Could doctors really transplant a head onto a body in 2 years time? Italian surgeon says he can | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 26 February 2015

Could doctors really transplant a head onto a body in 2 years time? Italian surgeon says he can

How is this even possible? Italian surgeon, Sergio Canavero (pictured above), believes that head transplants are possible. That is taking a patient's head and grafting it onto a healthy body. This will be for paralysed patients and those with incurable illness. Dr. Canavero said both heads would be removed at the same time and then he would glue the patient's head onto the donor's body. Sounds to me like a crazy doctor. If you remove someone's head, is that not automatic death? Biko read the report after the cut and tell me maybe I'm the one who's not understanding it...before I yawere trying to understand...

Culled from Mail Online

It sounds like the plot of a bad horror film, but doctors are gearing up to do the world’s first head transplant.

Italian surgeon Sergio Canavero wants to take the head from someone with an incurable illness and graft it on to a healthy body. He claims the first operation could be done in just two years’ time.

The £7.5million body swap would initially be used to give a new lease of life to paralysed people – including those with spinal cord injuries similar to those sustained by the late actor Christopher Reeve.

People with muscle-wasting diseases and those whose organs are riddled with cancer could also have their head put on a new body.

Those with motor neurone disease, the condition suffered by Stephen Hawking and portrayed by Oscar-winner Eddie Redmayne in the film The Theory of Everything, might also benefit.
Eventually, the technique could be used to extend the life of healthy people in the ‘ultimate cosmetic surgery’.

Critics have described the plans as ‘pure fantasy’, but Dr Canavero claims all the necessary techniques exist and that he just needs to put them together. It is already more than 40 years since the first monkey head transplant and a basic operation on a mouse has just been done in China.

Dr Canavero already has a long list of potential patients, and will announce his plans at a top medical conference this summer in a bid to get the backing needed to do the first transplant in 2017.

The location has yet to be decided, but the surgeon, from the Turin Advanced Neuromodulation Group, says he would love to do it in London.
The new body would come from a normal transplant donor who is brain dead. Both the donor and the patient would have their head severed from their spinal cord at the same time, using an ultra-sharp blade to give a clean cut. The patient’s head would then be moved on to the donor’s body and attached using a ‘glue’ called polyethylene glycol to fuse the two ends of the spinal cord together.

The muscles and blood supply would be stitched up, before the patient is put in a coma for four weeks to stop them moving while the head and body heal together.
If that doesn’t sound bizarre enough, they would then be given small electric shocks to stimulate their spinal cord and strengthen the connections between their head and new body.

When the patient is brought out of their medically-induced coma, they should be able to move, feel their face and even speak with the same voice, this week’s New Scientist reports. Powerful immunosuppressant drugs should stop the new body from being rejected and intensive psychological support would also be provided.
Dr Canavero says he believes it would be ethically sound to carry out the procedure when people have no other hope of a cure.

However, the ethical arguments extend past the transplant itself.
For instance, if the patient went on to have children, they would biologically belong to the donor because the sperm or eggs would have come from the new body.

Initially, a shortage of donors means that the surgery would be limited to those with severe illness. But eventually, it could be used to allow healthy people to live longer.
Dr Canavero said that if science reaches the stage when human cloning is easy, a 60-year-old could make a copy of themselves.

They could then put their old head on a new, healthy body made from their own DNA – meaning they would keep their memories and personality.

William Matthews, chairman of the American Academy of Neurological and Orthopaedic Surgeons, said: ‘I embrace the concept of spinal fusion and I think there are a lot of areas that a head transplant could be used but I disagree with Canavero on the timing.

‘He thinks it’s ready, I think it’s far into the future.’
But Harry Goldsmith, a California doctor who has carried out one of the few operations that has allowed someone with a spinal cord injury to walk again, said: ‘I don’t believe it will ever happen.’ 

Culled from UK Daily Mail

114 comments:

It will be fantastic if dis is actually possible!!! Intriguing

ODI NDU ONWU KA MMA...
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Hummm,well nothing is impossible.

Plz I,pray it works, Doyin Okupe needs it badly.

DS WHYT WNT SIEZE TO AMAZE PPLE..I THNK IS POSIBLE TO AN EXTENT....TOMJERRYSWIT

dis doc has ya were

tosade of lagos said...

which kind doctor be dis sef, all dis oyinbo people sef

VRY CONFUSIN THOUGH' MAYB IS NOT D REAL HEAD LYK D TYPE ISIS N BH BEHEAD MAYB D HEAD CONTENT....LOL...TOMJERRYSWIT

Endtym don reach...wat else wnt i hear?...Dis is pure madness o

Naija Empire said...

this people are creating more sourc of evil in this world..Em

No doubt this world is coming to an end....

what name will the new creature bears? the name of body donor or the head donor?

LIE, unless they are building robo cop

Anytin is possible

I pray Linda ikeji and I will still be alive healty and strong, so dat I will read it here in dat 2017 if truly it's posible

Nothing is easy & Nothing is impossible

Science trying so hard to challenge their maker........maybe they can or maybe not......but I don't think it can function perfectly like the God created head.

::::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::::

Nothing is beyond science except life

Wonderful

prettiyz said...

This pple r crazy,una wan turn to God abi,una wan perform signs and wonder

This is preposterous! Maybe in a few years, who knows?!

Till the day i see it so for now, i no go talk

Will be convinced once they have a successful transplant.

ha!!!!! science and its many mysteries.... sounds scary though

Sounds crazy to me oops canavaro if it works then you are GOD smh

i doubt it if they will be 100% normal, those pictures above are not normal

IF THEY DO IT FOR BUHARI,I WILL VOTE FOR HIM IN 2019.BUT FOR NOW,GEJ ALL D WAAAAY!!!!!

Dave Mide said...

Linda no yawere now o ..lol

I don't believe it will
But there is no harm in trying
Let's wait and see if it will really work
God will keep us alive to witness it in two years time

K.

These white people are just too much but on the issue on ground, lets wait till 2017.

mz banx said...

Our GOD is a merciful GOD

Linda,I might be a liar all my life,but this is the only truth am telling you.This is madness at its peak.who is benefiting here?the owner of the head or the owner of the body?so the body will be of Tom,while the face will be of Jerry.but I can't stop laughing

dudette said...

Guess we would be seeing frankenstein monster soon then.....

This is so weird

Science at Work. Bring it on Doc.

I dnt thnk so. U r nt God n it can't wrk.

Story for the gods

Vote no fight!!!

lmaoooo..chai linda na automatic death oo no doubt..not possible.............................#6God

Awon oyibo yi ti yawere tan. That's why i don't like genetics. Head transplant ke, oti o

justiN.o.c said...

kidnapping by Nigerian hustlers for head transplant loading....2%

Abeg d thing dey scary, I can't even understand how it would be pulled off successfully. D world don dey climax. Linda take note!

This is ridiculous!!! Don't see this happening ever

Linda no be only u wan yawere biko. I had 2 read it 3 times still I no understand. Abeg, I'm flyin away to d next post

Kindly view
Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Madam lin lin plsssss I can't laff abeg if its possible den no wahala* dt automatic death gt mi cracking up really bad.

um ..... so what happens to the head of the healthy one.... these white people ehn..

Hmmm - oyibo and their insatiable desire to play God. Which kin four weeks for head and body to heal? I dislocated my ankle 6 weeks ago and it still hasn't healed properly. The joint is stiff & am even learning how to work properly again.

This is too freaky.. I'm not a surgeon but I dont see how this can be done successfully, it can be attempted, I just dont think they'll succeed

Must be possible...Once in a lifetime surgery tho!

Jenny said...

Chai...i like your tone anyday Linda. You make blogging fun. Meanwhile, the doctor is just being optimistic...dazall

Thesame way they criticised so many inventions we enjoy today.

Dear Dr. Canavero, I don't really know how you arrive at that, but I know if God gives you backing for that, it will succeed but if you are simply trying God, you are on your own ooooo. Anyways, go ahead and do your best. Nothing is impossible

Thesame way they criticised so many inventions we enjoy today.

Dear Dr. Canavero, I don't really know how you arrive at that, but I know if God gives you backing for that, it will succeed but if you are simply trying God, you are on your own ooooo. Anyways, go ahead and do your best. Nothing is impossible

Akuko!

Cynthia Iyede said...

Scientists n doctors hennn! They always have their ways around issue. Linda you're funny.

Lol nothing we won't see

Josh Atuanya said...

Can someone define CRAZY for me?

sergio canavero? more like fabio cannavaro

comfort said...

This oyinbo pple don dey kolo finish ooo cos I don't no how it ll look like putting another person's head to another body...I just don't understand shaaaa maybe someone can still explain better........

maybe its possible

pls guys visit ssomusik.blogspot.com

As d saying goes "there is nothing new under d sun" but wht dis man is saying is not just crazy but can never b d same.

Styno Communications said...

maybe its possible

pls visit ssomusik.blogspot.com

Hmmm !

MamaLiza said...

Story 4d Gods....

KC said...

Na 2017 him talk... We dey wait º°OO°Âº e no far again

Elendu Ezinne said...

dis is realy crazy nd wired

With God anything and everything is possible

sergio canavero? more like fabio cannavaro

Hmmmmm....... I don't believe this man is a killer joor http://youthsalary.com/?user=85948

ben carson did the seperation of two twin.He can do it

Maybe his a wizard! Because I don't c how u can remove someone's head and d person will survive

while Nigerians are busy moving into politics and shouting PDP and APC, the whites are busy thinking and coming out with new innovations for the betterment of humanity and that's why we see and will always continue to see them as GOD. aaaaafeeeceee! CHANGE! Feeedeeeefeeee! fowerrr!

Ohh where from ds too,??? Strange thns neva cease to happen in ds our global village.
Eeeiiii akwasi broni bekum nnipa! hmmmm

Mosdef said...

Lol ... whoa Science is a lot of things but this is being god. God is a jealous God so it wont be possible.

still can't believe D's! ba when it comes to Oyibo anythn is to be expected. *dazzled face*

Hmmm.....

@Sophia Stephen

dis is future medic in our present.

sean said...

Psycho doctor,u must be on on something.

We are waiting.

I beg diz nah Fabu iro NLA ye my neck ooooo Linda sha mi oooooo e GBA mi oooooo ye pa

well I won't disput his theory because anything is possible. but the interesting part was the human cloning and fusion of a mans head onto his cloned body. Very interesting. I would like to see this happen in my life time.

oyinbo has come again oooo. well it will save lives sha. bet aw

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

The whites and their experiments.

ckjacob.blogspot.com

He believes, so he can! Keepin' my fingers crossed for 'episode 1'.

SB said...

Y not jst make a whole human instead of amending

Horrible

Horrible

Chineeke! Ds oyibo pipo won't kii sombody o!

Na wa o! Wetin person no go hear

cutie na said...

It sounds like a brave n scary idea. Hope people will not then be buying other people's body in a bit to live longer.

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Oyinbo and their wahala, all good, jst wanna see the head of an individual on his cloned body, hmmmm.. Sounds interesting..

Mk we dey see

okorodudu said...

It's a very plausible happenstance, especially if crucial elements are managed properly. The good head could be placed in a coma prior to separation in order to prevent the brain from registering the severance, and 4weeks inducement after transplant will allow the traumatic effects on the cells to wear off.

The person would most likely be asked to avoid contact sports and such stuff that could lead to a neck injury.

The saying, 'don't lose your head' would take on new meaning - lol.

If it works in my lifetime I'd want Dennis Rodman's body! I hear he has a huge joystick!

Don't be so sure, once upon a time same thing was said about airplanes and flying

passions said...

these white pple will nt kill sombody ooo....which one is head transplant nw...they hav turn themselves to small gods..

passions said...

these white pple will nt kill sombody ooo....which one is head transplant nw...they hav turn themselves to small gods..

All do oyinbo don dey mad ooo. So if don't like ke my body na to go find person wen don gym collect him body na

Lol. Pls click
http://payfunda.biz/usrlink/?share=victorial

"Would be"

this sounds absurd to most people but to me its very possible. all is needed is the right precision tools to execute the idea. the human mind is filled with unlimited possibilities. so there is really no limit to which man can go.

Na Wetin I fear most be that. Some greedy rich men of this world would just keep kidnapping or even birth children whose bodies they cd transplant into at will. I pray God they don't pull it thru! Haha!!!

imagine buharis head on bill Clintons body. and Hilary Clintons head on magic Johnson. or will it be just intra racial and not inter racial transplants we need to now, how the genes will relate and code in this situation

Hmmm ...na wa 4dis world!

Lips sealed

Promise abiola. S d oly person d@ talk sense....cos al tin b4 God surely wrk out gud. Mind U d cost 4d head transplnt s nt a peanut... I guess if d Doc cn cm 2naija u cn easily gt enof body donor...
Wish u al d best Doc d@ s if u put God 1st...lol olu jeff

Let's see what happens.

Jst wish this can really happen, plenty people needs it in this country

Oghie Nas said...

Common man.. dats sombody's pops u'r talking abt...

This surgery will be very useful in Nigeria, especially for this crop of corrupt government officials. The can replace their heads with that of PIGS!

Until men like Okupe, Abati, Fayose, FFK and the other foul mouthed putrid spirited agents of regression leave this earth? Nigeria will never ever have real status on the world stage.
Btw Okupe kids cannot be proud of him
Not likely.

Oghie Nas said...

Kids cannot b proud of him?? Deceive urself all u wnt Nigga....

YHUR-ZEST-4-LIFE said...

Most medical discoveries had doubters/critics until it worked on someone then everyone wanted it and then it became legalized. This would be a very great discovery and as an aspiring neurosurgeon, I am looking forward to it and researching more about this.

Emeka Again said...

################################
I'm really amazed at some comments.
Imagine these:
It's November 22nd, 1678 and a man walks up to you and says there would be a palm-size device that will enable you to whisper to someone in another continent (phone), with same device you could see other people in other countries in real time. There would be heart transplants, we would fly just like birds(air crafts) we would travel to space and so on and so forth. I believe you'll have the same reaction of "Hey come off it. It's not possible! You are not God. Sign of end times."
If you are one of those with that mentality, Let me ask you this. What are you living for? Waiting for God to do all things for you?
You are a typical example of the kind of people we don't need in this country.
Open your mind, explore, imagine and create.
That is the reason we are living. We are not living to get a job, pay our bills watch tv, go to parties etc. We are living to explore the possibilities of this world god has placed in our hands.

Everything imaginable is possible only with time. Man is a mini god!

Take it or leave it.

##################################

Hmmm! When will dis oyibo people stop to dey try God sef