Photo: Husband and wife allegedly tortured by policeman in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 December 2014

Photo: Husband and wife allegedly tortured by policeman in Lagos

A police officer attached to the Ikoyi Police station has been accused of physically assaulting a couple, 29yr old photographer, Ejeh Smith, and his wife, Grace, 26. The couple said the policeman, identified as Dada Ogunsanya attacked them with his rifle along the Lekki Roundabout on Wednesday December 3rd.
According to Punch, the couple who are currently receiving treatment at a Lagos Hospital for wounds they sustained from the attack, said they were in a taxi on their way to their Parkview home when a 7-man Police patrol team at the Lekki Roundabout stopped their taxi.

Narrating what transpired, the driver of the taxi, Ndubuisi Iheaka said the police asked to inspect his boot which he obliged and opened for them. He said they then demanded for his drivers license and as he was about getting it for them, they flashed their lights on his passengers
"I was about getting the driving license when he started flashing his torchlight on my passengers who were sitting at the back. The wife told the officer not to flash the torch on them since the inner light of the vehicle was on. Because of what she said, the policeman asked them to come down from the cab. This started an argument. The next thing I saw was that the policeman pulled my passenger (Ejeh) by his trousers, and his wife went to plead with him to stop. But instead, he slapped her and punched her husband. He was wearing a ring, which inflicted a deep cut on Ejeh’s face. After that, he used the butt of his gun to hit him in his eye and face. He also dragged his wife on the road.” the taxi driver said
Grace, the photographer's wife said the assault continued with the police officer stepping on her stomach
"If I was pregnant that night, I would have lost my pregnancy. I was only trying to pet him to leave my husband since he did not have business with us. I told him to face the cab driver and leave us alone. The other policemen were just looking at him while he dragged me on the ground. A man riding a tricycle at the time was the one who rescued me. He said the policemen must call their Divisional Police Officer or else he would not leave the scene,” she said.
Mr Ejeh said as they were being tortured, the DPO of the Ikoyi Police station, Mrs Aisha Haruna arrived the scene and ordered that they be taken to their station to make statement. He said he refused, insisting that they need medical attention. He said he was dripping blood from his eyes and his wife was vomiting blood.
"We told her that we needed to first treat ourselves before we could make statements. That was when we were given forms and referred to the Falomo Police Hospital. We paid for the treatment and we also went to the eye clinic for treatment.”
Grace said all the video recordings she did of the incident on her phone have been deleted by the police, including some of her personal data.
“Even my personal data were deleted. And when I asked the DPO why she did that, she said we deserved the treatment we got. She said she would have locked us up in the cell if not for our injuries. She said we did not know how to talk,” Grace said.
While confirming the incident, the Lagos state Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Kenneth Nwosu,said disciplinary actions would be taken once investigation into the matter is concluded. 
“Yes, the incident happened in the Ikoyi division. Inquiries are on as well as disciplinary procedures.”he said
Meanwhile the Husband and Wife says they will be filing a petition to the Inspector General of Police through their family lawyer.

Source: Punch

511 comments:

1 – 200 of 511   Newer›   Newest»

Ehen...

Wow...this is horrific!

Hmm

Eiyaaaa...this evil ppl in uniform, tormenting lives in d name of keepn law... God will punish them..amen

Stephen Echefu said...

Eyah! THIS IS BAD.

Eiyaaaa...this evil ppl in uniform, tormenting lives in d name of keepn law... God will punish them..amen

Eiyaaaa.. such a pity

Can the police man be released to us on the street to Investigate??? Am sure by the time we done with him, 2015 no go sure for am... Animal...

shawlarsirmuel@yahoo.com

dis is so sad!

Jesus, this's too much.

nwandoe said...

God I beg! Fatjoe4why@yahoo.com

Na wa o. Okochirita@yahoo.com

U don't torture a woman no matter what.. Nurrii says So.. Nuradeeeen@gmail.com

Neks said...

>>>>> Police is your friend," indeed. Naija police need special orientations.<<<< corcake@yahoo.com

weezy mayana said...

Police brutality... and they do all this like it there right..

Nah wah o.....

charlesome said...

Police is ur friend. Lol

chimamanda said...

Silly men

johnny said...

Dis policemen are so brutal,may God help us oo

U.S Under Blast For Using Torture To Extract Information From Militants

Olopaaaaaa

This is serious.police and their unfair treatment

DAHRN said...

This is just horrible if d police actually did this ,they need to be apprehended
Dasemita@ymail.com

Na wa for police

Examoracle said...

Na waooooooo. Police - are they for us or against us?

KWEEN said...

Later they will say 'police is your friend'.

Na wao

Nekwanu anya bikonu! Why naa? Police biko ekwensu oburu unu onu?

morex said...

too bad

Everything Rosham said...

OMG!!! See deir eyes...na pulp beating

-
-
-
Currently watching "SLEEPY HOLLOW"

Eiyaaaa...this evil ppl in uniform, tormenting lives in d name of keepn law... God will punish them..amen. ....hopless set of ppl in d name of policemen....

Why im come be for them eyes.?? D man needs his two eyes 2

Long live LIB™

Terrible

Eiyaaaa...this evil ppl in uniform, tormenting lives in d name of keepn law... God will punish them..amen. ....hopless set of ppl in d name of policemen....

so sorry...yeye police..dnt wory he go jam boko people

oyinda tella said...

Ds our police force ehn,very foolish people.I wish d victims quick recovery.oyindatella@yahoo.com

Sorry couple ➡Via Nokia1110_LindaIkejiBlogClassRep

investigation as usual. animals in uniform. official lib VP
adenike.olaniteh@gmail.com

Trust naija police when it comes to this

Ezinwa Joshua said...

All this nonsense have to stop!..Police can't continue to assault innocent civilians they are suppose to protect.. After dem go say police is your friend..

Cynthia Iyede said...

This is too bad nau. cynthiaiyede01@yahoo.com

All d's wudnt av happened if dey wia given at least 20 naira, hungry men. LIB pin gal

God have mercy..another human doing this to another in the name that they wear the police uniform..let stand up against acts like this.

elovi said...

Dunno if dis policemen are possessed sef

Ayodele Jay said...

Gosh...i just wish i had powers like superman!!

Examoracle said...

When they were wearing complete black uniform - if you see them in your dream, then you need to pray seriously. Now they have change the uniform small but they person inside the uniform is still the same. Haba, haba.

elovi said...

God help us

Policemen are a enemy. All they do is cause more harm than good.
™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

emycharles said...

Chai

Mj said...

too bad

gidis said...

Gosh....will incident lyk dis evr stop? I fink sm1 rily nd 2 serve as a scapegoat

Even the CIA won't beat them on this

kai, too bad

Iloka Valentine said...

Nawaoo dis world is mysterious@ilokavalentine@gmail.com

Igwe isaac said...

what kinda tin is dis tin? naija police!

nah God go help us.

caityet@yahoo.com

All these useless Nigeria Police and tomorrow they will say Police is your friend.
For the IG that said they got what they deserve, she should not worry, it will happen to somebody close to her soon so that she will know how it feels.

this people self. agbero in uniform. official lib VP
adenike.olaniteh@gmail.com

CELEB said...

Pls government should relive all the officers involved of their dutym. All armed personells need psychatric evAluation.

Awulonu Solomon said...

Some police officer act like they are semi gods...let use this one to set an example

Oluwaseun said...

Misplaced priority

Uche Emma said...

Horible

Hmmmmmmm. Police and their wahala. Dis xmas period, no evil shall harm us ijn. Amen

Babybrown125@yahoo.com

Sad

See faces!

APPLELIPX said...

A woman can be this cruel too???
For a moment wen I hrd d dpo was a lady, I felt they have found justice

Ocho said...

Maka why now...which kin police force b dz...we need to do something bout all this rubbish o

MISS WORLD said...

so bad

Hmmmm...curruption at its peak! Rapattackovurevu@gmail.com

Saidat said...

And dey say police is our friend? If Nigeria police are treating we Nigerians lyk dis den we shudnt be surprised with the way we are being treated abroad, infact Nigeria police treat the whites better Dan dey treat us, not only politicians have to get mentally checked, it shud also be included for police as well. Mtchewwwwwwww!

Handiwork of men!

REAL. PIKIN said...

Naija police nawa for them .

success igbinoba said...

Wow dis is bad

Hmmm..Dats terrible... Jerryugoanogwi@yahoo.co.uk

That's Nigerian police for u

Bold Kid said...

Police brutality everywhere.

That police should be jailed for this assault

Mejidaniels@gmail.com (•͡.̮ •͡ )

Frances said...

OMG. Not again with this police pple and all Jonathan does is to condemn it. spicyfranca@yahoo.com

Oh my gosh nigeria police is full of intimidation so dis man an wife cannot put hands together an pluck out his penis fools

the things that happen these days!!! only God will help us.

MISS WORLD said...

heartless pple

Iloka Valentine said...

But y r some pipl heartless na. Police! I tire 4 una ooo@ilokavalentine@gmail.com

Why do all these things keep happening unnoticed? It is well. Elliottwinnifred@yahoo.com

kai, seen!

if it not individuals that beat up the police, then its the police that beat up the individuals, nigeria......
daniellaaghagba@yahoo.com

Oh my gosh nigeria police is full of intimidation so dis man an wife cannot put hands together an pluck out his penis fools

This is great injustice oooo

na waooo......
obaseky230@gmail.com

This is critical. ...justice must be served!

PHINITE said...

Police brutality.

That's how they behave, cruel and heartless i hate police wit passion they are my enemies.

See what illiteracy can cause. Only a stupid man raises his hand on his woman

Quiny said...

Nigerian police...mtcheew

kendra okoye said...

So wrong.

Frances said...

OMG. Not again with this police pple and all Jonathan does is to condemn it. spicyfranca@yahoo.com

Dis is disheartning

If doz policemen don tire 4 dere work,make dem retire nah,instead of takn it all out on innocent citizens.

Joshtech said...

Mhen those cops were evil men justice must be done

Mabogunjefemi@gmail.com
~•••olOye•••~via~iOs

It's very bad of Nigeria police. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Police brutality....no b today nwokorophilip@gmail.com

Police is ur friend

khemorah said...

Which kain twin beating be this? Same eye and everything. Hmmm...

Na wa ooo. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Things dey happen sha.. Am seeing tinz oo

Latest freebrowsing for all device this december 2015

Seriously something really needs to be done , d rate at which policemen harass us the citizens is unheard of

Torture is to the Nigerian police as curruption is to Nigerian politicians. The IG of police should do more to check these excesses of his men.

Quite sad! :( Makes me wonder if human rights is still taught at the Nigerian Police Academy.

Jenny said...

Lord hv mercy, dis pple shud b dealt wiv

Jay said...

Hahahahha,sorry for laughing but dis is really okpolo eyes.I hope they got d man,s name and division?he needs to be dealt with.

all this police men wey need psychiatric test...smh....kelvindotunudoh@gmail.com

I was once harrassed by a policeman at the phase 1 roundabout called simeon Iyere. He even threatened to shoot me claiming my car smells like indiam hemp. I dont even smoke cigarettes.

Nigeria police,stupid them.I hate them with passion..nonsense

One of those police brutality... Goodluckihedi@gmail.com

Goodluck Chinemerem via Nokia E5

Yes. They should be sued

Naija police with their brutality against soft target, why not met all these to Boko boys or mend or other harden criminals

k.c said...

Police matter no de eva end 4 nija...Linda,Hope say to day na give away...coz am in clege4all@gmail.com

bbm 7F098C19 said...

oh so police can beat. they should
go and face boko haram men not showcasing their strength to the weak in lagos. I so much hate the police. Engr Emy

if na boko haram, them no fit fight, oloshi police.

Omoni-J said...

Even if the couple spoke to the policeman rudely, it gives him no right to assault them.

Hmmm wonders shall neva end

U no knw say nah xmas period we abi......police dey hungry ooo....owolabikikelomo@yahoo.com

Iloka Valentine said...

Mehn I pity dis couples@ilokavalentine@gmail.com

Hmmmm!!!

Na wa o what is this country turning into no freedom of speech anymore may God save us all

Na wa o! Wot kind of lawless country is this? Juliette (slimisbold@yahoo.com);

Are you sure you didn't deserve what happened?.. Some women could run their mouths anyhow you know

And too we all hv our rights to speech!

Our nigerian police na wah o

GHW said...

Nigerian Police can abuse power!!!!

If doz policemen don tire 4 dere work,make dem retire nah,instead of takn it all out on innocent citizens.

abuse of power, am afraid it might be swept under.

Chioma O said...

That's so cruel

That policeman shld be punished for what he did, this country sef

Joanaustin30@yahoo.com

police dey hungry oooo cos nah xmas period we dey...owolabikikelomo@yahoo.com

mosebolatan said...

I hate policemen wt passion, olayemiok@yahoo.com

uniquima said...

I thank God for my country Nigeria where the "said" law enforcers r the law breakers. The one whom we should feel safe with r the ones who infringe on our rights. Stories like this breaks my heart and fuels my hatred for the force. God help us

wicked world

abuse of power, am afraid it might be swept under.

That's bad...The way the lady talked to him must have provoked him but that does not justify his assault on the couple. Whatever happened to the no violence approach? He could have just arrested them instead of beating them up.

kismet kiddies ENTZ said...

Hmmmmm naija poilce, na God go save us,

Commenting via www.jumia.com.ng

The policeman must have been having a rough day.. Talk2aaji@yahoo.com

Cynhams Cakes, Abuja. said...

Typical of them.
I hope they get justice.

these couple should get intouch with me...am a human rights lawyer.............
obaseky230@yahoo.com

In as much as I don't support wat d police man did but some women can b so insultive n will insult anybody cos their husband is superman.enduranceime23@gmail.com

Police officers are the most miserable sets of people in this country.

This is a brutal tortured....this is too much

nawa ohhhh
Okeyboy91@gmail.com

Nawa o o o o....Odiegwu

Thhe police guys must be dealt with cos they don't know how to do their work.

Some policemen need not to be in the force, they are the one spoiling their name.

Iam_Blaise said...

All these yeye policemen

Tf! I need to channel the rage I feel rn...gosh these cops are so retarded....justice must be served..cuz I'm totally loosing it rn#justsaying
Cherrio

Jessica said...

Nawa oo

See wat he did to them, I pray he doesn't get away with it

Dada Omolara said...

Police officers need to undergo psychiatric test before they are employed.that is just sheer wickedness

police brutality is something we need to stand up to in this country.beat the sons of bitches up.
olabowale2k2@yahoo.com

police brutality is unacceptable......couple should get intouch with me!!!! asap.....
obaseky230@yahoo.com

Wat a crazy country...no regard for their fellow citizen, not to talk of a woman. Even the DPO should be sue as well, if she actually did dat

our police always on negative news...

mercy77 said...

Hmmm...police is our friend indeed

udah chinedu said...

Very bad

nowsdays, the police's a threat, they deserve to be utterly desciplined

Handlemewithcare2014 said...

Number 1 the wife was wrong at first telling d police officer nt to shine the torch on them,secondly the police officer's on duty should also go in for it

MyFrozenOasis said...

like seriously? chukwu zoba

khaite said...

Datz cruel of d DPO if d story told is actually true

Gentletee said...

What sort of police force do we have that is so lawless and brutal? They cant even call themselves to order. What if that idiot had killed the defenceless couple? They have to pay for damages!

Pls they should follow it up. Police officers in Nigeria always feel they are above the law and they are worse than criminals

owolabikikelomo said...

police dey hungry oo cos nah xmas period we dey.owolabikikelomo@yahoo.com

anonymous said...

"Police are really our friends ". If curses works in Nigeria, I would have personally cursed them.

Na wa ooo. What is our police force turning
into? People that are meant to protect us are the ones hurting us.
It is well ooo.

mercy77 said...

Police is our friend indeed

Harrie said...

Tf! I need to channel the rage I feel rn...gosh these cops are so retarded....justice must be served..cuz I'm totally loosing it rn#justsaying
Cherrio

Imagine the rubbish! This couple need to take action fast and file a report against those culprits. This country is in shambles may God continue saving us.
peculiargabby.blogspot.com

This is more than torture. But lets wait for the investigation first.

Hmmmm.dis is wickedness

Thats very bad because police are meant to protect the citizens, they should be dealt with to serve as a scape goat to others who misuse their authority & power.

udah chinedu said...

Very bad

k.c said...

Police matter no de ever end 4 9ija...Linda,Hope say to day na give away...coz am in clege4all@gmail.com

Dey sud file a fast one against those bastard asap....dajax47@yahoo.coom

DOBY DOBY said...

Policemen nd deir wahala. . If u cal dem to come nd catch robbers dey wnt come oo na to dey harrass innocent citizens. . Mtchew. . Dey shld av given d name of d policeman.

Lilian Fc Barcelona said...

Terrible.

Nawao. I thought Police are supposed to be our friend.

jesse Bling said...

na wao....wonders shall never cease... jessefamous41@gmail.com

Phew! After Boko haram the Nigerian police is the worst thing that has happened to Nigerian citizens.

Nawao. I thought Police are supposed to be our friend.

That woman Aisha Umar or Aisha Haruna seems to be an unprofessional person i have had an encounter with a police man who threatened me with her name severally. I hope she's not as they say she is.

Meanwhile the Husband and Wife says they will be filing a petition to the Inspector General of Police through their family lawyer.

Hope dey get justice

pray justice would prevail

Na wa 4 oga police. Destroying d very pple u re supposed 2protect. Fine, d wife must have said sometin wrong but dis is not d best way 2discipline them. This is an abuse of human right.

FO said...

OMG!!! They did not know how to talk so they deserve to die???? Am so dumb founded! By the special power in the blood of Jesus those useless police shall not go unpunished if not by man then by Almighty God. Police force needs serious sanitization and cleansing.

Ewo b4 I frgt my email is tonia474@yahoo.com..hopin to hear frm u Linda.lol

Nigeria police! it bloody civilian they can face.mshcew

Funny dpo. Speedwriters.wole96@gmail.com

Police and their madness, mmmhhh!

This is so cruel and wicked God will punish hat police man it wont b better for him,wat kind of beating did he give this peeps ehhhh husband and wife,he even hit a woman I pity his wife and children if he has any and that senseless DPO.......... This country just don have justice.

Haha. Police gbege. Mega4dave@gmail.com

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 511   Newer› Newest»