125 Nigerian students to attend Northeastern with full scholarship | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 28 May 2014

125 Nigerian students to attend Northeastern with full scholarship

125 college students from Nigeria who received full scholarships from the Nigerian government will be attending college in Boston in the fall. The students are set to attend Northeastern University, and roughly half of them arrived in Boston on Monday May 26th.

The U.S. Pathway Program, which consists of a consortium of American universities offering an academic preparation program that becomes a pathway to a college degree, and the Nigerian government are working to fund the students' scholarships, which include money for tuition, books, room and board. Continue...

Fifty-three of the 125 students selected to participate in the program arrived in Boston on Monday accompanied by a Nigerian presidential adviser. They wore green and white colored scarves that represented the Nigerian flag. The students came from some of the most deprived regions of Nigeria, according to a press release about the program.

The soon-to-be Northeastern attendees are required to complete a summer bridge term at Northeastern before they join the University’s sophomore class in the fall.

62 comments:

Dats grt... Dat way, d govt encourages education and studying very hard too. I wish dem d best

Wow! Congrats ! #bravo

#Pesty

That's awesome. Nice.

CoolDiva speaks!

jaybeyblu said...

Asides coming from "deprived" regions I hope they are from "deprived" families too. No be say dem go give senator pikin scholarship. Good one tho.

The Count said...

When God wants to bless you...''from some of the most deprived regions of Nigeria'' to ''the best region of the world''.

That's commendable of the government, also congratulobia to the beneficiaries of the scholarship

That's nice..congrats.................#King

Great but how were they selected? Hope not through the usual corrupt channels?

Good one for the lucky students. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

And to think for over 10months Polytechnic students have been at home due to strike, its a pity.

Peejay said...

Fantastic news. Congrats to the awardees and more of such please.

Niyi said...

This is cheap. Make our education system. Polytechnic students have been at home for almost a year now. These leaders lack vision obviously.

Niyi said...

This is cheap. Make our education system work. Polytechnic students have been at home for almost a year now. These leaders lack vision obviously.

Uloma said...

Thts nice provided the scholarships were rili given. To those who rili needed and deserved dem.

Dese kids don't look deprived to me
Dey r frm wealthy homes
D rich keeps using all the opportunities,
D poor shuld get
Smh fr d government
#missyO#

those kids dont look deprived to me

SPECIAL SELECTED CANDIDATES OF GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS. OPPORTUNITIES SHOULD BE GIVEN TO THOSE WHO CAN'T AFFORD ADMISSION INTO THE UNIVERSITY OR MAKE THE SCHOLARSHIP FREE AND FAIR. #PICCANTO#

Work on our education sector,so we don't have to go to another country to study.

the basic is fact about the scholarship is that when people in big cities like Lagos, Portharcourt, Abuja spend there time on facebook and criticizing govt, they don't spend time to find about information concerning these scholarship, my cousin that has not travel out of my local govt before, his now in oversea undertaking is BSc program, we got information about it, bought the form, he travelled to Lagos, took the test and passed, now everything is being paid by FG. there are many scholarship from State govt, Federal govt, oil companies, NDDC,PTDF,NITA, different federal ministries, all you need is the right information, your brain to pass the exams and the almighty GOD

Big one, congratulations. But reorganize our school system.

Zoë said...

This is good news, we are also waiting to hear news about allowance for unemployed graduate.

Improve our system of education, that will be a big scholarship to αℓℓ Nigerian students.

i hope its not our politicians children dat is packed dere?

Well, gudluck to them all but they should remember that the Nigeria education is dead and they need to do something about it....

What is fantastic about the news? All na stage! Are does children normal or average Nigeria kids next door. Na wash jor.

ebonydoc said...

Yeah right! Dey claim d students r from the most deprived regions in d country, wen we all know dat those in charge wld scramble for deir kids n relatives 2 enjoy dis scholarship! Mschew! Why can't dis same money b channelled into improving d educational sector? Giving 125kids such opportunity doesn't solve d problem of billions of kids dat lack basic quality education!

I support you Niyi!.. And Good job by the govt, but what about others who are not opportuned to be awarded this scholarship, students who have been home bcuz of strike or wheva d case may be?! Dear Govt, mbok Work on our educational Infrastructures. #ECA

Jessica law said...

Congrats to them.

If I hear, scholarship that was given to the daughter and son of the rich and mighty who have to bribe with some money before it was offered to their children, and most of them are just average student why didn't they make the selection visible like conduct exam in each uni and poly and pick the best student. Support education indeed.

what happens to Nigerian universities.

Good one! but I hope they won't abandon them as they did to some students. Besides, they should also look into priorities at the moment.

Mhh. Very good school too. Chai and see me here, about to defer my admission bcuz funds neva complete #intears. They should make good use of this opportunity of a good/ quality education. Good success to them all

DOBY DOBY said...

Nice of d govt. . Bt they shld handle polytechnic strike first..

As in, a pity. And dere nw using d scholarships 2 feel gud abt demselves. Lord pls help dz nation.

These kids don't look like normal naija kids we dey see for road. So only 125 out of millions that are in the same category. What was the criteria? Was there an exam to select these few? What will happen to the rest that are left behind? How many countries are giving kids scholarship to go to the us to study? Another ploy by people in power to siphon money from the country. Watch out, in the next couple of months we will see and hear how these kids are living lavish lives. Same thing they did with NDDC scholarship, people that were not from niger delta, kids of univ deans, top oil comp workers that were already going round the world for hols became "deprived". People that me I know. Nigeria has a long way to go...smh.

PR officer, I bet you a special adviser to this incompetent government. Absolute rubbish. Advice your people to fix the education system in the country!

BIG FAT LIE!!!!! These kids are NOT from deprived areas of Nigeria. May God forgive our leaders for such lies and inhumane acts. They rip the privileges of the poor and enrich themselves the more.
SMH!!!!!!!!!!
#WeNeedChange

MADEMOISELLE said...

My thoughts exactly..

Nawa for u people sha. U can never be contented with anything. Im happy for these people jor. Btw where do some people get their sense for. they dont look poor. Does it show on their face. Besides u can never really know how much someone has by looking at them. Afterall linda has talked about when she was going through hard times in the past. Im sure people looking at her would not have known that. I do not think any father or mother who can comfortably afford to pay for their child's school fees would prefer for the child to opt for a scholarship. So biko shut up. It's Not senators kids that are there. Even if there are a few there im sure d majority are those who actually need it. I mean do you know how much it costs to send someone abroad to study. How many peoples parents even those who sent their kids to private universities can afford the school fees. Not to talk about maintenance fee. Instead of u to be happy that someone out there got a scholarship and u going to read ur books so y can pass and opt for one too u are here on linda ikeji posting negative comments. And later u would wonder why u hardly progress. Bear in mind that those who never celebrate with people hardly have something to celebrate about so pls change ur mindset

halimsy said...

This is nice

Nigeria tertiary education is poorly maintained ; Nigeria Scholarship students are lucky to be studying abroad. At least no treat of Boko-haram,Strike,Phcn etc

>VIA TECNO B3

ebonydoc said...

Million likes@ ur comment!

....and the talent drain continues...98% of them will acquire d knowledge and stay back in US to the benefit of that country...

That is a very good thing. I hope they stay focused and make good use of this wonderful opportunity.

Good for them.

Onyx Godwin, think about your future. This could have been you if only you''ll devote more time to useful ventures like reading for and passing your JAMB instead of refreshing LIB 24 hrs of d day to post comments all in a bid to get some money (you''re not even sure of) @ d end of d year. And to d rest of you in similar shoes: edreams, wileminna Moses, etc, a word is enough for the wise. Now is the time to work hard and learn 'how to fish' and not wait for 'fish' (that you're not sure of) @ d end of the year from Linda Ikeji. From a concerned citizen.

This good for nothing boy, must u counter any good deed by this government with cynicism all the time? So, because poly students are striking, the awardees should not benefit from the program? When will u ever be satisfied? I guess, u are looking for an utopian society, if so, u will be disappointed because there's no such a society any where in the world. Learn to appreciate good gestures even when done by your worst enemy, Jonathan. Lol, as if he knows about your existence.

Chyke
Unknown City

Nice to knw.......

My Gosh! Nigerians can never be satisfied! Why don't you be grateful for this little and your support will inspire the govt to work hard! In Psychology, the more you encourage someone, the more inclined they are to work hard and vice versa! Every little thing "incompetence" "what of this" etc etc

We keep complaining while other countries are moving ahead. Celebrate the little first and quit condemning abi complaining. Na wa for us oo

Dee Brown said...

Thank God

Poor kids my foot....Na him that girl hugging the dude wear serious attachment wey fit cost 20k....lmao.

trusay said...

Improve our system of education, that will be a big scholarship to all Nigerian students and stop using scholarship to deceive us (FG). The FG can do a reform in our university and improve the standard of education.

PD said...

This will make sense to me if brilliant students are chosen from public schools in Nigeria.

ThatBluntGuy said...

You motherfucking idiot, get off LIB and get a life for your sorry ass.
Baltimore, MD my foot.

ThatBluntGuy said...

Go get yourself a congratulations.

D look well fed like Ajebo pikins. Hmmmn. Hope say our politicians never carry their relatives full d list. Naija my country

Our government are just lazy leaders that refuse to use thier brain and position to make any meaningful and sustainable impact.
Anyone one can write cheques and give scholarships. . and besides I am sure the process must have been rigged in addition.

They need to sit and think of how to improve the educational system in Nigeria instead of giving scholarships to go and study undergrad abroad...to so many of them..

if the government of America in the past had neglected thier own educational system and opted for the easy way of educating thier citizens in europe.. what would have become of the nation today.

Africans don't want to think....and then they wonder why the whole world has left them behind

Chyke (not your real name) how far, abeg its time to pay your monthly C.S. Ngwanu osiso

Anon 10:15 and 12:09, God bless u both u spoke my mind! However, Anon 12:48 (no disrespect) u sound so painfully ignorant, u probably should consider silence. Scholarship to 125 (obviously not deprived students) out of the millions of deprived children in the country and amidst strikes here and there in the higher institutions of the nation, not to talk of the dwindling quality of the educational system is a good thing? Ur matter nor gree put mouth....we'll just pass it off as ignorance! While the ringmasters continue their circus!

kenni said...

God bless our government. Congrats to the winners. Hope to hear more of this news in years to come.

Am so happy for them kudos to the government but hope say dem be poor man pickin not all dis ajebo politican children