Nollywood director Obi Emelonye says he has been arrested | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 May 2014

Nollywood director Obi Emelonye says he has been arrested

The producer and director of Mirror Boy and Last Flight to Abuja, Obi Emelonye, announced on his Facebook page a few minutes ago that he's been arrested in Lagos for filming in the Ikeja area...

113 comments:

I dont know the truth but based on what I know of Naijans in general, I am almost certain you did not have a permit to film. For all they know, you coulda been BH identifying locations that would be your net targets. In the west, you cant just get on helicopters and start filming . I hope I am wrong and there is something more to the story. Either way, sorry for your pain.

Days naija
#gaggingtingz#
*****Longest Dick*****

Can u imagine, dem no c Tif n oda ppl dat r roaming abt d street unnecessarily to arrest...smh 4 dis country

halimsy said...

Ahya that is not fair

Sometimes I don't know if we are in the military era!

Shaddy said...

Habah, am sure Governor Fashola is not aware. Arrest nitori kini? For what na? After they will say producers run to our countries to shoot their film imagine what the Son of the soil is facing in his motherland kwa? This is too bad

please u guys shud release d man jhur

Eiyaa sorryoo.

What a pathetic tweet. Obviously with the security issues going on right now it may not be the wisest time to be flying around taking aerial photos. This is nothing personal to you, it's about the security of the nation. Show your proof you had legitimate business conducting and you will be set free. Sending out lame ass tweets is not the way to go right now! Act with intelligence and wisdom, it don't cost a penny.

Things they should take seriously won't be taken seriously. I pray Nigeria will stop bin a developing country in the next 50 years. Msthewww. They d definitely release you.

AKPOS SON said...

Nigeria with his own set of problems...when are we going to grow as a nation...

Enjoy the best of the best Nigerian videos!!

Too bad #bright bravo#

Fashola and his autocratic rules...

Sylvonce said...

Hian! Ozokwa! Ngwanu, k'anyi bido, pls #free-Obi
Does one need permission to take aerial shots of a city??? #Asking

sisi events said...

Wonders shall never end!...trouble de sleep jeje nyanga go wake am!...#freeObiBiko

Okay...its wht Nigerian Police Force is capable of doing.
Instead of helping to #bring back our girls# and #stop boko haram#..
Police,release the patriotic Nigerian and stop looking for "egunje".

attention seeker, you arrested in the UK and you think the UK authorities will throw you in jail or grant extradition for an offence not known to them?

Nigerian! everyone wants to be an hero at the expense of Nigeria.

Wow! Sorry abt that.

Eyah my dear na the same thing happen to me o about two weeks ago when I tried taking pics cos I was marvelled by the beauty of d structure.i felt so embarrassed sha n just left without arguing.but deep in my mind I was like NAwa o no b take picture again?nawa o.nwanna obi,u wud b out soon ok as far as Ur intentions r genuine.

They are not trying to shut you down. The question is did you get a permit to take aerial shots of Lagos even if it is for a movie. We are not oblivious to the state of the country. If you did, really your permit should do the talking for you and not facebook. Even big budget hollywood movies go thru paper work with the necessary govt. body b4 filming or running logistics for locations n sorts.

For dis era of boko haram u carry helicopter without informing dem befre time..obi make u dey fear God oo diaris God ooo shior!

You have to go through the normal channel to take photographs of a city. You won't dare do that where you are coming from, would you? They should put you in jail to sound a note of warning to your CIA hirers. You sell out, bastard.

Face booking from jail?cant be that bad then.

...I DON'T UNDERSTAND THESE NEW GENERATION OF CRY BABIES WE NOW HAVE...

WHENEVER YOU PUT YOURSELF IN TROUBLE, YOU COME ON SOCIAL MEDIA AND CRY...

WITH THE CURRENT STATE OF INSECURITY IN THE COUNTRY, DO YOU EXPECT THEM TO JUST LOOK AT YOU..

THEN WHEN THINGS GO WRONG, THE SAME GOVERNMENT WILL BE BLAMED FOR NOT BEING ALERT...

I HAVE SPOKEN..

Na wa arrested for filming again nothing we no go hear for dis country

Na wa oo. . Y would dey do such a thing

Brown suga said...

I think u shud have collected some clearance bcs pending d security challenges in d country, u cannot just be taking aerial shots so it doesn't look like spies.

Alrit,we ve heard u.bail yasef wen u enta dia abi mak wdo rally fr u too? #freeobithefilmmaker

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Some ppl sha! Esp d ibos dey get engaged in what will benefit them not minding d aftermath or consequences of their action might cause! Why would u shoot a video with remote helicopter in city without getting a license for that! Dats an act of breaching security. esp in the state Nigeria is now. What dey can't do in UK and US dey will come here and take it for granted! U beter face the music, man!

Oga,people get arrested ,even celebrities across the world get arrested too.if you do a right thing the wrong way or do a wrong thing the wrong way you deserve to get arrested.Why do Nigerians try to take negative advantage of social media and mislead the ignorant ones.BTW,who do you think you are that you can't or shouldn't be arrested? Live with it and leave God and others out of it.Obey the law,follow due process and you'll have no problem with the law.You cannot do what you did outside Nigeria and get away with it .... Abegi

Do you have a permit to do this?Is it required? it's either they are upholding the law or trying to extort from you. Hope all can be resolved soon.

One thing with our Nigerians is that we know the right thing and won't do it. Why dint u seek for permission from which ever people that arrested u b4 the shooting? If u were in the UK, will u just hop on helicopter and just start shooting movie?

Dude, you have not stated the obvious. Who did you consult before flying up high with your foreign friends? Did you go to the right authorities to make them understand you and your friends were taking the aerial shots of Ikeja for your movies? Or you presumed everybody ought to know who Obi Emelonye is, in the movie industry. Or you just forgot the fact that Nigeria as a Nation is facing some kinda security issues at this stage? And as such that every movement is being scrutinised by security agencies and individuals as well. If you can't answer all these questions, then I'm not sure you are a Nigerian. Chantella

OGA FILMAKER, did you seek permission before doing what you did? Nigeria is in a very tense period. Just sought yourself out and leave us out of it. I'm sure they arrested you based on Security issues.

Hahahahahahah is he soliciting help from social media ???

souljaG said...

so? i never chop.

Maybe he didn't collect permission before filming,abi isn't it done in 9ja

Developer indeed haha,ibo man too like money,who sent him?,these days of bombings he is using remote choppers to film. He should sleep there for like 5 days,make him body tell am.next time he would follow necessary protocols. On to the next one linda.

Story story

For why now? The way they arrest people in this country is just messed up, for no apparent reason.

Developer indeed haha,ibo man too like money,who sent him?,these days of bombings he is using remote choppers to film. He should sleep there for like 5 days,make him body tell am.next time he would follow necessary protocols. On to the next one linda.

Oh, Nigeria my Nigeria. But there are protocols to be followed when doing things like that as filmmakers. Did you inform the police or which ever quaters of this in the first place? Security in the country in fragile now, though I know security was the last thing on their minds when arresting you sha. Those people no know mirrow boy or last flight to Abuja o. The Lord is with you. Ngwanu, Ibinabo where you? This is one of the times you should show presi levels o, no be only for wedding and burials. Quick, quick waka go dia

Please release this guy!

Oga if u want to make Lagos beautiful just go and plant beautiful flowers in Ajegunle area and work better on CSR and don't try to justify ur ignorance.

The comments I've read so far are just brilliant. I mean, Obi, how pathetic are u. In the current climate, u feel u are doing us justice by taking ariel shots of Lagos without clearance. A couple of nights in that cell won't actually be a bad idea.

gabz said...

Anonymous 9:35. Ur head is soooooo correct. My thots exactly. Even if I saw him fly past my house in d name of pic taking, I go shit for pant esp with what's happening in naija. For crying out loud, he cld hav been paid good money to survey Lagos for his attack. Even though I kinda trust obi emelonye not to do such. But u never know.

iamjavademon said...

Why are people so quick to jump to conclusions, did he mention police. What he did is against the law. Its rules like this that help keep people safe from mid air collusions and other stuff. Or how would you feel if someone is hovering over your house with an helicopter without asking permission.

lady of the sky said...

#free obi kon! Free lakunle ni! Everyone knows shoprite ikeja axis is where you have the government house and with the security issues in Nigeria, one can never be too careful. The question is did you go through the proper channel to get approval before Sending ursef, ur colleagues and the helicopter into the sky? Abeg the #bringbackourgirls we have been fighting for never yield results, biko no add #freeobi join the matter, just quietly bail ursef. Thank u for ur understanding

With the state of the nation, u should know that seeking permission from the appropriate quarters should not be taken for granted. I mean, the governor of the state n other officials work in that area.

Na ur papa get lagos no be only freeobi u don dey craze abi u dey help boko boys find location fo next bombing goat like u.

U sound jealous

**an hero** ok!

Oga Emelonye please next time use ya sense nd stop bugging us wt senseless alarms. You are apparently wrong not obtaining permission nd u know it so why cry wolf when you apparently opened the gate to where the wolf is and revealed yourself? One would assume an exposed individual of ur calibre- alongside ur friends- will know and act better. Not with the rather sensitive security state of the nation. Please..... Cool off there for a while so that ul know also that lax as this country seems, we should not take things for granted. U for try am abroad?

1st wth wats hpenin in d country nd bombin evrywere u realy tot it wz d rite tym in do ur filmin nd developin or wateva u were doin,dnt b mad d@ u got arrested cos dis daiz no 1 cn b trustd nt even a film maker so mr I undastand ur pains bt also undastnd d@ 9ja aint a safe nd free country anymre peepz re actually slpn wth an eye close nd d oda open...

Olodo ppl,he wasn't flying in a chopper, he was using a remote chopper installed with a camera(toy)

Eyaaaaaaa !!! Police is your friend, Don't worry my Namesake, just wished. I could help you on this case. Keep Calm God dey

>VIA TECNO B3

Lol @ i felt so embarrassed sha n just left without arguing.but deep in my mind I was like NAwa o no b take picture again? Hahahahaha...na real wa my brother, taking pics dis days na only for person room oo. #BringBackOurGirls#+#KillAllBokoHaram# last but not d least #FreeObi#
Jennipukka

*EyesRolling* haba, u & d guy get beef b4...
Jennipukka

Why are you so unhappy and rude? Did Mr. Obi. Molest you as a child?

U must be a racist...wetin come bring Igbo for d matter now,u dey mad ni? If u try dat rubbish again,I go catch u & flog u koboko. U knw whether him get permit (e be like say u just land 9ja frm pluto) Alien ewu.
Jennipukka

I guess everyone is saying the same thing, you couldn't have been arrested if you had presented a permit to film with a "remote controlled helicopter". Plus I don't your message is not quite clear...."lagos tv" now has powers to arrest? In the times we live in, measures like this are necessary.

*EyesRolling* haba, u & d guy get beef b4...
Jennipukka

Lol @ i felt so embarrassed sha n just left without arguing.but deep in my mind I was like NAwa o no b take picture again? Hahahahaha...na real wa my brother, taking pics dis days na only for person room oo. #BringBackOurGirls#+#KillAllBokoHaram# last but not d least #FreeObi#
Jennipukka

Alagbado-ode said...

I agree.

I could kiss you now. They most definitely didnt

Hillary obiorah, shut up for once. You talk like a child. Apply for common sense in your next world.

Lol. not only #free obi. ...with my uk team. ....very funny.. cant u ask your uk team how they do over there.Its even better if you are jailed because if it happens in uk, they will give you more than u ask for. Do you think you can just enter an aircraft and start hovering around the state to set target for BH. Biko naija should be moving forward and not backward. Linda please dont promote this kind of information.. #pleasedontfreeobiheissostupid. Infact they should have blown you down

True...I mean can he do the same in the UK were he is supposedly based without a permit?

Useless and senseless anony 11:46pm, whether kite, toy or drone. Your friend Obi breached security protocol. He should have consulted the appropriate authority before flying his remote chopper up in the sky. Nigeria is highly sensitive now olodo rabata

Mr Obi, no body has asked u to come make Lagos look great when you are obviously working for your pay. Why attach sentiment to your sins? Im disappointed that a producer of your calibre will try such an act without due process having known the spate of insecurity in the country. Go sort yourself out as u wont be the first person to go to jail if need be.

Mr Obi pls go and make uk 'look great',if u don't understand anythng like due process of getting permission frm d authorizing body. Can u imagine dt he's expecting cheap sympathy frm us? Esp wit d state of d nation rite na. Evn if thrs nothng,go and film london without permit. Anuofia

Eyaa... You have probably done this and gotten away with it in the past. Probably why you didn't consider the present state of security. You did wrong. I just hope you get out of this mess with relative ease. I know those officials will shake your bank account from 'egunje'.
Hope you and your other colleagues have learnt a lesson. My prayers are with you though.

Let us use our head and stop being unnecessarily emotional. Even though we think Nigeria is a jungle and anything goes, well sorry, there is still some sanity.
You just don't go and fly devices to take aerial photos without proper approvals.

So Emelonye or whatever your name is, do not play on people's emotions to win support for your illegal activities even if it is for good & not bad.

I was mislead to think you are educated!

#BringBackOby# Ewu like u! Na there u go die put!

lindy, proud to point out that I was the first to comment!!! AWESOME.

Some stupid pple here calling out Igbo's for liking money!!! Yessss we love money nd so what? Make una no like am die of eti aki. Nonsense... make them freeObi jareee! who knw no Obi sef? All of una talking nut,after seeing Last flight to abuja they will be like wowwww! Great job! Who was behind it? Obi emelonye!! Idiots in #Ghanaaccent#

Mr man! Go to North korea and jst hop a remote helicopter to b doing the video coverage whether u won't face the firing squad. Wereey somebody #freeobi nko #freechukwudi ni.

ThatBluntGuy said...

True.
He needs to get a permit.
No one is hating but folks in Nigeria have gotta learn to do things right.
He'd surely be released.

The way we react to issues in this country sha, saying all sorts without thinking. You can't just jump into a chopper and start doing what you like, you have to take permission from the relevant regulatory and security agencies first, no matter what this is a not a lawless country. So please don't talk like you were arrested for no reason. Nigeria is not safe right now and people are on the edge yet you are flying over the capital of Nigeria's commercial capital without permission.
Do well please

Yes, you need permission to fly the nations air space, especially at this time.

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

Obi, this is a very critical and sensitive period for the nation.I definitely do not believe that he did not obtain some form of permission, for the filming.

Ceejay Charles said...

You are just to stupid to come here and try to make it look like you are being victimized for doing a good work. In the UK where you come from can you just go and start flying things over the air and over popular structures without getting the appropriate permits from the relevant security agencies? What if you were dropping bombs?

Just shut the fuck up you ignorant son of a bitch and learn to put your so called enlightenment and education to use next time.

Ifeoma Adeyinka said...

You cannot just get on a chopper and start taking aerial pics of government property. Especially now knowing the security issue in this country. Obi emelonye of all people should know this. He is doing a fantastic job true, but he must get permit for doing so.

If that is how he loves taking pictures from a helicopter, let him go and try it around Aso rock and see if he will not meet his Maker. Let's all be reasonableness.

Shithead am sure u dnt knw shit ur saying have u no brain?dt said well we have many factions whereby its nt possible for u to get ur soo called warrant from dem all if u get it frm one d odas are jealous wanna bring u down for nt recognizing dem all coz of d peanut ur bringing y cant we all get one vouce here stand up for wot is rit and as for u assface u just made me use a whole lot of big words dt aint rit #freeObi

The matter heavy! E critical! E get belle! E mad gaaaaaaaaaaan. Wetin we go do now? Dem must #FreeObiNow. Marching to Fashola's ugly office asap! Yeske. Ayam fucking crazy!

famochi said...

U knw book! D guy dint say he acted in accordance wiv d law. I hope he sorts it out....buh we nt a lawless nation despite evry!

Dson ofMan are U̶̲̥̅̊ ok? Did U̶̲̥̅̊ actually read wot he wrote. U̶̲̥̅̊ myt want to go back and read. Tank me l8. Lindiway na beg I D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ beg ˚°ÂºH!‎​​

Why not read,and understand first? Is shoprite ikj in Uk? And did u notice d word 'team from Uk'?

Ha,he is even lucky,d helicopter was nt shot @.

just me saying said...

I'm sorry to say but ur statement is kinda prejudiced and wrong. The issue is that he probably didn't get a permit before proceeding which is wrong "that is d issue" pls stick to that and stop the tribal sentiment "totally wrong"

Cry my beloved country. It is tye same you media people that will bad mouth this country when security issues arise from bombings and killings. As educated and exposed as you claim to be do you think you so called team from UK will not have sought permission to take arial pictures of a bush in a remote location talkless of Ikeja shopping mall. You should be investigated thoroughly to make sure you dont have other motives and if it is confirmed you dont have malevolent aims you should be punished for willful ignorance.
It open season on Nigeria and everybody wants to have a piece. When we're done we take our loot to UK leaving the masses to suffer.

Chop Chop said...

Kai! Not dis time around. U ought to have secured a permit. Learn from ur mistakes. Just pay ur way out.

he is a mega idiot! Even in the UK where we both reside, you dont fly any sort of UAV without a license which specifies the altitude the equipment is to fly and for what purposes. you dont come to Nigeria and assume anything goes! A UAV can also be modified as a drone. Moreover, you are not ignorant of the current security situation in Nigeria and how paranoid everyone is. go and sit down somewhere jare.....

Silly man, he should be jailed! WHo goes about taking aerial pictures without some kind of permit in these days of crazy insecurity??

Suck it up and explain yourself. Hopefully they let you off with a warning. Lawless country, silly people.

kunle said...

big fool! they should lock him up! who gave him permission to use such equipment? where are his security permits??

With all the wahala in the country now…he expects what to happen. He can take several seats in jail.

I dnt understand d problem with dis country o. Chai! Time and again we say Nollywood is lagging behind and not growing, these ar part of d reasons. If d govt dosnt want dem to act freely in a specific area, they can as well be gud enuf to create for dem a gud filming environment just like Hollywood in Los Angeles. They have practically all d things dey nid for filming in dat city (Ranging from a copy of d white house to d pentagon nd etc). Nigeria needs to grow up big time

Come! What's ur Email. Am ur distant cousin in UK. My name is Maureen. My mum's name is Ann.

Jealous of what? Of his arrest?
Anon 9:35 is so sensible. Nigeria has security issues, if Obi Emelonye were to be in the Uk or America and needs to take aerial shots, he'll definitely seek out the authorities for a permit. So wonder why in Nigeria pple act in a lawless manner. Do the right thing!

PEOPLE NOW FACEBOOK FROM D POLICE CELL OR WHAT??? THOT HE'S BEEN ARRESTED ALRDY****CONFUSED***

It's quite pathetic, but it's a thing of wisdom and law. Pray your innocence and you will be exonerated. Your lucid identity will speak for you. The authorities won't be that daft not to free you.

If he took permission from the responsible government authorities before the task, he shouldn't be arrested.

Sorry dear they are just being security conscious.

Making Lagos look beautiful, is he the Ministry of the Environment, did he obtain permit. Can he go to No. 10 Downing Street and take aerial view. Who are you deceiving?

Mr Emelionye, will you take aeriel shoot or photos of NewYork, Brinxton or Peckam without permit from Law enforcemnt agencies and other necessary outfit? Even Ebassies? Sort yourself out. Lagos is a saner state than the rest when it comes to Laws and its enforcement. How sure can we be that your intentions are your presentations. Please do the needful. Pay your fines and sign the undertaken... Sentimental nonsense

@IfyCynthetic, you're too much. You make sense die.

Did he get the permit to fly a helicopter and film an entire city or is this just another one of those lawless moves we try out in a lawless country like Nigeria?

Emelonye should know better. You don't do things anyhow. Igbo or no igbo. Speak d truth. Grow up