IGP orders full scale investigation into death of Kano prof. who was killed after being mistaken for Boko Haram leader | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 February 2015

IGP orders full scale investigation into death of Kano prof. who was killed after being mistaken for Boko Haram leader

The Inspector General of Police has ordered a full scale investigation into the circumstances leading to the death of a leading professor of Agriculture at the Ahmadu Bello University ABU, Prof Ahmed Falaki who was killed in Kano on February 15th following suspicions he was a Boko Haram leader. 

Narrating how his father was killed, one of the sons of the late Professor said his father had set out on a journey in his official car with his younger brother and his driver to Bauchi state on Saturday Feb. 14th to see a relative. As they were returning to Kano, his car developed a flat Tyre in Fala village in Tudun Wada LGA of Kano State. He said according to his father's driver, while fixing their tyre, some armed men riding on a motorcycle accosted them and demanded for the keys to his SUV which he advised his driver to give to them. The armed men sped off with his car. Shortly after, Fala villagers saw the three men and accused them of being Boko Haram members. They said the prof. was their leader and had given the vehicle to their members.

They started beating his father, his brother and driver and afterwards dragged them to Kibiya police station in Kibiya Local government area of Kano state where the late professor was accused of being a leader of the sect group. 

According to the driver, despite the Professor showing them his ABU ID card, they still insisted he was a Boko Haram leader and that his ID card was fake. The villagers continued beating him with all kinds of weapons in the presence of the police officers until he died inside the police station.

The driver said when his boss died, the police men and the villagers started jubilating that they had killed a Boko Haram leader. Officers of the states Special Anti-Roberry Squad SARS afterwards came to collect his body and dropped it off at the state hospital's morgue while the driver and the Professor's brother were taken in handcuff's to the hospital. 

A search for the whereabouts of their father led the children to the state morgue where they discovered his body. The hospital management informed them that a SARS officer had dropped their father's body at the morgue. They decided to call the SARS officer to find out what had happened and the officer told them on phone that their father was a Boko Haram leader and that his brother and driver are suspects and would soon be interrogated. The children immediately contacted the ABU school authority who contacted the police to inform them that they had killed a leading agriculturist. 

Speaking on the incident, the Kano state Police Command PRO Majia denied any involvement of the police in the murder of the Professor, saying that it was the villagers that killed him outside the police station premises. According to Mr Majia, some gunmen had attacked the villagers and in the process, two people were killed. He said the villager,s suspecting the Professor was one of the armed men, attacked him and killed him. 

The professor has since been buried. 

The IG has now ordered a full scale investigation into the matter. Below is a press statement from the police. 

The Inspector-General of Police, IGP Suleiman Abba CFR, NPOM, NPM, mni, has viewed with great concern the death in Kano, of Prof. Ahmed Falaki of the Ahmadu Bello University Zaria. He has therefore ordered the Assistant Inspector-General of Police in charge Zone 1, Kano, AIG Tambari Muhammed to conduct an in-depth forensic investigation on the incident with a view to unraveling the circumstances surrounding the attack and death of the renowned Professor of Agriculture.

Meanwhile, some arrests have been made in connection with the incident, and the late professor’s vehicle has been recovered in Bauchi State.

The IGP wishes to assure the deceased’s immediate family and the general public that the Police will do all it takes to meet the ends of justice, while perpetrators of the unfortunate incident will not go unpunished.

Ag. CP EMMANUEL C. S. OJUKWU, psc

FORCE PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICER,
FORCE HEADQUARTERS,

91 comments:

MAMA ENERGY💋💋 said...

Hmmmmm...adawissy@gmail.com

GOOD

MAMA ENERGY💋💋 said...

Seen!!!

Judeocracy said...

Okkkk oooooo next!

Nawa o

Fake IG.. Politician police. I dont believe nothing from that monkey

SANDRA said...

Very good

Kk

RIP mallam

Njideka.nkem@gmail.com

Too bad the man died for a cause he knew nothing about.....

::::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::::

Haba this is a very grave matter oh!

A guy slept very hungry and saw bread in his dream, he took it and started eating it in his dream. After he finished eating it, he saw a coconut and decided to eat it too but he didn't see a knife to cut it. So he decided to use his teeth only to receive a dirty strong slap from his elder brother! U don finish pillow....... Now na my head u dey chew..... U be witch!?.... Don't laugh alone, share

Justice should be served please
We've lost innocent souls
This is not the time to loose souls

Hintealand said...

............*****PRAY4NIGERIA*****..............

Cold world

PLANS TO IMPEACH EBONYI STATE GOVERNOR UNCOVERED

Barely two months after the PDP kangaroo primaries that ushered in the Ebonyi State Deputy Governor, Chief Dave Omahi, as the party’s governorship flag-bearer, the state has never known peace, as the people and thousands of other political stalwarts loyal to the governor massively defected to Labour Party.
The crisis in the state reached a crescendo following the recent presidential rally in Abakaliki, during which President Goodluck Jonathan charged the PDP political machinery to live no stone unturned in ensuring that PDP regained its foothold in the state. All the efforts to achieve selfish presidential directive failed flat like a pack of cards.
Consequently, the recent political hand-twisting that witnessed the controversial postponement of the general elections by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), gave the PDP an ample opportunity to re-strategize on how to take over the areas they had lost. Authoritative sources point to the fact that part of the PDP game plans is to reclaim Ebonyi State through a do-or-die impeachment process.
To achieve their selfish and clandestine motives, our impeccable sources also affirm that some House members were offered monetary inducements to the tune of N50m each as a bait to sign an impeachment notice with a view to removing the governor, Chief Martin Elechi.
At the time of filing this report, a secret meeting presided by the Secretary to Federal Government, Chief Anyim Pius Anyim, was going on. Some of the prominent personalities at the meeting, according to sources, include the Deputy Governor of the state, Chief Dave Omahi, , former governor of Ebonyi, Dr. Sam Egwu, Speaker of the House of Assembly, Chukwuma Nwazuku, former chairman of the state PDP and senatorial aspirant, Ebonyi Central, Chief Obinna Ogba and a host other personalities.
The crux of the desperate political maneuver is to impeach the state governor, Chief Martin Elechi and have the Deputy Governor, Chief Dave Omahi, take over, thereby paving the way for elections through the coercive powers of state. To underscore this move, our sources also revealed that plans were already underway to detail the state Commissioner of Police, to arrest some members of the State House of Assembly and force them to sign the impeachment notice. The source further noted that the prospect of their non-compliance with the impeachment order may lead to their assassination as they had already bought over all instruments of state security to actualize their heinous plans.
It would be recalled that for some time now, the political cauldron in Ebonyi State, has been boiling, culminating in a complex conundrum of court cases over some House members, whose seats were declared vacant as the constitutional validity of 24 minimum membership was not met to form a quorum for the State House of Assembly sittings.
Besides, the Honourable members whose seats were declared vacant are already in court to question the validity of court orders and seek interpretation on the actions and inactions of the Speaker. Expectedly, the House, constitutionally, cannot sit, as the law makers lack the minimum number of membership required by the constitution to sit and impeach the governor.
Popular opinion tends to interpret the contrived strategy of instituting an illegitimate government contrary to the wishes of the law-abiding people of Ebony State, especially now the present administration has just a few days to wind up, thereby creating a state of anarchy and disorder in the peace-loving state.

Reports filed by WALLACE OKAFOTR
OAMS-STAR MEDIA, ABAKAKALIKI, EBONYI STATE

CELEB said...

I fear 9ja o. Only God knows the truth

This is sad. Rip Prof.

i guess these never happened in a country where they have rules and regulation. so painful RIP PROF.
thorough investigation is necessary

This is sad. Rip Prof.

wowoooooo

So sad.rip

This is total BS...these retards called NPF are complete fools. All they know how to do is interrogate and cause harm to the innocent.

Hmmmm.

Owk ooO nsogbu dikwa

Na waa

Ethel said...

The villagers dat killed him indeed! Why didn't the police stop the villagers? Wat nonsense. That police station shuld be burnt down. Rip Prof

Njideka.nkem@gmail.com

Hmmmmmmmm!

Sad..#Queenmama

Paul Ofou said...

So sad, what this Boko Haram wahala will cause? God help us all.

What a way to die.

@Sophia Stephen

U again...
This is serious...

After today give away u wil surely disappear as usual.

Na wa o! Could it be true dat d man died for what he knows nothing of??? Linda take note!

HeyaHeya..RIP

Chaiiii....what a bad way to die. Isabella_nice @yahoo.com

too bad

Look at how cheap life is in Nigeria. With police that don't know their jobs. What's the point

PRETTY GIRL said...

Omg! This is so sad....Villagers and their foolishness though....I pray he gets justice #RIP Prof Ahmed

Medicine after death. The IGP wants to add injury to the wound, they should leave this man to rest in peace biko! A whole professor murdered in a cold blood for nonsense mistaken of identity chai...Nigeria Nigeria Nigeria.

***floxycares***

Nigerian Police!i hail una o

She disappear or not how's DAT Ur biznex, na Ur mama get blog...move along... Her disappearance is better Dan Ur senseless comments...

Lmao @ u again #onelovefromsnow#

ejike capable said...

ejkogb@gmai.com

ejike capable said...

ejkogb@gmail.com

The incompetence! This will continue to happen as citizens and law enforcement are on the look for any signs of suspicion, which is why everybody should be careful and mindful of their action.

storyroute.com said...

justice must prevail.

once upon a time,a shepherd had a wolf and equally a flock of sheep.The wolf tend to prowl around the flock of Sheep for the wrong motive of for more stories & morals abeg peep

Wow wat the hell is wrong with nigeria I don't even know what to say

So unfortunate and sad!!!

its a pity...

Such a gruesome way to die! False accusation!

Lol you can say that again

Eya, lord give the family the fortitude to bear the lost

Anothergist said...

NEXT

Ariel said...

For those of us living in the north,we all try to know every family on every street around our neighborhood, when you sight any unfamiliar face, suspicions arise(we whisper to the next person,maybe he's here to recruit new BH members).BH members are recruited with as little as dabino(date fruit),you wont believe unless you are up here.
A 9yr old in the south already knows how to use tech gadgets;same age in the north can't even spell his name,such are easily recruited with dabino or 200 naira.Northern Leaders have been cheating us for too long,LGA Chairmen,House of Reps,Senators,Governors,Emirs they receive allocations but will rather give out only 200 naira to citizens every friday than encourage them to get education.
If only we can switch places with the south then southerners will see how our elder statesmen have been robbing the north by not advising them as regards education.
GEJ is not to blame for anything,our Councillors and LGA chairmen are with the Legislators in abuja from Mon to Fri,return on fri to give out 200 naira.

I condemn jungle justice, May his soul RIP

Na wah oooo

Dis is sad, may his soul rest in peace. Dis is due to insecurity in d country.

very sad story

U guys are all fools u heard one side story and u are already judging.

Dis is painful die just like dat? No dis needs serious investigation,RIP sir

So, the life of a professor was taken due to error? This life sha!

How can a mob kill someone in the police premises and the police can come out and say it happened in their premises and on their watch...naija in the 21st century .....Oma shee oooo

lami said...

This is really sad.God help us all in this country.

Notting wey person no go hear, send all those stupid police men to 24years jail each, as for the villagers send both men and women to war front against boko haram, since they wan fight.

KC said...

Na wa º°OO°º.  as d man die f̶̲̥̅̊ọ̥я wetin him no knw

Royal priesthood why is it paining u

I grew up in the north, I understand all you wrote, those in the southern states of the country will only judge by the little info they get on social media and then blame it on FG.
Whereas no northern elder statesman is condemning this acts.

May his soul rest in peace...N may God judge his accusers..oshama2014@gmail.com

Nigerian police,shame on you!

I knew the prof,he was my neighbour in Zaria. Very gentle guy,this country is in a bad state. How can this happen?im sure at the end of the day no one will be punished. So sad RIP prof Falaki my condolences to your family.

This is really sad.....rest in peace prof

OMG, how i hate the Nigeria police with passion

Mind you this is not the first time this is happening in kano, there was a similar incident involving one mr ben which still remain unsolved.

IS TOO LATE IGP

O ga oooo

Looking for that plumpy and youthful skin? Get our beauty oils today! It works like botox! It's a skin modifier and gives it that youthful and glowing looks. It helps get rid of dark circles,blemishes,prevents pimples,removes fine lines,prevents visible ageing,reduces wrinkles,reduces large pores. It's enriched with vitamins,essential oils and Aha which is beneficial to the skin. The result is visible in a week! Beauty oils is for every skin type and should be used with a body moisturisers or lotion. What are you waiting for? Contact FDM skin care and therapeutical today on 09051394413 or add us on BBM 2772A2FA

is too late IGP

Kulikuli said...

When you throw a stone into the market, you don't know on whose head it will land. Boko Haram dangles and hovers over our fatherland like the sword of Damocles. Question again and again is, where are the voices of reason in the north? Such voices, if genuine, would have been more effective than all the guns and bombs. May we be safe. And RIP Prof. Amen!

Kulikuli said...

When you throw a stone into the market, you don't know on whose head it will land. Boko Haram dangles and hovers over our fatherland like the sword of Damocles. Question again and again is, where are the voices of reason in the north? Such voices, if genuine, would have been more effective than all the guns and bombs. May we be safe. And RIP Prof. Amen!

Kulikuli said...

Kangaroo justice system

You are a fool
Have you ever seen where angry mob operated before .you will know that nobody can stop them

If snake bite you next time you see worm you will run.
Nobody should blame the police for this
We don't need to kill their moral now
The mistake the prof made was that he should had contacted the police immediately his car was snatched
As a proffesor he should had carried all the police emergency numbers in his phone
If he had done that before the mob stated beating and dragging him to station information would had reach the station
On the part of the villagers they have seen enough death and destructions that they do not trust anyone again. Those are the states of emergency.
It is quite unfortunate if is true that the was just a victim.
I pray that he will find rest and i pray that the prince of peace will reign in our country
All the occultic rulers that have formed covenant with the devil to keep on shedding blood in our country shall be exposed and be disgraced

How are people be going to the police stations to kill the police themselves
How are civilians with guns have been killing our army in their barracks taking away their weapons and taking over their barracks.if they tell you that in 15years ago would you believe

Smh - no more investigations in this country. Policemen busy guarding corrupt leaders. Don't think anyone will be more evil than the correct government. They should be regarded as shameless because if they has entered sambisa forest when those girls were kidnapped they'd have found them and stopped the bloodbath that has been on going. VOTE CHANGE. SAI BUHARI!

the gun men took the car abi?

I thought d car has a flat Tyre?

Linda #watyasay

i saw flaat tyre nah

I Thought i saw flat tyre nah..so hw did d armed men drive d car #Lol 9ja