Slain Mexican mayor sacrificed herself to save family | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 6 January 2016

Slain Mexican mayor sacrificed herself to save family

When gunmen burst into her home, the freshly-installed mayor of Temixco, south of Mexico City, told them to leave her family alone and surrendered to them, witnesses recalled.
Gisela Mota, who lived with her parents, was still in her pajamas on Saturday morning when the masked commando jumped a wall and stormed the house.
The 33-year-old single woman's parents were home along with her newborn nephew, whose grandmother was preparing to give him a bottle.

The assailants beat up her relatives until Mota "gave herself up so that they would let the others go," said the mayor's mother, Juanita Ocampo.
"I told them that if they wanted to kill me, they should kill me first," Ocampo told reporters. "But she told them, 'I am Gisela.' They took her because she was very brave."
But the triggermen pulled Mota from her bedroom, took her to the living room and killed her in front of her parents. Her desperate father ran after the killers.
Mota's murder has become a tragic symbol of the threats mayors face across Mexico and the violence that has engulfed Morelos, where drug cartels fight turf wars while kidnapping and extorting citizens.
Mota was killed just one day after taking the oath of office amid hopes among supporters that she would fulfill her promise to curb crime in the city of 100,000, known for resorts and water slides, just two hours from Mexico City.

But the left-of-center mayor became one of the victims of the gangland violence that has plagued the city, as authorities blamed Los Rojos drug gang for her murder.
Her home stands out among the other houses in the humble neighborhood. It has a rustic wooden door and a brick oven on the patio.
Neighbors recalled that on the eve of her murder, Mota had celebrated her new job with music and dancing.
"The next morning, six shots were heard. We thought it was firecrackers. But we heard them scream that they killed Gisela," said Pablo Ortega, a 48-year-old neighbor, who said seven armed men had arrived in a car.
Shortly after the murder, the police killed two suspects in a shootout and arrested three others, including a 17-year-old boy and a 32-year-old woman.

Morelos Governor Graco Ramirez said Los Rojos killed Mota as a warning to other mayors who back his controversial plan to place state and municipal police under a "unified command."
Ramirez praised his late colleague from the Democratic Revolution Party as "independent and combative."

Source: AFP

104 comments:

RIP brave one

PEPSI ADDICT

God, save us from Violence please...

Hmmmmmm. RIP to her

#it wiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

Brave woman.

20 facts about $ex that will blow your mind

A leader indeed
Rip

Babylawyer. said...

What a leader
She would hav been remembered after her tenure had she led. R.I.P ma'am.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

Chai rip**

wow... her family will never 4get her

She is brave..RIP beautiful woman..

~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Such a rare gem

Such a brave woman, may her soul rest in peace...

sir flawless said...

so pathetic, may her soul RIP.

SHORTEST DUDE said...

Xhai!
Sorry ma

linda Last Born(IPHY) said...

Awwwwwwnnn wat a luv.....

May her soul rest in peace.

Too bad, may her soul R.I.P

Miss Riatty said...

Very sad.....R.I.P mayor

What about her security details.Mexico is a jungle being ran by drug cartels.There is no way she wouldn't be killed after promising her people that she would fight crime.Fighting bad guys means one has to prepared always and leave a solatory lifestyle.Tim28

Diablo and Diabler men at work.....
RIP Mayor!

tosisochukwu said...

Old news

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

kudos said...

Bravely...Believe

Wat a tragic loss, RIP 2 d dead

May her soul rest in peace...that's a huge sacrifice

Emmy Blu Modesto said...

Signs of rapture in 2016

Mufliat said...

People can be so mean.
I dont know hw u look a fellow human being in the face and kill them.
RIP Mayor

#Hajia Mufliat

May her soul R.I.P

Are killers would get same though. It will only take time.

May her soul R.I.P

Are killers would get same though. It will only take time.

Uzosafetyblog said...

She fought a good fight with dignity and hope. #IRepLIB

Williams Okikiola said...

The tree of #freedom are watered by the blood of the matrys...
goodnight woman
williamsokikiola94@gmail.com

so u mean what we see in telemundo actually happens in mexico? they need to work on their security. rest on mam

Poor soul . May she rest in peace.

Kelzz09 said...

Wow...Such bravery!!! May her gentle soul rest in peace.

Nna na wa o! May her soul restrest in peace. Linda take note!

RIP..She has made heaven!

#linda give me 1bo#

RIP..She has made heaven!

#linda give me 1bo#

Wat Jesus did for us all

lindauche said...

may her soul rip

Ok!.... Now what next???

may her Brave soul rest in peace amen..

So sad.

Mota may your soul rest in peace

May her brave soul rest in peace, I know my GOD would raise another to fight nd defend the right of his people nd justice will sure have is stay. May his Divine grace be with d families left behind.

Pray that your killers be apprehended. Rest in Peace

What a world

NWA MBAKA said...

Enter your comment...what a wicked world. RIP brave woman

God bless her soul.

LINDA SHOW US UR BOYFRIEND.

I KNOW YOU HAVE ONE.

Mayberry said...

May her soul RIP
Trust me d killers will nt go unpunished

Promise of a brilliant Edo Babe

SAD!rip

Okbye.

So Sad :( May Her Soul Rest in Peace !!!

*DEW*

cheltreacy said...

Crime all over d world, God have mercy.

Mota,may your soul rest in peace.

Rip

God will rest her soul and help her family to bear the loss... Double your hustle

Kai that's why dis useless Mexico will always be backwards and impoverished, RIP

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Guess maybe some of her promises to fulfil while in office triggered those bastards against the attack. May her soul RIP

Ethel said...

What a brave woman! Mexico I soooo hate that part of the world!

She is a heroine.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yhaoo.com
Straight from Delsu.

Oh my! Ds is really sad

Odoh Chidimma said...

judith said...

May her soul rest in peace

What a brave woman she is may her soul rest in peace n for dem dat killed her God isa watching dem

The heart of men r indeed evil. May her soul rest in peace. AMEN

Chai! What a sad ending, may her soul continue to rest in peace for heroic behavior.

princess Stella said...

RIP to the mayor. That was brave sacrificing yourself.

she is a great person to be remembered
#linda ikeji's blog

What a wicked world

Well she's dead so too bad!

Z wicked world.....R...I...P

Eh yah

danex said...

it's such a pity. young life cut short. RIP dear.

kingsareborn2rule said...

Enter your comment...Such a waste......what pleasure do we derive from killing?

#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday

Nawa ooo... Mexico is becoming a haven for gangsters.

A. Brave and exemplary lady .. Nigerian leadership , take note ..

Ok Rip

Oshiolo 1 of Belema kingdom said...

RIP to the Brave and Gallant woman.

Good one.

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

Negodu young woman, hmmm politics . Rip ma

May her soul rest in peace....

Noted.

EDOHO said...

May her soul RIP

PRESIDENT's DAUGTHER said...

Wawu such a brave woman RIP hope the devils re brought to face the law

Eyahhh...may her soul rest in peace

Rip.....heartless killers,ur end shall be worst

Poor woman! May her gentle soul rest in peace.

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

So sad, RIP

Eyah... such a brave woman Rip

Eya...kpele

Martins said...

She is not dead but alive in the bossom of the Lord. Death has no power over believers and heroic women of this stout courage to confront death and ask it literally, " where is thy sting?"

What about her security details.Mexico is a jungle being ran by drug cartels.There is no way she wouldn't be killed after promising her people that she would fight crime.Fighting bad guys means one has to prepared always.

Pesin Pikin said...

Touching...R.I.P. ma'am

Victor Emeka Isaac said...

I'm still thinking what people gain from taking one's life

Also Check Vabadon's Blog

owakah (A.KA. Innosometin) said...

Leslie said...

Chinwedu said...

Enter your comment...RIP

Leslie said...

What a waste of life, too many drug barons in Mexico

Even mr self dey wonder.. wetin be d gain ehnn

AJ MAIN BOY...

rip...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Very brave woman, may her soul rest in peace.