Lupita obtains rights for film version of Chimamanda 's Americanah | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 May 2014

Lupita obtains rights for film version of Chimamanda 's Americanah

Actress Lupita Nyong'o has optained rights for the film version of Americanah. Chimamanda Adichie apparently confirmed it today during a Stylist magazine book session in London.

73 comments:

Congratulations to her.... abeg wetin happen for forbidden passions no light for my house

Chimamanda be licking a**...........

Congratulobia to her
I am so happy for her

Ok seen....

Who God has blessed no hater can do shit....move on Lupita

Chimaamanda I love u,

Lupita and chimamanda killing the game.

Where is that jealous bitch omotola

Chimamanda, half of a yellow sun, hasn't been released in Nigeria, why can't you sue the Nigerian censors board, u people are losing money.

Lupita is going to win another oscar

This chick in on fire, igbo representing every where

They haven't still released half of a yellow sun, why can't you sue this nigerian government, take this nigeria censors board to court,

Chimamanda is winning, all the way

Adiche is making positive wave in Hollywood.

Who wants to bet, chimamanda will win a grammy for that song flawless she did with beyonce

What does this mean? Even if she (lupita) doesn't fit any character,she gets to play in the movie? Is she desperate or what?

Two of ma favourite girls

Good for them.

Congrats to her
It keeps getting better for Lupita

Mischievous said...

''Each of us, famous or infamous, is a role model for somebody, and if we aren't, we should behave as though we are -- cheerful, kind, loving, courteous. Because you can be sure someone is watching and taking deliberate and diligent notes.''
-Maya Angelou

Ijeoma Monica Njoku said...

OK, good for them. I wsh them a good working relationship. They share Alma Mater.

@Anon 11:13 PM. How do you sleep with Omosexy on your mind?
I guess you want to die before your time.

She's joining the big boys and girls behind the camera as a producer. Acting aint enough. She's beautiful and ambitious.

Why call Motorola a birch? You are as bigger bitch fuctard anon@11:13

Veeon said...

Obtained dear. Not optained.

Linda, igbo girl, what is "optain"?

Lmaaaoooo yup...truly said,such an ass licker

Hmm linda you use style to gbagaun and all your illitrate followers didnt even notice it is obtained oo not optained thank me later

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Lupita making waves. I like them black..!!

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Desperation is when you are not recognised, but she is. Sorry anony ur loss..

The boy loved the girl, the girl loved d boy...but their passion was forbidden because unknown to him..the girl used to be a man and is also his half brother from an affair his father had in d early years of his marriage with his wife's friend. But the boy and his fiancee both dont know about dis yet...Now they are almost about to get married but the boy's family is against it because his fiance (d transexual) is from a very poor family......They dont know that this is d least of their problems...WATCH OUT FOR NEXT EPISODE.....lmao, i just made that up.I'm booooored!.

simmy said...

Chimamanda the great. Americanah is a beautiful book, pls I'm waiting for the next book abeg. Hurry up.

On a very serious note,WHY hasnt Half of a Yellow Sun been released... For the first time Nigeria makes a movie with International recognition and they are just trying to delay the movie till the buzz dies. and the excuse they are giving dosnt even make sense to me,America releases LOTS of Historical movies on slavery and civil war and all and U dont see the blacks acting up do u. Seriously arent they tired of the mediocre movies dey make?....Poor village girl finally marries rich man, family issues, runs girls , fight for throne, love, love and more love. THEY DONT MAKE SENSE!!!......Please did anyone else watch SOMETIME IN AFRICA featuring Majid Michael.where he played 3 roles in d same movie. That movie was Epic. We are still here acting aki and paw paw...rubbish.

Gud 4 her

halimsy said...

Congrate to her u keep moving higher

Congrat to her go girl it's not easy

Congrats to her!

PURPLE said...

Who told u shez jealous? Tryna stir sumtin up?

Congrats to her.......

Is called breaking bounds. She is moving ahead while u are busy hating

Hw do u mean? She is a famous writer n Lupita is a newly famous actress. Do u even knw what movie rights are. Nyway sha it's ur hand u can type what u want 2 ----C21

Bbg Eze said...

Way 2go girl...

Hi linda,check your story its obtained not "optained"...guessing its a typo..tnx

Dream on...

Nkem said...

We need to start boycotting her movies. She is ashamed of using her country people as lead actors because all she's interested in is money and fame. This is no longer art, but business for her. Until she starts promoting her country instead of cooing over whites and black Americans, I say stop investing your hard earned cash on someone who cares only about her pocket.

Tony said...

I agree. Chinua Achebe didn't hire Kenyans or Americans to play Nigerian. You guys are stupidly gullible and that's why I support censors board. We are not good enough to act lead roles, but good enough to spend our money watching foreigners play Nigerians. Pathetic!

Ariel should please let Bruno and Bianca be together. What do you think Miriam?

Dis girl kips soaring like an eagle... I like her so much and am hapy wit wats hapening arnd her (Greatness)

Amarachukwu said...

God bless their union.

sash said...

Bruno got an apartment wher he could b meeting wit bianca. Nd bianca is stil curious to knw who dropd d earing in her room,she suspects d mum nD d driver..she tot d driver wz gna leak dai lil secret to d hubby buh he didn't,so she is uncomfy @ d moment

LusciousKels said...

Does it mean she ll play d lead ifemelunma? Abeg oo she no fit d role at alllll!!

Abi o..what has Omotola to do with this..Some people need help..you know the Yaba left sort. .

Congrats to them!

I can remember when I saw chimamanda at the airport very humble woman, you won't even know she was the one

Lizzy said...

Slumdog Millionaire won a Grammy because the story was not only rooted in the India culture, but also acted by Indians not Americans acting indians. Chimamanda has shown she doesn't care for Nigerians. Why then are you drooling over her? She's putting herself on the map, not Nigeria. There my friends is food for thought!

Lizzy said...

Sorry, Slumdog Millionaire won an Oscar and it was acted in India. Unknown actors who were given a chance! Think about that.

Good for he o, hope she stars in it cos I don't see these jelous white folks creatlng another black film anytime soon

i tot i warned you to stop this ur congratulobia nonsense. Take ur time fa Alloy Chikezie

Bruno askd bianca 2go check out a house wich wuld b 4dier luv nest but surprisingly he was der wen she cme nd dey made out. Yayie culdnt tell ariel wots up cos ariel kept interruptn him.flavior is in d US ina hospital but her fam finks shez in Argentina(I fink shez sick

Congratulations to her , however I do t want Lupita to play ifem . I want a Nigerian girl to play ifem and a very beautiful one , not that Lupita isn't beautiful it's just that the way ifem is described in the book doesn't match the physical characteristics of Lupita . I can't wait !!!!!!!

idiotic Moses...how is she licking arse? are u high on cheap drugs?....fools be commenting even when they don't understand the post.....

Good for her.

You didn't get Memo that we now live in a global village. By the way, have you seen Half of a Yellow Sun? Chiwetal Ejiofor was just perfect in his role

Ogini!? Dey are not married oo you stack illitrate

Henry and Friends said...

This is an interesting and good news. I hope they will show it in Nigeria now that Chimamanda's Half of the Yellow Sun is on ban.

@anon 8.19 I don't think sooo.... I hate Bianca she is an arrogant biatch....

Look at this Witch of Endor named wilheminna moses, how dare u call someone who is so far above your pay grade an a**licker? Your biggest achievement so far in life is commenting on Lindas's blog 24/7. Chimamada is a woman that you can never in your life time hold a candle to. What a pass of sh*t that u are.

Chyke
Unknown City.

CNA will not control the casting or directing of this movie. She was not involved in the casting of HYS. The most she can do is consult, but it is up to the director/producer ultimately, not the writer. I remember her saying , in an interview, that she wanted the director of HYS to change certain things, but the director refused. She said she had ti remove herself from the project, however, it pained her. You guys need to give her a break.

Wow, so we will get to watch, ifemelu,obinze,aunt uju,dike,blain,curt,etc #excited #americanah

interestingly exciting. will be great to watch Ifemelu and Obinze making
love. woooow!

Am not watching forbidden passions again in d end bianca committed suicide Bruno ended up with eleanor n ariel married mademoiselle hiss nonsense !!!

@anon 11:06 tell me you just made it up. It shouldn't end that way. I guess they had to end it after Biaca(Monica Spears) passed on, nobody to play the role. May her soul rest in peace, amen

Hope the movie gives more attention to the relationship between Ifemulu and Obinze. In the book, the reader gets a glimpse of it at the start and then another at the end. Otherwise, the story meanders to vignettes of adventures in Ifemulu's life. Obinze is treated as an afterthought called upon at the end for an obligatory happy ending.