Gisela Mota, who lived with her parents, was still in her pajamas on Saturday morning when the masked commando jumped a wall and stormed the house.
The 33-year-old single woman's parents were home along with her newborn nephew, whose grandmother was preparing to give him a bottle.
The assailants beat up her relatives until Mota "gave herself up so that they would let the others go," said the mayor's mother, Juanita Ocampo.
"I told them that if they wanted to kill me, they should kill me first," Ocampo told reporters. "But she told them, 'I am Gisela.' They took her because she was very brave."But the triggermen pulled Mota from her bedroom, took her to the living room and killed her in front of her parents. Her desperate father ran after the killers.
Mota's murder has become a tragic symbol of the threats mayors face across Mexico and the violence that has engulfed Morelos, where drug cartels fight turf wars while kidnapping and extorting citizens.
Mota was killed just one day after taking the oath of office amid hopes among supporters that she would fulfill her promise to curb crime in the city of 100,000, known for resorts and water slides, just two hours from Mexico City.
But the left-of-center mayor became one of the victims of the gangland violence that has plagued the city, as authorities blamed Los Rojos drug gang for her murder.
Her home stands out among the other houses in the humble neighborhood. It has a rustic wooden door and a brick oven on the patio.
Neighbors recalled that on the eve of her murder, Mota had celebrated her new job with music and dancing.
"The next morning, six shots were heard. We thought it was firecrackers. But we heard them scream that they killed Gisela," said Pablo Ortega, a 48-year-old neighbor, who said seven armed men had arrived in a car.Shortly after the murder, the police killed two suspects in a shootout and arrested three others, including a 17-year-old boy and a 32-year-old woman.
Morelos Governor Graco Ramirez said Los Rojos killed Mota as a warning to other mayors who back his controversial plan to place state and municipal police under a "unified command."
Ramirez praised his late colleague from the Democratic Revolution Party as "independent and combative."
Source: AFP
104 comments:
RIP brave one
PEPSI ADDICT
God, save us from Violence please...
Hmmmmmm. RIP to her
#it wiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise
Brave woman.
20 facts about $ex that will blow your mind
A leader indeed
Rip
What a leader
She would hav been remembered after her tenure had she led. R.I.P ma'am.
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
Chai rip**
wow... her family will never 4get her
She is brave..RIP beautiful woman..
~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~
Such a rare gem
Such a brave woman, may her soul rest in peace...
so pathetic, may her soul RIP.
Xhai!
Sorry ma
Awwwwwwnnn wat a luv.....
May her soul rest in peace.
Too bad, may her soul R.I.P
Very sad.....R.I.P mayor
What about her security details.Mexico is a jungle being ran by drug cartels.There is no way she wouldn't be killed after promising her people that she would fight crime.Fighting bad guys means one has to prepared always and leave a solatory lifestyle.Tim28
Diablo and Diabler men at work.....
RIP Mayor!
Old news
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Bravely...Believe
Wat a tragic loss, RIP 2 d dead
May her soul rest in peace...that's a huge sacrifice
Signs of rapture in 2016
People can be so mean.
I dont know hw u look a fellow human being in the face and kill them.
RIP Mayor
#Hajia Mufliat
May her soul R.I.P
Are killers would get same though. It will only take time.
May her soul R.I.P
Are killers would get same though. It will only take time.
She fought a good fight with dignity and hope. #IRepLIB
The tree of #freedom are watered by the blood of the matrys...
goodnight woman
williamsokikiola94@gmail.com
so u mean what we see in telemundo actually happens in mexico? they need to work on their security. rest on mam
Poor soul . May she rest in peace.
Wow...Such bravery!!! May her gentle soul rest in peace.
Nna na wa o! May her soul restrest in peace. Linda take note!
RIP..She has made heaven!
#linda give me 1bo#
RIP..She has made heaven!
#linda give me 1bo#
Wat Jesus did for us all
may her soul rip
Ok!.... Now what next???
may her Brave soul rest in peace amen..
So sad.
Mota may your soul rest in peace
May her brave soul rest in peace, I know my GOD would raise another to fight nd defend the right of his people nd justice will sure have is stay. May his Divine grace be with d families left behind.
Pray that your killers be apprehended. Rest in Peace
What a world
Enter your comment...what a wicked world. RIP brave woman
God bless her soul.
LINDA SHOW US UR BOYFRIEND.
I KNOW YOU HAVE ONE.
May her soul RIP
Trust me d killers will nt go unpunished
Promise of a brilliant Edo Babe
SAD!rip
Okbye.
So Sad :( May Her Soul Rest in Peace !!!
*DEW*
Crime all over d world, God have mercy.
Mota,may your soul rest in peace.
Rip
God will rest her soul and help her family to bear the loss... Double your hustle
Kai that's why dis useless Mexico will always be backwards and impoverished, RIP
Guess maybe some of her promises to fulfil while in office triggered those bastards against the attack. May her soul RIP
What a brave woman! Mexico I soooo hate that part of the world!
She is a heroine.
Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yhaoo.com
Straight from Delsu.
Oh my! Ds is really sad
May her soul rest in peace
What a brave woman she is may her soul rest in peace n for dem dat killed her God isa watching dem
The heart of men r indeed evil. May her soul rest in peace. AMEN
Chai! What a sad ending, may her soul continue to rest in peace for heroic behavior.
RIP to the mayor. That was brave sacrificing yourself.
she is a great person to be remembered
#linda ikeji's blog
What a wicked world
Well she's dead so too bad!
Z wicked world.....R...I...P
Eh yah
it's such a pity. young life cut short. RIP dear.
Enter your comment...Such a waste......what pleasure do we derive from killing?
#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday
Nawa ooo... Mexico is becoming a haven for gangsters.
A. Brave and exemplary lady .. Nigerian leadership , take note ..
Ok Rip
RIP to the Brave and Gallant woman.
Good one.
Negodu young woman, hmmm politics . Rip ma
May her soul rest in peace....
Noted.
May her soul RIP
Wawu such a brave woman RIP hope the devils re brought to face the law
Eyahhh...may her soul rest in peace
Rip.....heartless killers,ur end shall be worst
Poor woman! May her gentle soul rest in peace.
hmmmmmmmmmmmmm!
So sad, RIP
Eyah... such a brave woman Rip
Eya...kpele
She is not dead but alive in the bossom of the Lord. Death has no power over believers and heroic women of this stout courage to confront death and ask it literally, " where is thy sting?"
What about her security details.Mexico is a jungle being ran by drug cartels.There is no way she wouldn't be killed after promising her people that she would fight crime.Fighting bad guys means one has to prepared always.
Touching...R.I.P. ma'am
I'm still thinking what people gain from taking one's life
Also Check Vabadon's Blog
Enter your comment...RIP
What a waste of life, too many drug barons in Mexico
Even mr self dey wonder.. wetin be d gain ehnn
AJ MAIN BOY...
rip...angelmakiz@yahoo.com
Very brave woman, may her soul rest in peace.