Nightmares over for student, mother who lost 3 kids on Benin-Ore Road before Goodluck came along | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 February 2015

Nightmares over for student, mother who lost 3 kids on Benin-Ore Road before Goodluck came along

Sponsored post

26-year-old TimiAdeoye graduated two years ago from the University of Benin and was a frequent user of the Benin-Ore route. According to him, “traveling on Nigerian roads used to be a nightmare for me; I still remember spending twelve long hours on a trip from Lagos to Benin regularly since I got admission eight years ago. The memory of those trips still leaves a distaste in my mouth”, he continues, “but I had to continue because I had to go school."

Being a road that is the major link road between the West and South of Nigeria, it was appalling that it was in that state of decay. From 2006 to as recent as 2012, anyone who plied the Benin-Ore route would have easily testified to its horrific state.  The deplorable condition of the road aside, there were daredevil armed robbers who were lords of the night and perpetual residents of the area and it was inevitable that travellers inclined to always say a prayer to avert terrible traffic jam lasting hours, and loss of lives and property. As Adeoye aptly describes it, it was “hell on Earth”.

TimiAdeoye: Benin-Ore-Shagamu Expressway Under Goodluck Jonathan
Popular columnist, SonalaOlumhense once said, “If you are a Nigerian, chances are you know someone who has spent an entire day, at least once, traveling the 140-mile Sagamu-Benin City road, or been killed trying to do so.“

TimiAdeoye: Benin Ore Road during my days as a Student, before Goodluck Jonathan

As the legend goes, a former Minister of Works was reported to have cried openly while inspecting the said road once, calling it a guzzler of lives. Citizen upon citizen have resorted to pleading with successive governments on national television and through other media to see to the swift repairs of the said road.

Despite all these coupled with criticisms from traditional monarchs especially the Oba of Benin whose domain has been a major victim, unfulfilled promises continued to be the order of the day.

Sagamu-Benin is part of the Lagos-Mombasa, as well as Algiers-Lagos sections of the Trans-Africa Highway, and of Nigeria’s East-West Road. First constructed in the 70s, it was originally a three-hour route. Since it began to deteriorate, contracts have been awarded every other year by different governments. Somehow, nothing concrete has been done.

Then good luck came along, even literally. At last, the cries of Nigerians had broken through to the top echelons and the current government’s determination to get the road fixed and useable again was to put a smile on the faces of those who ply the road.
Tapping into the controversial Subsidy Re-investment Programme (SURE-P) funds, the federal government decided to fix the roads once and for all to ease the suffering of commuters.  In September 2014, President Goodluck Jonathan commissioned the Phase 1 of the road, spanning 75 kilometres. The second phase, as Minister of Works, Mike Onolememen explained had not been fully completed because of technical challenges but was commendably over 60% done.

An excited governor Adams Oshiomole of Edo state – a prominent member of the opposition All Progressives’ Congress (APC) – stressed that the Federal Government’s effort in reconstructing the road is “the most outstanding intervention the road has witnessed over the years.

A road that was once a death trap began to wear a new face and is in its present state, good as brand new. A journey of twelve hours and counting has now been reduced to a third of that time – four hours or less.

“God sent us his son in the form of Goodluck Jonathan!” shrieks Madam Veronica Omoregie who travels every week from Lagos to Asaba to buy goods for her trade that has sustained her and her three children since her husband died tragically in an auto crash on the same road, in 1999.

This transformation was even buttressed by a recent survey conducted by the NOI-Gallup Polls on the 8th of January 2015, which showed that 60% of Nigerians who travelled during the yuletide season acknowledged that the roads had indeed been improved on.

According to the findings released, majority of Nigeria road users found it easier to travel to their different destinations in various parts of the country during the Christmas holiday, unlike the previous year.

The survey read in part, ‘Overall, 69 percent of respondents were of the opinion that the roads had either improved or had improved very much.
As a result of the improved condition of the Benin-Ore road and others in general,  transport giants, ABC Transport Company slashed its fare prices in a widely circulated advert carried by The Punch Newspaper in May 2014.

It reportedly added the words, ‘The roads are getting better’, a phrase that is a true reflection of the government’s commitment to infrastructure and national development.
On his way to collect his transcripts last week, Adeoye slept for most of the journey in the 18-seater bus he boarded from Lagos to the university’s main campus in Ugbowo, one of Benin’s many sprawling districts. The inscription “Welcome is the best journey” on the lorry in front of his vehicle one of the few times he was awake barely registered until he got down – the trip was too smooth for him to care.

123 comments:

::::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::::::

The road is stee under repair tho... Dey r not done wif d road yet!

We don hear

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Yeas! No doubt about this.. the road has really been transformed.. it was terribly bad before now. God bless Nigeria. 2 Tim 2:1-4. @Bishop_Dammy

VEEKEE EJ said...

GEJ is working... More of dis

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Jay said...

March4Buhari

Jonathan, where were you all this 6 years, now that you have delayed election you want to fill the air with this ads, do you know there is pride in leaving a position you are not fit to handle.

Please if you truly love us vacate the seat.

True tho

Goodluck is working, God bless Nigeria... OBSEQUIOUS

nekky said...

Long story....hp den no pay u talk dis one,cuz d story no even get ending.."lol

Goodluck Till2019 said...

Goodluck is working, seeing is believing.

Just because one person's problem is less traumatic than another's doesn't mean they're required to hurt less...this is proverb..Gej is working.. GEJ TILL 2019

GEJ is working.

Just because one person's problem is less traumatic than another's doesn't mean they're required to hurt less...this is proverb..Gej is working.. GEJ TILL 2019

Some sponsored articles tho. What's the benefit of we having a govt. then?

Lady Gives Man a hot Lap dance in Abuja Secret club

This video was exposed online by the man's friend. The lady in the video is a student of a big school in Abuja

WATCH THE VIDEO =>> HERE

#SEBEE BY SOSSI DROPS 1st March #Undull #BRG #Anticipate

He used this same road to campaign 4 years ago and the raod is still under construction. Half project campaigner. Sai baba buhari joor...

Vote no fight

9jahub.com said...

i see..

Seen.....

Haaaaaaa........okay...seen

Ok nah

Eze911 said...

"We" no be wise men, "we" be greedy men wey don share stolen money with Pastors, Imams, Security agencies ogas, News media ogas, Movies people, even plus including BLOGGERS, etcetera, etcetera. So, next time dem dey advertise "us" to you, na to collect more souls for "us" so dat we go plenty for dat line wey dey for people wey dey steal and ruin after the rapture.
Okupe, Abati, Fani-Kayode, Fayose, Obanikoro, Kashamu, Bode George, Omokri, Dokubo, Tompolo, Edwin Clark, our uniformed protectors, distinguished members of our "Enemies of Progress Club", etcetera, etcetera, make una join put voice, no be true be dis talk?
"We" tire for this "make Nigeria better" people o!

@lwkmd, r u tired of lindaobserve??? Dis write up is great, true and worth every sincerity words read.

Thumbs up to GEJ for OBJ didn't come close to dis. During d tenure of OBJ d road construction was awarded over and over again wit little or nothing done.

So other past presidents didn't see the road?

Where is that stupid Obj that ruled Nigeria for 8 years without constructing a single road. And all you sentiment-ridden people will say you love Baba. Let's be wise for once

Elegant uzy said...

Yes. ..I travelled from lag to osha today and believe me I was impressed...

Seriously?! Are they not doing what they are supposed to do..... till GEJ came along? u gloat over the fact that her 3kids are dead and u use your failings and past govt to campaign for your re-election ?! I'm increduled!! , they are discussing road light and welfare in 2014 to get votes, sick n sad, shame on all of you, Basic rights have become luxury that these fools dangle as carrots to show thay are viable for a post or re-elections. May the unfortunate things that comes with the pains you politicians have caused not visit ur families, but pray Hard, . You will ALL need it!

Gimplex logistics said...

These are the necessary things he shud do so nobody shud praise him fr helpin us at all. Y is he doin it naw, if nt campaing strategies. Oga park well btw dats nt aw d whole road is oo. I live in paraga so no cum bobo us fr ere oga ade.

Yes he's done a good job no doubt but he hasn't completed all.. Ondo is horrible.

Hmmmmm, he has done well. Abi wetin make we talk again. Linda take note!

And he forgot to mention d numerous lives that has been lost thanks to boko boys for d past 4yrs,who wrote dis article?? D person need better resetting slap...mtchwww

God bless Ebele Jonathan...
No weapon against him shall prosper

Wow! Goodluck has tried oh

Ok good job they should keep it up!!!

Linda why must you add 'sponsored post' there. We all know you are for APC forgetting that you made it in GEJ's tenure. You can't influence us ok. GEJ till 2019

comfort said...

Too much story all 4 d sake of GEJ...

Pdp supporter..........we don hear u

Carry go.

***floxycares***

What is this one saying? People are still spending 6-12 hours on that road! Which kain nonsense repair?Praise yourself if you finish the work not because you started

Keep laughing

Do u know there is pride in keeping shut when u have nothing sensible to say?

Keep laughing

True talk... I for one ply dat road regularly, so I know wat dis administration has done on dat road...thumbs up our President!!!

eka said...

truly commendable,
plz, they should visit ABA roads,
they are now death traps 4 both humans and their vehicles...

I give kudos to GEJ for that road sha. That road was a nightmare

Mchewww!!!How many people plied the road?i can't even remember when last I travel by road.i have never felt their impact like they claim.worse government ever.is it my grandmother in the village that will travel by road?they have not done anything meaningful that common man be you infant and old can benefit.Empty barrel make hell of noise.if Jonathan really performed like he claimed,you don't need to make noise.it's obvious people will notice.

Oooooooo! Tell them! God bless president Jonathan,God bless Nigeria#TeamJona

Is that title apt?

Nightmare over for mother who lost 3 kids because justice has been served on the road, baby. Rubbish heading.

Mtcheewww
So?

Shut up and seat down. Every body is entitled to their own opinion. Brain washed fool.

GEJ 2015-2019

APC Linda am watching u ooo no u write sponsored post b4 de post, if de post is 4 APC u hide it under, camera is watching u.

And GMB who was forced out of the seat more than 33yrs ago is better suited to rule you?. ..
. Mind you, you won't have this kind of freedom of expression if GMB wins the election. That is for certain. Once a soldier always a soldier

ain't interested

Obasanjo did that road in the pix. Jonathan only worked on ore axis and he is still struggling with it

Benin Ore, the most insignifant part of the journey. Please stop making Nigerians think that road is like Lagos to Maiduguri. just 45 minutes of road. hiss.

Oh plssss! So everybody should shut up bcos of boko boys? We all know boko haram is bad news but dat doesn't mean we shouldn't recognise any other good news again in Nigeria. Go try give him resetting slap nah, if he no go break u into 2.

Babyyyyyy 😉 O said...

Close ur mouth ode

Aces said...

It's his job biko, we paid our tax for these to happen, don't make it sound like he's doing us a favour and we are charity cases. Good roads and other amenities are our basic rights, a norm not something we should have to beg and praise for.

My President has really worked, infact he is transforming Nigeria

Good one

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Infact, he needs a hot 3D slap sf

GEJ al d way!

No one questioned x president Obasanjo what he did with the billions of naira awarded for the construction of this owo road.....
GEJ best president of his generation.

Stillo

Amen

Stillo

Ye GEJ has tried.

You are a first last ewu... this is not a new project executed.

What do you know apart from farming. ...
GEJ till 2019

Stillo

@ this stage our politician shud stop using road as a measure for their works, Nigeria shud not be talking abt roads by now...i don't see roads constructed as anytin, we all using d roads together....

A govt that's truly working does not need to put out adverts to enumerate its accomplishments....it will be visible for all to see. Gej, u might be a "good man" like ppl say, but he's DEFINITELY not fit to be a leader

Shut up and sit down. Every body is entitled to his or her opinion. Stupid fool. You have been brain washer to the extent that your reasoning faculties have gone on transfer.

lord kaiser said...

Really onyx...just concentrate on ur books and be a good boy 2 ur parents..

Dz onyx most b a fool oo...security is a challenge that his govt is facing doesn't mean u shouldn't appreciate his good deeds....blind idiotic mofo

Meanwhile OBj commenced d construction of a major express road...

I can never forget the lost my in-law. dearest Late Uncle Mike Salami a lecturer at OAU on that road in 2007 when it was bad. Thank God for using GEJ.

Emeka O. said...

Let's accept one true fact if not for any other thing Jonathan administration has been the most tolerating n freedom friendly in the history of this nation.Imagine all name calling against the president n the insult on the personality of the president even from people that do not worth doing that,still no arrest has been effected no site has been closed down.Let's not overdo it and bring out the tiger in Mr president.

becaues of the ugly situation of the road I find it difficult to travel but last year I did not even know when I pass Ore-Binin, thank God for jonathan administration let vote for him to continue the tranformation.

Samuel said...

Good luck is the best,forget about people upon there mouth wide talking rubbish, if don't appreciate good, good is far from you.if don't ripped it today tomorrow is show

Am glad the truth is finally coming out. Nigerians are beginning to see now. No more will the propagandists deceive us with their antics and gimmicks. God bless GEJ. He's a complete gentleman.

It was not just terrible but dead trap and area for armed robbers to operate too.

It was so pathetic then and thank God that all through my days in UNIBEN years back. I never experienced one hitched curtsy God divine grace, love, mercy and favour.

Indeed GEJ is working. Thumbs up to him.

Trust me, if Gej is elected you'll be surprised the remaining half of the road won't be completed!Wise up peeps!

Portion fixed is from ondo state to Edo state and this was done by the state to be refunded later by GEJ's FG at a future date. What was done was the re-laying of asphalt for the Yuletide period cum election/campaign period. Propaganda fools

It's already completed my dear. I do not know what the person who said it has not been completed is on. I travelled that route this x-mas

Amen and amen!

I noticed that.
Are you sure Linda wasn't threatened by APC to support them or else....?
Lol!

Just seeing tinubu and Amechi behind gmb helped me to make my decision on who to vote. No one in their right man can convince me that them dudes could have our best interest at heart. GEJ thank God for you. The free speech bill you signed has even enriched our Linda cos her blog would have been boring if she was cencesored all this while so we thank you on her behalf.

The road is better of nw.

chinwelovesNseIkpeEtim said...

This onyinx boy I wud really love to speak to ur parents cos I think u need a change of secondary school,sorry to say ehn u dnt think...someone is saying road ur here saying boko boys abi dnt u understand d post?

This is a fallacy. The writer mentioned 2006 -2012, now let's see if the FACTS support the assertion.

2006: OBJ & Aiku
2007: Yar'adua & GEJ
2008: Yar'adua & GEJ
2009: Yar'adua & GEJ
2010: GEJ & Sambo
2011: GEJ & Sambo
2012: GEJ & Sambo

Now what is the common denominator of all the years of rot of the Benin-Ore road? Sycophancy only ensures one is suffering and smiling.

Princess said...

It's not GEJ's fault if the likes of OBJ, IBB, Buhari, Shagari etc had done good roads I'm sure their successor GEJ would channel d money to something new. Our past leaders should always b held accountable 4 d state in which Nigeria is today.

Jona is working.. Hope u collected your bag of rice and umbrella for the rainy dayz...

Seriously you've been bewitched! Mumu!! Ode!! TRAITOR!!!

before gej came along? who was there before? is it not the same ruling party? plsssssssss dont be stupid!!!!!!!!!!!1

Do you even think before you type? Can we leave ethnic for once and think of progress? TRAITOR

Bosslady said...

@Mr "meetdwhatever",pls what should Nigerian politicians use as a measure for their works?

You must be from Chad for saying that Obj did a thing on that road, you're blind and don't know a Shit about what you're saying. APC blind followers

Joe said...

GEJ we know you are trying, Goe bless you.

I ve no idea how much he was paid to put up d's article buh I finished 4rm uniben,2 yrs ago, I guh into school,2008 n the road was nothing like d's, I never a spent a night on d road, I only used to hear people say d road used to b a mess!!! So him saying up until 2012 is jst too much exaggeration,plain lie!!! If I didn't c it n I got into school 2008!!! D's is still d worst tenure eva!! Try anoda Lie!!!!

Cocomma said...

God bless you anon

And what about this aunty agbaya splitting trash here, I guess ur husband is contesting for ward counselor under APC...

1MILLION FANATIC APC FOLLOWERS CANNOT DECIDE THE FATE OF OVER 180 MILLION NIGERIANS THAT BELIEVES IN CONTINUITY....GEJ TILL 2019

make una fear God oh!!!! i was a frequent plyer on that Road. It was Yaradua that finished the Benin-Ore Axis and Jonathan up till now is yet to finish Ore- Sagamu. please stop all this unnecessary promo for GEJ.I wish we can have just one trustworthy President for once.

Paul Ofou said...

Am sure Onyx has been given more slaps than he anticipated kudos guys for a job well done and thanks Mr President for Savin lives on Benin ore express road vote him for more of this to come

Lol how about u come from my country Cameroon where nothing is being done with the taxes u pay! Then u would appreciate what u have. Ode

Ma Fla said...

Lorlll @all d insults channeled @Onyx. I traveled to 3states last week and I must say I was so impressed with the dual carriages, GEJ tried so much wit d road, Lokoja is fantastic, my friends who traveled too made d same observatio, plus d girl in d salon now made d same observation too. I don't agree on all stuffs concerning GEJ but for d road I am 100% pls lets be objective in our reasoning. with d mouth a "certain " governor has bin making plus his insults@d president, when I went to his state I was expecting to see heaven on earth but was shocked@d way his state looks, in fact my colleagues who are his party supporters were insulting him. Lol. With is whole mouth???

oluwa Goodluck Jonathan.God bless Nigeria...PEACE

glad this road is fixed.. good job

I don't understand o, how is GEJ trying? Mehn its his job to fix the Fed. Road, come on... Its called basic amenities,we Nigerian have suffered so much that we don't know our rights. Its the presidents job to make/fix roads, give us electricity, make the country easy to live in.

@ princess "channel d money to something new" like corruption and stealing since they r different.

@marq said...

To the person that wrote this comment. I will not degenerate to your level by hurling insults. However from your comment I can deduce that you live in the west and have no business whatsoever in the east. That is why you have no idea how well improved this road is. Shame you only care about politics than actual living conditions of the ppl.

@marq said...

Omo oba your stupidity transcends greater than your support for every thing un - Jonathan in nature. You have obviously not given thought that your grandmother isn't the only person that will benefit from that good road. Did you even consider how well improved east to west trade will be improved? You sir ar, for lack of a better word, an illiterate.

@marq said...

Even the bible states that any man who does his job right should be rewarded. Speak well for someone who has done well.

who cares