Photo: Husband and wife allegedly tortured by policeman in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 December 2014

Photo: Husband and wife allegedly tortured by policeman in Lagos

A police officer attached to the Ikoyi Police station has been accused of physically assaulting a couple, 29yr old photographer, Ejeh Smith, and his wife, Grace, 26. The couple said the policeman, identified as Dada Ogunsanya attacked them with his rifle along the Lekki Roundabout on Wednesday December 3rd.
According to Punch, the couple who are currently receiving treatment at a Lagos Hospital for wounds they sustained from the attack, said they were in a taxi on their way to their Parkview home when a 7-man Police patrol team at the Lekki Roundabout stopped their taxi.

Narrating what transpired, the driver of the taxi, Ndubuisi Iheaka said the police asked to inspect his boot which he obliged and opened for them. He said they then demanded for his drivers license and as he was about getting it for them, they flashed their lights on his passengers
"I was about getting the driving license when he started flashing his torchlight on my passengers who were sitting at the back. The wife told the officer not to flash the torch on them since the inner light of the vehicle was on. Because of what she said, the policeman asked them to come down from the cab. This started an argument. The next thing I saw was that the policeman pulled my passenger (Ejeh) by his trousers, and his wife went to plead with him to stop. But instead, he slapped her and punched her husband. He was wearing a ring, which inflicted a deep cut on Ejeh’s face. After that, he used the butt of his gun to hit him in his eye and face. He also dragged his wife on the road.” the taxi driver said
Grace, the photographer's wife said the assault continued with the police officer stepping on her stomach
"If I was pregnant that night, I would have lost my pregnancy. I was only trying to pet him to leave my husband since he did not have business with us. I told him to face the cab driver and leave us alone. The other policemen were just looking at him while he dragged me on the ground. A man riding a tricycle at the time was the one who rescued me. He said the policemen must call their Divisional Police Officer or else he would not leave the scene,” she said.
Mr Ejeh said as they were being tortured, the DPO of the Ikoyi Police station, Mrs Aisha Haruna arrived the scene and ordered that they be taken to their station to make statement. He said he refused, insisting that they need medical attention. He said he was dripping blood from his eyes and his wife was vomiting blood.
"We told her that we needed to first treat ourselves before we could make statements. That was when we were given forms and referred to the Falomo Police Hospital. We paid for the treatment and we also went to the eye clinic for treatment.”
Grace said all the video recordings she did of the incident on her phone have been deleted by the police, including some of her personal data.
“Even my personal data were deleted. And when I asked the DPO why she did that, she said we deserved the treatment we got. She said she would have locked us up in the cell if not for our injuries. She said we did not know how to talk,” Grace said.
While confirming the incident, the Lagos state Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Kenneth Nwosu,said disciplinary actions would be taken once investigation into the matter is concluded. 
“Yes, the incident happened in the Ikoyi division. Inquiries are on as well as disciplinary procedures.”he said
Meanwhile the Husband and Wife says they will be filing a petition to the Inspector General of Police through their family lawyer.

Source: Punch

511 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 511   Newer›   Newest»

They should sack all those thugs that called themselfs police.... Wicked souls... I pray the couple get healed and very fast..

GOD HELP NIGERIA

POPE said...

...police is your friend.
Ain't they friends to Boko boys too?
Idiots! You display your tactics on defenceless bloody civilians that you're paid to protect and turn a blind eye on Boko boys.
I bet that officer will faint instantly or even choose to retire voluntarily if redeployed to Borno for assignment.

Nigeria can never get better, wat is all dis?

Am sure the police would deny it. they have deleted the evidence

I simply don't understand what Nigeria police is turning out to be, they feel so proud as though they are small gods, I just hope this case is not gonna be swept under the carpet. Mtshewww.

Mrs ceres said...

Na wa oo,so discipline them by beating them horrible people

Na waoooooo.masses are really suffering in this our country o

Some police men can be very aggressive... madam sorry they need xmas money instead of trying their luck on Linda ikeji like me

choi! there is God o!

nwadikedeb said...

stupid illiterate Nigeria police, they don't even have respect for human lives, imagine what they did to a woman!

mzmaris said...

Animals in uniform

nekkyville said...

All dese police pple sha...y cnt dey change?@ d end of d day,notin wud b done to dem..its high time we take justice into our hands

dami said...

Our Nigerian police have turned themselves into beast. Devils in sheep clothing....I wish the couple quick recovery.

Sorry to the couples!

I hope the BASTARD is brought to book.

OMG! Dis is wicked, dat police officer must b a beast.

Mani Dike said...

The popo ain't ur friend mates.."

Chie o which way nigeria.

Oma se o!

Useless police officer

Kess Boy said...

Nigerian Police. ..will they ever change for good.?
kessjrpat@yahoo.com

Gozie said...

All these officers of d law should be examined regularly to check their mental condition. This kind of treatment is insane!!

Chris said...

when will Nigeria acknowledge human right. if that nigga was my family, i swear, the policeman go either rot in jail or rot below 6ft

Atobatele said...

These monster in black uniform at it again

Ziggyflex said...

Overzealous officer doing his job.But I know some people have bad mouth but torturing them like this isn't proper.Please naija police, try to be civil in your dealings.

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Hmmmm... Nigerian police,  dnt know what they are there for, they are worst than the agbero's, feel they should eradicate it sef and train new set of reasonable pple.. Thank God for the couple's life o, dats aw they wuld av been killed without traces...

Gozie said...

All these officers of d law should be examined regularly to check their mental condition. This kind of treatment is insane!!

Temmy said...

God will judge

And they disputed the international report that accused them of underhanded practice in human rights! The NPF is just a bunch of thugs and frustrated individuals

hmmmmn nigerian police

THIS IS NOT FAIR AT ALL...

Nawa fo our police oo

Nawa 4 our country Nigeria. bum2hot@gmail.com. *FREDA

And they say "The police is your friend." The police is your friend indeed. Mtcheeew...

Nigeria Police has rotten. There is no discipline anymore. Anticipate my brand new songs #Ugomma #Onyinyemu #Oyorima. TDazzlin@gmail.com

Odi78 said...

No way oh

Police brutality on innocent people, na wah o.

Police

Police brutality. This is bad.

9ja police r devils

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

Love Treasure said...

Bad officers, denting the police force....
hadyzat3@gmail.com

Police people tho.... mumunnah@gmail.com

Eddy Mycky said...

What nonsense.. What kinda police man is he?

God will surely punish those policemen...rosepowell0@gmail.com

9ja police. Make una Pele ooooh the couple wey police beat.

Nawa ooooo, police is your friend abi? The police man must not go Scot free ,Justice must be served!

One and Only Ada David Omobabalanu says so

Police n dia ill treatment to armless civilians is jst crazy..... D couple shuld jst sue dem

Policemen r now becomin a bunch of nuisance n abusing their uniform just bcos dey r entitled 2 a gun.

Kongratz to her...@ armstrong365kglp2@yahoo.com

Princewill Egwuogu said...

Naija police no get respect for citizens. Princewilliamsmith@gmail.com

Dis police and their madness needs 2 stop.God hav mercy.chukwudi.glory@yahoo.com

its xmas period nah police dey hungry. Owolabikikelomo@yahoo.com

Onyinye Jacinta said...

Mans inhumanity to man.

Easy-E said...

Imagin ppl dey say dey shuld maintain peace,order nd protectect life nd properties re beatin citizen...God will punish em dirty polace...rubbish...

*sigh*
And we wonder y donald trump tag us barbaric and animalistic in nature
Terrible case

belinberry said...

On one fateful night last year Dec, on my way home with my guy, a police officer stopped the taxi. We were at d back ofcos
.. he left driver n faced us. .. I had to calm my guy down cos dey are agent of darkness looking for who to devour, ... reason for stopping our taxi. Y re is he taking a particular route n we at d back shld identify ourselves. .. it almost resulted to trouble but wen u see a mad police officer with gun. . Obey , comply n if possible get the name n press charges later to avoid accidental discharge. ... sorry for the incident, I wish you guys speedy recovery. .. d police officer shld b punished

Flawlessbae❤❤ (wears,bags,sneakers,heels,sandals) for both m/f @08156743416 said...

Oh sorry ooo
Useless police we have in dis country mtchwwww
If them get liver make them go fight boko haram na fools Lol

Damn...this police peeps are in a torn in our flesh...they keep doing this...I hope justice prevails.

Shai said...

Such a sad story. Someone really needs to curb the excesses of these policemen. Am not surprised though, its a global trend..

Your best is to avoid being harassed by this frustrated lot..

Bmiraart Blog said...

The police man is very heartless. They should report him to their oga.

this is not fair

Banana republic..(meecee93@gmail.com)

Can you imagine the rubbish! If this story is true then those police men are very stupid including the DPO that said they deserved the treatment they are all mad. Nonsense annoying police people mtcheew! #onelovefromSnow#

Too bad!

Father brutality as usual. The Nigerian factor. some of our police need to visit the psychologist because some them are mad #General Hendrix

Busola Ayo said...

Too bad

Kai this is crazy... ndi police always exercising unnecessary power on innocent people....

Weidlich klug said...

As in eh! Sometimes I wonder if that black uniform has an evil spirit attached to it...

FRUITILICIOUS said...

I can see how 'police is your friend'...wicked bunch

sue his ass up nd get heavily rewarded
odidianthony@yahoo.com

That's so bad.they are using their power to torture people

Wickedness!!! Heartless,clueless and of course corrupt Nigerian police.Look @ d DPO-even @ high offices where u 'll agree wit me there should b high level of impartialty,but nigeria's d reverse.
D DPO will b severely punished if only I wz d IG

OMG. what is this nation turning into?

One of the numerous police brutality @ ochukoj3@gmail.com

nawa oo, God help us....all dis policemen self.....

well @ d end of day what matters is how beautiful you look...c'mon its Kim na she knows how to rock such dress even if she got it for Five Naira lol @armstrong365kglp2@yahoo.com

God save us,notin man no go see

Busola Ayo said...

Too Bad

Now thats a bad one from the Nigerian police, the couple should just 4get the case cos it won't go anywhere. Isiaka208@gmail.com

Soft words turnet away anger or wrath. .. They might b wrong but at dt situation, d best escape is soft words. ... diplomacy.. I can never support police because I ve bn harassed for no reasons at all but to live n fight another day... one must know when to speak

Ah see gobe @armstrong365kglp@yahoo.com

police why?abigail_mabeh@yahoo.com

Lara said...

The police man should be dismissed. Can you imagine the assault for no cause.
Larajimoh@gmail.com

Bunmi said...

PURE WICKEDNESS

Akindelewhyk@gmail.com

Princess.B. said...

All dis police are animals in human clothes,d way dey treat civillians is very bad,God will save us in dis country

PRINCESS@JESUSBABY said...

NIGERIA fa, i realy doubt id theyare going to get justice, and i also thought women have softer hearts, why would the DPO say such a thing. is ga gan for Nigeria

Lewis said...

Nna owu fight to finish o....

adelekesola11@gmail.com

police! police!!police!!! how many times I take call una hmmmmm.
LAIDE

Oh my goodness! Am tired of seeing civilians been manhandled by uniform men,dis has got 2 stp. Jay-B.

omoT said...

VERY SAD HOW OUR POLICEMEN GET AWAY WITH THESE ACTS..

Nigerian Police are ruthless, can u imagine?

Police brutality,when will it stop, how can a sane police man beat up people like this when they are not criminals,ofcourse after they have taken enough ogogoro,what do you expet.. Ziinny09@yahoo.com

ChincoBee said...

Naija where people are lawless...simply because you are a uniform man, you believe you can do anything to ordinary citizens...Too bad..

this is not fear,i hope the human right will do something on it because this is serious.

Ezrada Art Collections said...

God have mercy, and yet they. say the police is ur friend. Indeed..

Amosad30@gmail.com

Don Z said...

my heart bleeds for this country.
udeuzuoma@yahoo.com

Hmmmmm, they are suppose to protect us.

Schozze@gmail. com

Can u̶̲̥̅ imagine dat. Dis police men ar just devils in human clothing

andrewfaith57@gmail.com said...

Wat! Pple re wicked o a police man for that matter.Lord av mercy

Instead of protecting the lives and properties of individuals they r doing the opposite... So please guys we should be very careful with this scumbags coz it's them (police) vs us...it's a shame we experiencing stuff like this! Apparently we don't have rights in dis country... So guys lets protect our lives & not "rights"...

Bunch of iIIiterate poIicemen. Thank God they ddnt even shoot anybody. So much indiscipIine In the NPF.

Unfair world...stupid police people...na to beat innocent people na him dey sabi do....if dey hear gunshot nw all of dem go find dere way insyd bush....Fools of lyf....na 2 collect twenty naira na him dey sabi well well......phew......Zombies...

vaneciavanecia55@gmail.com

rukkybankz said...

Haba! This is pretty much na

But why? Nigerian policemen are animals....tubbytracy@yahoo.com

Abuse of power everywhere in this country. I hope the senseless policeman is fished out. Ofcourse no one will punish him. They are practically above the law. Lawless country!

mark said...

THEY SHOULD REALLY FILE A CASE AND LINDA TRY YOUR BEST TO SEE THE END OF THIS,I HAD ALMOST THE SAME EXPERIENCE WITH POLICE ON STADIUM BRIDGE AND THEIR SAVIOR WAS THAT I DIDN'T GET THEIR VEHICLE NUMBER OR NAMES BECAUSE IT WAS LATE AT NIGHT AROUND 8PM.BUT MY GOD WOULD PUNISH THEIR FAMILY FOR TREATING PEOPLE UNJUSTLY BECAUSE OF THEIR DIRTY BLACK UNIFORMS

Ds policeman dey mean o, he wan blind dem ne? Lydiaedwards24@yahoo.com

OMG! Dat police officer must b a beast in a human skin.

may GOD punish the policeman

Terrible

Jenny Cherish said...

Nawa Ooo弡 ,different terrible stories everyday by day,Nigerian police r becoming more brutal n unbearable in dis country,lwaz intimidating d poor,will they carry out dis kind of unfair action when they meet a politician's son or daughter,rather they even applaud them when they offend d law n offered them some dirty tips,everything abt dis country needs to be changed asap.

This brutality! I hope the couple will make sure the policeman lose his job. He is not fit to be in the police force

it's unfortunate

Lawlessness.....smh

I just dislike Nigeria police force with passion.....incompetent fools agentambrose2@gmail.com

wonders shall never cease. ekpenpat@yahoo.com

Ojalosky said...

Linda i need win this money for my christmas shopping ooo

email: charlzdoxzy@yahoo.com
Name:Ojalosky

Sorryooo

i thought police is our friend so y d horrible treatment
fsisqo4real@yahoo.com

Na wa sha! The policeman just busy with their left eye? All these idiotic policemen when dey run once dem see strong thing.....

That's cruel, I thought they said police is suppose to be our friend

Ted. said...

This is brutality, did he planned to blind them? It's unfair. The policeman should be punished.

hmm na wah oooo... Aunty linda , but how come its the same side of the eye that they both were tortured on... #justthinkingaloud...

nkoyo_anwanakak@yahoo.com

Shittukazeem90@gmail.com

Naija police too useless after smoking sk them go dey misbehave

Chijoembonu@gmail.com

Na wa oo ...nigeria

KWIN MEENA said...

D cheating and denial of right in dis country is too much. Thank God these 2 are aware of dir rights and are willing to fight fr it. Dt wicked DPO n officer shld be sacked and damages be claimed. Nonsense!

Na nija we dey na so anything dey possible but wetin dem do actually..amyreal12@yahoo.com

J Wilson said...

Wow! Terrible ppl, the Nigerian Police need urgent image overhaul, dey're not our friends at all.

DacDuchess!

Na only God go helepu me destroy dis police wey do person pikin dem like dis useless naija police thief make dem send am go life imprisonment for attempted murder ooo linda abeg tell em
bettertruth85@yahoo.com

nance said...

Na wa most police men fink dey are above the law.

WOW, all i can say is wow

.....CHALLENGE IS ONLY A BUSSTOP IN IBADAN,DONT WORRY, BE HAPPY.....

That is part of the suffering in nija, no one questions the action of the police. Even if the passengers are thieves, have they been judged, why all this torture???

So bad, Nigeria police is even worst than the american and most part of the world racism. They believe in their veto power to treat the masses in a very bad/wrong way. May God help us all...

Suss.global@gmail.com

MAY THAT GRACE NEVER RECEIVE A PROMOTION IN HER LIFE. I DECLARE UNTIL SHE CHANGES. AND SHE WILL FALL INTO THE RIGHT HAND TO TREAT HER WICKEDNESS.

"Police is your friend"

kiosoft communications said...

D nigerian police should jst b scrapped! Awful..

Police n deir wahala,

the last time i checked... the job of the police is to maintain law and order in the society....this days its the otherwise.....well na talk i talk *running away*

neni said...

Incredible!! Just like dat!! DPO fear God oh! For dis injustice, may dat police and any one, trying to cover dis crime, ot go unpunished. IJN!

neni said...

Incredible!! Just like dat!! DPO fear God oh! For dis injustice, may dat police and any one, trying to cover dis crime, ot go unpunished. IJN!

Benjamin temidayo said...

Wickedness

becckyd said...

This is not fare

OMG!WOMAN said...

This is an frequent occurrance in Nigeria. Policemen assault ppl and parade themselves as God's. You're not even suppose to laugh when they're talking, this ppl use the uniform to embarrass ppl.

Workaholic said...

Police ment for the citizens protection now turn against the citizen to brutalise them...Diaris God oo.

Igbinosa Sarah said...

All this stupid police officer sef, because she said don't flash light in our eyes? They will be wanting respect they don't deserve. Anoufia.

Police is your friend. Only in the movie. That police officer should be sent to chibok to fight Boko Haram since his mike tyson.

miquel akins said...

This kind of news makes my skin crawl, haba! We are being oppressed by those meant to protect us. Linda please follow this to a logical conclusion.

Gosh,i feel for them

They should just scrap police force already...all these DPOS be sending police men to patrol an area and come back with deposits....i don't blame the policemen who out of frustration some of dem would resort to getting high for these things. best thing to do next time madame. SHUT THE H*** UP.

WetinDey said...

Nawao dis black pipo sef... (skallitepeeps@gmail.com)

omo jasmine said...

Shuu! Grace badt mouth sef nor good

Her Excellency said...

Dismiss him alredy, he's a disgrace to NPF

Nigerian police re cowards.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY# kingsley5678@nokiamail.com

Police nd their trouble

mayree-mayreeze429@gmail.com said...

thought they said police is our friend. if these men-in-black are frustrated with their jobs, let them find something else to do.

st.andrews/URL said...

Police brutality.when will this end ?

all dis stouts calling demselves uniform men if dey b ma relatives dey will use Deir life tym salary to pay 4 damages

thelma said...

nigeria police,our number 1 enemy! even if the couple were criminals,why not charge them to court,bunch of stack illiterates. pls bbm me lets talk jare on 26c40021

police dia ris God oooooooooooo,

2 much.....

yemisi Z10 said...

Hmmm.orisirisi for naija.

Yemisi Z10 says so

D only thing I understand in this country is to try and stay out of trouble especially police wahala or u will be killed for nothing n nothing mega

ricnino4real@yahoo.com said...

hmm! God help this country! God bless Nigeria

Yes ooo,file d petition,fool police officers
Gracenot2001

Daralohi said...

The level of injustice carried out by the nigerian police is getting higher day by day,they were put there to protect us.

MISS INDOMIE SAYS SO.

What hell is this? No matter of what they have done it's not police to discipline them! Why not court? Manchester UK

Am sick 2 my stomach. The NPF needs a total overhaul.

Nigerian police can never be my friend in life. They re deadly. What they actually practice ad still practicing is hw to turn words upside dawn.

this is not funny

This police needs to be tortured...

Nt fear

the police officer should be fired and he should be prob too

AK said...

I think it's time to deal with so call uniform men for mishandling innocent people.

Is like the gun they and uniform is getting them drunk it's better for FG to look into this matter because there will time everything will turn the other way round (P-square - Do i do u)

Thanks my good people, let’s keep watching and pray for such officer(s) to be transfer to Borno...lol

This country needs God

All these useless Nigerian police people should just stop fooling themselves ,,when they can't face d real criminals **they go dey torture innocent civilians......rubbish people

#abbytohxoft

cruel world

hmn ije uwa. we should be thankful for life and also pray against akoba adaba. Policemen/women in Nigeria are the real akoba Nigerians are suffering from. i hope they get justice

the police officer should be fired and he should be probed too

sincerely speaking, we do not need police in nigeria.... they are d masses major problem.

So bad that Naija police are still treating ppl ds way. alameenmkafi@gmail.com

our police men,instead of them to face boko,they are here doing nonsense

Wunmi O. said...

NIGERIAN POLICE AND THEIR ASSAULT. THE POLICE OFFICER SHOULD BE DEALT WITH. NAIJA WHICH WAY? omolovetina@yahoo.com

DadMatilda said...

Indeed! police is our friend.

SunnyBriggs. said...

No be small Mike Tyson things. Stupid things called officers.

Na wa for some police men oooo! God pls hep naija

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

He is a mad man. Sweedydiagold@gmail.com

was the plice men drunk ? Just asking. **QUEENMAYA**REPORTING LIVE****

When citizens are being brutalised by the very persons meant to protect them. That is the peak of irony. Sad. Obialoronyinye@gmail.com.

This is unfair

When citizens are being brutalised by the very persons meant to protect them. That is the peak of irony. Sad. Obialoronyinye@gmail.com.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 511   Newer› Newest»