Photo: Mother of three caught with Cannbis at Lagos Airport | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 August 2014

Photo: Mother of three caught with Cannbis at Lagos Airport

A 37-year-old mother of three, Ezeh Ifeoma Maureen (pictured above), has been arrested with substances suspected to be cannabis by the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA). 

According to The Nation, Maureen was caught at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport (MMIA) in  Ikeja, Lagos, during outward screening of China-bound Ethiopian Airlines’ passengers for allegedly attempting to smuggle 6.200 kilogrammes of dried weeds that tested positive for cannabis.

The agency’s Airport Commander, Mr. Hamza Umar, said the suspect told the officers that her bags contained vegetables and foodstuff. Continue...

“She declared the content of her bags as vegetables and foodstuff, but during a search, the vegetables turned out to be cannabis weighing 6.200 kilogrammes. The drug was packed in two parcels.”
The suspect, who hails from Anambra State, said: 
“I am a business woman; I sell women’s clothes at the Onitsha main market. I usually export foodstuff to China and import female dresses to Nigeria. One of my customers in China called to tell me that his brother would give me two parcels of vegetables to bring to him. I collected the parcels at the airport from the boy. Unfortunately, when they tested them, I was told that they contained cannabis.”
Chairman/Chief Executive of NDLEA, Ahmadu Giade, advised the public to learn from the cases of those arrested for drug trafficking.
“This mother of three children would have been killed in China for drug trafficking if she was not apprehended here. It is important for the public to learn from her experience and shun drug trafficking,” he said.
Giade warned passengers not to collect items from people, who will not be there during a search.
The suspect, Giade said, would be charged to court for unlawful possession of, and attempt to export cannabis.

Source: The Nation

78 comments:

I hope what she has there isn't cannbis.. It is well.. John 3:17. BishopDammy#

I hope what she has there isn't cannabis.. It is well. John 3:17. BishopDammy#

Oh too bad for this woman! Cannabis? Hmmm its well! John 3:17. BishopDammy#

Morning Libers: hope our nights was awesome, please let's take out some time to pray for our Nigerian celebrities.. I had a terrible revelation last night..let's pray for them against death! God bless you as you do so. AMEN! Psalm 118:17. BishopDammy#

Super story. Weneva someone is caught in a crime they will frame up a story to cover up. Oya call the person in China to come and take responsibility of your crime. Sorry Ma, take heart.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Scarlett said...

*so long a story*

6.200 kilograms madam i swear you no try for your family oo.. Abeg next

Weed ooo,vegetables ooo,they are the same...free the woman,she got kids

Ndibe anyi Bikonu

EYAA...... SUCH AN UNFORTUNATE INCIDENT.......... SOWIE
.ZB

Media Prex said...

She want to make money by all means. Wonders shall never end!!!

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

This woman get mind shaaa. But why didn't you check what the contents where? Anyway am glad you were not caught in china, if not those your kids would have been motherless. Pray hard..!

Her defense is questionable.
People never learn!

I guess she should be lucky that she was caught here rather than china, cos that would have being adios to her kids and the world!

Nigeria. Wetin hustling no go cause us?

pretty said...

Pure lie,she didn't collect it from anybody.face to law

i really dnt knw y d NDLEA publicizes any person dey catch...its dier job,stop making it look like yall are doing us a favor!! its dier job

LYNNE said...

Madam easy o

Nawah
Can't people learn from others mistake??

The expression on her face luks like she isn't the owner of the canabis.......lol

Bowenite Of Life said...

heheheheheheheheheheheheh

check out these funny pictures

Ashanka said...

Gobe

awwwwwwwww, she won don finish. what will happen to her children now. chaiiiiii. money matter

Abiola said...

I pray God deliver her from this and i hope people learn from this...

Ha na wa o everyone should be careful this days o

Oh! Double wahala for dead body.
I feel mostly for her children.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Shez not crios

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Shez not crios

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Tnk. God she was caught here.....but woman are u saying d truth?

yaxx said...

nawaooo,,,,gud intentions sometimes brings out bad outcome,,,,wat a world,

Igbo kwenu....my people at it again

Igbo kwenu!!!

Madam lire did u say they were vegetables ?STFU

Olumide Abiodun said...

Hmm! If her story is true, it is so sad she has to go through this kind of humiliation. Her face shown to the world as a drug smuggler. And people should learn from this. If her story is false, and she is indeed in on this, then I am thinking...like how much can she actually make from this?

How much do people actually make from smuggling weed? Weed is not that expensive, I mean compared to cocaine. I can't see her making more than $2,000 from those two parcels...I just don't think it is worth the risk.

Are YOU A One Minute Man?

Hmmm my fellow woman why.how can a vegatable be wrapped like this.
Face of lib

iamjavademon said...

That is why its good to wtach other programmes on DSTV besides Africa Magic so that you can learn alot. Well, the should take pity on her and give her like 20 strokes of the cane each day for a week and release her.

EbonyAma said...

Sorry ma. Face d law. Bye 4 now.

They never learn.Poverty is never an excuse to commit crime,its a motivation though.And that's where power over self comes in.

Madam how long have you been travelling to and from Nigeria, yet someone gives you an item and you dont open it to check its content. You have been caught and all for what? goodluck ma

its like people like her dont weigh the pros and cons before they get theirslvs involve,now i wondeer what will happen to the children when u are jailed...Ni'ima

Enough dough mehn...just don't know why she wasn't smart enough. Oya settle them carry your tin dey go#naija4life#

Thomas Thomas said...

That's pathetic.

pretty said...

Face the law I meant

segun said...

Hmmm ok

segun said...

Hmmm ok

Linda 6200kg? habaaaaaaaaaa did she want to bring down the plane? its 6kg am sure

They set the poor woman up. Tho she's DOPE

It is also very possible she was set up. Some people that have never travelled before will jump at the opportunity for a nicely cooked up story by the true suspect. Stuff happens people. There are still very naïve Nigerians out there. Being streetwise doesn't really make you immune.

Abeg! Park well jor-we are dealing with ebola,boko haram,unemployment etc and ure saying we should pray for celebrities?! That's crazy dude. Don't use God's word to sound stupid.

It is spelt 'their' and not 'deir'. Which school produced you? Bloody illiterate

I won't buy your silly shoes untill you learn to spell 'serious' correctly.

sunny said...

Most naija women dont no weed leaves, she might be saying the truth.

James said...

I don't know why cannabis has such stigma. Alcohol and smoking are far more harmful yet are more tolerated.
People with cerebral palsy and other conditions use it to reduce their symptoms. It helps to relax people. Nobody has ever died from marijuana use. You can smoke it too much the same way people smoke cigarettes and drink too much alcohol.

Fun Fact: One reason for the criminalisation of Marijuana in America is because "It makes niggers feel as good as the white man and causes white women to want to be with black men". That was the reason Harry Anslinger gave. All his other claims of it being disastrous to your health have been debunked and yet we still wallow in sanctimony.

Someone gave it to you indeed. Abeg face law..

queenreigneth@gmail.com

Did u say where? #were

Don't mind them.
She should be grateful she didn't arrive China with her "vegetables", else she would be singing a different song by now.

Corruptn evryday. LIB Princess!

They shud forgive her pls

Warri Official Blog said...

She has to do what she got to do to survive. This is a strong woman.
>>>>PapaWarri says so!<<<<

WEED said...

4 dis nigeria pple dey smoke weed even 4 road 4 my street anywhere pple dey smoke weed 4 police front nothing dey happen see d truth be say weed no be crime cos if dem won make am crime make dem enta oshodi see live weed smokers 4 street make dem pack dem 1st......i smoke weed occasionally too i have seen old men n fine girls smoking weed tooo....so free d woman abeg jooor....all hustle na husle any way na way

Nawa i feel sorry for her shaa

I honestly don't know it's always Igbo people who must always keep trafficking drugs......dem use am curse una? Greedy I must to hammer by force.....after na to go dey pose for village during Christmas.....

See her face like chicken wen won lay egg. Quick money syndrome.

Speechless.....................

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Yea thanks.. Typo

Annon 4:7 pm pls oo can u explain to libers wia dat gutter wia u was picked located?am sure is not in igbo.bush pig!anu offia.gwa kene mu side nke ndi boko e registara afa gi?maka na ama m na iso atu bomb a!

All In †ђƐ Name Of Hustle (Liהda's Maה)

Igbo kwenu!!!

Pele to the woman o. But Linda, the govt should test if this weed can cure Ebola. It's actually vry medicinal. Most cancer patients are advised to use it.

Dammy ode! Rushed to comment b4 reading to the end... una no get work

David said...

hmmmm , Niger, what a Country

I know the woman must be an Igbo woman, always do anything to get rich and make unlawful money. Just like their male counterparts, always dubious.

ColdFlame said...

I can testify with all honesty at my disposal that cannabis is truly a vegetable... Cooked alongside pumpkin leaves in soups or with scent leaves in pepper soups there is no beating the "rebound" on your taste buds once you're done downing it. So for heavens sake what is it they say she's done wrong again???

Na China she wan go? Dem nor advice am?

stories

This is why I do not carry boxes, load, or anything except open letters for anyone. People say I am wicked but I cannot afford to lose my freedom for someone else.

dymola said...

na wa 4 dis mother

May our Lord have mercy on Nigerians. by dobis112@gmail.com