An interesting encounter between tweeps from a major tribe and a minority tribe in Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 August 2015

An interesting encounter between tweeps from a major tribe and a minority tribe in Nigeria

Read the rest after the cut and tell us what you think...

92 comments:

These people got so much time on their hands...it's obvious.
Pls visit: Nma's Space 

Please i am a tailor  in need of a sewing machine, trying to open my own. please in anyway any1 can assist me with a sewing machine  or financially in getting one, I will be very grateful. The few persons have asked for an assistant around me are not  really ready to help me out , giving one excuses or the other. please I can be reach through this email gojinaka@gmail.com or through my phone number 07018461205

Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew, not nice to be jobless, as I see this as joblessness.

Joe said...

Decent conversation!

Joblessness

Hmmm, na waitin dey do dis ones?

Juliebabe said...

But the fact still remains that they don't like saying they are igbo. When you call them Delta igbos, they feel offended, yet the speak igbo. I think they are confused or something.

Rubbish

What transpired on social media yesterday was a huge disgrace to the Igbos.
All in an effort to rubbish the appointment by president Buhari, Igbos denied the people of Onicha Ugbo.
The same people you count as your own when fighting for Biafra. When Okonjo Iweala was made minister she was considered Igbo.
And to think that the former president of Ohanaeze Ndigbo late Chief Ralph Uwachue is from the same local government with the new GMD of NNPC.
Frankly speaking we Igbos are our own problems, Yorubas wouldn't mind calling any Yoruba speaking people in Nigeria their own, but its the same Igbo people who would claim that Abakaliki people are not Igbos.
Anambra man won't allow his son marry an Imo lady, an Imo man will find reasons not to marry from Abia.
During Ochendo's tenure as the governor of Abia state, workers from other states were sacked because they weren't from Abia state.
Its quite an unfortunate situation.

Mcheeeeeeew! Anywhere anybody choose to belong to na im headache biko. Linda take note!

mtchew... na them sabi

Nija mentality, if you are not Hausa, or Yoruba then you are Ibo . They forget that there are other tribes . History taught us that the Benins are descendants of the Yorubas . People migrate and form their own identity . Every kilometer you travel in Nigeria the dialect changes , example Agbor, Ukwani and Asaba short distance three different but almost similar dialects .

HE IS NOT AN IGBO MAN , DELTA IS NOT IGBO TAKE NOTE
Erudite scholar and businessman, Dr.Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, is the new Group Managing Director, Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) …
He was born some 58 years ago.
He hails from Onicha Ugbo, in Aniocha North local government area of Delta State.
He is married to two women, Elizabeth and Mariam. The first wife, Elizabeth has three children – Nkem, Emeka and Uche.
He holds the titles of Odogwu and Omeudo of Onicha Ugbo
His country home is one of the most beautiful and costliest in his homestead. It’s called Eden Retreat.
He is a first class graduate of Law, University of Nigeria, Nsukka and the Nigerian Law School.
He is an author of three legal books as well as the publisher of the popular Hints and Chanelle magazines.
Respected writers like Toni Kan, Reuben Abati, Kayode Ajala, etc cut their teeth writing for his papers.
He last worked for Exxon Mobil as Vice Chairman and General Counsel. But before that, he was with the Nigerian/American Merchant Bank and Texaco.
He has a Masters and Doctorate in Law from Harvard Law School, USA and graduated with distinctions.
He is a staunch Catholic.
He’s fun loving and once bought the latest Mercedes Benz which his father, a Justice, refused to lend him money to clear on arrival.

1. He was raised in the north. His father, a Justice, was transferred to the Katsina Appellate Court 51years ago. He met Buhari's father, who was a cattle rearer/owner, here.

2. He was in the army before he went back for his LLM and LLD at the Harvard Law School, USA. He met Buhari in the Nigerian Army and were both in the Congo.

3. He graduated from the School of Distance Learning, UNN, Kano Branch. He met Babagana Kingibe here;

4. He once worked at the Yola branch of Texaco before he got deployed to the Sokoto branch as the Head, Legal Department

anything before the Onitcha bridge no be igbo.

Beautiful said...

Delta is not a tribe so there's nothing like 'i'm Deltan'. Delta is a state with different tribes in it.
There are Igbos in Delta as well as Urhobo and Isoko people. If you are from the Igbo part of Delta then u are Igbo, period!!!!!!! Stop deceiving urselves.

JC said...

oh please, I am DELTAN not IBO

SIMPLYCOCK said...

I am Ukwuani from Ndokwa Delta State and I see myself as fully Igbo...

If we are not Igbo, then what are we: Yoruba or Hausa or Nupe?

To be sure, apart from the Ijaw the other major ethnic groups in the South-South include the Igbo, then Edo, Urhobo/Isoko, Ibibio/Efik, Itsekiri, etc...

Without mincing words, the Igbanke in Edo State, the Ika, Ndokwa, Aboh, Aniocha, Oshimili (all in Delta State) are Igbo through and through...

In Rivers State, the Ikwerre, Bonny, Andoni, Etche, Opobo, and a host of others are Igbos...

In fact 80% of Rivers State is constituted by people of Igbo origin...

Any person of Igbo stock who is stupid enough to deny his/her Igbo roots for whatever reason is a bloody FOOL!!!!

And that is why the Hausa and Yoruba people are busy messing with out heads because we seem so fragmented and petty...

Get it into your thick skulls: We are Igbo regardless of the dialectical varieties!!!!!

I knw many deltan that speak igbo more than me and i called all of them igbo though..

TEEDEE said...

The igbo traditions are way different from ours, yes we speak almost alike, but abeg una we are not igbos.. we are what we are...

The Didi guy is on point!

These Igbos have major issues! If ifff they get this biafra they have been clamouring for, d next problem will be them accepting each other. Smh

Finally this topic is brought up on the infamous Linda Ikeji Blog. I am Deltan, My language sounds like Ibo but I am not Igbo. History must always be traced to know who we are and not what we are told. My history tells me that I am more Bini than Delta. Apologizes to the Igbos, nothing against you all, but you cant force what we are not on us. But in all these lets not forget that we are Nigerians.

I honestly believe that Igbos should leave them alone. Jonathan wouldn't have lasted 4 years without the support of Igbos. Igbos do not need them if they prefer to be alone. When you say you are Delta Igbo It simply means there's an original Igbo and you are the adulterated version. Why on earth is Igbos who are majority patronising minority Deltans who seem unapprciative. Ha see trouble.

Kachi said...

Whatever!!! No be by force sha.

des said...

we from the south south are not igbos and can never be.embrace ya selfs

I think they shud invest their time into something productive....it'll better us all...

Linda ure a baised bigot.d tweeps u paste are in favour of ur tribe.

We have never bn ibos and we can't be ibos,We r Delta ibos,or is there anything like anambra ibo or enugu ibo?

They are Afraid of the unknown, the funny parts are the ibo speaking ones, some of them will even tell you that the ibos are embracing them because of oil and i often ask them "but ibos are not the ones cheating you on your oil or using your oil for over 50 years, you are not even angry with the people cheating you or using your oil to better themselves like you are angry with the ibos. my opinion is that the SS are just brain washed by those who never wished them well and they prefer to be left like that. Ibos will always be the big brothers in the house, even Jonathan felt the backing of the Ibos the SS never sees the ibos as fellow brother i wonder what chemical that were used to brain washed them.

teamchryz said...

there's no cold and hot , either you are man or woman

I feel minority tribes should associate themselves with either one of the three major tribes in Nigeria and also embrace their customs and values. Its either you're yoruba, hausa or igbo. Though diversified and segregated with different languages and customs, we all belong to a particular tribe.

A man from jos plataeu state will never accept he is an hausa man.its same thing everywhere it only when dey are married to dem dey accept been an igbo person all the same we are one

Ukay said...

I am deltan. I am ibo. I'm not an easterner. Take it or leave it. We are 100% different from d easterners

To even state that Igbos are embracing anyone, is very self aggrandising. So... Igbos now consider others beneath them, that they are the ones who do the embracing... Igbos arrogance knows no bounds.

Please ask Didi stone the meaning of his name Ndidi. That will settle it.

Useless delta igbo brothers denying us because we lost war, go join Benin, join Yoruba or awusa foolishness at the highest order

Bahybee said...

Whatever

Ladun Liadi said...

Civil war fallout, tribes scrambled to distance themselves from the igbo-the losing side.

NEKKY MAGIC said...

TO ME IF YOU ARE NOT FROM THE FIVE EASTERN STATES IN NIGERIA YOU ARE NOT AND CAN NEVER BE CLASSIFIED AS IGBOS...KAPISH....NEKKY MAGIC HAS SPOKEN

UNA WELLDONE..NA TRIBE BE UNA HEAVENLY TICKET???TOMJERRYSWIT

Hmmmmmm. Everyone is entitled to his or her own views b it right or wrong. Nice one frm them!

Deltans are Deltans! they are not Igbos or Binis or southerners or the south.

ONYI P.K. said...

We make too much ado about nothing. If I may ask, does it mean that Bukola Saraki is no longer Yoruba because he found himself in Kwara State which was politically carved out as part of the North whereas the natural demarcation of Rivers Niger and Benue actually settled both Kwara and Kogi States in the southern Nigeria? Talking about the Delta Igbo (if there is anything like that), I think it needs to be properly explained because whilst the so-called 'main' Igbo continues to stigmatize the Delta Igbo as something like an 'appendix' on one hand, the Delta Igbo has equally learnt to regard her 'brother' as un-refined and crude on the other hand and to them both, no matter the reason(s) they hold,it is mere unnecessary war that does no one any good. Igbo is Igbo whether or not you originate in Israel. It is however, pertinent here to commend Ohaneze-Indi'gbo who has deemed it expedient to harmonize the relationship...at least, a Delta Igbo man once headed the Igbo Umbrella Body...so, what is the fuzz?

Identity crisis....

I believe igbos re not Deltan Asaba, I believe Asaba are from Benin.

Lol.
They no get work.

undiluted@hardtalkng said...

To me all these are political rubbish. Nigeria is politically divided into six geopolitical zones. If you appoint a northerner from kogi state, you have only done so to the north central political block irrespective of their cultural affiliation to other northern enclaves. The appointment of a south south into a position does not mean that you have shown magnanimity to the south east as well. They belong to different political block irrespective of the fact that they share a common culture. What is important here is the political boundary and not the cultural innuendos. The sanctity of these political delineation and their shared position in the central government is what matters. No part should be alienated for any reasons whatsoever. For all parts of this country has paid dearly for being part of a larger nigeria.

Diary of a Naija mom said...

No need for all these division.

wenever u ask dem dey-ll say dey r bendel igbo n well..gt nofin to say u dnt force ppl to admit nofin

Marcus said...

Looool I really don't know the difference thoe so I can't say anything bout this but it's kinda funny thoe

SS people like to shift from the igbos, who blames them, we all know how igbo people can be.

This is not universal for Delta Igbos. The ogwashiukwu, Asaba axis do not resist being referred to as Igbo as much as the Agbor, etc axis for instance. Having said that, if they speak Igbo then they are Igbo. The language says it all. Customs and cultures can be influenced by surrounding neighbors/ cultures but the language is what it is. So as far as I am concerned the first person to comment is right. Ngozi OkonjoIweala is from delta and she is Igbo. She herself has said that of herself. Some delta igbos do have identity issues and i think it is a post civil war syndrome.

Wot am I suppose 2 do with ds nw?

The Fulani group are found all over west Africa, stretching from Mali to Cameroon, yet they identify as one. The Yorubas are found in both Nigeria & Benin Republic. Same goes for the Arabs who are in the Middle East & North Africa. The never deny they are Arabs. Neither do the Ewe, found in Togo & Ghana. I could go on.
If anyone says they are not Ibos, so be it. Let them claim & be whatever they want to be. The Ibos, after all, are not a minority group looking to add to their numbers.

People tend to confuse tribe with location : that I am an igbo having my ancestral home in delta state doesn't make me a non igbo. No! My tribe is igbo, my state is delta. In other words, I am an igbo person by tribe, delta state is my state of origin. It's just the same tribe with different location. That's all.

I think the geopolitical zones made it more difficult than it is. Kwara is predominantly Yoruba, yet it is in the North Central zone. Does this make 'Kwaran' less Yoruba? Nope! What led to the Delta being Igbo or not was the selection of the new NNPC boss, who is from Delta state.

Ohaneze should be invited to help them out on the issue !

HonsylGlobal.Com said...

The Igbos and Niger Delta scenario is not an embrace but an occupantation.

HonsylGlobal.Com said...

The Igbos and Niger Delta scenario is not an embrace but an occupation.

this is first class information from a personal experience of the civil war. as my aunty told me, before the biafran war, nigerdeltans identified as ibos, buh when the yorubas withdrew from the initial plan and joined hands with the hausas, the niger deltans too were persuaded by nigerian army to isolate the ibos and withdraw food supply to the east, that was what caused the massive deaths of ibos especially kids who developed kwashiokor.
the main reason that caused the civil war in the first place was that portharcourt which used to be a part of the south east was removed by the then head of state, leaving ibos with landlocked states.
personally, i couldnt care less if niger deltans dnt identify with ibos, they are better off with nigerians if they choose, i mean its their choice ryt, no one should dictate who they identify with. ibos should realise that if we truly want to be a force to reckon with,then we should identify any other tribe apart from the five ibo states as foreigners.
i dnt know why details about the civil war is not taught in schools, anyways if you are ibo, its absolutely mandatory you know a bit about your history. i read chinua achebe's 'there was a country...', it certainly piqued my interest, then i went scavenging for info before my peepz (those who experienced civil war) gisted me the full story. if you hear it, you'l never be the same... in an entirely postive way though. the story makes you want so much to succeed and restore former glory to your people. my opinion though, opinions can differ.

Oma said...

Stupid u.since she is a bigot y not show your self.you are busy being anonymous and she is appearing in international magazines . Shame!

My dear nobody feel offended when you call them igbo Delta. We speak ibo & maybe a little different in the way we speak. So nobody is confused except you

jasmeen said...

Confused set of people.continue dividing yourselves while we move on.

Every individual ethnic group regardless of their size (majority or minority) have their own distinct language, customs, traditions and history. These are what bind them together. It's stupid of you to "feel" they should abandon who they are and embrace another's customs and values.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Ode...

Lol, who else is reading this in an Igbos accent?

You don't need anyone to disgrace you, Hot do it yourselves.

All materialistic nonsense. Who cares?

They will show the rest of you pepper. Lol

Being Yorubas have nothing to do with geopolitics, it is our common link to Odua that links us, from Brazil, Ghana to Nigeria. Don't compare your confusion to Yoruba shared heritage.

Like they say, ignorance is a disease.......
I am from Agbor, and NO I am not Igbo.
Before, you scream, you need to know the history and origin of a people before you lump, classify or dump them or force them into a group.

Agbon and Esan were Princes of the Benin kingdom who were made to migrate under certain circumstances ages ago and settled as the present "Agbor" and " Ishan" settlements/people.

As Agbor expanded, much much later, as we know the Igbos are very industrious, there is no corner of this planet earth you will not find an Igbo man doing business, so, Igbo traders also moved in settled in Agbor and this is where the mixture in dialect began.

To this day, when you compare the spoken tongue of the tribes from Agbor down to Asaba, further down to the deeper East (Igbo) it is more difficult to understand the Agbor dialect, though the Agbor man may understand them all. why, the Agbor dialect is NOT just IBO. Remember that the Igbo man just settled amongst them later, but they were originating from Bini, with their brother in Ishan? The Agbor language when you listen carefully is mixed with lots of phrases from all these influences.

but you all say, all Delta Ibo are all Igbos, no, they are not all IGBO as their origins differ, that is why those who know their history deny it, even if their language now resembles more Ibo. And they may have picked up more similar customs.

For Agbor, same reason the Obi (ruler) is aligned to the Oba of Benin because that is the traditional origin of Agbor lineage, NOT any IGBO heritage. Thank you.

Please, this is not to say there is anything wrong in being Igbo, no absolutely not. But when you know what your history and origin is, you cherish it, preserve it and also cherish alliances made along the way.

That is exactly the problem with our beloved country nigeria today ethnic segregation and division, igbos, deltans, benin, yorubas, housa, etc. Stop the ethnic domination and criticism and claim nigeria thank you.

This is exactly the problem with our beloved country nigeria, igbos, deltans, benin, yorubas, housa, etc. Stop the ethnic domination and criticism and claim nigeria thank you.

maryann_ngozi said...

What re u?

Mmemeh (Anioma Igbo Patriot) said...

Bonario Nnags, you are THOROUGH disappointment.

You accuse an ethnic group of 45 million people of having done something when 99.999999% of them are NOT even aware the thing you accused them of doing happened.

And on social media, only limited simple-minded people think every name on social media correspond to the REAL name of the writer. Jesus !!! That's the height of "mumu-ness".

Many of the ANYNOMOUS writers here claiming to be Delta and not recognising their MAJOR tribe status are NOT Delta Igbos but from other tribes especially the yorubas.

No, the REAL Igbos, not your social media comics many of whom are neither SE Igbos nor Delta Igbos are NOT denying Onicha Ugbo people and CANNOT DENY them because it's NOT in their power.

Even before the white man ventured in some parts of what's today the SE, the people called today Anioma Igbos were the ONLY known Igbos to European missionaries, explorers, imperialists. That was way before the slave trade started. They told these visitors they were Igbos more than 500 years ago when your own ancestors were known to the world as Igbos.

So in essence, NO person or even Igbo (of SE or SS) can deny the Onicha Ugbo people of their Igboness. Nobody born of a woman has that capacity.

I don't want to say this and make differences in the level of Igboness BUT let me tell you this; Anioma Onicha Ugbo people were Igbos before your ancestors and they are MORE Igbo than you.

Matthew Oyekanmi said...

Nice one bro

Get a job as a tailor if you are good and save money! We must stop this nature of begging. No one owes you anything.

Dt just goes to show u biafra is a fraud. Igbos are claiming south south as part of igboland for their selfish interests. When d biafra is formed, dt is when u will see d wars dt will ensue among them. The typical igbo person is selfish and those south south pple go see wheen. Yorubas generally consider edos as their brothers but will NEVER EVER go and start claiming edo state as part of yorubaland, all dt one is story story from d past, they have their own seperate culture and customs.

Ochaimo+ said...

Some of them started saying that they re not Igbos, the first coup was caused by Nzeogwu who is from delta (okpanam) and some other Igbos of delta, non from SouthEast except an Onicha man ! But we stood by them, the mistake Aguiyi Ironsi was not punishing or killing them then,treated it with kid glove cos they are his tribe men, coup alone caused the uncivil war which made Igbos of the East and delta lost everything and started all over in 1970, so what is playing out thesedays by some uniformed Igbodeltas is to stays away from the war stigma which is impossible cos you still bear Chima, Chinedu, Onyinyean Ngozi and chukwuka, all Igbo names, until you stop bearing Igbo names,nobody takes you serious

Its bcos of d oil rich land they are patronizing and kissing ass now. Before nko. If delta has notin to offer they wont claim them wt this much vigour. lol!

Not everyone has forgotten d tribalistic arrogance and megalomania dt drove d disastrous nigerian civil war. Only d igbos dont see their xter.

Spoken like a normal dumb, emotionally unhinged igbo girl. Nigeria IS NOT three tribes and we do NOT all belong to the three tribes.

Point of correction Edos are NOT descendants of Yorubas. Never was...
I'm not sure which HISTORY you are referring to but from stories my great-ganma told me (and was passed down to her) Edo was a very large kingdom and expanded up to some areas of Nigeria and west Africa - Eko (Lagos) or is it Isidahome (now Dahomey in Benin republic), or individuals in Ghana claiming Bini heritag . Or is it the corruption of Izoduwa in Bini to Oduduwa in yoruba or from Eweka to Owomika... There are a lot of examples I could give. But it just amazes me when someone of Yoruba descent/origin wants to claim their seniority/superiority in history where none exist. It's so unfortunate that Edo indigenes did not take this education opportunity seriously in those earlier years rather than have our history written for us at a disservice. If at all Igidomigodo indigens did migrate from anywhere, as scientifically asserted, it is from Egypt and not where you thought your history lessons claimed.

And that's why I checked middle East/Egypt descent at my job when I interviewed for it and that had all of them confused. lol

Yimu, do u pple even ask yourselves why start the war in the first place, and why should every other tribe be part of it or support you?,Yoruba pple are not stupid, they weren't the ruling party then ,hence they didn't start war to break the country. The bad thing is that most of igbos still carry that bitterness till date, only the rich ones who don't hve tym for their rubbish are civil and mix well with other tribes.

Activist said...

Igbo's why una dey look for support? Nothing is by force ohh.Many Deltas claim not to be igbo because of the character of most Igbo's, I'm sorry to say.Even in Naija, we have some yoruba speaking part from kini, but they can never be considered as fully yoruba. Make una no disturb una self for small matter,let's all live I harmony irrespective of our tribe.

Your analysis is based on lies youve bn fed

1. There was no original plan yorubas withdrew from. Before independence d west and d east did not want regionalization as practised by d british (rightfully so) bcos dis wld give d northerners more seats in parliament (as they were d majority) thereby they make all d decisions.
The british didnt listen and made regionalization a condition for independence. Awolowo and Zik agreed to it, for independence sake - hoping they wld revert to states later. By the time elections came Zik was d one dt joined forces wt the north for an alliance of parties against the west. And Azikiwe became president & Balewa prime minister. Then awolowo was imprisoned (cos he hated d northerners, after he lost d election to NPN's Akintola who loved d north & hated igbos - said they were too arrogant).

When d igbos went on their killing spree in 1966, they said their plan was to make awolowo president cos of d corruption, but obviously we all know what happened. Azikiwe was not killed in their coup and Ironsi became president (typical igbos and their fraud). Im sure Awolowo saw their xter.

After d coups of 1966, d country was in dissarray. It wasnt just the hausas dt hated igbos, even d tivs. The humiliation of killing d sardauna was what led to d progrom. They wanted igbos out of their lands, they never took d war to them. Until ojukwu decided to secceed. Him and Awolowo NEVER planned to secceed together. They were NEVER allies. Ojukwu was in Ironsis military govt. Awolowo was a politician who wanted federalism, not regionalization nor secession.

2. You are right dt d main reason for d war was d annexation of portharcourt. Thank God u know ojukwu was not just motivated by d progrom but d discovery of oil. Gowon knew d only soln to d problems he inherited was federalism and all d tribes having a voice in parliament. He scrapped regionalization and there were 12 states. Everything Awo ever wanted. Gowon released Awo from prison and made him minister of finance.
Ojukwu was not satisfied wt all these, he declared secession, the nigerians then set up blockades along d midwest against d igbo states.

The aburi accord was called for dialogue btw nigeria and ojukwu. In d meeting d govt decided on true federalism, ojukwu upped d stakes by calling for a confederation (all bcos of oil he wanted to go bk to a form of regionalism - which wasnt even what Azikiwe ever wanted). The war started after dt accord meeting. The yorubas were very much prepared to put their legs up and be spectators. This was a fight btw d north and d east.

Until d biafrans marched into ore (ondo state). Dt was when they were aggressively stopped by col benjamin adekunle (black scorpion), he basically dismantled d biafran army in d midwest till they surrendered. Till today theres a saying in yorubaland "oleku ija ore".

The nigerian civil war btw d north and d east was a fight for oil resources dt belonged to neither tribes. They wanted d upper hand cos they detested each other. Simples.

precious said...

i as far as i know and am concerned is not igbo, i am a proud anioma citizen, our culture and ways are very different from that of the igbos. that we have like-dialects and almost same names does not mean we are igbos. our food, culture and greetings vary, we are only dominated by igbos because we are close to them, we don't speak igbo, we speak enuani or ika. uou might say we speak igbo but that's left to you. i rep anioma land, proud Idumuje girl!!1

Go to beggy beggy sdks blog not here..... This blog ain't for market sellers and ogogoro drinkers and ass lickers lyk the old ashawo called stelladimokokorkus........

Madam anonymous the replier don't judge her by telling her 2 get a job nd save cos u never might know if she tired that already...u might b lucky 2 b employed every mallam with their kettle... Helping her if u can adds more 2 ur already blessing...he or she is not a begged but cutup under hard circumstances....
NOTE: not d poster I'm just trying 2 correct such mentality.

Lol....u don't even know what u are!!!!!

So in ur history Izoduwa is oduduwa but yorubas and binis have no link. Our yoruba history is word history dt has bn passed down generations. Like greek mythology and history it has bn mixed wt all sorts of spiritual wizadry, its ridiculous, but we cant call thousands of generations of history, "claims", just like i cant abt ur word history as well. I have NEVER EVER heard yorubas claiming seniority over bini pple. EVER. They consider them sons of oduduwa therefore brethren, not some inferior set of pple.

All the history we go by today is d state Nigeria was in when d british discovered them. There was an oyo empire, a bini empire, d egbas .etc. The ife civilization predates ALL of these and was from another century. Dts where these oduduwa stories evolved from. The british wondered why d yorubas regarded ife as their motherland. During excavations in ife they discovered d king bronze head (dated to d 13th century & is in d british museum) and other items dt hinted at an earlier civilization and empire.

As for lagos d bini pple dt set up a war camp in lagos island (not lagos as it is today) met yoruba tribes there, the yoruba tribes dt settled in those lands, along wt their monarchies, existed there, then and till today alongside d oba of eko throne (which were few bini warriors -sent by d oba of bini - they were controlled by d yoruba idejo chiefs and dis is why d throne reverted bk to d indigenes - after d british advised they STOP paying tributes to d oba of benin) - bini pple themselves were not living in lagos island, just like hausa pple were not living in ilorin. Lagos island was a collection of villages and d largest land belonged to d elegushis and oniru families whose lands d british kept encroaching and then decided to bring all d island monarchies under oba dosunmu so they wld be one entity. They never regarded themselves as one entity.

Google lagos colony, iru land, herbert macaulay, efunroye tinubu - queen of lagos, who was an egba slave trader dt basically made d whole of cms, tinubu square d market it is. At this time also, there were several wars across yorubaland and disgruntlements wt d whites cos of d slave trade and their occupation of lagos. Where were d binis when all these uprisings were happenin at d time. Surely some bini men or tribe or families shld have raised objections. They didnt cos there werent.
That is d history of d binis in lagos. And dt is why u can never find a lagos indigene dt is bini.

D lagos mainland itself were yoruba villages and colonies- and a lot of virgin land - and they were regarded as egba pple by the british. These were in ikorodu, badagry, idimu, isolo and many other areas wt monarchies. There were no bini villages on d lagos mainland. And during british reign and subsequent federal rule - lagos was d island only.

At this point i think we need to start researching d history of every state and who d real indigenes are.

No 1and 2 replies get some sense