Buhari’s Speech at Chatham House – Nigeria’s Transition | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 26 February 2015

Buhari’s Speech at Chatham House – Nigeria’s Transition

Read the speech below...
Permit me to start by thanking Chatham House for the invitation to talk about this important topic at this crucial time. When speaking about Nigeria overseas, I normally prefer to be my country’s public relations and marketing officer, extolling her virtues and hoping to attract investments and tourists. But as we all know, Nigeria is now battling with many challenges, and if I refer to them, I do so only to impress on our friends in the United Kingdom that we are quite aware of our shortcomings and are doing our best to address them.
The 2015 general election in Nigeria is generating a lot of interests within and outside the country. This is understandable. Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country and largest economy, is at a defining moment, a moment that has great implications beyond the democratic project and beyond the borders of my dear country.
So let me say upfront that the global interest in Nigeria’s landmark election is not misplaced at all and indeed should be commended; for this is an election that has serious import for the world. I urge the international community to continue to focus on Nigeria at this very critical moment. Given increasing global linkages, it is in our collective interests that the postponed elections should hold on the rescheduled dates; that they should be free and fair; that their outcomes should be respected by all parties; and that any form of extension, under whichever guise, is unconstitutional and will not be tolerated.
With the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, the dissolution of the USSR in 1991, the collapse of communism and the end of the Cold War, democracy became the dominant and most preferred system of government across the globe. That global transition has been aptly captured as the triumph of democracy and the ‘most pre-eminent political idea of our time.’ On a personal note, the phased end of the USSR was a turning point for me. It convinced me that change can be brought about without firing a single shot.
As you all know, I had been a military head of state in Nigeria for twenty months. We intervened because we were unhappy with the state of affairs in our country. We wanted to arrest the drift. Driven by patriotism, influenced by the prevalence and popularity of such drastic measures all over Africa and elsewhere, we fought our way to power. But the global triumph of democracy has shown that another and a preferable path to change is possible. It is an important lesson I have carried with me since, and a lesson that is not lost on the African continent.
In the last two decades, democracy has grown strong roots in Africa. Elections, once so rare, are now so commonplace. As at the time I was a military head of state between 1983 and 1985, only four African countries held regular multi-party elections. But the number of electoral democracies in Africa, according to Freedom House, jumped to 10 in 1992/1993 then to 18 in 1994/1995 and to 24 in 2005/2006. According to the New York Times, 42 of the 48 countries in Sub-Saharan Africa conducted multi-party elections between 1990 and 2002.
The newspaper also reported that between 2000 and 2002, ruling parties in four African countries (Senegal, Mauritius, Ghana and Mali) peacefully handed over power to victorious opposition parties. In addition, the proportion of African countries categorized as not free by Freedom House declined from 59% in 1983 to 35% in 2003. Without doubt, Africa has been part of the current global wave of democratisation.
But the growth of democracy on the continent has been uneven. According to Freedom House, the number of electoral democracies in Africa slipped from 24 in 2007/2008 to 19 in 2011/2012; while the percentage of countries categorised as ‘not free’ assuming for the sake of argument that we accept their definition of “free” increased from 35% in 2003 to 41% in 2013. Also, there have been some reversals at different times in Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Cote D’Ivoire, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, Mali, Madagascar, Mauritania and Togo. We can choose to look at the glass of democracy in Africa as either half full or half empty.
While you can’t have representative democracy without elections, it is equally important to look at the quality of the elections and to remember that mere elections do not democracy make. It is globally agreed that democracy is not an event, but a journey. And that the destination of that journey is democratic consolidation – that state where democracy has become so rooted and so routine and widely accepted by all actors.
With this important destination in mind, it is clear that though many African countries now hold regular elections, very few of them have consolidated the practice of democracy. It is important to also state at this point that just as with elections, a consolidated democracy cannot be an end by itself. I will argue that it is not enough to hold a series of elections or even to peacefully alternate power among parties.
It is much more important that the promise of democracy goes beyond just allowing people to freely choose their leaders. It is much more important that democracy should deliver on the promise of choice, of freedoms, of security of lives and property, of transparency and accountability, of rule of law, of good governance and of shared prosperity. It is very important that the promise embedded in the concept of democracy, the promise of a better life for the generality of the people, is not delivered in the breach.
Now, let me quickly turn to Nigeria. As you all know, Nigeria’s fourth republic is in its 16th year and this general election will be the fifth in a row. This is a major sign of progress for us, given that our first republic lasted five years and three months, the second republic ended after four years and two months and the third republic was a still-birth. However, longevity is not the only reason why everyone is so interested in this election.
The major difference this time around is that for the very first time since transition to civil rule in 1999, the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is facing its stiffest opposition so far from our party the All Progressives Congress (APC). We once had about 50 political parties, but with no real competition. Now Nigeria is transitioning from a dominant party system to a competitive electoral polity, which is a major marker on the road to democratic consolidation. As you know, peaceful alternation of power through competitive elections have happened in Ghana, Senegal, Malawi and Mauritius in recent times. The prospects of democratic consolidation in Africa will be further brightened when that eventually happens in Nigeria.
But there are other reasons why Nigerians and the whole world are intensely focussed on this year’s elections, chief of which is that the elections are holding in the shadow of huge security, economic and social uncertainties in Africa’s most populous country and largest economy. On insecurity, there is a genuine cause for worry, both within and outside Nigeria. Apart from the civil war era, at no other time in our history has Nigeria been this insecure.
Boko Haram has sadly put Nigeria on the terrorism map, killing more than 13,000 of our nationals, displacing millions internally and externally, and at a time holding on to portions of our territory the size of Belgium. What has been consistently lacking is the required leadership in our battle against insurgency. I, as a retired general and a former head of state, have always known about our soldiers: they are capable, well trained, patriotic, brave and always ready to do their duty in the service of our country.
You all can bear witness to the gallant role of our military in Burma, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Darfur and in many other peacekeeping operations in several parts of the world. But in the matter of this insurgency, our soldiers have neither received the necessary support nor the required incentives to tackle this problem. The government has also failed in any effort towards a multi-dimensional response to this problem leading to a situation in which we have now become dependent on our neighbours to come to our rescue.
Let me assure you that if I am elected president, the world will have no cause to worry about Nigeria as it has had to recently; that Nigeria will return to its stabilising role in West Africa; and that no inch of Nigerian territory will ever be lost to the enemy because we will pay special attention to the welfare of our soldiers in and out of service, we will give them adequate and modern arms and ammunitions to work with, we will improve intelligence gathering and border controls to choke Boko Haram’s financial and equipment channels, we will be tough on terrorism and tough on its root causes by initiating a comprehensive economic development plan promoting infrastructural development, job creation, agriculture and industry in the affected areas. We will always act on time and not allow problems to irresponsibly fester, and I, Muhammadu Buhari, will always lead from the front and return Nigeria to its leadership role in regional and international efforts to combat terrorism.
On the economy, the fall in prices of oil has brought our economic and social stress into full relief. After the rebasing exercise in April 2014, Nigeria overtook South Africa as Africa’s largest economy. Our GDP is now valued at $510 billion and our economy rated 26th in the world. Also on the bright side, inflation has been kept at single digit for a while and our economy has grown at an average of 7% for about a decade.
But it is more of paper growth, a growth that, on account of mismanagement, profligacy and corruption, has not translated to human development or shared prosperity. A development economist once said three questions should be asked about a country’s development: one, what is happening to poverty? Two, what is happening to unemployment? And three, what is happening to inequality?
The answers to these questions in Nigeria show that the current administration has created two economies in one country, a sorry tale of two nations: one economy for a few who have so much in their tiny island of prosperity; and the other economy for the many who have so little in their vast ocean of misery.
Even by official figures, 33.1% of Nigerians live in extreme poverty. That’s at almost 60 million, almost the population of the United Kingdom. There is also the unemployment crisis simmering beneath the surface, ready to explode at the slightest stress, with officially 23.9% of our adult population and almost 60% of our youth unemployed. We also have one of the highest rates of inequalities in the world.
With all these, it is not surprising that our performance on most governance and development indicators (like Mo Ibrahim Index on African Governance and UNDP’s Human Development Index.) are unflattering. With fall in the prices of oil, which accounts for more than 70% of government revenues, and lack of savings from more than a decade of oil boom, the poor will be disproportionately impacted.
In the face of dwindling revenues, a good place to start the repositioning of Nigeria’s economy is to swiftly tackle two ills that have ballooned under the present administration: waste and corruption. And in doing this, I will, if elected, lead the way, with the force of personal example.
On corruption, there will be no confusion as to where I stand. Corruption will have no place and the corrupt will not be appointed into my administration. First and foremost, we will plug the holes in the budgetary process. Revenue producing entities such as NNPC and Customs and Excise will have one set of books only. Their revenues will be publicly disclosed and regularly audited. The institutions of state dedicated to fighting corruption will be given independence and prosecutorial authority without political interference.
But I must emphasise that any war waged on corruption should not be misconstrued as settling old scores or a witch-hunt. I’m running for President to lead Nigeria to prosperity and not adversity.
In reforming the economy, we will use savings that arise from blocking these leakages and the proceeds recovered from corruption to fund our party’s social investments programmes in education, health, and safety nets such as free school meals for children, emergency public works for unemployed youth and pensions for the elderly.
As a progressive party, we must reform our political economy to unleash the pent-up ingenuity and productivity of the Nigerian people thus freeing them from the curse of poverty. We will run a private sector-led economy but maintain an active role for government through strong regulatory oversight and deliberate interventions and incentives to diversify the base of our economy, strengthen productive sectors, improve the productive capacities of our people and create jobs for our teeming youths.

In short, we will run a functional economy driven by a worldview that sees growth not as an end by itself, but as a tool to create a society that works for all, rich and poor alike. On March 28, Nigeria has a decision to make. To vote for the continuity of failure or to elect progressive change. I believe the people will choose wisely.
In sum, I think that given its strategic importance, Nigeria can trigger a wave of democratic consolidation in Africa. But as a starting point we need to get this critical election right by ensuring that they go ahead, and depriving those who want to scuttle it the benefit of derailing our fledgling democracy. That way, we will all see democracy and democratic consolidation as tools for solving pressing problems in a sustainable way, not as ends in themselves.

Prospects for Democratic Consolidation in Africa: Nigeria’s Transition

Permit me to close this discussion on a personal note. I have heard and read references to me as a former dictator in many respected British newspapers including the well regarded Economist. Let me say without sounding defensive that dictatorship goes with military rule, though some might be less dictatorial than others. I take responsibility for whatever happened under my watch.
I cannot change the past. But I can change the present and the future. So before you is a former military ruler and a converted democrat who is ready to operate under democratic norms and is subjecting himself to the rigours of democratic elections for the fourth time.
You may ask: why is he doing this? This is a question I ask myself all the time too. And here is my humble answer: because the work of making Nigeria great is not yet done, because I still believe that change is possible, this time through the ballot, and most importantly, because I still have the capacity and the passion to dream and work for a Nigeria that will be respected again in the comity of nations and that all Nigerians will be proud of.
I thank you for listening..

354 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 354 of 354

Permit me to close this discussion on a personal note. I have heard and read references to me as a former dictator in many respected British newspapers including the well regarded Economist. Let me say without sounding defensive that dictatorship goes with military rule, though some might be less dictatorial than others. I take responsibility for whatever happened under my watch.
I cannot change the past. But I can change the present and the future. So before you is a former military ruler and a converted democrat who is ready to operate under democratic norms and is subjecting himself to the rigours of democratic elections for the fourth time.

...Well said General!!!

Chigo said...

Buhari...... Good to go!

AWWWW AWESOME. VERY WELL WRITTEN. I AM SURE SOME PEOPLE WOULD NOT READ THIS THOUGH BUT STILL COMPLAIN ABOUT THE GOVERNMENT LIKE THOSE PEOPLE IN GOVERNMENT DIDNT START FROM WHERE WE ARE WHICH IS READING NEWS.

The best part of the speech is where GMB said "...i take responsibility for what happened other my watch". This is what is apparently lacking in GEJ. Big ups GMB. Nice speech.

samolamo said...

What a fine speech, wish you the best in the coming election.Well articulated, direct and straight to point.

Awesome!

Well spoken GMB, well said!!!!

He didn't formally greet the distinguished guests! Also his conclusion was very unethical! You don't make such a speech without addressing the nation! Problems with illiterates

GMB,Go home and be with your family,Forget those tricksters disguising under,using whatever means for you to play by their rules,Tinubu and Ameachi,you deserve to enjoy your grand Kids,And have a peaceful old age,Leave this race for young Blood,#BUHARIGOHOME

samolamo said...

What a speech, articulate, direct and straight to point. Wish you the best in the coming election.

Ayolah Samuel said...

Clueless,visionless and moronic Gej cannot match this man's intelligence and positive vision for Nigeria.

Lekan Ashas said...

<a Well said sir. Sai BUHARI

Jaychoc.tv said...

Wathc The Full Video Here http://jaychoc.tv/videos/watch-buhari-full-speech-at-chatham-house-full-transcript/ Via #JaychocTV

Buhari Is Sick They Said!!

samolamo said...

What a fine speech, wish you the best in the coming election.Well articulated, direct and straight to point.

That was a great speech!!!

lucybings amebo said...

That was indeed an interesting speech, if truly ur blue print cums 2 play if elected den I believe our dear nation will b transformed and other countries wil take a cue Frm us

...wonderful. I want to be proud of my Nigeria again. I will vote for change.

And so ..................

Absolutely splendid speech no comma!

And so .............

And that's the change we have been clamouring for... we can't wait to #marchforbuhari

prince said...

He is a great leader that is most needed at this cross road in our national life

NICE ONE GMB U ARE GOOD TO GO.

Dapepe said...

Wonderful speech . . .God bless GMB, God bless Nigeria. Finally Change is here . . .Deo Gratiasa

ABEBI said...

THANK YOU SIR. IT TAKES A GRT MIND TO UNDERSTAND THIS MAN.A MAN MAY GROW OLD BUT HIS VISION DOESN'T.JONATHAN CAN'T PUT HIS WIFE UNDER CONTROL,HOW MUCH MORE A NATION.WE NEED MORE THAN A GOOD MAN TO LEAD US. AN AVERAGE NIGERIAN LACKS DISCIPLINE AND WE NEED ONE WITH SUCH A VIRTUE TO BE OUR NO 1 CITIZEN BCOS U CAN'T GIVE WHAT U DON'T HAVE..AM A CHRISTIAN BUT I BELIEVE GOD CAN USE ANYBODY...

Oskirin said...

Linda,na d last 3 paragraphs i read very well.i hope and pray he rescues us and take us 2 dt glory land dt av bn yearning 4.

deji said...

Man even if jeg has 200 PhDs he can't give such a great speech sia baba

deji said...

Man even if jeg has 200 PhDs he can't give such a great speech sia baba

This is a powerful piece. One of the types you would expect to read from Obama, Martin Luther King Jnr, Fashola, etc.

I love GMB more with this.

March for Buhari

Story for the gods...Buhahari

mzjaybee said...

And for nigerians in the diaspora that were protesting this morning,keep deceiving yourselves and carrying poverty mentality around for little change,if Nigeria is good and Jonathan has done well in the past 5-6 years what are you looking for in the uk, come home n suffer small,just one dose*kip washing your dirty linear in the public

Ayinde said...

What an articulate speech! We hope the promises would be actualized.

Speechless this is more like a change truly coming not unlike some parties pointing fingers at political enemies here and they, saying they creating jobs by giving money to those that can act movies, dance well well according to their words, I hope buhari wins and follows his play and one of the most important word is do we wanna continue to vote for bad governance or vote for a change? Decision lies in our hands and it's time we say no to vote exchange for money or bag of rice. Richlyblessed007.

Loooool

Roman! said...

Sai Buhari

He actually said all that that was written and it was all clearly understood by journalists?? just thinking aloud

Chai Nigerians are dumb! It's so obvious that the speech was written for him! Why is it that when interviewed his not this eloquent?! Please he should come and debate and stop reading pieces of paper given to him! Stupid greedy old man!

Lwkmh!!! No be small wrong audience. Criminal party... GEJ nnam,my presido!! Chukwu gozie gi ofuma ofuma

Kulikuli said...

I saw a chart which shows that every Buhari's speech at all the rallies in Nigeria was a maximum of two minutes. He goes off to London hangs out for about a week and does a marathon of one hour? Does he plan to preside over Nigeria from London? Because to sustain this energy, he needs whatever they gave him there, which our doctors probably have not mastered how to administer. Botox much? Who knows?

Kulikuli said...

I saw a chart which shows that every Buhari's speech at all the rallies in Nigeria was a maximum of two minutes. He goes off to London hangs out for about a week and does a marathon of one hour? Does he plan to preside over Nigeria from London? Because to sustain this energy, he needs whatever they gave him there, which our doctors probably have not mastered how to administer. Botox much? Who knows?

Hahahahaha

By God grace

Lol abi o

For the first time ever someone at the top accepting responsibilities for there mistakes in the past, doyin, omokri, Asari, fani and the uneducated political thieves life Jonathan can read this and digest the truth, deep down in their heart they would accept that buhari said it all whole heartedly....lets wait for the rubbish they gonna say next bastard selfish people. Richlyblessed007.

U re a clueless lunatic, ppl like u re d major problem in this country, did u read the above speech made by Mr president in waiting before make ur senseless comment?

Awesome

mumu nigerians, y didnt he do it in 83?, i wud rather vote shekau

Who he help? Mtchewww

I've got no love for both presidential candidates but fucking hell, this is what a presidential speech should look like!

Bongz said...

Sai Buhari!! #GMB 2015. You guys need to see the twitter post on Fayose's reaction. He was stretchered out!

I can see the future of Nigeria is bright, the era of getting to aso rock by chance or luck, sitting there like mumu and sharing the national cake has come to and end, I ve to earn it, and work ur way tru it, if not this new Nigeria will kick ur PhD butt! My ppl vote for change

Well said our next President! #March4Buhari#

Too many Englis . Gej go still win the election

God bless u. You hit d nail

Linda, I'm still waiting to see if you and your stupid APC can muster courage to post the video

easily decieved people is what nigerians are, 1 questions to you guys pls... is this not the same man that overthrew a democratically elected president? what has changed abouth him?, sorry make it 2 questions

ode pple, like say buhari fit write this kain thing...

Shut up already! Chai

chike JO said...

He has suggested a lot. Please don't be blind to what's going around you. In the past he has suggested lot..all GEJ DOES IS TOO BALME THE OPPOSITION... NOT TAKE ACTION. AND LISTEN TO FORMER HEAD OF STATES.

There is really a need to worry as regards security.This is because buhari is a man wit an evil heart who is ready to spill the bloods of Nigerians for his selfish intrest.God will punish u for all ur attrocities.U will fail woefully except u re innocent which u re not.

Speech written for him, so what? what sense had Jonathan spoken? nothing!!!. Nigerians, vote with your sense and stop voting with sympathy. Becos Jonathan got a sympathetic vote the last time. VOTE FOR CHANGE

lovely ,i want change in Nigeria

This speech is apt, and it really doesn't matter to me if the speech was written for him, it really doesn't matter if he doesn't have a WAEC certificate and least of all it doesn't matter if he looks frail. What matters is that he is a Nigerian, a patriot who saw Nigeria in her golden years and wants to to help bring that glory back, I think we should give him the opportunity.

Word Bae. WORD. U ve got both Beauty n Brainz.

This speech is apt, and it really doesn't matter to me if the speech was written for him, it really doesn't matter if he doesn't have a WAEC certificate and least of all it doesn't matter if he looks frail. What matters is that he is a Nigerian, a patriot who saw Nigeria in her golden years and wants to to help bring that glory back, I think we should give him the opportunity.

Western education is bad and yet they go to the Western countries for visit and campaign why can't they go to Iraq, Syria, Libya, Egypt, Afghanistan, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, for medical checkup and campaign?

Thanks for reading the long sermon written for you. That won't stop you from loosing the election. Go to HELL Buhari u'r a blood sucker. Boko Haram grand patron.

Shut d fuck up hopless idiot

TIANA said...

Very nice and we'll written speech I must say. However, I would want Linda to post the question and answer session here as this was just read out by Buhari not necessarily his full opinion. Its the way he answered question and shared his opinion based on his knowledge that shows how much he reasons and how intelligent he is. And pls, I am not a hater, I personally do not support oga Jona nor GMB, but it's good we all are not carried away by sweet speeches.

Kulikuli said...

Bona I want to ask are you igbo or ibo? Am surprised at you. Isit the same apc that repatriated the igbos back to thei village you are singing praise for or? If apc win tinubu will show you all pepper you guys can say whatever you like now because GEJ allows it when apc enter nobody can or will ever express their mind the word treason will be everywhere. Think bro think. I see tinubu holding the whole of Nigeria to ransom if it was buhari alone though is a terrorist it would have be better but with atiku, ameachi, obasanjo, tinubu Nigeria is gone same people that kill the Nigeria economy are back in apc nija watch well. Thanks

This video clearly shows FFK and PDPigs actually payed this people Outside the Chatham House to protest against GMB because most of them don't even know why they are doing it. God willing change is imminent. ‪#‎NothingButChange‬ ‪#‎March4Buhari‬ ‪#‎Vote4Change

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10152755079911939&set=vr.10152755079911939&type=2&theater

Anon I think u need to get a dictionary

cy said...

Rubbish, does this man think we have forgotten what he did to Shagari during his 2nd tenure as president. Shagari as a president borrowed 2billion dollars and we were all hoping he would pay it back by his 2nd tenure, but this islamist evil took power from him before he could do this and bluntly refused to pay back that loan to IMF leading to the devaluation of our dear Naira. So Pls sir keep ur change chants to urself

Well said, couldn't have been better!

The man is too much! Perfectly said.

A lesson to all military officers (though this is no longer tolerated anywhere the world over). Can we imagine a presidential candidate running from pillar to post to sell himself because of the way the West sees him as former military dictator. Anyway, well said; but did OBJ not latently exhibit his military disposition on some occasions during his 8 years tenure. Has he not even threatened to send all corrupt politicians to kirikiri prison? So an adage says that 'no matter how a lunatic is treated, he will always wink'. Let us watch and see.

And it was composed by fashola GMB can't even write well sorry. Mr illiteracy dey worry me kwo yewaaaaa.

mikky0007 said...

It's unfortunate a lot of youths claim d speech is too long to read. Now I know why oyinbo man hide a lot of knowledge and wisdom in writing because the average black man will not read,,, God help our generation

Linda this isnt the time to stop working hard , there are many other same clearer pictures on the internet.Well done still

A lesson to all military officers (though this is no longer tolerated anywhere the world over). Can we imagine a presidential candidate running from pillar to post to sell himself because of the way the West sees him as former military dictator. Anyway, well said; but did OBJ not latently exhibit his military disposition on some occasions during his 8 years tenure. Has he not even threatened to send all corrupt politicians to kirikiri prison? So an adage says that 'no matter how a lunatic is treated, he will always wink'. Let us watch and see.

#SEBEE BY SOSSI DROPS 1st of March #undull

Tolu said...

How I love Buhari

THANK YOU SIR. IT TAKES A GRT MIND TO UNDERSTAND THIS MAN.A MAN MAY GROW OLD BUT HIS VISION DOESN'T.JONATHAN CAN'T PUT HIS WIFE UNDER CONTROL,HOW MUCH MORE A NATION.WE NEED MORE THAN A GOOD MAN TO LEAD US. AN AVERAGE NIGERIAN LACKS DISCIPLINE AND WE NEED ONE WITH SUCH A VIRTUE TO BE OUR NO 1 CITIZEN BCOS U CAN'T GIVE WHAT U DON'T HAVE..AM A CHRISTIAN BUT I BELIEVE GOD CAN USE ANYBODY...

Dipo said...

This is the best speech I have ever read coming from Buhari. I hope he has the strong will to deliver as promised knowing fully well that he is sorrounded by corrupt ex-leaders/serving.

#BuhariGoHome,Go and be with your grandkids,Make Stroke no catch you oo

Jay said...

Well said President Buhari! Sai Buhari, March4Buhari.

See how GEJ hired protesters against Buhari @ Chatam House. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDAtLpywjtA

Linda, this is actually the first time I'll ever comment on a post, be it politically or socially and my views honestly are; a) Tz appalling the way some Nigerians think and if after listening, watching,reading about the two leading candidates in the upcoming elections, Buhari has my vote.
B) fortunately, I'm not a supporter of either party, m a supporter of A Candidate and dats becos I am a risk taker. As much as this might seem a cliche, change is very constant therefore lets embrace it. We have after all seen GEJ's performances in the last 6years,there wouldn't be a harm in seeing another at least try. Why are we electorates after all??? We can always vote them out! We have the power! Let's put aside our baseless and unfounded sentiments and make a step in the right direction however risky! Saying Buhari doesn't have a WAEC certificate isn't an issue as even GEJ who has all d education in d world, can't even make a statement without looking back and forth and without him doing his normal exercise of ogogoro mouth wash everyday. Is it the choice of the First Lady we want to talk about??? M sure Tz not even dwelling on! People talk about GMB addressing Nigerians in London, is that seriously an issue??? Change we want and change we MUST get!!! I'll take a risk on the 28th of February and if he fails after 4years, I'll still exercise my voting right to remove him. M.H.

Dani said...

Lovely speach where is the so called phd holder has he ever given a hour long Speech #march4buhari

Lazy man. Read read read o

Sai Buhari, I beleive you dieeee!!!!

Change is here

my president :)

kola said...

kola said, the last time we have good,futuristic,broad based and well constructed with good lettering speech like this was pre-90s when the opportunist(fools) paraded themselves at the helm of the government. this is rebirth of Nigeria just like our pre-independence when people with great foresight it takes the likes of chief Awolowo, Sarduna,Azikwe and many more who advocated for our independence to produce this.writing of speech in this capacity is done by people who are taught and well trained to do so but it takes your substance to answer unprepared questions. today i will walk to the thinking corner here in hyde park in london where the nation Nigeria was born in the 1950s. General Buhari, today you have made our founding fathers proud and this is the birth of a new nation.

kola said...

kola said, the last time we have good,futuristic,broad based and well constructed with good lettering speech like this was pre-90s when the opportunist(fools) paraded themselves at the helm of the government. this is rebirth of Nigeria just like our pre-independence when people with great foresight it takes the likes of chief Awolowo, Sarduna,Azikwe and many more who advocated for our independence to produce this.writing of speech in this capacity is done by people who are taught and well trained to do so but it takes your substance to answer unprepared questions. today i will walk to the thinking corner here in hyde park in london where the nation Nigeria was born in the 1950s. General Buhari, today you have made our founding fathers proud and this is the birth of a new nation.

Haters of change you constitute a very insignificant number of commenters. Implication and obvious fact is that Nigerians are tired of mediocrity, failed, clueless and corrupt leadership that the present govt under gej offers. So much wickedness in the land. We hear of gej making surprise appearances in yobe and adamawa states. All because elections are here. While young boys were slaughtered in their sleep and young girls carted away he didn't seem it fit to show strength of character. He lost my vote like 3 years ago. We will see change come to nigeria come may 29th God willing. We will indeed see the ushering in of a new era for this country. God bless Nigeria. Enough is enough.

Linda u I knw dat buhari can not write dis story na. Abeg lily take french kiss.

U knw he did not write dat speech.

U knw he did not write dat speech na.

even with that...he is more valuable to nigerians dan u wit all ur ph.d....lols

Reina said...

I'd like to hear him read it.

Buhari is busy campaigning and making speech in London whereas GEJ is meeting with the grassroots in Nigeria! DUMB DUMB DUMBEE

WISE NIGERIAN said...

Buhari is busy campaigning and making speech in London whereas GEJ is meeting with the grassroots in Nigeria!
DUMB! DUMB!! DUMBEE!!!

Ketekete said...

I bet less than 5% of you read the whole speech!.

Well said ..... APC all the way ..... Fire born den all fayose , fani Kayode and dat silly doyin... Brainless pple group of pple..... Change all d way

Eyaaaa, see how he held on to the podium for support.

Victoria said...

Thanks, dearie. Our votes will grant us victory and together we will take nigeria to her rightful position. Pls vote change, vote General Muhammadu Buhari.Sai Buhari!

In the hands of a Martin Luther King, an Obama or a Babatunde Fashola, this great speech would have been delivered straight from the heart- not read line by line and word by word. However, right now in Nigeria, the Grandpas are still trending. So Nigerian able youths, sadly, take the back seat. Your time is yet to come...

Lazy Nigerians. The reading culture has totally wipped

WISE NIGERIAN said...

From the paid/bought Chatham House Event, Buahri agreed that;
----Nigeria is the biggest and the number 1 economy in Africa.
----Nigeria is the number 26 economy in the world
------Nigeria economy is growing 7% a year.
ALL THESE HAPPENED UNDER GOODLUCK JONATHAN--- so what is Buhari coming to change?

WISE NIGERIAN said...

From the paid/bought Chatham House Event, Buahri agreed that;
----Nigeria is the biggest and the number 1 economy in Africa.
----Nigeria is the number 26 economy in the world
------Nigeria economy is growing 7% a year.
ALL THESE HAPPENED UNDER GOODLUCK JONATHAN--- so what is Buhari coming to change?

On top composed speech. Be deceiving yourself.

Idiot. . GEJ na youth ? General buhari's speech sure pass all pdp rally speeches..

WISE NIGERIAN said...

GMB suspended his campaign, went incommunicado and stayed in UK for a week just to give a lecture at Chatham House? No public appearance in UK, no fund raising, no meeting with supporters and no accessibility to his followers.
He would not show up to debate about the way forward for Nigeria in Nigeria, but he would go to UK and talk to colonial masters and "unseen audience"? How else does he defend himself against charges of colonial mentality?
Gov. Fayose has been vindicated! When he said that GMB went to hospital, the APC e-rats were calling him names. Now Buhari himself has confirmed that his doctor has certified him fit!
So who is deceiving Nigerians now? Someone should tell these little-minded people that Nigerian are not the same as they were 32 years ago under his dictatorship. Majority of nigerians were not even born or were very young 32 years ago. We are in the 21st Century and analog lies and deceits would only further complicate the already hopeless situation for him.
Buhari and his APC has ran out of cash, out of ideas and are running out of time. It makes more sense now why they fought tooth and nail to make sure that the election was not postponed despite obvious INEC challenges.
Lagos and Rivers states treasury don suffer! As donors are getting few and far between; Tinubu-Fashola and Amaechi remain the only cash cows for APC; but for how long?
Presidential election is not a sprint but a marathon race. If you train for sprint and run 100 yards while you still have a 1000 more to go, what do we call that?
AaaaFiiiCeeee, Faaaa!

He can't be making suggestions. He ain't the commander in chief of the armed forces dummy.. that is Jonathan's work..

Debate organised by nigerians ? Seriously. .. that my dear is what happens when world countries find the postponement of elections disappointing. . In between if a debate had held would you have attended ??

Silly.. do you think GEJ's speeches are written by him ?

La said...

President sir. Gbam. Buhari nailed it. Too sure. Sai Buhari.

WISE NIGERIAN said...

GMB suspended his campaign, went incommunicado and stayed in UK for a week just to give a lecture at Chatham House? No public appearance in UK, no fund raising, no meeting with supporters and no accessibility to his followers.
He would not show up to debate about the way forward for Nigeria in Nigeria, but he would go to UK and talk to colonial masters and "unseen audience"? How else does he defend himself against charges of colonial mentality?
Gov. Fayose has been vindicated! When he said that GMB went to hospital, the APC e-rats were calling him names. Now Buhari himself has confirmed that his doctor has certified him fit!
So who is deceiving Nigerians now? Someone should tell these little-minded people that Nigerian are not the same as they were 32 years ago under his dictatorship. Majority of nigerians were not even born or were very young 32 years ago. We are in the 21st Century and analog lies and deceits would only further complicate the already hopeless situation for him.
Buhari and his APC has ran out of cash, out of ideas and are running out of time. It makes more sense now why they fought tooth and nail to make sure that the election was not postponed despite obvious INEC challenges.
Lagos and Rivers states treasury don suffer! As donors are getting few and far between; Tinubu-Fashola and Amaechi remain the only cash cows for APC; but for how long?
Presidential election is not a sprint but a marathon race. If you train for sprint and run 100 yards while you still have a 1000 more to go, what do we call that?
AaaaFiiiCeeee, Faaaa!

Excellent speech.. quite impressed with the detail... Summary is that Nigeria's democracy would be ultimately defined by this election as for the first time there is significant opposition to the one-party system we have had for a while. Pls make sure you vote.. let your voice be heard.

No comment

Redcandy said...

'I take responsibility for whatever happened under my watch.
I cannot change the past. But I can change the present and the future.'
When a man tells you that, it means he is a changed man. At least, he accepts his mistakes. GEJ refuses to accept his own mistakes.

Redcandy

alowonle said...

Can somebody call Mr fayose to come and see this . buhari ride on . let vote this man he has something great to offer.

Nigerians keep shouting change yet they keep electing the same type of people into power over and over again. It is said that insanity is doing the exact same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. This is why we are in this situation today. Why would you think parties like APC and PDP will produce non corrupt candidates when they are run by corrupt people. Have Nigerians bothered to look at the other candidates running, is there anyone amongst them who is qualified or has a proven track record in their businesses/organizations that demonstrate they are equipped with the skills to run a country. But because they do not have access to the funds that PDP and APC throw around to attract the attention of Nigerians they are pushed aside. And then Nigerians elect the same type of people a Buhari/Jonathan and nothing happens and the next four years they start shouting change. It's an endless cycle. At this rate 50 years down the line the country might still be in this pathetic situation. People need to start looking beyond the lies that these two parties are feeding us. They need to stop being enticed by the free phones or rice, all the things they give out to win votes. Instead people need to focus on the kind of future they want their kids to be born into. STARVE TODAY SO YOUR KIDS CAN EAT WELL TOMORROW. Do your research!!!! Vote for a candidate not based on their popularity but based on what they have accomplished in their lives so far!!!!!! Choose someone who has always walked on the right path. Because until we change ourselves and begin to think for ourselves and not feed into the propaganda! We will get stuck with another Buhari/Jonathan. Come 2019 elections, Nigerians will want to kick out whoever is in office for the next new candidate thinking there will be change but picking from the same family of PDP/APC or whatever name they decide to call themselves at the time. #Voteforyourkidsfuture and be the change that you want to see!

Naw I know u ar senseless

Woooow bravo man

You will win in Jesus name amen. That's God's will.

I feel sorry for your parents who have either failed to train you, or they trained you but you didn't listen.

Beautiful speech. I watched it live and he sounded very sincere and passionate about Nigeria. God bless you and help you in your quest sir. You have my vote.

God bless you. Let's try APC for just 4yrs.

It's fake news. Buhari is 100% committed to the peace pact. He just said so.

Sponsored or not!! please state!

Just dey yarn dust throughout. The whole story became boring self. Mtchew get out. Even a dead man will not even vote you into power self. Dummy

Why is Nigeria poor/suffering = CORRUPTION
How can we solve the problem= VOTE BUHARI
What is the assurance = 0% tolerance for corruption
What is the primary benefit = Development

Ehyah...you don chop?

Intelligent analysis you got right there. Nigerians supported Jonathan like theres was no tomorrow back in 2011. I wonder if he's too dull to sit down and ask himself how he fritted away so much goodwill.

The problem in your life eh, even TB Joshua can't solve it.

Take it easy sha, cos hatred kills faster than AIDS.

Buhari has spoken to Nigerians in 35 out of the 37 states (and FCT).

You must be deaf if you didnt hear.

Certificate or no certificate, Buhari has proved his enemies wrong with this brilliant speech even if it is prepared for him. He was able to deliver it in a convincing way. Most of the speeches delivered by GEJ were written for him but yet he is not articulate. Sai Buhari. Fayose can now bury his head in shame as GMB is able to deliver his speech for over one hour without resorting to drinking water and is not suppoted or carried away from the podium.

GMB change all the way!
God will heal Nigeria and rid the Nation of all these looters. I just finished washing the shameful videos of their rented crowd in London earlier today.
Change is here!
Up GMB!

It's unfortunate a lot of youths claim d speech is too long to read. Now I know why oyinbo man hide a lot of knowledge and wisdom in writing because the average black man will not read,,, God help our generation

Great speech! Bravo!

U are an Idiot

This is our next president for real.

U get sense die. What u've jst said is on point. Buhari 2015

Oh God of salvation, i beg u in the name of ur son Christ Jesus... let buhari win this election. I pray in Jesus name, let him b elected as the president of Nigeria on the 29th of May 2015. amen.... crying.... Plsssssss God almighty...

GMB forward March 28 to May 29 into Aso Rock

Nigerians i am frm the North let us be careful this Buhari is bad you people will not hear remember what prof Shoyinka and others said about Buhari dont mind him with his Chattam speech all na bu bu why did him not join gej in fighting the B\haram u carry campaign go meet yoruba people that are the most corrupt peple in Europe asked the home office of Uk they will tell u. what did you say about the 36 suit cases of dollers during u a killing regime u jailed many good persons in nigeria with u a wicked mind l said ibb is even better so u will loose banza shegee.

A u sure u are for d truth? I don't think so.

Engr M O Aminu said...

Gen Buhari has hit the problem in the head, Nigeria woes are;
Wastages
Corruption

but i wish to add;

Religious Bigotry
Ethnicity
are issues further issues begging for attension and next adminstration should identify and solve the problem.

We need to improve the handshake across the ethnic and religious line.

Religious leaders and traditional rulers will have to help the nation as the politician are waking to the reality of CHANGE.

Engr M O Aminu

Engr M O Aminu said...

Gen Buhari has hit the problem in the head, Nigeria woes are;
Wastages
Corruption

but i wish to add;

Religious Bigotry
Ethnicity
are issues further issues begging for attension and next adminstration should identify and solve the problem.

We need to improve the handshake across the ethnic and religious line.

Religious leaders and traditional rulers will have to help the nation as the politician are waking to the reality of CHANGE.

Engr M O Aminu

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 354 of 354   Newer› Newest»