Panic as explosion rocks Abuja this morning | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 May 2014

Panic as explosion rocks Abuja this morning

There was panic in the Kurudu, Jikoyi community in the outskirt of Abuja this morning after a loud explosion was heard. Residents in the area were reportedly seen running for safety when they heard the loud bang.

It was initially thought to be a bomb blast but a Spokesman for the Nigerian army assured people it wasn't, explaining that a rock blocking a new road being constructed from Karishi to Apo in the Abuja city centre, was blasted with dynamites to help free the road and allow construction to continue

100 comments:

I hope it is not BH again

Cynthia Iyede said...

Abeg o

Peejay said...

Trust Nigerian to run first and ask questions later. Survival mode kicks in as soon as any loud bang is heard. This is what we have been reduced to. I wonder when it will be a thing of the past...

GEJ, today you gave democracy day speech, but where was the light to watch it.

Nigeria is a terrible place, this country can give someone HBP.

Thank God it wasn't what we thought initially.
They'll never remember us again IJN.

So why didn't they inform the public before doing do?

So why didn't they inform the public before doing so?

Naija loool..its well..we now living in fear..Jona de giv speech...................#King

...Lol=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º=)) =))º° e reach †☺ panic ooo

Ok thank God

seunLondon said...

Stupid authorities with fish brain...shouldn't they have put up a notice before hand rather than traumatising innocent people...#SeunLondon

Lolz see how BH have reduced us to shadows.I wish all all the killings & the bombings were just a BIG nightmare!!!

Afi blasted with dynamites" nobody kuku understand d Naija again, issorrait.

Then let the residents know before taking such action...its common sense!

Thank God.....pls i dnt wanna hear bad news 2day sha

Why must they do that today which is Democracy Day. I think some people just enjoy causing panic!

DOBY DOBY said...

Hehehehe. . Im imaginin d way dey wer racing. . Hope pple didn't injure demselves while running. . Linda ur headline got me shockd..

God help Nigeria. :(----C21

So be it. Prevention is beta dan cure Abeg

Bianca Bruno said...

Hmmmmmmmmmnnnnnnn.
That's all the comment I have for this story

You need to be careful Linda, perhaps you could have toned down the subject of this post "Panic as explosion rocks Abuja". After all you know this not to be true.....
We should understand that the media plays a very vital role in the current crisis Nigeria faces; the more we talk about these terrorists, the more we fuel their beliefs and confidence. Let's not do this unnecessarily in a bid to get more web traffic on our sites.

They shd hv informed the pple stayn in dat area they want do such tin by so so so time $ nt just giving pple unnecessary hrt attack. Lawless Nigeria

And they to do this today of all days

Nawaaaoh! Pple go soon start dying out of fear....any sound now 4 naija na bomb.

And they had to do this today of all days

Nigeria with the series of explosion. Oh lord, come to our rescue

Thank goodness

Not funny @ all, I stay @ Kurudu post housing, d bang shook my house to it's foundation but I appreciate NA I saw them in action this morning. They climbed d mountain beside my house n combed d whole place, they even carried out foot patrol. Meanwhile we dey take cover. Lol! SWEET ANONYMOUS.

Thank God it wasn't BH!

Thank God is not the boko haram though..

More fireworks than July 4th mehn.

Biko ha a di kwa sure?(Hope they are sure?)

Who no go run?It happened very close to my house in lugbe.Dynamite was used to break a rock,the sound ehn!I was inside the toilet shitting,i ran out of the house with my pant and shit flying about.Abeg who wan die now?

SEX ADVICE said...

That was a big blast! I heard it from Karu FHA...The earth shook as well. Karshi is very far from Karu

I stay in Karu site just before jikwoyi coming from yanyan,I heard the blast,it was not a bomb,I confirmed this frm my next door neighbour who works with SCC construction company Karshi. The SSS,hovering helicopter and soldiers are at the site at the moment. But it was not SCC that did the rock blast,who then did,the SsS are investigating. It is well with Nigerian and Nigerians.

Silly of them. Why didn't they warn residents.

This nigeria is a useless country. Couldnt hey have notified the people living around there? Na wa o

How primitive can we be in this country? Things are getting worse by the day. Didn't they know this was going to happen to have informed people around there before hand? I feel terribly sorry for Nigeria as we don't seem to be getting better at all. The construction company should be held culpabable for any damage due to their ovetsight.

Zizi said...

Wetin be all this na,GEJ ohh,do something

Thank God it's not another blast

Fine maybe it's a dynamic to knock a rock for road construction but at least they(gov./contractors) shld have inform us before the explosion. we already enuf tension in the country.

Chop Chop said...

What happened to press release?

Bukola said...

Na wa oooo! For democracy day again?! Boko's abeg nah wetn we do una?! Yahoo Boy exposes Girlfriend's Nude

10k God oooo. Heard d sound dis mrn too. I was so scared,cos dat was how it sounded during the 2 Nyanya bomb blast. Nw,my mind is @rest. Linda,10x 4 d info. #Tbabe#

Let it be a panic ohhhhhhhhhhhhh' because the Boko boys are dangerous.

>VIA TECNO B3

PURPLE said...

Dnt u live in Abuja? They have already remembered u! Or u were sleeping when Nyanya happened?

PURPLE said...

I tire o. He goats

lol!!! So funny but its not funny.my frd drove to my house dis morning frm in fear do u knw dat she left her phone and took her tv remote? Enough is enough God deliver us.

PURPLE said...

Concured

Hahahaaaaaaaa, this boko people don put fear to people`s life, no be small thing oooo nawaoooooo

Julie Best said...

This is how one construction company normally blast some mountains around my area close to NYSC Camp Kubwa because they are getting stone for their work but the people leaving in that area we all are use to the heavey sound of the dynamite blast.so this company should have let the people leaving around that area know that such heavey sound should come on so so day so that they should be aware of it because of the leave of poor security in our country instead of scaring them with such sound.

This is not good. So Nigeria is at the point where we are compared to countries like Syria, Pakistan, Iraq. We are no longer secure. We live with this insurgency where we are not safe where we are not sure of our peace or rest of mind, where we hear a sound and start to run for our lives. This has got to stop. Imagibe mothers with children, not fair or easy at all.

This is not good at all. We are glad we achieved the number 1 economy in Africa but over 60% living in poverty. Average Nigerian spending less than 1 dollar a day. We have our economic issues to deal with, our financial struggle, daily targets and survival to be met, families to feed and cater for, hustle so that food will be on the table, health issues, problems of inequalities that exists in soceity and so on. But to crown this all up, to have our peace also threatened in our country with all these things added is just a NO NO NO. Something has to be done urgently to stop this menace. It has to STOP

U go sch my dear anonymous 10:59 if dose stupid contractors r not mad y scare d poor ppl knowing fully well d situation of tinz in 9ja now dey shd take tym o nd don't send ppl 2 dea early graves wit fear

Ode no be BH, read d last part of d story again..10k me later

Exactly what I thought

fortune said...

Go and buy generator

....But they should have informed the public prior to the blast. Another silly act. Tsweew!

Which lain tin be dis? Una wan kill d already dead

Which kin tin b dis o? Dem wan kill d already dead

biko dis odi kwa too risky.bad new!

gcy via DELL says so

Sylvonce said...

They can't let day go by peacefully wivout creating a stir

Which part didn't u understand in d news linda shared

krizo 01 said...

In a more civilised country, they would have informed d people prior to the explosion considering recent developments

Lizzynk said...

Lizzy nk, y must we live in fear, fear nt cos those we fear, fear us 2.

My thoughts exactly. Knowing how tensed everyone is right now

Lolz... Dats d effect of terror. U bliv evry oda thing is it. But d ppl arnd d place shuld av bin informd earlier (Maybe thru d radio or somtin). Since dey ar aware of d curent security state of d country

onye nsogbu! said...

Madness!!! They wuddave at least informed the public rather than causing unnecessary scare amongst the residents.

Abj babe said...

People please get your facts right before commenting very rudely. There are usually announcements before these rock blastings are carried out. People in that area have not had light for a while, that's why its possible they did not know about it. Kindly get your facts right.

EVA said...

They may change d story later today.when did d spokesman confirm?mtcheeew! if ordinary tyre of motor burst near person,it can cause panic bcos of the loudness.then u are blowin up a 'Whole' rock and won't inform d people around?na wa o!

EVA said...

I heard 51 people were killed in the bomb blast

Evn d sound of pure water bursting cn send an average Nigerian to hs/her early grave!

Can't u read???

The company working on that road should have announced to the public, by radio, TV etc. what it intended to do. The blast may cause heart failure and those running may get injured.

olu said...

Call me crazy, but shouldn't people in the area have been informed ahead of a rock blasting operation... Especially in light of the current situation of things in the country.

Common sense is not common...

U b confirm p town breed ph city?

Lolo the great manager said...

Hm! Thank God its nt boko again!

Lol I heard that sound o, as far as my house is, I leave at area 11 and that sound was this loud here so I wonder how the people leaving around that are will feel.

So somebody cannot sleep with both eyes closed again? Na wa for this country. Implanting fear in the mind of its citizens since 1960. God Help us oo.

Its becus dis ur ''doing do'' gbanguan is worse dan d xplotion itself

I just sooooo much love the way people tackle and positively attack dafts and fools who feel they must comment on every topic posted by LIB,even when they lack the comprehensiveness to issues requiring deep thoughts,they just rush and expose their foolishness...ignorance is indeed a disease!!!

He said again.

That's why he used d word again, can't u read? Mrs over sabi.

rubbish, dat should av been done at nite, these people av no sense at all

FLASH: I am sure not many people in Mararaba a suburb close to Abuja know that a threat to their lives was removed yesterday by men of the SSS. A vulcaniser was traced to the front of Mama Cass in Mararaba yesterday by SSS officials all the way from Borno state. Those who know or live in Mararaba should know where Mama Cass is located. It is opposite orange market. People around there know the vulcaniser as a very gentle man. The SSS however showed a different side of him. They said Vulcaniser had in his tool box not just vulcanising equipment but explosives. People around there were surprised when the SSS handcuffed him until the content of his tool box was revealed to be explosives." It seems he has been stationed to detonate those explosives either at the orange market or at Mararaba junction. Two highly populated places. May God save us all oh! These lunatics seem to be everywhere. Innocent people will just be living with the animals. The men of the SSS told people around that the"Vulcaniser" has N36 million in his Bank account. :O

Nigeria is a country that does not have the interest of the citizens at heart. With the recent happenings in the country, would it not have been wise to make a public announcement advising people that something of this nature would be done at so so time and that people should not panic when they hear such noise? na wah o, we still have a long way to go.

Anon 3.13pm it's"comprehension" not"comprehensiveness"!!! Thank you

The evil ones again.

Ok bt who wouldn't think its boko again with the sound it must hv made aswell as d flame in d pix.....

Wealth B... said...

So na today 29th of May(democracy day), dis human beings know say Rock block road from preventing construction. I don't get d brains and mentality of dis people o. Dey don't have Sense dat wen dey do things like dis dey get people's hearts of their living souls !!! On democracy day?ђã† d HELL!!!

All you sily anonymous get off my wall, for the fact dat y'all always comment with anonymous really show act of cowardice. So stfu

Go back to school nne. Start from primary 3

Oh pls just shut it. If they know there isn't light, there are various other ways to communicate/pass message across

katrina said...

Amen O,PURPLE for once try and say sometin reasonable b4 attacking someone,an Amen wud have bin better

They should let pple around know they were doing construction. I'm sure some police and soldiers threw their guns down and ran too.

Too many shallow minded people in Nigeria these days.

See mee said...

Are the road contruction workers not stupid? Why should they open explosives without first announcing on media or radio at list days before. Bloody country