doing things.” she said. Continue...
Omoni also addressed claims that the Presidency gave her money after the screening at the Villa, saying all she wanted was a Presidential blessing on the movie
"Before the screening, they asked me what I wanted and I said I didn’t want anything but that the President and his people should see the movie and give their blessings. For me that is good enough for the industry. The first time I ever saw the President was at his brother’s burial ceremony, which I attended. I don’t know him from anywhere or personally. During the event, President Jonathan said the government didn’t have money to give me and he said this in front of everybody. So if anybody is going aside to say something else, they are wrong. I returned to Lagos with the small purse I took to the event and after the event I went back to my hotel room and left for Lagos the next morning. I didn’t stay back in Aso Rock or sneak out to meet anybody. I am still hoping they will call us to come and take something, that they are impressed,” she saidh

131 comments:

Adorable Aisosa said...

Mogbe!*eyes wide open* Anyways,its her choice...

surshima samuel said...

Hian! O! Baba Jona what r u looking @? I see nothing wrong with d dress, she went there for a purpose and she has to be noticed...

We have heard

Abeg, Omoni, you goofed!

if she says so, what you wear is who you are

ASHy

Yimu

Spiky said...

Everyone with his/her choices. She's not a baby. Whatever rocks her boat.

Shut that mouth of urs up, Oboli. Presidential blessings indeed! Like d blessings doesn't involve money. Rubbish

Madam pls stop defending your stupid act. Are these not boobs that I'm seeing or are they watermelons? Pls go and sit down. Even our president is smiling at the sight of what he is seeing. U wore that sluty clothe with the intention of seducing our president or any top politician. I hope u succeded tho. U slept in your hotel room alone? Pls tell that to the birds. Thirsty thing. I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

"I just want the president and his officials to see the movie and give their blessing" Oshey!! Clergy.
As for what she wore to Aso villa,if its owk by her host,who are we to complain.

She went 2 Asshole rock & she left empty handed...IPO

Mena Peters Triflections said...

Ignoramus! So people are hating on you by telling you the dress you wore to meet the president is inappropriate? OK continue. I need to hear Madam Patience Jonathan's view on this.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Pls no vital part were showing oo...#breast is not vital

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Hehehe. Madam was anyone questioning where you slept or how you slept that night? Guilty conscience at work.. Waiting for the ladies comment coz am sure they will finish you and you will be forced to read blogs by force .. Hehe

Zinny said...

That is wat u have to do wen u do things wrongly "defend". No matter the angle the pics are taken, the view is clear. Except maybe it's taken frm ur back. Nne take correction and learn frm ur colleagues who know how to dress for events eg. Rita and Genny.

madam the dress was poor abeg

must u dress half nude? Is exposing ur boobs sexiness?..women wit wrong orientation..JAY_Y

Olumide Abiodun said...

About the dress, it is not so bad...it would have been inappropriate if she was someone with big boobs.

Are You A One Minute Man?

Omoni is a prostitute! For real? Your find nothing wrong in that seductive dress you wore to the villa? Am I surprised. Breeze don blow fowl yansh don open. #hustler

Indeed!!! Girl, I can see ur waist in that low neckline. Stop talking crap!

ColdFlame said...

First she was just after Presidential blessing and now hopes "...they will call us to come and take something...”

Interesting!

Ermmm y re u explaining to us nw. And abt the cloth nd ur position go nd sit down mchewwww.

That outfit was a No No for me

http://meenahz.blogspot.com

Guilty conscience; thus, detailing the whole ingredients she used for her Oha soup.. I was totally disappointed; would have been better if her husband was by her side in those pics.
Next pls...

* My R1.50c comment *

Ozed said...

They shouldn't have allowed you to enter the Villa with this unethical outfit.Everything is wrong with your dressing considering the type of event and the personality you were to meet.Whatever you think you represent,you misrepresent!

ITS ALRIGHT... UR LIFE UR CHOICE

..ZB

NaNcY DreW said...

Is inappropriate 2 me and dis re picz is a bad picz

Yes ure right dah there nottin wrong with d dress buh u cnt deny d fact dah sumtin is not wrong with ur head 4 putin it on.

U LEFT ASO ROCK WITH D SMALL PURSE U TOO THERE, NA GHANA MUST GO U WAN CARRY RETURN BEFORE????

It doesn't matter the size or enormity or 'outrageousness' of the cheque, it will still fit in a flat tiny purse. I long for the day when people in the limelight will begin to either respond with so much wisdom or employ people who will release fool- proof statements on their behalf...including the presidency.
*** forst to comment ***
blacknfly@gmail.com

Hmmm,it shows how indecent she is when it comes to dressing.

miss G said...

OK oooo we don hear u points noted, sorry about dat stay blessed,na u wear d dress n na only u waka go dere we no follow u

Ekpenyong said...

No vital part of your body was showing ? That's a good one.

I don't know what you mean by vital or rather how you define vital ? Is it sexual or indispensable for living ?

Still, Ms Omoni, you might want to know this: Your tongue, your fingers, your lips, your legs (feet) etc... are VITAL and they were showing. Heck, some will say your hairs too are VITAL and they were showing. If in doubt, ask some moslems. There must be a reason why they want the heads/hairs of their women all covered.

Point is, if you don't want any vital part of your body to show, you might consider becoming a moslem if you are not one already, and have your WHOLE body, from head to toe, covered.

When you do that, you can then claim that no vital parts of your body was showing.

Na she sabi abegi

Na tru.....lolz

I don't understand the point she is trying to make. Personally i don't know the lady so i am not bitter. All i know is that i am seeing her breasts in the photo above. My eyes are not deceiving me. So her breasts are showing. Maybe she does not consider her breasts a vital part of her anatomy, in which case she is right. Yes her heart, liver, kidney and buttocks are not showing. Of course if her breasts are not vital part, then her honey-pot is not.

LusciousKels said...

Omoni I ll luv u always but dis dress no be angle matter oo an it doesn't suit d occasion nor d did it suit d stern personality u ve built for ur self in d industry..an pls read blogs oo cos dats where u get honest critics dat helps ur public image wether u lyk it or not

Omoni I respected u a lot bt dis one u r sayin is crap if u nid a blessing on ur movie dnt u kno d road 2 ur chrch or seek elders in d movie industry 2 bless d movie 4 u,as a wife nd a mother dat cloth u wore is nt gud enuff nd u sed dey dint giv u mony if nt 4 mony y did u go dere.....u rili fall my hand ooo babe

Madam, please shut up!!!

eyah...

Hooohaaa! She wore rubbish! She get luck say daa patiee no catch her!

Story for the gods

Madam, ur style of outfit didn't worth it. Yes! Some vital part of ur body were exposed, jst luk at ur chest. D way uo dress is d way uo wil be address. LIB Princess!

LYNNE said...

Madam presidential blessing, u talk too much! That aside, I hope u reminded brother Jona dt #OurGirlsAreStillMissing #BringBackOurGirls

Dorcasdaduchess said...

in all sincerity...the dress no male am sha really omoni it wasn't an ideal outfit to the villa *dismayed*

She is in movie making to make money and if presidency gave her money there is nothing wrong in it. But the revealing dress? Big NO

Tired Of Fake Hairs??? Grab 24 inches Indian or Brazilian 100% Human Hair for just 19k and 16 inches for 15k. Promo ends soon. Other types also available. Ping now 2B6C82C7

Dorcasdaduchess said...

in all sincerity The dress no make am sha...Really omoni it wasnt an ideal outfit for the villa..*dismayed*

nikkiebillz said...

Hmmmmm,wat is bad is bad omoni oboli. Ur outfit is bad! The way u are dressed is d way u will be address!

nikkiebillz said...

Hmmmmm "I am still hoping they will call us 2 come and take something, dat they are impressed" beggy beggy,lol!

ND said...

wish her all the best in her career.

4 any movie i see omoni I must 2 watch but i'm more dan disappointed in her.thought she wz decent among dem.

Mischievous said...

Omoni Oboli, you publicize a movie with a premiere and it shouldn't be in Aso Rock which is suppose to be the seat of power. And your dressing scream desperation.

omoni pls that piece of clothing just aint right for a presidential visit.......get it,dunno what u doing there anywayz

Titimadame said...

Truely i didnt see anything wrong in that blue dress. Shes just a mum trying to look her best or do you expect her to wear iro and buba. Please lets appreciate her effort.

Your intention was very clear, so stand by it

Miss tiana said...

Story story!tales by moonlight*yawns*

My dear Amoni......d exposue is very obvious, haba, wich one is d angle d ic was taken??? U exposed more than u should have. RESPECT URSELF & KEEP QUIET.
lol @ u went dere 4 presidential blessing. leave matter we all know d koko.

Morale of Story: Next tyme dress d same way u want 2b addressed.

Hummmm.
Gracenot2001@yahoo.com

"I styled myself..." Epic fail. She knows what she's up to.

Madam nobody hates you, that dress was a fail and you know it. Even if nicki minaj wan go white house she go wear better cloth. Just focus on promoting your movie abeg.

Stories that touch.Like if you collected money you will say you did.Just sharaap already

anyway I love her , I had nuffin to say buh please Omoli u are married with children kindly dress more appropriate next time nevertheless i love ur look dont mind bad belle ppl dem

Believe it or not, u dressed like a whore to the event. Sorry for ur husband.

sex maniac said...

Omoni will you marry me?

jerry said...

Rubbish naso then go they LIE.

Snow White said...

Hmmm na wah 4 u ooo,Oboli u jus confirmed my fear about u,

'With no intention',STORY

people are our mirror,unless the mirror wishes to lie

Mrs omoni you don't have to leave the Villa with a Ghana must go bag,we are in a cashless country,again since you don't read "Blogs" you shouldn't have replied the bloggers.#muchlovetoyou

WHY wont she cover up,from the first time i saw the pictures.i was like,what is she thinking.married men and muslims where there,and you know the drill about covering ur body as a lady.its not my business though,i will just sip my tea

No matter hw she defends it she still fuck up big tym.....

Abeg the tori don too much.
The outfit is not that bad but if im to decide what to wear for such occasion, light corporate wear will be perfect. Hers looks like evening gown.

Ola

Abeg make she go sleep
She got no reason to wear such outfit,its so revealing
Anyways,whatever that floats her boat...idc

....SƖεεkz

Madam, Point blank; this dress to Aso Rock is a big NO. This is Nigeria remember!

Faith Ogaga said...

Ok...we don hear !

kendall flower said...

Omoni dear, accept it... It is totally inappropriate to dress like that to see the president! Take corrections and move on

T-john said...

Madam, we have hear.....you re a disgrace wearing that dress, trust me, Genevieve wudnt wear that. they dont use Ghana must go in Aso Rock, the money is already in ur account. stop fooling urself.

She's actually right you know...she only exposed her chest cos she's got no boobs to show.

BrendaN

Abeg the tori don too much.
The outfit is not that bad but if im to decide what to wear for such occasion, light corporate wear will be perfect. Hers looks like evening gown.

Ola

Dear Madam,
In my church a rule of thumb we were advised to use in choosing our outfits is: Would they let me in if I went to the National Assembly or a job interview dressed like this? If the answer is no, you should not wear it to Church either.
Madam, you were going to see the President. You are not the first female actor to see him nor will you be the last. Why you should imagine that anyone would be jealous of that dubious achievement leaves me baffled. You are an unknown actor at best. I am sure you probably profess Christianity as your faith. Madam, with all due respect the way you were dressed said nothing good about your person or your values. This is NOT America where skimpy dressing is celebrated to the high heavens. Your dress may have been fantastic for a nightclub visit but did zero for your person when it came to an audience with the President. Next time if in doubt about your outfit, ask your MOM, not your fellow club going friends. Thank you.

1st se says "de just wanted the presidents blessings" then she contradicts herself in the last sentence by saying "still hoping they will call us to come and take something" hiannnnnnnn oooo.
Odiegwu.com

Dis prostitute she has a man friend she goes around to see them,i sorry for ur hubby yeye woman

9ce 1 (Li×”da's Ma×”)

Lady J said...

oh, omoni whyyyyy??? and i used to love and respect u. dis most av been a mistake. someone advised u wrongly. my God. pls just admit u are wrong this time and dont make matters worse by defending urself. this dress is so revealing for a married and respectable woman like u. ur fan.

Who re u trying to confuse here, even a blind man can see ur boobs yet u claim dia is noting wrong wit it, if I hear, u purposely wore dat dress to seduce our president bt if mama peace catch u ur name go change from omoni to onomi ogboni, nonsense, infact I dey vex for u..... Stardiva

LMAO! Crazy and funny comments. Omoni, we have heard, but at least you could have worn a more descent cloth. How else do you want the president to bless you, if not by fat pay.... abi villa don turn cinema ni?

So she wants to defend this yeye dressing?? When American celebs went to the white house did any of them dress like this. Even beyonce covered up! Its sad Nigerians say they have more culture than the whites but a white person wont dress like this to see their president. They know theres a time and place for certain outfits....she should go and sit well. This is enough for people to start believing the tweets of that movie maker ...THUMBS DOWN!

All is I want is blessings has now turned to waiting for them to call us to collect something. Na so!

The dress is inappropriate pls. we shud stop tryin to imitate the whitepeople. omoni ure a marid African woman, pls dress like one. your hubby wnt be smiling after seeing dis. showing a little cleavage is uncalled for.

Omoni Oboli is a beautiful lady and I could not help feeling she could have dressed better for a night with government officials. I feel she cheated herself of a wonderful opportunity to add huge points to her brand. Imagine what an Omotola or a Genevieve would have worn. This is no hating, it is true.

Hmmmmm Omoni Oboni if u like open ur boobs, if u like open all ur body nan u sabi. It shows u are not decent as we think. Even if people dnt talk abt ur dress,,,so u dnt know ur dress is rubbish. @funmimy

Blessing said...

Omoni Oboli,Omoni Oboli,OmoniOboli, how many times did I call you,go and show ur pastor this pix and let's hear what he will tell you and what kind of blessings are you asking from the president nd co,when did It bcome a num to go to Aso rock to get blessings before releasing a movie.DAMAGE CONTROL

Another attempt to insult intelligence of readers and critics.

You got it wrong, adit and move on. Not telling us where you slept and size of your purse. Is your purse too small to contain cheque?

Mind you, Stella Dimoko Korkus revealedsome sms indicating runz move with a 'niger-delta' governor sometime last year. Not sure we heard you disproving that.

Its your arse anyway so you are free to do whatever you like with it but celebs should not insult public's intelligence with bull defence stories

Naijarian said...

True that Omoni... Don't see anything wrong since you're flat chested. had this been some voluptuous babe ehn, the matter for different..

Medicine after death mtcheeew!!!!

Thank you very much anon 10:29

No be say the dress fine self.. Mtcheewww.. Biko next time cover up well.. You're a wife for crying out loud!!!

you should have just kept quite, this outfit is a dinner outfit, you should have asked the opinion of your friends before leaving, and to think i used to believe you were decent, smh.

My thoughts exactly.
Guilty conscience!

dessymal said...

Nothing do her...she went there to advertise her movie as well as her assets

Just shut your mouth and accept that you did wrong. If anybody is telling you that the dress you wore is ok, that person does not wish u well and is not true to you! That you don't read blogs is surprising. But you will have people to tell you the comments from people. Everyone is embarrassed nd ashamed of dat ur outfit. You went back to your hotel that night and left for LAGOS the the next day is good to hear. We dint expect dat you wil jump into bed immediately wit them. There is what they call follow up. We shall not kno wen it happens!! Your horseband should be THOROUGHLY ASHAMED of you. *hiss. Am convinced now about d dirty rumours about you. Finally, Omotola, Aunty Joke hav attended greater functions dan u, being married women, their dressing is always on point! Cheap gutter child. Ur horseband should enjoy himself spending the asewo money!!!

There is no even breast to exposed.

Don't see the big deal, the dress is quite conservative and she made it so all you see is her breast bone because it flattens her out. She can't seduce the president without his consent. Whatever.

Omoni omoke whether you want to be corrected or nt, styled yourself or not, those are for red carpets abeg dnt try that nonsense again.

You are lucky i was not there would have walked you out

Lies!!!!!!
You want their blessing and you wore such a seductive dress!!!
By their fruit you shall know them.
"You are addressed, the way you are dressed"
He didn't give you anything, you are hoping!!! heheheeeeee.
Stop making comment to defend yourself and thereby exhibiting how unwise you are to the world. even a fool when he is silent is considered wise.

Madam with all due respect you are just one of the married WHORES in town! I pity your husband the same way i pity omotola's husband!

Not even bad to see the president,its bad for a married woman.

olly said...

Omoni you dont have any defence pls. president's blessing ke? if you are meeting Adeboye or Oyedepo will you have dressed this way? Lindo if you like chop dis post again o. oboli's patner in crime.

Abeg make Una allow am sell market joor.

Mc Looks blo said...

Omoni speak reasonably well coz ppl sometimes can complain on anything....

'Omoni also addressed claims that the Presidency gave her money after the screening at the Villa, saying all she wanted was a Presidential blessing on the movie……

"Before the screening, they asked me what I wanted and I said I didn’t want anything but that the President and his people should see the movie and give their blessings. For me that is good enough for the industry……
“I am still hoping they will call us to come and take something, that they are impressed,” she said

Aunty please use your toto money and hire a PR agent.

even if it ws America, celebrities now how to dress appropriate to the white house. The dress is so wrong for d occasion simply, meanwhile i lost all respect i had for wen i sw tis. Cos d dress scream desperation...

Stupid woman..I used to have so much respect for her...all that is gone.. abi you wan seduce the man ni...nonsense Nonentities in Nollywood.

ologbenla tayo said...

It ain't no fault of hers anyways....if not for the jobless and ever useless leadership Nigeria has for herself.... time that was supposed to be spent on resolving the logjam in the medical sector, time meant for discussing how to make Nigerian universities the epi-center of research in Africa, time to discuss how to improve our manufacturing sector so we can produce 'indigenous' (in the real sense of the word indigenous) automobiles in Nigeria, time that was supposed to be devoted for discussion on how to harness our natural and mineral resources that God gave us in abundance....we have tin, iron ore, columbite, kaolite a vast array of even unknown resources. Our steel rolling mills are dead, the health and education sectors are in comatose...security is at its lowest ebb in our history apart from the civil war days...and then some hungry and empty heads pack themselves together in Aso Rock watching a movie.....this is the 1st empty headed PhD I know of....anyways it can only be one from Uniport sha no offence...back to my research work (from Canada's engineering hub-the University of Waterloo)...Linda post this comment o, I trust you though,. cheers

U get luck say Mama Peace no catch u wit dat dress 4 Aso rock. + who u wan fool wit small purse...na cheque tinz nah (cashless regime) but dat 1no concern us...onye gbara ball,ga aracha orange.

gbam gbam gbam @apple

..wats so important abt d movie dat wil make our president n our other "servants", to gather 4 its premiere, or d movie has answers to our numerous problems???....omoni,u ar wat u wear in dis case

Onuoha Emeka said...

Madam Oboli this is all wrong your dressing was very inappropriate you are a married woman wearing a native/traditional Nigerian dress would have been perfect dear your cleavage were all over the place.

wondering why she felt the need to respond. wouldn't it have been better to just take correction and move on? na only for naija where every one who has a contrary view is labeled a 'hater' or a 'bitter person'.

she probably expected us to be impressed by her half naked presidential handshake but it backfired horribly!

na you sabi Omoni! if you don't want comments from 'haters' , then don't put your picture out in public domain.

Eze wetin u find come here? Na so so breast, pussy, buttocks full ur comment as u old reach, perv much? Hian oga oo

Zirazinny said...

Madam I guess you are not blind or you are suffering from partial blindness

Zirazinny said...

Madam I guess you are blind or you are suffering from partial blindness.

Omoni just shutup, even INI EDO dat is d chief of ashewo hasn't dressed like dat to any occasion, u just fall hand. I pity ur lazy HORSEBAND dat allowed u to be d bread winner dereby making himself a vegetable. Why didn't ur horseband follow u to asorock? Even ini edo horseband dey follow her sumtimes. All ur kurukere waka is now in d open. Shame on u. U don't read blogs yet na una dey read am pass

AMOKE said...

U be mumu the Eze is right!

AMOKE said...

U be mumu!

THE PEOPLE CRITICIZING HER ONLY WISH THEY WERE IN HER SHOES.