Photos: The present state of Alpha Beach, Lekki | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 31 May 2014

Photos: The present state of Alpha Beach, Lekki

The famous Alpha Beach which used to be the go to place many years back is a mess right now. The sea is surging, everywhere is flooded and due to lack of drainage the waters not flowing out and people can no longer go there to have fun. This happens yearly but nothing is being done about it. Is there anything the government can do about it though? Continue to see more photos...

74 comments:

bbm 7439955a said...

Foolish men build on sea ground.... ENGR Emy

Chai... Those building there will also get flooded am sure...

Chei! Dairis God ooo

Na wa o. The people living in those houses should better have a garage 'parked' with canoes....LASG help oo!

Rocksteady said...

OMG, I used to live here. It's sad though, govt spending anymore is like throwing Ur little bread into d sea

What is Lagos state government doing about dis, or is alpha beach a federal government beach?
*Justarrive*

Warning of lurking tsunami.

Nigerians have this poor maintainance attitude, same thing goes for most public places in Nigeria, like airport, roads etc, there is this I don't care attitude with an average Nigerian, and also corruption contributes to it also, when funds are released for maintainance of public infrastructure, some top government officials embezzle the money

Fashola is really working

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Quite a pity. Looks more like a zoo now. Government should revive it. Helps the citizens to ease off especially in times like these when the country is in turmoil...

thats crazy nigeria as u see it, no maintenance culture whatsoever. useless country. hisss

A must go place then. Lagos state gov need to do something to make this place look beautiful again. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

For Lagosians tho

Eko Atlantic effect!

Eko Atlantic is bringing fantastic ecological effects...

Omo that beautiful house standing there shld not fall o. Cos that flood is out to take that area. Govt shld pls act fast. But I wonder how pple can risk building in such area. Pple get liver sha!!!

Wats a fence doing in d middle of a sea???!!!!

Linda the condition of that area is terrible. I also wondered why government continue this great environmental threat at the risk of its citizens and properties around the area. Even the Alpha Beach Road was completely ignored. I never envisaged Fashola's government could be this callous towards people living in this area!

DOBY DOBY said...

Linda is it go to place or place to go.. evrybody makes mistake for dose mockin my first lady.. dis is bad.. govt pls help. .

Happy living to the owner of that house o...

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

This is spiritual....Further than the eyes can see.......

Cynthia Iyede said...

The houses close to d beach aint that safe then. Govt shld try n see to it

Omg!! This is becoming tsunami oo. God helped us!

EbonyAma said...

Govt pls come and do something, I will never live on d island, I prefer mainland, one can't tell when d sea, river will get angry and attack people and der properties. Advice to all Dos who are island freaks get a land or property @ d mainland.

I laugh. Are people actually building their house that close 2d sea? Lol omonile make una fear God o

Wow..this is bad.

~MR EDDY~says so via www.facebook.com/eddywhiz

Govt can't do everything. Some of these beaches need to be privatised. That way, they can be better maintaiined and can become money spinners. IAI

This alpha beach water dey always pick saturday or public holidays to comot oh. Well. Tnk God I moved outta dat shitty zones men. Hallelujah

Why do we always asked the Government for everything. Beaches are meant for recreation. Our people continue to squat everywhere in the name of building houses without due respect for planning and environment. The building that is a few metres away from the roaring ocean, how will it not be swallow up. Investors are disallowed by communities in the name of OMO ONILE. Holiday resort investor/s can develop ALPHA BEACH if OMO ONILE will allow them. THE GOVERNMENT HAS A LOT ON ITS PLATES AS IT IS.

From what I see some greedy individuals sold the area around the beach. Ugly fences and Bad investments have ruined a serene environment.

this overflowing is caused by the sand filling of bar beach to build eko atalantic

Lindodo, ur concern should b tilted to d people living there, who suffer extremely not some bunch of ppl who go there to smoke igbo n patronize call girls. D living conditiion in alpha beach n environs is really awful.

bruuuh!!, that house is fuucckkeed.. feel bad for the owner

All this is because of Eko Atlantic, when you block waters natural path it will create another path in areas you dont expect. Seee what happened to Kuramo beach beside Ocean View, not its all water no more beach.

That project is going to cause a lot of Ecological Havoc in the next 10 years. Hope they make enough money from the sale of land to sort that all out.

dudette said...

Wow dis serious..u nigerian govt nau, as long as there house are not around there they will wait until it has killed pple b4 dey act.....#nonsence#

na wa o, there are people in charge collecting money, wetin dem dey do na

despite the current state of this beach i can see the beauty of it. i believe it should only be fixed once the recurring problem has been solved

not-a-lekki-resident said...

I predict that in a few years time the whole of lekki will be submerged. Multi-million naira houses will be no more. Failure to plan, plan to fail or in this case, flood.

Trust fashola to do something about it now you've brought it up.

ugochysom said...

well... guess we dnt hv tourism ministry in naija!

Linda u too can do somtin abt it.

Gee-nius said...

Linda the government has more pressing issues at hand and you talking about the deteriorating state of alpha beach -_______- it's like you dont have news right

Amami said...

Linda thnx u 4 postin dis.

in United State and other parts of the world the treat beaches like heaven and always maintain it but you can say the same to a country where it's people maintenance culture mentality is zero. Nigerians don't know how to maintain there environment.

I live close by. The last time I went there, the jobless guys there were harassing me. I told myself never to go back there again

Not a good sight at all. Just the way FG don't appreciate their heroes, same way they don't cherish their tourist attractions.

CoolDiva speaks!

but you all cant live by the beach and expect nothing to happen na!... its all reclaimed land..

Lagos dey fall my hand. <onahboy

Na wa o this is not funny at all

Remove the shack and everyone needs to contribute in stopping the filth.

I can never live cloe to a beach coz i hate water.D govt should do sth about it.
#NAZZZY

Buildings not building... would and not will... your life is so messed up. Go back to sch pls

There's a billion things the govt can do abt this but by default they'll always choose to ignore...

There's a billion things the govt can do abt this but by default they'll choose to ignore...

Bee said...

The beach as it is, is a public good ergo the responsibility of the govt.

hmm, Lagos state government how far?

MECURY said...

Nigeria do not value what she has period.

ofofoismyhobby said...

I don't pity don't residence at all.If it's not madness, how can u build houses in front of a beach? it serves them right....

Hmm

LuuLuu said...

"Go to place" isn't a mistake... Dat's a correct statement!

This is not good...

everywhere is messed up
lack of maintenance

FYI: To those that dont realize... most of the houses on that road were built long before the relatively recent rapid encroachment of the waters. The shoreline was quite a distance away from the last house on the road, until recently. This *IS* a federal govt responsibility, & its not just abt alpha beach, its the entire Island that is at stake. The reason for the recent surge is debatable, but a lot has been said abt projects such as Eko atlantic...

Did the lagos state govt tell them to build on sea grounds?

Government...mtschew

This ιƨ not funny at αℓℓ.

I luv beach houses bt d sea in 9ja is as crazy as d ppl in 9ja..no jus try am!

Go to place is very correct...maybe if ur smart enuff to finish school and get a degree, u'll know better....and not insult Linda who is more learned than you.

No one buids on sea grounds, as at 1980s, buildings are about 10,000m to d shore if not more than. So stop saying such words and be original... Were is govt wen most buildings that are far from d shore are now at d shore line? Govt is full of promises, promises of deceit...

gushi said...

Helo, dis isn't s issue of omo onile, some lands has been sold for about 20 to 50 yrs.... U cn imagine how far dt houses still b to d shore line... D building pix u are seeing ova dere is about 10 thousand meters to d sea bt now it's not more 200m.

gushi said...

Yea u are ryt... I hv also advocated for privatilization bt noting is been done... Dts d best.

gushi said...

@ bee u are damn ryt, its d responsibily of d govt... Dey shouldn't blame omo onile... omo onile collect money and govt collect money too... U hv to pay for wat u are getting " properties"... I was born and brought up in alpha beach eti osa.

gushi said...

If govt table is full or if dey are busy, please privatized dis beach and let every one enjoy and b happy... Alpha beach especially is terribly bad... Its badoo among all ryt nw.