'Fuji music is very dangerous' - Singer Etcetera writes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 31 May 2014

'Fuji music is very dangerous' - Singer Etcetera writes

Singer turned Punch Columnist Etcetera writes on why Fuji music is dangerous. Read below...
Fuji music and I got divorced at a street carnival on October 1st, 2010. I just couldn’t take it anymore and thought it best that we went our separate ways. I guess the feeling was mutual because that was the same day I recovered my sanity and my personal cool.
What would I become if I wasn’t aware of myself anymore? Unlike many adults, I have no stomach for music that makes me want to vandalize my home and for some crazy reasons; I have discovered that some fuji songs that are popular right now make you want to assess your mental state. The simple truth is one can’t remember any of such songs getting posted daily on blogs. I can only recognise a handful of artistes mentioned by some die-hard and unrepentant fanatics in my hood.
There was a period in time when it was actually important to know who was who, and who was better than the other lyrically or vocally. Then, having fuji songs on your playlist was like having a cool smile on your face. The stranger your fuji references, the more you would have boys believe in your supernatural powers. And you even believe that the gods must be happy with you.

What is really going on? Fuji music is now all about autotune, carrot jeans and mohawk? Doesn’t this combo spell any danger? Maybe not yet. Now I see a bunch of fuji artistes who are of the opinion that carrot jeans, mohawk and autotune are the essentials of modern fuji music.
Just like hiphop, fuji was a religion. Fuji was original. It was a culture. Fuji made it possible that for a time in our history, parents and their kids were actually enjoying the same music at the same time. Now the temple of fuji has been desecrated with today’s fuji artistes lifting choruses from popular hiphop songs.

I miss the good old days when touts would converge around the motor parks and people would blame it on fuji music. Whatever happened to the utter disgust that your neighbors would have for the fuji songs blasting through your bedroom door? That was In the days when fuji music was a movement and a rallying point for boys in the hood. Isn’t that the way it is supposed to be?

Why would I wander into a club of today’s music when I know I might bump into that same tasteless whining banshee called autotune? And I might actually be forced to listen and dance azonto. I might as well listen to a whining South African Kwaito music and see the blood rolling down my chin. Good God, now that is a genre that I am glad to put behind me.

Just because I don’t have the ear for today’s fuji music doesn’t mean that I don’t love Pasuma. I have every album he has ever made, every new release and every new single.

With fuji music, sometimes the general intro sounds really good and make you feel alive. And at that point when you start nodding your head to just what music should feel like, and thinking you have discovered a sound from another planet or maybe from an alien music colony, the vocalist decides to introduce himself with a terrifying and dangerous shriek that leaves you looking for pain killers.

I am glad to finally get away from today’s fuji. The music scares the hell out of me, but in a very intriguing way. Naturally as music, some folks consider fuji as noise in the actual sense. What is even more dangerous is the fact that the singers are never on key. But yet again, don’t people also say that highlife is scary and dangerous too?

Please Lord; don’t let me listen to another song from a Naija blog ever again. It is fast emerging as the perfect way to listen to music and forget it immediately. Wait a minute, he sounds a lot like er..er..er, that’s what you always get. So why don’t I just punch up the original?

I am in dying need of some highlife in my veins right now. The good thing is that most times I travel to Ibadan on visits, I often stay at Premier Hotel where some of our old musicians go to for relaxation. And I love it. On a given weekend, I’ll run into an old favorite like Kwam 1 at the bar or bump into Adewale Ayuba during breakfast. They say the last stage of grief is acceptance. And I have accepted my grief. I have been a man in love with music, and the music that I love is mostly gone, long since tamed by today’s sound.

But all the same, let me put on my shoes, pour myself a glass of soft drink and relax with Osondi Owendi by Chief Osita Osadebe or the (puke in your face) remix by late Mc Loph, and be happy knowing that music is music, just as sex is sex, and these two things will always find a way to go together like a nice cold soft drink and an evening at Elegushi Beach.

So please keep your carrot jeans, unusual eyeglasses and that Mohawk while I am loving it here chilling with my Oriental Brothers.

81 comments:

bonita bislam said...

Words,the only pill for pain.

Good writter...... But you eh! You like controversy

TayO said...

Lol.I love this.though he speaks 4himslf,its actually true.Guess Fuji was den and its more of hiphop now.that's exactly wat most Nigerians want so u find musicians doing what they feel will bring them better money.Nice write up tho.

If one thing doesn't work, another will work! My brother etcetera I no blame u jaren as fuji no sweet for ur ear again, na so ur music no sweet for our ear again... Keep up d writing job, buh write wisely oo.. Bcos we fit still end up not feeling ur write ups again! Bless u!! :) ;)

It's time you need to start keeping your opinion to yourself cos you are becoming irrelevant

You sound like a failed musician consoling himself by writing off 'modern' Fuji or didn't you think you would come off as that?

Every time is always writing done he have something else doing #bright bravo#

Dis guy too talk nonsense..

This guy should just shut up biko.

CoolDiva speaks!

Dis guy too talk nonsense. Why nt block ur ears wit ear plugs already?

Etceterra wow! Am impressed, you're very intelligent and ur piece articulate,incisive and thought provoking.
To be frank with you initially I was reading this piece with a kinda uncomfy look on my face,because I have been listening to King Wasiu Ayinde Marshal feat Olamide (state of the Nation) since morning, and its been on replay, till I got to the point on your article where you acknowledged the likes of KWAM1 who still do good Fuji music's.
I love Fuji music so much,although I don't even know anything about the lyrics,but enjoy the beat,chorus and rhythm.
Thank you for this wonderful article,I pray my generation will learn that somethings are better left unadulterated.

DOBY DOBY said...

Hia.. was makin sense at some point bt later it b lyk say him dey insult oda artist

Hmmmmmmmm,my brother Abeg o!
No criticize other people music say ur own better o!

Ezenwa via Samsung c3222.

Too long plus i hate fuji music self....

Hismajesty said...

Etcetera abeg no let all those agdero for bariga,shomolu,mushin catch you ooo you will be forced to dance to Fuji music to there satisfaction after you have been beaten black&blue...lol

pls what is this one saying. this made absolutely no sense

Did he really have to mention the late MC Loph?! I didn't really like Ms. Harvey's genre of music but at least I respect her memory. SeBadAsstian

If u dont av better things to say y not keep quite,U want to b recognised by force.

Since all the music you love is almost gone,don't you think its time you start packing your load tto go too.MUMU MAN..

First off, I very rarely comment on Linda’s blog. Honestly I’m not the biggest fan but she does have some decent stories now and again. The reason I am commenting today is this Etcetera mutherfuka. To begin with; what or who are you? You seem to have so much to say about everything but reading your articles is about as productive as using a sieve to transport water. I do not understand this dude who is fast losing his hair-line and lacks any form of creativity even gets any form of attention. From the very inception of your name it is obvious you are not worthy of note hence the "ETC". Please re-evaluate your priorities as both writing and music is not your calling. These quack writers with no concept other than sensationalized headliners are what’s killing the literary society in Nigeria. Please Linda do not give this washed up fella any more attention.

aluminium said...

Dis guy shuld suck ma dick

You can't blame em for using auto tune..we are living in a computer era..

~MR EDDY~says so via www.facebook.com/eddywhiz

Amarachukwu said...

Abeg make una explain.

Too long! #Cherry#

Diary of Dido said...

You are in dire need, sir- not dying need.

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

This dude talks too much lately..........

Geraldopino90 said...

This fool again,always wanting to be on the news

Well there are two fuji musicians in Nigeria , the late Dr Sikiru Ayinde Barister and others. barisrter's fuji is inspiring , educative, he was never a part of this present day dangerous fuji you wrote about. . MM

#King said...

Dis ex-wat eva ur name is..Get a fvcking life..who gives a fvck abt ur opinion..last time I checked u used to b a wack musician, why did u leave music?? All u do is rant on d internet..jobless fool..Attention seeker......................#KingOfKings

Idiots, your mates are in the studio working their ass off and you are here seeking cheap attention. It ignorance was bliss, then you are a blessed Fool.

Really??? I didn't know that.

Puking on MC Loph abi?????? Ghost wander about oh! Hope ur juju strong! I personally can't stomach dat Osadebe stuffs!

#GozManuel Says#

ALATISHE said...

Ur own view thou... And fuji music is all about choice, as u said u like PASUMA and is my favorite as well so concentrate on ur future D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ all had there fans(1 man food is anoda man poison).... Is all about choice!!!

To bad for you whiner, like you supported the vulgarity of maheeda and her debasing actions with the argument that its "her prerogative to go nude in public", so too is the prerogative of the Fuji artistes "debasing" your or so pure Fuji music. deal with it wanker

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

This man you and long story all the time.. Go and rest small na.

K

awesome!!!!!!!!

A goat

Dr. Ikeji said...

Mr etc or wateva abbreviation rocks ur boat, you are light years behind for a columnist of such a reputable tabloid, ur writing needs a truckload of work. Aside that it lacks depth and any sort of sophistication whatsoever, this article is wrong on sooooo many levels.

No be only Fuji is dead, so is rnb, hip-hop etc. They don't make music like back in the days no more.

Wetin be dis guy problem

Charles White said...

How much does this dunce pay bloggers to remain relevant.was of space IMO

phunshaw said...

this etc guy is going beyond his boundary.Must he write?His younger ones like Chimamanda are making it out there writing sensible poetry/novels.He should find a better job like learning how to break melons for a start.Jobless ex-musician.

Ms. Linda, why post a piece that 75% of your readers will not understand. I can bet most will interpret it literally and won't get the nuances.

Linda, the way u sensationalise ur headlines eh? Ha I thot it was something else o. Now that I have read it, I understand where he's coming from. A lot of times, the old is still better than the new. IAi

Elizabeth O said...

Which one you dey sing

preety niki said...

Etcetera u hv come again o....I won't beg for u dis time around.

The twist & turns seemingly ironic. Yet passing his paradoxical msg.
The truth we don't wanna hear.
The way things change remaining d same.

He's a good writer

Ifeoluwa said...

Am I the only one dat dint understand half of what he wrote? Anyways, all the best bin a columnist

This guy don come again kwa..Hian

He speaks the truth

The present day fuji not THE LATE DR SIKIRU AYINDE BARISTER. His style of music is inspiring educative and encouraging. He was different, pls be specific in your analysis. MM

my friend park well , attention seeker.. flip my 400 naira weavon #fart#and dogwalk away.

Etsako Pearl said...

Hmm.Tales by moonlight.Next plz?

This guy na better Adaka .

Etcetera abi na Exclamation mark.... U have come again - What is it u want this time? Ur mates are making money writing - Get on it already if it's ur passion, but make sure u don't step on toes. Well, u didn't this time or maybe u did (cos i'm still wondering what fuji music did to u....as u take finish am). Ok bruv, wish u luck in ur new career. U can be our next Chimamanda Adichie.

Mtchew...

This guy neva eat sha!

one word - attention seeker
say another thing

Adaobi said...

Lolzzz.....he is usin his 15 mins of fame.

Why am I not surprised u did all dis disgusting tinz? All anonys are broke, freaks and dirty a** holes!

holatunde said...

Stop Hating #Esetira(lolzzz) or what are u called......Go and listen to Saheed Osupa,thank me later..........#yimu.

Fuji music = shoutout music.

Deguzza said...

Sincerely speaking, this man is just looking for ways to be relevant thus writing about topics people will talk about. But in the process of giving yourself whatever publicity you think you want to achieve, try and do your research and get your facts right. Firstly, I dont see this fool as a fuji fan as the only reference he could make was K1, pasuma and Ayuba. He said he has all of Pasuma's album, I bet he doesnt. Fuji has its own disciples and they would forever listen to it irrespective of your foolish analysis. Fuji music is a genre of music in Nigeria just like country music is in USA. Is country music of Jim Reeves, Faron Young and Don Williams Era the same as Taylor Swift? That is to tell you times are changing and every artist has to do whatever they can to make sales and appeal to fans. Do you expect a new 20yr old fuji act to make records like k1 who has been in the industry for decades? I dont know who the Managing Editor of punch is right now that gave this failed musician a platform to express himself. The founders of present day Nigerian Music;Afro Pop or whatever you call it did everything analogically. But now technology has made their work easier. This fool should go and listen to the albums of Daniel Wilson , Blacky, Junior and Pretty, Chris Okotie and compare to Wizkid's and Davido's. I bet I will make a better columnist that this erratic young man. Though you expressed your opinion, they are baseless and untrue. If you dont listen to fuji music again, who cares? The article would have been better if you compared the whole Nigerian music industry now to that of the past. Singling out fuji musci shows you are a coward and scared of the attacks you will get from "Afropop" artistes and their fans. You know the likes of Pasuma,Saheed Osupa,Remi Aluko,Muri Thunder,Safejo,Atawewe,Cinderella,Shanko Rasheed etc dont come on blogs and wont see your article. Oniranu Oshi, try it with the Afropop artistes and you go hear weeeeeeeennnn. Na Banky W be their Spokesman and as a Musician and Columnist, He is way better than you. I have read his articles and compared to yours, He is far more intelligent. Eranko jati jati. Etcetera ko , esetora(rotten leg) ni

Deguzza said...

And how does fuji music make you want to vandalize your house? So what do you say to Femi's Shewere song? Mcheeeeww..Eranko

LUXURY EASE INTERIORS said...

Brilliant piece! My understanding of this writing is directed at Dammy krane- carrot jeans, Mohawk and unusual glasses ! Lol! While I disagree with him on this, I cannot but admit the prolific nature of his writing. This piece and only be understood by a really intelligent person

so this is the ugly failed musician called Etcetera saying rubbish about Tiwa and hubby.

As iRrelevant as u.....okpa nnunu!

Just because u have chosen to disseminate your profile on the internet doesn't make u superhuman you self righteous bitch, it only shows how stupid and vulnerable you are. As we speak I can find u and fucking kill you IDIOT. Yes, I know enough to find your stupid internet-leeching-no-good ass.

You are wicked!!! Chai!

Lmaoo the people wey they listen to Fuji...dey for street and not all these blogs.

Cant stop listen to saheed osupa. Fuji muzik til I fade.

This guy is sick infact more than anything else. Fuji violent? Then other songs that specialises in glorifying violent, sex, alcohol and corruption are okay for human listening? Controversial just like your name, stop that cheap publicity and remain the way you are, you can be relevant than this. Fuji nikan la lape niti wa nilu Nigeria ooo, oun ani langbe laruge!!!

Everyone with his or her own choice dont try to generalise what you dont know or pretend to know.Fuji music today though not in the same level with Barrister and Kollington of those days but there are still few who sing sensible songs and not autotune or whatever you called it,you might not agree with lifestyle or the unhealthy rivalry but they are still making fuji music relevant and not going comma like juju.I hail Saheed Osupa,Malaika,Shefiu Alao,Muri Thunder in this regard and yes others too for making efforts.

Of a truth-many naija artists sing jargons these days so why nail fuji singers? Many fuji singers still sing more meaningful songs than the hip-hop & R&B singers in naija. So wat's ur point exactly Mr.Dada?

It is understandable that you don't fancy Fuji Music again because you F-A- I- L- E- D in it. But, must everyone else abandon it because of you??

You think their life-style is rough? What will you say about international singers that can't do away with drugs and prisons?

Why don't you get a life? Rather than get attention off real artists who are trying to make good out of their lives? Lazy thing!

It is understandable that you don't fancy Fuji Music again because you F-A- I- L- E- D in it. But, must everyone else abandon it because of you??

You think their life-style is rough? What will you say about international singers that can't do away with drugs and prisons?

Why don't you get a life? Rather than get attention off real artists who are trying to make good out of their lives? Lazy thing!

all of u talking trash should just shut your mouth up. which article una write now? half of you didnt even read through the article before opening your can of worms to say trash. Nigerians and their pull down syndrome. the message behind this article can only be seen by an intelligent mind. and judging by the comments i see here, it shows half of u here on this platform are outright dollards. nothing dey una head.todays music is not what it used to be. including fuji and that is because everybody wants to be a musician. so the next time u decide to open ur mouth to insult some1 because he wrote something, try writing yours. atleast he is a columnist in punch. how many musicians dse days get brain take even write ABC-Z oloshi people.